DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 13-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “transparent window, for example a glass window” using “for example” creates ambiguity as to what Applicant is seeking to claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "a door (3) post of the frame," it appears “ the frame” is referring to the door (3) frame, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 14-15 are rejected based on their respective dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Us Pub No.: 20200049401 (“Staud et al.”).
Regarding Claims 1-2 and 4-7, Staud et al. discloses CLAIM 1- a refrigerator appliance (1) comprising a cuboid frame, a cabinet, and a door (3) , wherein the door (3) comprises a projection surface (15) that is angled inwardly (as seen in Figs. 3A- 3D,5) with respect to a side of the cuboid frame, and wherein the refrigerator further comprises a light source (5, 11, 12) arranged to project light onto the projection surface (15); CLAIM 2- wherein the door (3) is solid; CLAIM 4-wherein the door (3) comprises a handle recess (7), and wherein the light source (5, 11, 12) is disposed in the handle recess (7); CLAIM 5- wherein the handle recess (7) comprises the projection surface (15); CLAIM 6- wherein the light source (5, 11, 12) is configured to project visual information ([0051]) onto the projection surface (15, as seen in Figs. 3A- 3D, 5); CLAIM 7- wherein the handle recess (7) is formed at or near a top of the door (3) and faces downwardly.
Claims1-2, 4-5, 7-8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2006069831 (“Wilsdorf”).
Regarding Claims 1-2, 4, 8 and 12, Wilsdorf discloses CLAIM 1-a refrigerator appliance (1) comprising a cuboid frame, a cabinet (2), and a door (3), wherein the door (3) comprises a projection surface (11) that is angled inwardly with respect to a side of the cuboid frame, and wherein the refrigerator (1) further comprises a light source (12) arranged to project light onto the projection surface (11); CLAIM 2- wherein the door (3) is solid, CLAIM 4- wherein the door (3) comprises a handle recess (8), and wherein the light source (12) is disposed in the handle recess (8); CLAIM 5-wherein the handle recess (8) comprises the projection surface (11; CLAIM 7-wherein the handle recess (8) is formed at or near a top of the door (3) and faces downwardly; CLAIM 8- wherein the door (3) comprises a planar door panel (4), and wherein the projection surface (11) is formed on the planar door (3) panel; CLAIM 12-wherein the light source (12) is configured to project a light gradient across the projection surface (11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilsdorf as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of CN 101617186 (“RIEMEIJER et al.”)
Regarding claims 3 and 9-11, Wilsdorf discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose the transparent window and the handle extending vertically along one side of the door.
Regarding claims 3 and 9-11, RIEMEIJER et al. discloses CLAIM 3- wherein the door (10) comprises a transparent window (14), for example a glass window; CLAIM 9-wherein the handle recess (along 18) extends vertically along one side of the door (10); CLAIM 10- wherein the handle recess (along 18) extends vertically along substantially the entire side of the door (10); CLAIM 11-wherein the light source (16) extends along substantially the entire handle recess.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the solid door with a glass window to view the contents inside the appliance without opening the door; and a vertical handle recess as an alternative design choice and the lights assist within the handle assist with reducing condensation,as demonstrated by RIEMEIJER et al.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilsdorf as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of WO 2015084792 (“GODBOLE”).
Regarding Claim 13-15, Wilsdorf discloses the claimed invention but does not wherein the light source is disposed on the door post.
Regarding Claims 13-15, GODBOLE discloses CLAIM 13- wherein the door (100) comprises a handle member (106) attached to a side of the door and defining the handle recess (106), wherein the handle member comprises an opening (116) disposed adjacent to a door post (102) of the frame when the door (100) is closed, and wherein the light source (12) is disposed on the door post (102) and directs light through the opening (116); CLAIM 14-wherein when the door (100) is open the light source (12) is positioned to illuminate the cabinet; Claim 15- a seal (130) arranged between the door (100) and the door post (102), and wherein the light source (12) is disposed outwardly of the seal when the door (100) is closed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have disposed the light source on the door post and the handle recess on the side of the door, as demonstrated by GODBOLE, to provide an improved door where the contents of the refrigerated merchandizer can be viewed without opening the door assembly, thus enabling the glass panels to be replaced with minimal effort, and hence reducing the maintenance cost and downtime. In addition, assembly dissipates heat generated by the lights to the ambient environment, thus providing a more energy efficient refrigerated merchandizer.
Conclusion
/KIMBERLEY S WRIGHT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637