Response To amendments/Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) s 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
(ISHUU (USPGPUB 2022/0110047) in view of Zhang et al. (USPGPUB 2024/0322990).
Regarding claim 1, ISHUU discloses a cell state determining apparatus (fig. 8) , (abstract; paragraphs 0004, 0005, 0087), the apparatus comprising: a receiver (84, fig. 8) configured to receive relevant information of cell selection or reselection (94, fig. 8), and processor circuitry (90, paragraph 0082) configured to consider a cell as a candidate for cell selection for according to the relevant information of cell selection or reselection, and/or, ignore the relevant information of cell selection or reselection (fig. 8; paragraphs 0082 -0087) but does not disclose a cell state wherein a processor circuitry configured to. by the NCR. amplify and forward signals between a terminal equipment and a network device. However, Zang et al., in a related field, disclose an apparatus wherein a processor circuitry configured to. by the NCR. amplify and forward signals between a terminal equipment and a network device (paragraphs 0006, 0027, 0050; fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention to modify ISHUU’s device with that of Zhang et al. in order to improve the performance of the cell state (device/apparatus).
Regarding claim 15, ISHUU discloses a cell state determining apparatus (fig. 8), applicable to a network device, the apparatus including: processor circuitry (90, fig. 8) configured to generate relevant information of cell selection or reselection, wherein the relevant information of cell selection or reselection (94, fig. 8) consider a cell as a candidate for cell selection (fig. 8; paragraphs 0082 -0087), and/or, the relevant information of cell selection or reselection being ignored (paragraph 0099, 0100, 0109); and a transmitter (82, fig. 8) configured to transmit the relevant information of cell selection or reselection but does not disclose a cell state wherein the relevant information of cell selection or reselection being used by a Network-Controlled repeater (NCR) which amplifies and forward signals between a terminal equipment and a network device. However, Zang et al., in a related field, disclose an apparatus a cell state wherein the relevant information of cell selection or reselection being used by a Network-Controlled repeater (NCR) which amplifies and forward signals between a terminal equipment and a network device (paragraphs 0006, 0027, 0050; fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention to modify ISHUU’s device with that of Zhang et al. in order to improve the performance of the cell state (device/apparatus).
Regarding claim 2, discloses a cell state determining apparatus (fig. 8) wherein, the relevant information of cell selection or reselection includes cell state information and/or cell restriction information, and/or intra-frequency reselection information (fig. 8; paragraph 0087).
Regarding claim 3, ISHUU discloses a cell state determining apparatus (fig. 8), wherein, the relevant information of cell selection or reselection is carried by a master system information block (MIB) and/or a system information block (SIB) (paragraphs 0011, 0012).
Regarding claim 4, ISHUU discloses a cell state determining apparatus (fig. 8), wherein, the cell state information includes at least one of the following information: cell state information applicable to a terminal equipment (user equipment); the cell restriction information includes the following information: cell restriction information applicable to a terminal equipment and/or an IAB-MT (paragraphs 0007,0060, 0087); and the intra-frequency reselection information includes intra-frequency reselection information applicable to a terminal equipment (fig. 8; paragraph 0083).
Regarding claim 5, ISHUU discloses a cell state determining apparatus (fig. 8), wherein the cell restriction information applicable to the terminal equipment and/or the IAB-MT includes at least one of the following information: a cell reserved state for operator use (cellReservedForOperatorUse) (table 5; paragraph 0092), a cell reserved state for other use (cellReservedForOtherUse) (tables, 3, 5, paragraph 0113) and a cell reserved state for future use (cellReservedForFutureUse) (tables 3, 5).
Regarding claim 6, ISHUU discloses a cell state determining apparatus (fig. 8), wherein, the processor circuitry (90, paragraph 0082, line 13) is configured to ignore a field of cellBarred in the master system information block (MIB) (paragraphs 0011, 0088, 0099, 0100; table 1).
Regarding claim 7, ISHUU discloses a cell state determining apparatus (fig. 8), , wherein, the processor circuitry is configured to ignore a field of cellReservedForOperatorUse (table 5; paragraph 0092), and/or a field of cellReservedForOtherUse (tables, 3, 5, paragraph 0113) and/or a field of cellReservedForFutureUse in the system information block (SIB) (paragraph 0011).
Regarding claim 8, ISHUU discloses a cell state determining apparatus (fig. 8) wherein, the processor circuitry is configured to ignore intra-frequency reselection information in the master system information block (MIB) (fig. 8; paragraphs 0011, 0012).
Regarding claims 9, 16, ISHUU discloses a cell state determining apparatus (fig. 8), wherein the relevant information of cell selection or reselection includes or does not include repeater-specific cell state information and/or cell restriction information (paragraphs 0011, 0012, 0078, 0079, 0085-0087).
Regarding claims 10, 17, ISHUU discloses a cell state determining apparatus (fig. 8), wherein the repeater-specific cell state information and/or cell restriction information is used to indicate whether the cell is considered as a candidate for cell (re) selection for Network-Controlled repeater (abstract; paragraphs 0008, 0047, 0086, 0087); and, indicate whether the cell supports the Network-Controlled repeater (abstract; paragraphs 0008, 0047, 0086, 0087).
Regarding claims 11, 18, ISHUU discloses a cell state determining apparatus (fig. 8), wherein the repeater-specific cell state information and/or cell restriction information is contained in a field in a system information block 1 (SIB1) (paragraphs 0011, 0012, 0085-0087). .
Regarding claims 12, 19, ISHUU discloses a cell state determining apparatus (fig. 8), wherein the field combines both the support of NCR and the cell status for NCR, if the field is present, the cell supports NCR and the cell is also considered as a candidate for cell (re)selection for NCRs, if the field is absent, the cell does not support NCR and/or the cell is barred for NCR (figs. 8, 17; paragraphs 0011, 0012, 0062, 0078, 0079,0085-0087).
Regarding claims 13, 20, ISHUU discloses a cell state determining apparatus (fig. 8), wherein, the processor circuitry (90, fig. 8) is configured to consider a cell as a candidate for cell selection if the system information block (SIB) broadcasted by the cell indicates NCR support (fig. 8;abstract, paragraph 0062;.
Regarding claim 14, ISHUU discloses a cell state determining apparatus (fig. 8), wherein, in a case multiple PLMNs or NPNs indicated in a system information block 1 (SIB1), the repeater-specific cell state information and/or cell restriction information is common to the multiple PLMNs or NPNs (figs. 8, 17; paragraphs 0011, 0012, 0062, 0078, 0079,0085-0087).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEAN B JEANGLAUDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845