DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed with respect to the previously set forth rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the Amendment. Accordingly, the previously set forth rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to the prior art rejections have been fully considered but they are moot. Applicant has amended the claims to recite new combinations of limitations.
Applicant’s arguments are directed at the amendment. Please see below for new grounds of rejection, necessitated by Amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TUFTY (US 20210153390 A1: Previously cited).
Regarding Claim 1, TUFTY teaches a canister (Chassis 22 and other related structures shown in fig. 5) for coupling a plurality of servers (server 16) to a server rack (server rack shown in FIG. 8A, 8B, etc.), the canister comprising:
a canister frame (U-shaped bracket 28 shown in fig. 5) including a rear wall (rear wall 40 para. 0034 shown in FIG. 4);
an influent first manifold (Supply manifolds 42, 142, 216, etc.) attached to the rear wall of the canister frame (see Figure 5),
the influent first manifold including a plurality of influent first manifold quick-disconnect (QD) fittings (cooling liquid inlet 208 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) arranged in fixed positions and configured to couple with influent server QD fittings on the servers (supply server coupling 48b para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4);
an effluent first manifold (return manifolds 44, 144, 218, etc) attached to the rear wall of the canister frame (see Figure 5), the effluent first manifold including a plurality of effluent first manifold QD fittings (cooling liquid outlet 210 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) arranged in fixed positions and configured to couple with effluent server QD fittings on the servers (return server QD coupling 52b para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4);
an influent canister QD fitting (supply canister QD coupling 48a para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) disposed on an exterior side of the rear wall of the canister frame (see in annotated FIG. 4 where the supply canister QD coupling 48a are disposed on an exterior side of the rear wall of the canister frame) and coupled with the influent first manifold (Supply manifolds 42, 142, 216, etc.), the influent canister QD fitting being configured to couple with an influent second manifold QD fitting (supply manifold QD coupling 142f para. 0047 shown in annotated FIG. 8B) an influent second manifold (supply manifolds 142 para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B) of the server rack; and
an effluent canister QD fitting (return canister QD coupling 52a para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) disposed on the exterior side of the rear wall of the canister frame (see in annotated FIG. 4 where the return canister QD coupling 52a are disposed on an exterior side of the rear wall of the canister frame) and coupled with the effluent first manifold (return manifolds 44, 144, 218, etc), the effluent canister QD fitting being configured to couple with an effluent second manifold QD fitting (return manifold QD coupling 144f para. 0047 shown in annotated FIG. 8B) of an effluent second manifold (return manifolds 144 para. 0047 FIG. 8B) of the server rack.
TUFTY does not teach the influent first manifold attached to an interior side of the rear wall of the canister frame and the effluent first manifold attached to the interior side of the rear wall of the canister frame.
However, there is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the locations of the influent first manifold and the effluent first manifold would result in a difference in function of TUFTY’s device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the locations of the influent first manifold and the effluent first manifold of TUFTY’s device, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed locations. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed locations solve any stated problem, indicating that the locations of the influent first manifold and the effluent first manifold “may” be disposed on either side of the rear wall (specification at para. [0040]) and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the locations as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the influent first manifold and the effluent first manifold of TUFTY’s device to be attached to the interior side of the rear wall of the canister frame as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Regarding Claim 2, TUFTY as modified further teaches wherein the influent first manifold (Supply manifolds 42, 142, 216, etc) and the effluent first manifold (return manifolds 44, 144, 218, etc) are formed as portions of a single structure (See Figure 4).
Regarding Claim 3, TUFTY as modified further teaches wherein the influent first manifold QD fittings (cooling liquid inlet 208 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) and the effluent first manifold QD fittings (cooling liquid outlet 210 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) are arranged in respective linear arrays (FIG. 2).
Regarding Claim 4, TUFTY as modified further teaches wherein the linear arrays are parallel (FIG. 2).
Regarding Claim 5, TUFTY as modified further teaches wherein the influent first manifold QD fittings (cooling liquid inlet 208 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) and the effluent first manifold QD fittings (cooling liquid outlet 210 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) are blind mate fittings (para. 0034).
Regarding Claim 7, TUFTY further teaches wherein the canister frame (U-shaped bracket 28 shown in fig. 5) is formed of sheet metal (para. 0033).
Regarding Claim 8, TUFTY further teaches wherein the canister frame (U-shaped bracket 28 shown in fig. 5) is configured to mount to the server rack (server rack shown in FIG. 8A, 8B, etc.).
Regarding Claim 9, TUFTY further teaches wherein the canister frame (U-shaped bracket 28 shown in fig. 5) includes server portions (server 16) configured to orient the servers within the canister (Chassis 22 and other related structures shown in fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 12, TUFTY further teaches wherein at least one of: the influent canister QD fitting (supply canister QD coupling 48a para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) is coupled to the influent first manifold (Supply manifolds 42, 142, 216, etc) via an influent canister hose (supply lines 146 para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B); or the effluent canister QD fitting (return canister QD coupling 52a para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) is coupled to the effluent first manifold (return manifolds 44, 144, 218, etc) via an effluent canister hose (return lines 150 para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B).
Regarding Claim 13, TUFTY further teaches wherein at least one of: the influent canister QD fitting (supply canister QD coupling 48a para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) is coupled to the canister via an influent canister QD bracket (a front wall 30 of the u-shaped bracket 28 includes a plurality of blind-mate power connectors 32 para. 0033 shown in FIG. 4); or the effluent canister QD fitting (return canister QD coupling 52a para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) is coupled to the canister via an effluent canister QD bracket (a front wall 30 of the u-shaped bracket 28 includes a plurality of blind-mate power connectors 32 para. 0033 shown in FIG. 4).
Regarding Claim 14, TUFTY further teaches wherein the canister (Chassis 22 and other related structures shown in fig. 5) is configured to couple three or more servers to the server rack (server rack shown in FIG. 8A, 8B, etc.).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TUFTY (US 20210153390 A1: Previously cited) in view of GAO (JP 2022015090 A: Previously cited).
Regarding Claim 15, TUFTY does not teach the canister configured to receive 19 or 21 inch servers.
GAO teaches wherein the canister (mounting structure 200 for the PDB of the server chassis shown in FIG. 2 description of embodiments para. 13) is configured to receive 19 inch or 21-inch servers (The adjustment rail 222 is compatibly mounted on different types of chassis with different shape factors, such as 19-inch or 21-inch chassis types shown in FIG. 2 description of embodiments para. 13).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the server canister for liquid cooled server racks of TUFTY to utilize the canister design of GAO, the motivation would be to accommodate different server rack configurations (description of embodiments para. 13).
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TUFTY (US 20210153390 A1: Previously cited).
Regarding Claim 16, TUFTY teaches a cooling system for a server rack (server rack shown in FIG. 8A, 8B, etc.), the cooling system comprising:
an influent second manifold (supply manifolds 142 para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B) including:
a plurality of influent hoses (supply lines 146 para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B); and
a plurality of influent second manifold quick-disconnect (QD) fittings (supply manifold QD coupling 142f para. 0047 shown in annotated FIG. 8B) at respective ends of the influent hoses;
an effluent second manifold (return manifolds 144 para. 0047 FIG. 8B) including:
a plurality of effluent hoses (return lines 146 para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B); and
a plurality of effluent second manifold QD fittings (return manifold QD coupling 144f para. 0047 shown in annotated FIG. 8B) at respective ends of the effluent hoses; and
a plurality of canisters (Chassis 122 and other related structures shown in fig. 10) configured to couple respective pluralities of servers (106 server shown in fig. 8B) to the server rack (server rack shown in FIG. 8A, 8B, etc.), each of the plurality of canisters including:
a canister frame (U-shaped bracket 28 shown in fig. 5) including a rear wall (rear wall 40 para. 0034 shown in FIG. 4);
an influent first manifold (Supply manifolds 42, 142, 216, etc.) attached to an exterior side of the rear wall of the canister frame (see Figure 5), the influent first manifold including a plurality of influent first manifold quick-disconnect (QD) fittings (cooling liquid inlet 208 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) arranged in fixed positions , and the influent first manifold being configured to couple with influent server QD fittings on the servers (supply server coupling 48b para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4);
an effluent first manifold (return manifolds 44, 144, 218, etc) attached to the exterior side of the rear wall of the canister frame (see Figure 5), the effluent first manifold including a plurality of effluent first manifold QD fittings (cooling liquid outlet 210 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) arranged in fixed positions , and the effluent first manifold being configured to couple with effluent server QD fittings on the servers (return server QD coupling 52b para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4);
an influent canister QD fitting (supply canister QD coupling 48a para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) disposed on the exterior side of the rear wall of the canister frame (see in annotated FIG. 4 where the supply canister QD coupling 48a are disposed on an exterior side of the rear wall of the canister frame) and coupled with the influent first manifold (Supply manifolds 42, 142, 216, etc.), the influent canister QD fitting being configured to couple with one of the influent second manifold QD fittings (supply manifold QD coupling 142f para. 0047 shown in annotated FIG. 8B) of the influent second manifold (supply manifolds 142f para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B); and
an effluent canister QD fitting (return canister QD coupling 52a para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) disposed on the exterior side of the rear wall of the canister frame (see in annotated FIG. 4 where the return canister QD coupling 52a are disposed on an exterior side of the rear wall of the canister frame) and coupled with the effluent first manifold (return manifolds 44, 144, 218, etc), the effluent canister QD fitting being configured to couple with one of the effluent second manifold QD fittings (return manifold QD coupling 144f para. 0047 shown in annotated FIG. 8B) of the effluent second manifold (return manifolds 144 para. 0047 FIG. 8B).
TUFTY does not teach the plurality of influent first manifold quick-disconnect (QD) fittings passing through the rear wall of the canister frame and the plurality of effluent first manifold QD fittings passing through the rear wall of the canister frame.
However, there is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the configuration of the plurality of influent first manifold quick-disconnect (QD) fittings and the plurality of effluent first manifold QD fittings would result in a difference in function of TUFTY’s device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the configuration of the plurality of influent first manifold quick-disconnect (QD) fittings and the plurality of effluent first manifold QD fittings of TUFTY’s device, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed configuration. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed configuration solves any stated problem and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the locations as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the configuration of the plurality of influent first manifold quick-disconnect (QD) fittings and the plurality of effluent first manifold QD fittings of TUFTY’s device to be passing through the rear wall of the canister frame as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Regarding Claim 17, TUFTY further teaches wherein the influent first manifold QD fittings (cooling liquid inlet 208 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) and the effluent first manifold QD fittings (cooling liquid outlet 210 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) are arranged in respective linear arrays (FIG. 2).
Regarding Claim 18, TUFTY further teaches wherein the canister frame (U-shaped bracket 28 shown in fig. 5) is configured to mount to the server rack (server rack shown in FIG. 8A, 8B, etc.).
Regarding Claim 19, TUFTY further teaches wherein the influent second manifold (supply manifolds 142 para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B) and the effluent second manifold (return manifolds 144 para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B) are coupled with a second manifold frame (the rack 102 para. 0044 shown in FIG. 8B).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TUFTY (US 20210153390 A1: Previously cited).
Regarding Claim 20, TUFTY teaches a server rack comprising:
a server rack frame (server rack frame shown in FIG. 8A, 8B, etc.);
an influent soft manifold (supply manifolds 142 para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B) including:
a plurality of influent hoses (supply lines 146 para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B); and
a plurality of influent soft manifold quick-disconnect (QD) fittings (supply manifold QD coupling 142f para. 0047 shown in annotated FIG. 8B) at respective ends of the influent hoses;
an effluent soft manifold (return manifolds 144 para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B) including:
a plurality of effluent hoses (return lines 146 para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B); and
a plurality of effluent soft manifold QD fittings (supply manifold QD coupling 142f para. 0047 shown in annotated FIG. 8B) at respective ends of the effluent hoses; and
a plurality of canisters (Chassis 122 and other related structures shown in fig. 10) configured to be mounted to the server rack frame, each canister configured to couple a plurality of servers (106 server shown in fig. 8B) to the server rack and including:
a canister frame (U-shaped bracket 28 shown in fig. 5) including a rear wall (rear wall 40 para. 0034 shown in FIG. 4);
an influent first manifold (Supply manifolds 42, 142, 216, etc.) attached to the rear wall of the canister frame (see Figure 5), the influent first manifold including a plurality of influent first manifold quick-disconnect (QD) fittings (cooling liquid inlet 208 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) arranged in fixed positions and configured to couple with influent server QD fittings on the servers (supply server coupling 48b para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4);
an effluent first manifold (return manifolds 44, 144, 218, etc) attached to the rear wall of the canister frame (see Figure 5), the influent first manifold including a plurality of effluent first manifold QD fittings (cooling liquid outlet 210 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) arranged in fixed positions and configured to couple with effluent server QD fittings on the servers (return server QD coupling 52b para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4);
an influent canister QD fitting (supply canister QD coupling 48a para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) disposed on an exterior side of the rear wall of the canister frame (see in annotated FIG. 4 where the supply canister QD coupling 48a are disposed on an exterior side of the rear wall of the canister frame) and coupled with the influent first manifold (Supply manifolds 42, 142, 216, etc.); the influent canister QD fitting being configured to couple with one of the influent second manifold QD fittings (supply manifold QD coupling 142f para. 0047 shown in annotated FIG. 8B) of the influent second manifold (supply manifolds 142 para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B); and
an effluent canister QD fitting (return canister QD coupling 52a para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) disposed on the exterior side of the rear wall of the canister frame (see in annotated FIG. 4 where the return canister QD coupling 52a are disposed on an exterior side of the rear wall of the canister frame) and coupled with the effluent first manifold (return manifolds 44, 144, 218, etc), the effluent canister QD fitting being configured to couple with one of the effluent second manifold QD fittings (return manifold QD coupling 144f para. 0047 shown in annotated FIG. 8B) of the effluent second manifold (return manifolds 144 para. 0047 FIG. 8B).
TUFTY does not teach the influent first manifold attached to an interior side of the rear wall of the canister frame and the effluent first manifold attached to the interior side of the rear wall of the canister frame.
However, there is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the locations of the influent first manifold and the effluent first manifold would result in a difference in function of TUFTY’s device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the locations of the influent first manifold and the effluent first manifold of TUFTY’s device, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed locations. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed locations solve any stated problem, indicating that the locations of the influent first manifold and the effluent first manifold “may” be disposed on either side of the rear wall (specification at para. [0040]) and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the locations as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the influent first manifold and the effluent first manifold of TUFTY’s device to be attached to the interior side of the rear wall of the canister frame as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHALED AHMED ALI AL SAMIRI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763