DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
Fig. 1 is missing a description of #22 in the specification.
Fig. 17b is missing a description of #139 in the specification.
Fig. 18 is missing a description of #142, 144, and 156 in the specification.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Paragraph 0047 line 8, “with respect the peak widths” should read “with respect to the peak widths”.
In Paragraph 0048 line 2, “by size exclusion chromatography run” should read “by size exclusion chromatography”.
In Paragraph 0050 line 9, “the inlet end of the column bed 62 with a gasket 72 or O-ring” is missing a verb such as “is sealed” after “the column bed 62”.
In Paragraph 0053 line 22, “based the flow” should read “based on the flow”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 10, “in an outer region” and “in an inner region” in lines 7 and 8 of the claim are slightly ambiguous and the Examiner recommends changing the limitations to “in an outer region of the disk” and “in an inner region of the disk”, which also makes these limitations agree with similar limitations in independent claims 1 and 17.
In Claim 17, “a variation in the porosity in the in a radial direction” in line 10 of the claim should read “a variation in the porosity in a radial direction”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the outlet end of the disk" in line 7 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 11-16 are rejected because of their dependence upon claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mott Corporation, Perfect Peak® Filter and Column Frits, 02 JULY 2023, Accessed via Wayback Machine on 08 JULY 2026, https://web.archive.org/web/20230702051617/https://mottcorp.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/PerfectPeak-Filter-and-Column-Frits-2.pdf (hereinafter Mott Corp).
Regarding Claim 1, Mott Corp discloses a column frit for HPLC/UHPLC (i.e., a frit for a chromatography column; Page 2) which is shown to be in the shape of a disk shown with a radius and thickness which is described as having a narrow pore size distribution (i.e., the frit comprising a disk having a porosity, a radius, and a thickness; Page 1),
wherein there is a concave frit which clearly shows a thinner central area and a thicker outside area (i.e., the disk having at least one of a variation in the thickness in a radial direction; Page 1, Geometries, Concave) which is described as enhancing flow uniformity (i.e., wherein a flow of a liquid received at an inlet end of the disk is advanced at an outlet end of the disk in an outer region of the disk relative to the flow of the liquid in an inner region of the disk in response to the at least one of the variation in the thickness in the radial direction; wherein the advance in the flow of the liquid in the outer region relative to the flow of the liquid in the inner region is predetermined to at least partially compensate for a radial variation in the linear velocity of the flow of the liquid through the column bed; Page 2, Table, Geometry, Concave),
and wherein the frit is shown to be located at one end of an HPLC column (i.e., wherein the frit is configured to be disposed at one end of a column bed of a liquid chromatography column; Page 1, Geometries, Concave).
The limitation “wherein the advance in the flow of the liquid in the outer region relative to the flow of the liquid in the inner region is predetermined to at least partially compensate for a radial variation in the linear velocity of the flow of the liquid through the column bed” is equivalent to using a concave frit to enhance flow uniformity. In order to enhance flow uniformity, one must know that the flow will not be uniform under conditions with a standard frit, therefore the uniformity must come from a predetermined decision to use the frit which will compensate for variations in the flow.
Regarding Claim 2, Mott Corporation further discloses a concave frit in which the disk gets progressively thicker with increasing distance from the center of the frit (i.e., wherein the thickness in the outer region is greater than the thickness in the inner region; Page 1, Geometries, Concave).
Regarding Claim 3, Mott Corporation further discloses a concave frit in which the disk gets progressively thicker with increasing distance from the center of the frit (i.e., wherein the disk includes a central cross-section having a thickness and at least one annular cross-section having a thickness that is greater than the thickness of the central cross-section; Page 1, Geometries, Concave).
Regarding Claim 4, Mott Corporation further discloses a concave frit in which the disk gets progressively thicker with increasing distance from the center of the frit (i.e., wherein the disk includes a plurality of annular cross-sections each having a different thickness; Page 1, Geometries, Concave).
Regarding Claim 5, Mott Corporation further discloses a concave frit in which the disk gets progressively thicker with increasing distance from the center of the frit (i.e., wherein the variation in the thickness in the radial direction is a continuous variation in the thickness; Page 1, Geometries, Concave).
Claim 1 is alternatively rejected and Claims 6-10, 17-18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Bunner et al, US Patent Application No. US 20160082435 A1 (hereinafter Bunner).
Regarding Claim 1, Bunner discloses a porous medium, which can be a frit in the shape of a disc for a chromatography column (i.e., a frit for a chromatography column, the frit comprising a disk having a porosity, a radius, and a thickness; Paragraph 0049),
wherein the porosity profile can be changed such that an outer region and inner region of the frit have different porosity profiles (i.e., the disk having at least one of a variation in the porosity in a radial direction) to reduce diffusion to areas of the frit with reduced porosity and promote concentration of a fluid flow to a region with greater porosity (Paragraph 0049) and wherein the central region of the frit can have a lower porosity than an outer region of the frit (i.e., wherein a flow of a liquid received at an inlet end of the disk is advanced at an outlet end of the disk in an outer region of the disk relative to the flow of the liquid in an inner region of the disk in response to the at least one of the variation in the porosity in the radial direction; wherein the advance in the flow of the liquid in the outer region relative to the flow of the liquid in the inner region is predetermined to at least partially compensate for a radial variation in the linear velocity of the flow of the liquid through the column bed; Paragraph 0095),
and wherein frits are known to be located at the inlet and outlet of chromatography columns (i.e., wherein the frit is configured to be disposed at one end of a column bed of a liquid chromatography column; Paragraph 0002).
The limitation “wherein the advance in the flow of the liquid in the outer region relative to the flow of the liquid in the inner region is predetermined to at least partially compensate for a radial variation in the linear velocity of the flow of the liquid through the column bed” is equivalent to changing porosity to preferentially channel fluid do specific regions of the frit. In order to channel flow differently, one must know that the flow will be different under conditions with a standard frit, therefore there is a predetermined decision to use the modified frit which will compensate for variations in the flow.
Regarding Claim 6, Bunner further discloses wherein the central region of the frit can have a lower porosity than an outer region of the frit (i.e., wherein the porosity in the outer region is greater than the porosity in the inner region; Paragraph 0095) and wherein the transition in porosity profile may be linear, nonlinear, or curved (Paragraph 0059).
Regarding Claim 7, Bunner further discloses wherein the central region of the frit can have a lower porosity than an outer region of the frit (Paragraph 0095) and wherein the transition in porosity profile may be linear, nonlinear, or curved (i.e., wherein the disk includes a central cross-section having a porosity and at least one annular cross-section having a porosity that is greater than the porosity of the central cross-section; Paragraph 0059).
Regarding Claim 8, Bunner further discloses wherein the central region of the frit can have a lower porosity than an outer region of the frit (Paragraph 0095) and wherein the transition in porosity profile may be linear, nonlinear, or curved (i.e., wherein the disk includes a plurality of annular cross-sections each having a different porosity; Paragraph 0059).
Regarding Claim 9, Bunner further discloses wherein the central region of the frit can have a lower porosity than an outer region of the frit (Paragraph 0095) and wherein the transition in porosity profile may be linear, nonlinear, or curved (i.e., wherein the variation in the thickness in the radial direction is a continuous variation in the thickness; Paragraph 0059).
Regarding Claim 10, Bunner discloses a porous medium that controls a flow of fluid within a fluidic device (i.e., a device for controlling flow across a diameter of a chromatography column; Paragraph 0029),
wherein fluidic devices include standard liquid chromatography columns (Fig. 2) that are composed of end nuts (i.e., an end nut; Fig. 2, #204, 206) located at the inlet and outlet of a stainless steel tube (i.e., configured for attachment to an inlet end or an outlet end; Fig. 2, #200) which is packed with particles in a slurry (i.e., of a column bed; Paragraph 0006; Paragraph 0093),
wherein the porous medium can be a frit and the frits (Fig. 2, #202, #205) are disposed in the end nut to prevent the particles from leaving the column (i.e., a frit disposed in the end nut; Paragraph 0006) and can be in the shape of a disc for a chromatography column (i.e., the frit comprising a disk having a porosity, a radius, and a thickness; Paragraph 0049),
wherein the porosity profile can be changed such that an outer region and inner region of the frit have different porosity profiles (i.e., the disk having at least one of a variation in the porosity along the radius) to reduce diffusion to areas of the frit with reduced porosity and promote concentration of a fluid flow to a region with greater porosity (Paragraph 0049) and wherein the central region of the frit can have a lower porosity than an outer region of the frit (i.e., wherein a flow of a liquid received at an inlet end of the disk is advanced at an outlet end of the disk in an outer region relative to the flow of the liquid in an inner region by a predetermined distance in response to the at least one of the variation in the porosity along the radius, wherein the advance in the flow of the liquid in the outer region relative to the flow of the liquid in the inner region is predetermined to at least partially compensate for a radial variation in the linear velocity of the flow of the liquid through the column bed; Paragraph 0095),
The limitation “wherein the advance in the flow of the liquid in the outer region relative to the flow of the liquid in the inner region is predetermined to at least partially compensate for a radial variation in the linear velocity of the flow of the liquid through the column bed” is equivalent to changing porosity to preferentially channel fluid do specific regions of the frit. In order to channel flow differently, one must know that the flow will be different under conditions with a standard frit, therefore there is a predetermined decision to use the modified frit which will compensate for variations in the flow.
Regarding Claim 17, Bunner discloses a fluidic device including a standard liquid chromatography column (i.e., a chromatography column; Fig. 2; Paragraph 0006)
with a stainless steel tube (i.e., a column wall; Fig. 2, #200; Paragraph 0006)
which has an outlet and inlet end and is packed with particles in a slurry and can be used with the inventive porous medium (i.e., a column bed comprising a stationary phase material disposed inside the column wall and having an inlet end and an outlet end; Paragraph 0006)
with an inlet end nut (i.e., an inlet end nut secured at the inlet end of the column bed; Fig. 2, #206; Paragraph 0006)
and an outlet end nut (i.e., an outlet end nut secured at the outlet end of the column bed; Fig. 2, #204; Paragraph 0006) with the inventive frits being used in standard chromatography columns (Paragraph 0093),
wherein the porous medium can be a frit and the frits (Fig. 2, #202, #205) are disposed in the end nuts to prevent the particles from leaving the column (i.e., a first frit disposed between the inlet end of the column bed and the inlet end nut and a second frit disposed between the outlet end of the column bed and the outlet end nut; Paragraph 0006) and the frit can be in the shape of a disc for a chromatography column (i.e., at least one of the first and second frits comprising a disk having a porosity, a radius, and a thickness; Paragraph 0049),
wherein the porosity profile can be changed such that an outer region and inner region of the frit have different porosity profiles (i.e., the disk having at least one of a variation in the porosity in a radial direction) to reduce diffusion to areas of the frit with reduced porosity and promote concentration of a fluid flow to a region with greater porosity (Paragraph 0049) and wherein the central region of the frit can have a lower porosity than an outer region of the frit (i.e., wherein a flow of a liquid received at an inlet end of the disk is advanced at an outlet end of the disk in an outer region of the disk relative to the flow of the liquid in an inner region of the disk in response to the at least one of the variation in the porosity in the radial direction; Paragraph 0095).
Regarding Claim 18, Bunner further discloses wherein the porosity profile can be changed such that an outer region and inner region of the frit have different porosity profiles to reduce diffusion to areas of the frit with reduced porosity and promote concentration of a fluid flow to a region with greater porosity (Paragraph 0049) and wherein the central region of the frit can have a lower porosity than an outer region of the frit (i.e., wherein the advance in the flow of the liquid in the outer region relative to the flow of the liquid in the inner region is predetermined to at least partially compensate for a radial variation in the linear velocity of the flow of the liquid through the column bed; Paragraph 0095).
The limitation “wherein the advance in the flow of the liquid in the outer region relative to the flow of the liquid in the inner region is predetermined to at least partially compensate for a radial variation in the linear velocity of the flow of the liquid through the column bed” is equivalent to changing porosity to preferentially channel fluid do specific regions of the frit. In order to channel flow differently, one must know that the flow will be different under conditions with a standard frit, therefore there is a predetermined decision to use the modified frit which will compensate for variations in the flow.
Regarding Claim 22, Bunner further discloses wherein the frit assembly is located outside of the stainless steel tube being placed at the outlet and inlet ends of the tube (i.e., wherein the first and second frits are outside the column wall; Fig. 2, #200, 202, 205; Paragraph 0006).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-16, 19-20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bunner et al, US Patent Application No. US 20160082435 A1 (hereinafter Bunner), as applied to claims 10 and 17 above, and further in view of Bellqvist et al, US Patent Application No. US 20130087246 A1 (hereinafter Bellqvist).
Regarding Claim 11, Bunner further teaches an inlet end nut that includes a frit assembly (i.e., wherein the end nut is an inlet end nut having an inlet to receive the flow of liquid; Fig. 2, #206; Paragraph 0006).
Bunner does not teach the device further comprising a distributor disposed between the inlet end nut and the frit.
However, Bellqvist teaches a fluid distributor (Fig. 1, #11) wherein the distribution channel (i.e., the device further comprising a distributor; Fig. 1, #13) is located at the inlet end of the column (Fig. 1, #12) and between the inlet tube (i.e., disposed between the inlet end nut; Fig. 1, #16) and at least two circular and/or annular porous disks, one of which is a porous retainer disk (i.e., and the frit; Fig. 1, #18) that contacts the packed bed of the column (Fig. 1, #15) with the porous disk preferentially having a three dimensionally connected pore structure for sufficient radial distribution of fluid (Paragraph 0024) wherein the flow distributor will provide high flow uniformity and it is easy to manufacture from readily available materials (Paragraph 0010). The location of the fluid distributor is clearly at an end of the column between the end nut and the frit, as the end nut contains the inlet tube and the frit is disposed adjacent to the column bed material in the teaching of a standard chromatography column by Bunner.
Bellqvist is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to a fluid distributor for uniformly distributing flow onto a chromatography column (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the fluidic device as taught by Bunner with the addition of the fluid distributor as taught by Bellqvist because the fluid distributor would help provide high uniformity to flow through the column and would be easy to manufacture from readily available materials.
Regarding Claim 12, Bellqvist further teaches that the distribution channel is in a generally conical shape for uniform distribution of fluid through the porous disks (i.e., wherein the distributor includes a conical opening formed in the inlet end nut to distribute the flow received at an inlet port of the inlet end nut into a substantially uniform flow across an inlet face of the frit; Fig. 1, #13; Paragraph 0024).
Regarding Claim 13, Bellqvist further teaches that the fluid distributor comprises at least two circular porous disks wherein the disks have a three-dimensionally connected pore structure for uniform distribution of fluid through the porous disks (i.e., wherein the distributor includes a flat plate having at least one opening shaped to distribute flow received at an inlet port of the inlet end nut into a substantially uniform flow across an inlet face of the frit; Fig. 1, #18; Paragraph 0024).
Regarding Claim 14, Bunner further teaches and an outlet end nut that includes a frit assembly (i.e., the end nut is an outlet end nut having an outlet to provide the flow of liquid; Fig. 2, #204; Paragraph 0006).
Bunner does not teach the device further comprising a collector disposed between the outlet end nut and the frit.
However, Bellqvist teaches a fluid distributor (Fig. 1, #11) wherein the distribution channel (i.e., the device further comprising a collector; Fig. 1, #13) is located at the outlet end of the column (Fig. 1, #12) and between the outlet tube (i.e., disposed between the outlet end nut; Fig. 1, #16) and at least two circular and/or annular porous disks, one of which is a porous retainer disk (i.e., and the frit; Fig. 1, #18) that contacts the packed bed of the column (Fig. 1, #15) with the porous disk preferentially having a three dimensionally connected pore structure for sufficient radial distribution of fluid (Paragraph 0024) wherein the flow distributor will provide high flow uniformity and it is easy to manufacture from readily available materials (Paragraph 0010). The location of the fluid distributor is clearly at an end of the column between the end nut and the frit, as the end nut contains the outlet tube and the frit is disposed adjacent to the column bed material in the teaching of a standard chromatography column by Bunner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the fluidic device as taught by Bunner with the addition of the fluid distributor as taught by Bellqvist because the fluid distributor would help provide high uniformity to flow through the column and would be easy to manufacture from readily available materials.
Regarding Claim 15, Bellqvist further teaches that the distribution channel is in a generally conical shape for uniform distribution of fluid through the porous disks (i.e., wherein the collector includes a conical opening formed in the outlet end nut to collect the flow from the column bed and provide flow through the outlet; Fig. 1, #13; Paragraph 0024).
Regarding Claim 16, Bellqvist further teaches that the fluid distributor comprises at least two circular porous disks wherein the disks have a three-dimensionally connected pore structure for uniform distribution of fluid through the porous disks (i.e., wherein the collector includes a flat plate having at least one opening shaped to substantially uniformly collect the flow from the column bed and provide the flow through the outlet; Fig. 1, #18; Paragraph 0024).
Regarding Claim 19, Bunner further teaches an inlet end nut that includes a frit assembly (i.e., wherein the inlet end nut includes an inlet port to receive the flow of the liquid; Fig. 2, #206; Paragraph 0006).
Bunner does not teach a distributor to provide the received flow of the liquid through the first frit to the inlet end of the column bed.
However, Bellqvist teaches a fluid distributor (Fig. 1, #11) wherein the distribution channel (i.e., a distributor; Fig. 1, #13) is located at the inlet end of the column (Fig. 1, #12) and between the inlet tube (Fig. 1, #16) and at least two circular and/or annular porous disks, one of which is a porous retainer disk (Fig. 1, #18) that contacts the packed bed of the column (i.e., to provide the received flow of the liquid through the first frit to the inlet end of the column; Fig. 1, #15) with the porous disk preferentially having a three dimensionally connected pore structure for sufficient radial distribution of fluid (Paragraph 0024) wherein the flow distributor will provide high flow uniformity and it is easy to manufacture from readily available materials (Paragraph 0010). The location of the fluid distributor is clearly at an end of the column between the end nut and the frit, as the end nut contains the inlet tube and the frit is disposed adjacent to the column bed material in the teaching of a standard chromatography column by Bunner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the fluidic device as taught by Bunner with the addition of the fluid distributor as taught by Bellqvist because the fluid distributor would help provide high uniformity to flow through the column and would be easy to manufacture from readily available materials.
Regarding Claim 20, Bunner further teaches and an outlet end nut that includes a frit assembly (i.e., wherein the outlet end nut and an outlet port to provide the received flow of the liquid; Fig. 2, #204; Paragraph 0006).
Bunner does not teach a collector to receive the flow of the liquid from the outlet end of the column bed after passing through the second frit.
However, Bellqvist teaches a fluid distributor (Fig. 1, #11) wherein the distribution channel (i.e., the device further comprising a collector; Fig. 1, #13) is located at the outlet end of the column (Fig. 1, #12) and between the outlet tube (Fig. 1, #16) and at least two circular and/or annular porous disks, one of which is a porous retainer disk (Fig. 1, #18) that contacts the packed bed of the column (i.e., to receive the flow of the liquid from the outlet end of the column bed after passing through the second frit; Fig. 1, #15) with the porous disk preferentially having a three dimensionally connected pore structure for sufficient radial distribution of fluid (Paragraph 0024) wherein the flow distributor will provide high flow uniformity and it is easy to manufacture from readily available materials (Paragraph 0010). The location of the fluid distributor is clearly at an end of the column between the end nut and the frit, as the end nut contains the outlet tube and the frit is disposed adjacent to the column bed material in the teaching of a standard chromatography column by Bunner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the fluidic device as taught by Bunner with the addition of the fluid distributor as taught by Bellqvist because the fluid distributor would help provide high uniformity to flow through the column and would be easy to manufacture from readily available materials.
Regarding Claim 23, Bunner does not teach wherein the first and second frits are immobilized inside the column wall at the inlet and outlet ends of the column bed, respectively.
However, Bellqvist teaches that the fluid distributor and porous disks (Fig. 1, #18) can be located both at the top and bottom of the column (i.e., wherein the first and second frits), within the column wall (Fig. 1, #12) and the disks fill the distributor void (i.e., are immobilized inside the column wall at the inlet and outlet ends of the column bed, respectively; Fig. 1, #13; Paragraph 0024) at least 90% so that the retainer disk (i.e. the frit) is prevented from bulging (Paragraph 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the fluidic device as taught by Bunner with porous disks that fill at least 90% of the distributor void as taught by Bellqvist because porous disks filling this void would prevent the frit from bulging.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bunner as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Patel et al, US Patent Application No. US 20220082532 A1 (hereinafter Patel).
Regarding Claim 21, Bunner teaches that the column of a traditional liquid chromatography column is made from stainless steel.
Bunner does not explicitly teach wherein the column wall is coated with at least one material selected from the group consisting of stainless steel, titanium, polyether ether ketone, and glass.
However, Patel teaches that PEEK (i.e., polyether ether ketone) lined steel components are used (i.e., wherein the column wall is coated with at least one material selected from the group consisting of polyether ether ketone) to address deleterious effects of secondary reactions by preventing contact of the analytes with metal surfaces (Paragraph 0031).
Patel is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to evaluating inertness in liquid chromatography columns (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the traditional stainless steel column as taught by Bunner with the PEEK lining as taught by Patel because the PEEK lining would prevent deleterious effects of secondary reactions from analyte contact with metal surfaces.
Conclusion
/A.A.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 1772
/IN SUK C BULLOCK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1772