Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “rigid” in claim 1-6, 10-12, 16-17, and 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “Rigid” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear the certain degree of rigidness.
For examination purposes “influent rigid manifold is construed as—influent manifold”—
For examination purposes “effluent rigid manifold is construed as—effluent manifold”—
For examination purposes “influent rigid manifold QD is construed as–influent manifold QD”—
For examination purposes “effluent rigid manifold QD is construed as—effluent manifold QD”—
The term “soft” in claim 1, 16, 19-20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “soft” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear the certain degree of rigidness.
For examination purposes “influent soft manifold is construed as—influent manifold”—
For examination purposes “effluent soft manifold is construed as—effluent manifold”—
For examination purposes “influent soft manifold QD is construed as–influent manifold QD”—
For examination purposes “effluent soft manifold QD is construed as—effluent manifold QD”—
Claims 2-15 and 17-19 are rejected for dependence from one or more of the above rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by TUFTY(US 20210153390 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, TUFTY teaches a canister (Chassis 22 and other related structures shown in fig. 5) for coupling a plurality of servers (server 16) to a server rack (server rack shown in FIG. 8A, 8B, etc.), the canister comprising: an influent rigid manifold (Supply manifolds 42, 142, 216, etc.)
including a plurality of influent rigid manifold quick-disconnect (QD) fittings (cooling liquid inlet 208 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) arranged in a fixed orientation and configured to couple with influent server QD fittings (supply server coupling 48b para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) on the servers an effluent rigid manifold (return manifolds 44, 144, 218, etc) including a plurality of effluent rigid manifold QD fittings (cooling liquid outlet 210 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) arranged in a fixed orientation and configured to couple with effluent server QD fittings (return server QD coupling 52b para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) on the servers; an influent canister QD fitting (supply canister QD coupling 48a para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) coupled with the influent rigid manifold (Supply manifolds 42, 142, 216, etc.)
and configured to couple with an influent soft manifold QD fitting (supply manifold QD coupling 142f para. 0047 shown in annotated FIG. 8B) an influent soft manifold (supply manifolds 142 para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B) of the server rack; and an effluent canister QD fitting (return canister QD coupling 52a para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) coupled with the effluent rigid manifold (return manifolds 44, 144, 218, etc) and configured to couple with an effluent soft manifold QD fitting (return manifold QD coupling 144f para. 0047 shown in annotated FIG. 8B) of an effluent soft manifold (return manifolds 144 para. 0047 FIG. 8B) of the server rack.
Regarding Claim 2, TUFTY teaches the canister of claim 1, wherein the influent rigid manifold (Supply manifolds 42, 142, 216, etc) and the effluent rigid manifold (return manifolds 44, 144, 218, etc) are formed as portions of a single structure.
Regarding Claim 3, TUFTY teaches the canister of claim 1, wherein the influent rigid manifold QD fittings (cooling liquid inlet 208 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) and the effluent rigid manifold QD fittings (cooling liquid outlet 210 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) are arranged in respective linear arrays (FIG. 2).
Regarding Claim 4, TUFTY teaches the canister of claim 3, wherein the linear arrays are parallel (FIG. 2).
Regarding Claim 5, TUFTY teaches the canister of claim 1, wherein the influent rigid manifold QD fittings (cooling liquid inlet 208 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) and the effluent rigid manifold QD fittings (cooling liquid outlet 210 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) are blind mate fittings (para. 0034).
Regarding Claim 6, TUFTY teaches the canister of claim 1, wherein: the canister (Chassis 22 and other related structures shown in fig. 5) includes a canister frame (U-shaped bracket 28 shown in fig. 5); and the influent rigid manifold (Supply manifolds 42, 142, 216, etc) and the effluent rigid manifold (return manifolds 44, 144, 218, etc) are coupled with the canister frame (U-shaped bracket 28 shown in fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 7, TUFTY teaches the canister of claim 6, wherein the canister frame (U-shaped bracket 28 shown in fig. 5) is formed of sheet metal (para. 0033).
Regarding Claim 8, TUFTY teaches the canister of claim 6, wherein the canister frame (U-shaped bracket 28 shown in fig. 5) is configured to mount to the server rack (server rack shown in FIG. 8A, 8B, etc.).
Regarding Claim 9, TUFTY teaches the canister of claim 6, wherein the canister frame (U-shaped bracket 28 shown in fig. 5) includes server portions (server 16) configured to orient the servers within the canister (Chassis 22 and other related structures shown in fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 10, TUFTY teaches the canister of claim 6, wherein: the canister frame (U-shaped bracket 28 shown in fig. 5) includes a rear wall (rear wall 40 para. 0034 shown in FIG. 4); the influent rigid manifold (Supply manifolds 42, 142, 216, etc) and the effluent rigid manifold (return manifolds 44, 144, 218, etc) are mounted on an interior side of the rear wall (return manifold 144 inside back of server rack 104 para. 0041-42 shown in FIG. 8A&8B); and the influent canister QD fitting (supply canister QD coupling 48a para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) and the effluent canister QD fitting (return canister QD coupling 52a para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) are disposed on an exterior side of the rear wall (canister QD coupling 52a & 48a protruding back of server rack 104 para. 0041-42 shown in FIG. 8A&8B).
Regarding Claim 11, TUFTY teaches the canister of claim 6, wherein: the canister frame (U-shaped bracket 28 shown in fig. 5) includes a rear wall (rear wall 40 para. 0034 shown in FIG. 4); the canister (Chassis 22 and other related structures shown in fig. 5) is configured to mount the servers on an interior side of the rear wall (inside back of server rack 104 para. 0041-42 shown in FIG. 8A&8B); the influent rigid manifold (Supply manifolds 42, 142, 216, etc) and the effluent rigid manifold (return manifolds 44, 144, 218, etc) are mounted on an exterior side of the rear wall (return manifold 144 outside back of server rack 104 para. 0041-42 shown in FIG. 8A&8B); and the influent rigid manifold QD fittings (cooling liquid inlet 208 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) and the effluent rigid manifold QD fittings (cooling liquid outlet 210 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) go through the rear wall (cooling liquid outlet 210 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 protruding back of server rack 104 para. 0041-42 shown in FIG. 8A&8B).
Regarding Claim 12, TUFTY teaches the canister of claim 1, wherein at least one of: the influent canister QD fitting (supply canister QD coupling 48a para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) is coupled to the influent rigid manifold (Supply manifolds 42, 142, 216, etc) via an influent canister hose (supply lines 146 para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B); or the effluent canister QD fitting (return canister QD coupling 52a para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) is coupled to the effluent rigid manifold (return manifolds 44, 144, 218, etc) via an effluent canister hose (return lines 150 para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B).
Regarding Claim 13, TUFTY teaches the canister of claim 1 wherein at least one of: the influent canister QD fitting (supply canister QD coupling 48a para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) is coupled to the canister via an influent canister QD bracket (a front wall 30 of the u-shaped bracket 28 includes a plurality of blind-mate power connectors 32 para. 0033 shown in FIG. 4); or the effluent canister QD fitting (return canister QD coupling 52a para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) is coupled to the canister via an effluent canister QD bracket (a front wall 30 of the u-shaped bracket 28 includes a plurality of blind-mate power connectors 32 para. 0033 shown in FIG. 4).
Regarding Claim 14, TUFTY teaches the canister of claim 1, wherein the canister (Chassis 22 and other related structures shown in fig. 5) is configured to couple three or more servers to the server rack (server rack shown in FIG. 8A, 8B, etc.).
Regarding Claim 16, TUFTY teaches a cooling system for a server rack (server rack shown in FIG. 8A, 8B, etc.), the cooling system comprising: an influent soft manifold (supply manifolds 142 para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B) including: a plurality of influent hoses (supply lines 146 para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B); and a plurality of influent soft manifold quick-disconnect (QD) fittings (supply manifold QD coupling 142f para. 0047 shown in annotated FIG. 8B) at respective ends of the influent hoses; an effluent soft manifold (return manifolds 144 para. 0047 FIG. 8B) including: a plurality of effluent hoses (return lines 146 para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B); and a plurality of effluent soft manifold QD fittings (return manifold QD coupling 144f para. 0047 shown in annotated FIG. 8B) at respective ends of the effluent hoses; and a plurality of canisters (Chassis 122 and other related structures shown in fig. 10) configured to couple respective pluralities of servers (106 server shown in fig. 8B) to the server rack (server rack shown in FIG. 8A, 8B, etc.), each canister including: an influent rigid manifold (Supply manifolds 42, 142, 216, etc) including a plurality of influent rigid manifold QD fittings (cooling liquid inlet 208 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) arranged in a fixed orientation and configured to couple with influent server QD fittings (supply server coupling 48b para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) on the servers; an effluent rigid manifold (return manifolds 44, 144, 218, etc) including a plurality of effluent rigid manifold QD fittings (cooling liquid outlet 210 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) arranged in a fixed orientation and configured to couple with effluent server QD fittings (return server QD coupling 52b para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) on the servers; an influent canister QD fitting (supply canister QD coupling 48a para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) coupled with the influent rigid manifold and configured to couple with one of the influent soft manifold QD fittings of the influent soft manifold ; and an effluent canister QD fitting (return canister QD coupling 52a para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) coupled with the effluent rigid manifold and configured to couple with one of the effluent soft manifold QD fittings of the effluent soft manifold.
Regarding Claim 17, TUFTY teaches the cooling system of claim 16, wherein the influent rigid manifold QD fittings (cooling liquid inlet 208 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) and the effluent rigid manifold QD fittings (cooling liquid outlet 210 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) are arranged in respective linear arrays (FIG. 2).
Regarding Claim 18, TUFTY teaches the cooling system of claim 16, wherein each canister (Chassis 22 and other related structures shown in fig. 5) includes a canister frame (U-shaped bracket 28 shown in fig. 5) configured to mount to the server rack (server rack shown in FIG. 8A, 8B, etc.).
Regarding Claim 19, TUFTY teaches the cooling system of claim 16, wherein the influent soft manifold (supply manifolds 142 para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B) and the effluent soft manifold (return manifolds 144 para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B) are coupled with a soft manifold frame (the rack 102 para. 0044 shown in FIG. 8B).
Regarding Claim 20, TUFTY teaches a server rack comprising: a server rack frame (server rack frame shown in FIG. 8A, 8B, etc.); an influent soft manifold (supply manifolds 142 para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B) including: a plurality of influent hoses (supply lines 146 para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B); and a plurality of influent soft manifold quick-disconnect (QD) fittings (supply manifold QD coupling 142f para. 0047 shown in annotated FIG. 8B) at respective ends of the influent hoses; an effluent soft manifold (return manifolds 144 para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B) including: a plurality of effluent hoses (return lines 146 para. 0047 shown in FIG. 8B); and a plurality of effluent soft manifold QD fittings (supply manifold QD coupling 142f para. 0047 shown in annotated FIG. 8B) at respective ends of the effluent hoses; and a plurality of canisters (Chassis 122 and other related structures shown in fig. 10) configured to be mounted to the server rack frame, each canister configured to couple a plurality of servers (106 server shown in fig. 8B) to the server rack and including: an influent rigid manifold (Supply manifolds 42, 142, 216, etc) including a plurality of influent rigid manifold QD fittings (cooling liquid inlet 208 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) arranged in a fixed orientation and configured to couple with influent server QD fittings (supply server coupling 48b para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) on the servers; an effluent rigid manifold (return manifolds 44, 144, 218, etc) including a plurality of effluent rigid manifold QD fittings (cooling liquid outlet 210 configured with quick disconnect fluid couplers para. 0052 shown in FIG. 14) arranged in a fixed orientation and configured to couple with effluent server QD fittings (return server QD coupling 52b para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) on the servers; an influent canister QD fitting (supply canister QD coupling 48a para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) coupled with the influent rigid manifold and configured to couple with one of the influent soft manifold QD fittings of the influent soft manifold; and an effluent canister QD fitting (return canister QD coupling 52a para. 0034 shown in annotated FIG. 4) coupled with the effluent rigid manifold and configured to couple with one of the effluent soft manifold QD fittings of the effluent soft manifold.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TUFTY(US 20210153390 A1) in view of GAO(JP 2022015090 A).
Regarding Claim 15, TUFTY teaches the server canister for liquid-cooled server racks of claim 1, but does not teach the canister configured to receive 19 or 21 inch servers.
GAO teaches wherein the canister (mounting structure 200 for the PDB of the server chassis shown in FIG. 2 description of embodiments para. 13) is configured to receive 19 inch or 21-inch servers (The adjustment rail 222 is compatibly mounted on different types of chassis with different shape factors, such as 19-inch or 21-inch chassis types shown in FIG. 2 description of embodiments para. 13). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the server canister for liquid cooled server racks design of TUFTY to utilize the canister design of GAO, the motivation would be to accommodate different server rack configurations (description of embodiments para. 13).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Attlesey(US 8089764 B2), teaches similar server rack cooling manifold as claimed.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HENRY F CANOVA whose telephone number is (571)- 272-5795. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 8-5 and Friday 8-10 and 2-4. Application/Control Number: 18/745,286 Art Unit: 3763 Page 24 If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jianying Atkisson be reached on (571) 270-7740. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272- 1000.
/HENRY FRANCIS CANOVA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JOEL M ATTEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763