DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the enclosure comprises a first side, a second side opposite the first side, an upper surface, a back surface and at least one door opposite the back surface, wherein the door is proximal to the first side” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the duct body" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 11-15, 18, 20, 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chae et al (US 20180347886 A1, herein after Chae).
Regarding claim 1, Chae teaches an air duct (cooling air duct 60) for a refrigerator (refrigerator 1) having an enclosure (cabinet 11) and a refrigeration system (as shown on figure 2) with a fan (fan 26) for generating a cooling airflow (paragraph 0032), the air duct (cooling air duct 60) comprising: an air inlet (cooling air inlet 610) fluidly couplable to and arranged for receiving the cooling airflow from the refrigeration system (paragraph 0054); an air outlet (air outlet 613) downstream of the air inlet (paragraph 0060), arranged to direct the cooling airflow from the refrigeration system into the enclosure in a first direction (outwards towards duct 90, paragraph 0070 and as shown on figures 4 and 13); and a diverter (partition part 640) located between the air inlet and the air outlet (as shown on figure 13) configured to divert a portion of the cooling airflow (as shown on figure 13) into the enclosure (paragraph 0069) in a second direction different to the first direction (as shown on figure 13).
Further, it is understood, claim 1 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 2, Chae teaches wherein the first direction (outwards towards duct 90, paragraph 0070 and as shown on figure 4 and 13) is parallel to an upper surface of the enclosure (parallel to the upper surface of cabinet 11, as shown on figure 4).
Regarding claim 3, Chae teaches wherein the air duct (cooling air duct 60) and the upper surface of the enclosure (upper surface of cabinet 11, as shown on figure 4) define a channel (towards duct 90, as shown on figures 4 and 13).
Regarding claim 4, Chae teaches wherein the second direction (as shown on figure 13) is parallel to an upper surface of the enclosure (parallel to the upper surface of cabinet 11, as shown on figure 4).
Regarding claim 5, Chae teaches wherein the second direction (as shown on figure 13) is sideways relative to the first direction (as shown on figure 13).
Regarding claim 6, Chae teaches wherein the second direction (as shown on figure 13) is downwards relative to the first direction (downwards towards duct 70, as shown on figure 11 and 13).
Regarding claim 7, Chae teaches wherein the diverter (partition part 640) comprises a plurality of openings (as shown on figure 13).
Regarding claim 11, Chae teaches wherein the second direction (as shown on figure 13) is towards a door of the refrigerator (cooling air flowing along the first cooling air passage 620 is introduced into the door discharge duct 70 through the first cooling air outlet 611, paragraph 0069) or towards a back surface of the enclosure opposite to the door.
Regarding claim 12, Chae teaches further comprising a duct body (body where passage 620 is located, as shown on figure 13) between the air inlet (cooling air inlet 610) and the outlet (cooling air outlet 611).
Regarding claim 13, Chae teaches wherein the duct body (body prior to where passage 620 is located, as shown on figure 13) comprises an inlet body portion (inlet body adjacent to cooling air inlet 610, as shown on figures 13 and 15) adjacent the air inlet (cooling air inlet 610).
Regarding claim 14, Chae teaches wherein the duct (cooling air duct 60) comprises an outlet body portion (outlet body portion adjacent to the outlet 611, as shown on figures 8 and 13) adjacent the air outlet (cooling air outlet 613).
Regarding claim 15, Chae teaches wherein the duct body (body prior to where passage 620 is located, as shown on figure 13) comprises an inlet body portion (inlet body adjacent to cooling air inlet 610, as shown on figures 13 and 15) adjacent the air inlet (cooling air inlet 610) and an outlet body portion (outlet body portion adjacent to the outlet 611, as shown on figures 8 and 13) adjacent the air outlet (cooling air outlet 613).
Regarding claim 18, Chae teaches wherein at least a portion of the duct body (a portion of the body prior to where passage 620 is located, as shown on figure 13) is planar (forming a flat surface, as shown on figure 13.
Regarding claim 20, Chae teaches a refrigerator (refrigerator 1), comprising: an air duct (cooling air duct 60) according to claim 1; an enclosure (cabinet 11): and a refrigeration system (as shown on figure 2) having a fan (fan 26) for generating a cooling airflow (paragraph 0032), wherein the refrigeration system is fluidly coupled to and arranged to supply the cooling airflow to the air inlet of the air duct (refrigerator 1 may include a cooling air duct 60 to receive cooling air through the connection fluid passage 114 and a plurality of discharge ducts 70 and 90 communicating with the cooling air duct 60 for discharging cooling air to the refrigerating compartment 112, paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 23, Chae teaches wherein the diverter (partition part 640) of the air duct (cooling air duct 60) diverts a portion of the cooling airflow towards the door (cooling air flowing along the first cooling air passage 620 is introduced into the door discharge duct 70 through the first cooling air outlet 611, paragraph 0069).
Regarding claim 25, Chae teaches wherein the diverter (partition part 640) of the air duct (cooling air duct 60) diverts a portion of the cooling airflow into the enclosure towards the back surface of the enclosure (refrigerator 1 may include a cooling air duct 60 to receive cooling air through the connection fluid passage 114 and a plurality of discharge duct 90 communicating with the cooling air duct 60 for discharging cooling air to the refrigerating compartment 112, paragraph 0028).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae et al (US 20180347886 A1, hereinafter Chae) in view of Kawamoto et al (JP 2020118386 A, hereinafter Kawamoto).
Regarding claim 8, Chae teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the diverter comprises a louvre vent.
However, Kawamoto teaches wherein the diverter (duct plate 52, corresponding to partition 640 of Chae) comprises a louvre vent (louver vents, 174, 176, 178 and 180, as shown on figure 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the refrigerator in the teachings of Chae to include wherein the diverter comprises a louvre vent in view of the teachings of Kawamoto in order to yield the predictable result of blowing cold air into the storage chamber.
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach wherein the louvre vent (louver vents, 174, 176, 178 and 180, as shown on figure 7 of Kawamoto) comprises a plurality of blades (as shown on figure 7 of Kawamoto).
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach wherein at least two of the blades (vents 174/178 of Kawamoto) point in different directions (point in different directions than vents 176/180, as shown on figure 7 of Kawamoto).
Claims 16-17, 21-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae et al (US 20180347886 A1, hereinafter Chae) in view of Hirosawa et al (US 6014868 A, hereinafter Hirosawa).
Regarding claim 16, Chae teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the inlet body portion and the outlet body portion are adjoined by a folded portion.
However, Hirosawa teaches wherein the inlet body portion (drawn air is cooled by the evaporator 27, being supplied into the blowout duct 71 by the compartment fan 31, col 5 lines 17-19) and the outlet body portion (blowout hole 75) are adjoined by a folded portion (guide plate 72 having a rising gradient, col 4 lines 65-66).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the refrigerator in the teachings of Chae to include wherein the diverter comprises a louvre vent in view of the teachings of Hirosawa in order to yield the predictable result of cold air that is further supplied from the blowout hole toward the ceiling of the cold storage compartment.
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein an obtuse angle is formed between the inlet body portion and the outlet body portion.
However, the Applicant has not disclosed that having “wherein an obtuse angle is formed between the inlet body portion and the outlet body portion” does anything more than produce the predictable result of providing cold air towards the cold storage compartment. Since it has been held that changes in shape has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, [In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)], see MPEP 2144.04 IV B, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the blowout duct to form an obtuse angle is formed between the inlet body portion and the outlet body portion of Hirosawa and meet the claimed limitations in order to provide the predictable results of providing cold air towards the cold storage compartment.
Regarding claim 21, the combined teachings teach wherein the enclosure (body 1 of Hirosawa) comprises a first side (left side, figure 8 of Hirosawa), a second side opposite the first side (right side, figure 8 of Hirosawa), an upper surface (upper portion, figure 8 of Hirosawa), a back surface (back surface of body 1, figure 6 of Hirosawa) and at least one door (door 3 of Hirosawa) opposite the back surface (figure 4 of Hirosawa).
Regarding claim 22, the combined teachings teach wherein the air duct (cold air blowout duct 71 of Hirosawa) is arranged on the upper surface of the enclosure (as shown on figure 5 of Hirosawa), the refrigerator system is arranged on the first side of the enclosure (as shown on figure 5 of Hirosawa), and the air outlet is directed towards the second side of the enclosure (as shown on figure 5 of Hirosawa).
Regarding claim 24, the combined teachings teach wherein the door (door 3 of Hirosawa) is proximal to the first side (as shown on figure 5 of Hirosawa).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae et al (US 20180347886 A1, hereinafter Chae) in view of Zhu et al (CN 214039113 U, hereinafter Zhu).
Regarding claim 19, Chae teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach further comprising a fan mounting plate adjacent the air inlet, comprising at least one opening configured for receiving a fan.
However, Zhu teaches further comprising a fan mounting plate (mounting frame 516) adjacent the air inlet (first air passage part 130), comprising at least one opening (as shown on figure 5) configured for receiving a fan (as shown on figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the refrigerator in the teachings of Chae to include further comprising a fan mounting plate adjacent the air inlet, comprising at least one opening configured for receiving a fan in view of the teachings of Zhu in order to yield the predictable result of accelerating the speed of the air flow and improve the heat exchange efficiency.
Conclusion
/DARIO ANTONIO DELEON/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763