DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of Species of Fig.9 and claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 07/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Election was made with traverse in the reply filed on 07/13/2026, applicant argues that search and examination was not burden on the examiner, and that fig.9 species also apply to fig.10 and 11.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and indicates that search and examination would be a burden since the species at least of different contact structure are different amongst fig.4-9. Furthermore, Fig.10 and Fig.11 were not added as different species and they are still part of Fig.9 species, Fig.4-9 are different species as indicted in the restriction. Election/Restriction is Final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 08/26/2026, 05/27/2026, 02/04/2026, 06/23/2025, 08/28/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: STATOR ARRANGEMENT WITH INTERCONNECTION MODULE COOMPRISING TERMINAL CONDUCTORS, STAR POINT CONDUCTOR AND CONNECTING CONDUCTORS”
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. (US Pub 6894410 hereinafter “Kobayashi”) in view of Kamada (US PG Pub 20240275229 hereinafter “Kamada”).
Re-claim 1, Kobayashi discloses a stator arrangement (15) for an electric machine (11), the stator arrangement comprising; a stator (15,16) comprising a stator core (18) on which a stator winding (16) has been arranged, an interconnection module (17) for electrically interconnecting winding wire ends (Col.6, L.25-34) of the stator winding (16), wherein the interconnection module (17) has been positioned on the stator on an end side (on top of stator), characterized in that the interconnection module (17) comprises integral electrical terminal conductors (22a-22c) which are embedded at least partially in a body (25,21) comprising an electrically insulating material (25 is insulation layer, 21 is insulating holder, Col.5, L.25-32), wherein the terminal conductors (22b) each form a terminal contact (50) to which an external power supply (terminal portion connected to 51, power cable) and/or control of the stator arrangement can be connected, and a winding contact (41) which is electrically conductively connected to a winding wire end (Col.6, L.25-34,. 41 connected to 16, windings).
Kobayashi does not explicitly show wire end.
However, Kamada shows wire end (3b)/
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to show the winding wire of Kobayashi wherein it shows the wire end as shown by Kamada to show connection of bus bars to coil ends forming various connections to winding connections (Kamada, P[0052])).
Re-claim 2, Kobayashi discloses the stator arrangement as claimed in claim 1 characterized in that the interconnection module (17) comprises one or more integral electrical connecting conductors (22c,22aa) which are each embedded at least partially in the body (21,25) and form two winding contacts (41c,41a, see fig.9 or other figures which connect to windings) which are electrically conductively connected to the winding wire ends (connect to windings 16).
Re-claim 3, Kobayashi discloses the stator arrangement as claimed in claim 1 wherein characterized in that each pole of the stator (annotated fig.2) comprises two winding wire ends (annotated fig.2).
Re-claim 4, Kobayashi discloses the stator arrangement as claimed in claim 1 characterized in that three terminal contacts ( 50a-50c) are provided which are phase terminal contacts (R, S, T, (V, W and U phase).
Re-claim 5, Kobayashi discloses the stator arrangement as claimed in claim 1.
Kobayashi fails to explicitly teach wherein characterized in that the interconnection module comprises an integral star point conductor which is embedded at least partially in the body and forms three winding contacts which are electrically conductively connected to winding wire ends, with the result that the interconnection forms a star point.
However, Kamada teaches wherein characterized in that the interconnection module (5) comprises an integral star point conductor (4, star point connection method, P[0051]) which is embedded at least partially in the body (inside 5) and forms three winding contacts (se fig.4, connecting 4, or 4k to 3b, or connecting to31-34 U-W) which are electrically conductively connected to winding wire ends (3a-3b), see P[52]), with the result that the interconnection forms a star point (P[0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to show the connection of Kobayashi wherein the interconnection module comprises an integral star point conductor which is embedded at least partially in the body and forms three winding contacts which are electrically conductively connected to winding wire ends, with the result that the interconnection forms a star point as suggested by Kamada providing star connection method for motor winding as a method of connection of coils inside a insulating structure which is a predetermined connection method (Kamada, P[0050-0051])).
Re-claim 6, Kobayashi as modified discloses the stator arrangement as claimed in claim 5 characterized in that a conductor (any of conductors of 22, see fig.4) which is embedded in the body (25,21) from the group with the terminal conductors, the connecting conductors and the star point conductor (22b,22c,22a) has end regions which are exposed on at least one side (41) exposed as and which are in the form of terminal contact or winding contact (41 is contact for coil), wherein the winding contacts (41) protrude radially into an inner region (see fig.4, inner into body) surrounded by the interconnection module (17)) or are arranged on an end-side upper side of the interconnection module (see fig.3).
Re-claim 7, Kobayashi as modified discloses the stator arrangement as claimed in claim 5 characterized in that a conductor from the group with the terminal conductors, the connecting conductors and the star point conductor (any of 22c) is in the form of a stamped and bent part or in the form of a stamped sheet-metal part or at least sectionally in the form of a stamped sheet-metal part (22 is bent, stamped bar, see also stamping of connection Col.2, L.45-65, bars are stamped conductive parts metal parts).
Re-claim 8, Kobayashi discloses the stator arrangement as claimed in claim 1, characterized in that the body (17) has a fastening means (means plus) formed by the electrically insulating material (21,25) which forms a force-fitting and/or form-fitting connection (product by process, it is on the stator ) with the stator (15).
Examiner points out this limitation : formed by the electrically insulating material (21,25) which forms a force-fitting and/or form-fitting connection” is considered a product-by-process limitation. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777F, 2d 659, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); see also MPEP 2113.
Re-claim 9, Kobayashi discloses the stator arrangement as claimed in claim 1 characterized in that the insulating material (21,25) is an encapsulating material, an injection- molding material (Fig.25 shows molding 71 making the material, see Fig.24,25 making molded insulation holder) or a casting material.
Re-claim 10, Kobayashi as modified discloses the stator arrangement as claimed in claim 5 characterized in that the body (17) comprises a main body (21) with a trench (location of 22c, 22a, for fig.6b) for insertion of a conductor from the group with the terminal conductors, the connecting conductors and the star point conductor (22a-22c), or for insertion of a section of the conductor (22), and comprises a bottom which at least partially closes off the trench (annotated fig.6b).
Re-claim 11, Kobayashi discloses the stator arrangement as claimed in claim 10 characterized in that the terminal contacts (50) are cast in the main body (21,25) and are connected by material bonding (57,54,65) to sections of the terminal conductors (22).
Re-claim 12, Kobayashi discloses the stator arrangement as claimed in claim 1 characterized in that at least one winding contact (21) is in the form of a piercing contact, a clamping contact, a soldered contact or a welded contact (Col.6, L.37-39).
Re-claim 13, Kobayashi discloses the stator arrangement as claimed in claim 1, characterized in that the terminal contacts (50) are in the form of rolled or bent hollow-cylindrical sheet-metal sections (annotated fig.6b) which protrude out of the insulating material (54,21,25), or wherein the terminal contacts are in the form of contact lugs in sockets in the insulating material.
Re-claim 14, Kobayashi as modified discloses the stator arrangement as claimed in claim 6 characterized in that the interconnection module (17) has an annular basic shape (see fig.3, Fig.4) in which the terminal conductors or the connecting conductors or the star point conductor (22a-22c) run in the form of a circular arc (see fig.3 and fig.4, they are circular arcs, see fig.4 or see fig.30).
Re-claim 15, Kobayashi discloses the stator arrangement as claimed in claim 1 characterized in that the terminal contacts (50) protrude out of the base on an end-side upper side (annotated fig.6b) of the interconnection module (17).
Re-claim 16, Kobayashi discloses the stator arrangement as claimed in claim 2 wherein characterized in that each pole of the stator (annotated fig.2) comprises two winding wire ends (annotated fig.2).
Re-claim 17, Kobayashi discloses the stator arrangement as claimed in claim 2.
Kobayashi fails to explicitly teach wherein characterized in that the interconnection module comprises an integral star point conductor which is embedded at least partially in the body and forms three winding contacts which are electrically conductively connected to winding wire ends, with the result that the interconnection forms a star point.
However, Kamada teaches wherein characterized in that the interconnection module (5) comprises an integral star point conductor (4, star point connection method, P[0051]) which is embedded at least partially in the body (inside 5) and forms three winding contacts (se fig.4, connecting 4, or 4k to 3b, or connecting to31-34 U-W) which are electrically conductively connected to winding wire ends (3a-3b), see P[52]), with the result that the interconnection forms a star point (P[0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to show the connection of Kobayashi wherein the interconnection module comprises an integral star point conductor which is embedded at least partially in the body and forms three winding contacts which are electrically conductively connected to winding wire ends, with the result that the interconnection forms a star point as suggested by Kamada providing star connection method for motor winding as a method of connection of coils inside a insulating structure which is a predetermined connection method (Kamada, P[0050-0051])).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in PTO892.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher M. Koehler can be reached on 5712723560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MAGED M ALMAWRI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834