DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 3/2/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 21 & 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Braz Ferro (US patent application 2019/0257570).
Regarding claim 1, Brez Ferro discloses a back bar refrigerator appliance comprising a storage compartment (4) and a door (5), wherein the door comprises an inner surface (surface of 11 shown in Fig. 6) facing into the storage compartment when the door is closed and an opposite outer surface (surface shown in Fig. 1), wherein the door comprises an insulated panel (11) and a window (23) covering less than 75% of the outer surface of the door (Fig. 1), and wherein the window is aligned with a door shelf (9) of the back bar refrigerator appliance to provide visual access to items positioned on the door shelf (Fig. 1), wherein the door shelf is located between the window and the insulated panel (Figs. 6 & 7).
Regarding claim 21, Brez Ferro discloses a refrigerator appliance, comprising: a storage compartment (4) and a door (5), wherein the door comprises an integrated compartment formed within the door, the integrated compartment being defined by a window (23) on one side of the integrated compartment, a door panel (11) on an opposite side of the integrated compartment, and a shelf (9) for holding products, wherein the door panel is located on an inner side of the door to face the storage compartment and to bound an inner side of the integrated compartment (Figs. 6-7).
Regarding claim 30, Brez Ferro discloses a refrigerator appliance wherein the door panel covers an entirety of the inner side of the integrated compartment (Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10, 12, 17-26 & 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (US patent application publication 2018/0192791) (hereinafter Miller) in view of Brez Ferro.
Regarding claim 1, Miller discloses a back bar refrigerator appliance comprising a storage compartment (14) and a door (50), wherein the door comprises an inner surface (Fig. 3) facing into the storage compartment when the door is closed and an opposite outer surface (Fig. 2), wherein the door comprises an insulated panel (162) and a window (190) covering less than 75% of the outer surface of the door ([0074]), and wherein the window is aligned with a door shelf (302) of the back bar refrigerator appliance to provide visual access to items positioned on the door shelf.
Miller does not disclose wherein the door shelf is located between the window and the insulated panel. Brez Ferro teaches a refrigerator wherein a door shelf (9) is located between a window (23) and an insulated panel (11). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miller wherein the door shelf is located between the window and the insulated panel, because this arrangement would have provided a sectionized compartment separate from the chamber as taught by Brez Ferro at [0020].
Regarding claim 2, Miller, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the window covers less than 50% of the outer surface of the door, for example less than 25% of the outer surface of the door ([0074]).
Regarding claim 3, Miller, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the insulated panel comprises a sandwich panel with an outer casing (62) and a rigid insulation foam (182) within the outer casing.
Regarding claim 4, Miller, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the outer casing comprises stainless steel or aluminum sheet ([0042]).
Regarding claim 5, Miller, as modified, teaches the refrigerator as claimed. Miller, as modified, does not teach a refrigerator wherein the rigid insulation foam comprises polyurethane foam or polyisocyanurate foam. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to modify Miller wherein the rigid insulation foam comprises polyurethane foam or polyisocyanurate foam, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 6, Miller, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the window comprises glass or a composite material, said glass or composite material being at least partially transparent ([0072-0074]).
Regarding claim 7, Miller, as modified, teaches a refrigerator further comprising a light source (22) configured to illuminate contents of the refrigerator visible through the window.
Regarding claim 10, Miller, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the light source comprises an LED and/or a light guide ([0102]).
Regarding claim 12, Miller, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the shelf is substantially the same width as the window (Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 17, Miller, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the window has a height of between about 15 centimeters and about 60 centimeters ([0074]).
Regarding claim 18, Miller, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the window has a height of between about 15 centimetres and about 30 centimetres, for example between about 18 centimetres and about 23 centimetres, for example about 20 centimetres ([0074]).
Regarding claim 19, Miller discloses a refrigerator wherein the window has a width of between about 10 centimetres and about 20 centimetres, for about 15 centimetres ([0074]).
Regarding claim 20, Miller discloses a refrigerator comprising a plurality of doors and wherein one or more of the plurality of doors comprises the window (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 21, Miller discloses a refrigerator appliance comprising a storage compartment (14) and a door (50).
Miller does not disclose wherein the door comprises an integrated compartment formed within the door, the integrated compartment being defined by a window on one side of the integrated compartment, a door panel on an opposite side of the integrated compartment, and a shelf for holding products, wherein the door panel is located on an inner side of the door to face the storage compartment and to bound an inner side of the integrated compartment.
Brez Ferro teaches a refrigerator wherein a door (5) comprises an integrated compartment formed within the door, the integrated compartment being defined by a window (23) on one side of the integrated compartment, a door panel (11) on an opposite side of the integrated compartment, and a shelf (9) for holding products, wherein the door panel is located on an inner side of the door to face the storage compartment (Figs. 6 & 7) and to bound an inner side of the integrated compartment. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the time of the effective filing date to modify Miller wherein the door comprises an integrated compartment formed within the door, the integrated compartment being defined by a window on one side of the integrated compartment, a door panel on an opposite side of the integrated compartment, and a shelf for holding products, wherein the door panel is located on an inner side of the door to face the storage compartment and to bound an inner side of the integrated compartment, because this arrangement would have provided a sectionized compartment separate from the chamber as taught by Brez Ferro at [0020].
Regarding claim 22, Miller, as modified, teaches a refrigerator appliance wherein the door panel comprises a mirrored surface ([0042]).
Regarding claim 23, Miller, as modified, teaches a refrigerator appliance wherein an inner side of the window comprises a mirrored surface, for example a semi-transparent mirrored surface ([0072-0074]).
Regarding claim 24, Miller, as modified, teaches a refrigerator appliance wherein the door panel comprises insulation (162).
Regarding claim 25, Miller, as modified, teaches a refrigerator appliance wherein the window covers less than about 75% of the outer surface of the door ([0074]).
Regarding claim 26, Miller, as modified, teaches a refrigerator appliance further comprising a light source (22) configured to illuminate contents of the refrigerator visible through the window.
Regarding claim 30, Miller, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the door panel covers an entirety of the inner side of the integrated compartment (Brez Ferro: Fig. 6).
Claim(s) 8, 9 & 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller in view of Brez Ferro & Linder et al. (US patent application publication 2010/0180615) (hereinafter Linder).
Regarding claims 8 & 27, Miller, as modified, teaches the refrigerator as claimed. Miller, as modified, does not teach a refrigerator wherein the light source is attached to the door. Linder teaches a refrigerator wherein a light source (28) is attached to a door (Fig. 1). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify Miller wherein the light source is attached to the door in view of Linder’s teaching, because this arrangement would have replaced one known configuration with another known configuration yielding a predictable result.
Regarding claims 9 & 28, Miller, as modified, teaches the refrigerator as claimed. Miller, as modified, does not teach a refrigerator wherein the light source is disposed at an edge of the window. Linder teaches a refrigerator wherein a light source (28) is attached at an edge of a window (Fig. 1). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to modify Miller, as previously modified, wherein the light source is attached to the edge of the window in view of Linder’s teaching, because this arrangement would have replaced one known configuration with another known configuration yielding a predictable result.
Regarding claim 29, Miller, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the light source comprises an LED and/or a light guide ([0102]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 3/2/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 & 21 under 102 in view of Miller have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Miller & Brez Ferro.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL J ROHRHOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637