DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 23 December 2025, with respect to the objections to claims 1, 8, 10, 16, 19 and 26 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections of 1 October 2025 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of claims 1, 8 and 16 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regards to claim 1, Applicant argues that the surface 34c in Hapke is flat, and does not curve, particularly not in a different direction from surface 34a. However, Hapke’s first and second working side surfaces have a curved interface between them, and therefore Hapke’s second working side surface can be reasonably interpreted as curving from the first working side surface to the third working side surface. Hapke’s second and third working side surfaces can also be reasonably interpreted as protruding in different radial directions from the rotating wheel center. With regards to claim 8 and 16, an ‘ascending slope surface of increasing radius can describe either a flat or curved surface. Therefore, claim 8 is anticipated by Hapke, whereas claim 16 relies upon the combination of Hapke in view of Promutico. Promutico teaches the bulging curvature that satisfies the amended limitations of claim 16. Applicant’s argument with respect to new claim 27 are persuasive, see Allowable Subject Matter below.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 16 objected to because of the following informalities: claim(s) should be amended to recite “wherein when the rotating wheel moves between the second path start point and the second path end point of the first section of rotation path”. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 12-13 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hapke (US-7306266-B2).
With regards to claim 1, Hapke discloses a door lock assembly (10 Figure 1) for locking a door (15 Figure 1) of an electrical appliance (17 Figure 1, Abstract), the door lock assembly comprising:
a rotating wheel (18 Figure 2), the rotating wheel having a rotating wheel door-closing position (Figure 3) and a rotating wheel door-opening position (Figure 2) during rotation, and the rotating wheel being configured such that when being subjected to an internal push force (opposite 22, Figure 3) in a closing position of the door, the door can drive the rotating wheel to rotate from the rotating wheel door-closing position towards the rotating wheel door-opening position (Col. 5 Lines 15-29);
a pin shaft (28 Figure 2), the pin shaft and the rotating wheel abutting against each other and undergoing a relative movement during the movement of the rotating wheel (as shown Figures 2-3);
wherein the rotating wheel is provided with a cam structure (34 Figure 1), the cam structure abuts against the pin shaft and has an outer side (lower side, Figure 4) and an inner side (upper side, Figure 4) connected to each other, the inner side has a first working side surface (34b Figure 4) and a second working side surface (34c Figure 4) connected to each other, the outer side has a third working side surface (34a Figure 4), the first working side surface is a concave surface (shown Figure 4) having an inner diameter matching a pin shaft outer diameter (as shown Figure 3), the second working side surface curves from the first working side surface to the third working side surface (as shown Figure 4) and protrudes in a first direction (up-left from axis 25, Figure 4), and the third working side surface extends from the second working side surface and protrudes in a second direction (down-left from axis 25, Figure 4) that is different from the first direction; and
in a door-opening process (Figure 3 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Figure 2), the abutment position of the cam structure of the rotating wheel against the pin shaft sequentially transits from the first working side surface, through the second working side surface to the third working side surface, thereby causing a change in the internal push force (Col. 5 Lines 15-29).
With regards to claim 2, Hapke discloses the door lock assembly of claim 1, wherein during the rotation of the rotating wheel (18 Figure 2) from the rotating wheel door-closing position (Figure 3) to the rotating wheel door-opening position (Figure 2), the abutment position of the pin shaft (28 Figure 2) against the rotating wheel sequentially transits from the first working side surface (34b Figure 4), through the second working side surface (34c Figure 4) to the third working side surface (34a Figure 4); and
the internal push force (opposite 22, Figure 3) increases at a first rate during the transition of the abutment position of the pin shaft and the rotating wheel from the first working side surface to the second working side surface (due to the increasing radius of cam surface 34c relative to cam surface 34b, Figure 4), and the internal push force increases at a second rate or remains stable during the movement of the abutment position of the pin shaft against the rotating wheel at the second working side surface (due to the constant radius of cam surface 34a relative to the end cam surface 34c, Figure 4), wherein the second rate is less than the first rate.
With regards to claim 3, Hapke discloses the door lock assembly of claim 2, further comprising:
at least one bias device (26, 42 Figure 2), the at least one bias device being configured to bias the rotating wheel (18 Figure 2) on the pin shaft (28 Figure 2) during the rotation of the rotating wheel to maintain the abutment of the rotating wheel and the pin shaft against each other (as shown Figures 2-3).
With regards to claim 4, Hapke discloses the door lock assembly of claim 3, wherein when the internal push force (opposite 22, Figure 3) disappears before the rotating wheel (18 Figure 2) rotates to allow the pin shaft (28 Figure 2) to come into abutment against the third working side surface (34a Figure 4), the rotating wheel returns (due to the increasing radius of second working side surface 34b, Figure 4) to the rotating wheel door-closing position (Figure 3) under the action of a bias force of the at least one bias device (26, 42 Figure 2); and
when the internal push force disappears after the rotating wheel rotates to allow the pin shaft to come into abutment against the third working side surface (34a Figure 4), the rotating wheel moves to the rotating wheel door-opening position (Figure 2) under the action of the bias force of the at least one bias device (due to the constant radius of third working side surface 34c, Figure 4).
With regards to claim 5, Hapke discloses the door lock assembly of claim 1, further comprising:
a housing (32 Figure 2), the pin shaft (28 Figure 2) being fixed to the housing (Col. 4 Lines 37-40);
wherein the rotating wheel (18 Figure 2) is movable relative to the pin shaft and the housing during the rotation of the rotating wheel (as shown Figures 2-3); and
wherein the rotating wheel door-closing position (Figure 3) is corresponding to a closing position of the door, and the rotating wheel door-opening position (Figure 2) is corresponding to an opening position of the door (Col. 4 Lines 11-18).
With regards to claim 6, Hapke discloses the door lock assembly of claim 5, wherein the rotating wheel (18 Figure 2) comprises:
a rotating wheel middle section (middle section of rotating wheel 18, Figure 2), the rotating wheel middle section being provided with a rotating shaft (27 Figure 1), the rotating shaft of the rotating wheel being capable of linear movement relative to the pin shaft (28 Figure 2) during the rotation of the rotating wheel (as shown Figures 2-3);
a rotating wheel head section (right section of rotating wheel 18, Figure 2), the rotating wheel head section being provided with lock hooks (16 Figure 2), the lock hooks being configured to be detachably connected to a door hook (12 Figure 2) of the door (15 Figure 1), such that the door opening or closing causes the rotating wheel to rotate around the rotating shaft toward the rotating wheel door-opening position (Figure 2) or the rotating wheel door-closing position (Figure 3); and
a rotating wheel tail section (left section of rotating wheel 18, Figure 2), the rotating wheel tail section being provided with the cam structure (34 Figure 1), and the second working side surface (34c Figure 4) of the cam structure having a variable curvature (Figure 4 shows the variable radius of second working side surface 34c).
With regards to claim 7, Hapke discloses the door lock assembly of claim 6, further comprising:
a rotating wheel seat (24 Figure 2), the rotating wheel seat being movably accommodated inside the housing (32 Figure 2), the rotating shaft (27 Figure 1) of the rotating wheel (18 Figure 2) being rotatably mounted on the rotating wheel seat, the at least one bias device (26, 42 Figure 2) abutting between the rotating wheel seat and the housing, the rotating wheel seat being configured to move along with the rotation of the rotating wheel when the rotating wheel rotates (Col. 4 Lines 24-28), such that the rotating wheel and the rotating wheel seat are movable inside the housing (as shown Figures 2-3), and the at least one bias device is compressed or springs back during the movement of the rotating wheel seat inside the (Col. 4 Lines 48-55, Col. 5 Lines 10-14).
With regards to claim 12, Hapke discloses the door lock assembly of claim 2, wherein if the internal push force (opposite 22, Figure 3) is generated by clumped laundry in the electrical appliance (17 Figure 1) impinging against the door (15 Figure 1), as the internal push force causes the rotating wheel (18 Figure 2) to move from the rotating wheel door-closing position (Figure 3) towards the rotating wheel door-opening position (Figure 2), if the clumped laundry is loosened before the rotating wheel moves to a position where the outer side surface abuts against the pin shaft (28 Figure 2), the internal push force disappears, and the rotating wheel can return to the rotating wheel door-closing position and thus closes the door (due to the increasing radius of cam surface 34c relative to cam surface 34b, Figure 4); and
if the internal push force is generated by manually continuing to push the door from the inside of the electrical appliance, as the internal push force causes the rotating wheel to move from the rotating wheel door-closing position towards the rotating wheel door-opening position, if the internal push force is removed after the rotating wheel moves to the position where the outer side surface abuts against the pin shaft, the rotating wheel can move to the rotating wheel door-opening position and thus opens the door (due to the constant radius of cam surface 34a relative to the end cam surface 34c, Figure 4).
With regards to claim 13, Hapke discloses the door lock assembly of claim 2, wherein when the “internal push force” (opposite 22, Figure 2) is taken as the vertical coordinate and a “door-opening displacement” (of door 15, Figure 1) as the horizontal coordinate, the transition of the abutment position of the pin shaft (28 Figure 2) against the rotating wheel (18 Figure 2) from the first working side surface (34b Figure 4) to the second working side surface (34c Figure 2) corresponds to a first “internal push force versus door-opening displacement” curve, the movement of the abutment position of the pin shaft against the rotating wheel at the second working side surface (34c Figure 4) corresponds to a second “internal push force versus door-opening displacement” curve, wherein the slope of the first “internal push force versus door-opening displacement” curve is larger than that of the second “internal push force versus door-opening displacement” curve (due to the increasing radius of cam surface 34c relative to cam surface 34b, and the constant radius of cam surface 34a relative to the end cam surface 34c, Figure 4).
With regards to claim 26, Hapke discloses an electrical appliance (17 Figure 1, Abstract), comprising the door lock assembly (10 Figure 1) of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-11, 16 and 18-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hapke in view of Promutico (US-20150042105-A1). All citations refer to the Hapke reference unless otherwise noted.
With regards to claim 8, Hapke discloses the door lock assembly of claim 7, wherein the first working side surface is a notch (34b Figure 4);
the second working side surface (34c Figure 4) is an ascending slope surface of increasing radius in a rotating wheel door-opening direction (counter-clockwise, Figure 4) provided on the inner side of the cam structure (34 Figure 1);
the outer side surface (34a Figure 4) is a constant slope surface provided on the outer side of the cam structure;
the notch and the ascending slope surface are connected at a slope surface inflection point (the transitional point between 34b and 34c, Figure 4); and
the ascending slope surface and the constant slope surface are connected at a slope surface meeting point (the transitional point between 34a and 34c, Figure 4), the curvature of the ascending slope surface gradually increases from the slope surface inflection point to the slope surface meeting point (as shown Figure 4).
Hapke does not disclose that the outer side surface is a descending slope surface provided on the outer side of the cam structure. Hapke instead teaches a second biasing element (42 Figure 2) to create a stable, indexed rotating wheel door-open position.
However, Promutico teaches a latch arrangement having a rotating wheel (41 Figure 4) and force adjustment device (42 Figure 4), wherein the rotating wheel has a cam structure (412 Figure 4) comprising an inner side having a first working side surface and a second working side surface connected to each other, the outer side has a third working side surface, the first working side surface is a concave surface, wherein the first working side surface is a notch; the second working side surface is an ascending slope surface provided on the inner side of the cam structure; the outer side surface is a descending slope surface provided on the outer side of the cam structure; the notch and the ascending slope surface are connected at a slope surface inflection point; and the ascending slope surface and the descending slope surface are connected at a slope surface meeting point, the curvature of the ascending slope surface gradually increases from the slope surface inflection point to the slope surface meeting point (see Figures 4 and 7a-7c). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hapke’s cam structure to have both a descending slope of decreasing radius in the rotating wheel door-opening direction in addition to the ascending slope of increasing radius in the rotating wheel door-opening direction, with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to use Promutico’s cam structure to eliminate the need for Hapke’s second biasing element, thereby reducing the cost and complexity of the device.
With regards to claim 9, Hapke in view of Promutico teaches the door lock assembly of claim 8, wherein when the rotating wheel (18 Figure 2) is in the rotating wheel door-opening position (Figure 2), the pin shaft (28 Figure 2) abuts against a door-opening stop point of the rotating wheel (flat surface abutting pin shaft 28, Figure 2) on the descending slope surface (as taught by Promutico, 412 Figure 4);
wherein the notch (34b Figure 4) in the inner side of the cam structure (34 Figure 1) and the door-opening stop point are stable positions during the rotation of the rotating wheel, and all positions of the cam structure other than the notch and the door-opening stop point are transitional positions during the rotation of the rotating wheel (as modified by the teachings of Promutico, both the notch and stop point are stable positions wherein the radius of the rotating wheel is at a relative minimum [Figures 2 and 3 of Hapke]).
With regards to claim 10, Hapke in view of Promutico teaches the door lock assembly of claim 9, wherein when the rotating wheel (18 Figure 2) is in the rotating wheel door-closing position (Figure 3), the pin shaft (28 Figure 2) is located in the stable position of the notch (34b Figure 4), and when the rotating wheel is in the rotating wheel door-opening position (Figure 3), the pin shaft is located in the stable position of the door-opening stop point (as shown Figure 3); and
during the rotation of the rotating wheel from the rotating wheel door-closing position towards the rotating wheel door-opening position (clockwise, Figure 3), the abutment position of the pin shaft against the cam structure (34 Figure 1) of the rotating wheel is moved, such that the abutment position of the pin shaft relative to the rotating wheel sequentially passes through the ascending slope surface and the descending slope surface (as taught by Promutico, Figures 4 and 7a-7c) from the notch, and finally reaches the door-opening stop point (Figure 3 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Figure 2).
With regards to claim 11, Hapke in view of Promutico teaches the door lock assembly of claim 10, wherein the at least one bias device (26 Figure 2) is configured, in a door-opening process (Figure 3 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Figure 2), such that if the internal push force (opposite 22, Figure 3) causes the rotating wheel to move relative to the pin shaft (28 Figure 2) and to abut against a position between the notch (34b Figure 4) and the slope surface meeting point, the at least one bias device can return, after the internal push force disappears, the rotating wheel relative to the pin shaft and to abut against the pin shaft at the stable position of the notch; and
if the internal push force causes the rotating wheel to move relative to the pin shaft and to abut against a position between the slope surface meeting point and the door-opening stop point, the at least one bias device can continue to move, after the internal push force disappears, the rotating wheel relative to the pin shaft and to abut against the pin shaft at the stable position of the door-opening stop point (as modified by the teachings of Promutico, both the notch and stop point are stable positions wherein the radius of the rotating wheel is at a relative minimum [Figures 2 and 3 of Hapke]).
With regards to claim 16, Hapke discloses a door lock assembly (10 Figure 1) for locking a door (15 Figure 1) of an electrical appliance (17 Figure 1, Abstract), the door lock assembly comprising:
a rotating wheel (18 Figure 2), the rotating wheel having a rotating wheel door-closing position (Figure 3) and a rotating wheel door-opening position (Figure 2) during rotation, and the rotating wheel being configured such that when the door is subjected to an internal push force (opposite 22, Figure 3) in a closing position (Figure 3), the rotating wheel can rotate from the rotating wheel door-closing position towards the rotating wheel door-opening position (Col. 5 Lines 15-29);
a force adjustment device (28 Figure 2), the force adjustment device being configured to apply an adjustment force to the rotating wheel, which allows the rotating wheel to have two sections of rotation paths during the rotation thereof from the rotating wheel door-closing position towards the rotating wheel door-opening position (Col. 4 Lines 48-55, Col. 5 Lines 10-14), and the two sections of rotation paths comprising:
a first section of rotation path and a second section of rotation path, the first section of rotation path having a first path start point (upper extreme point of 34b, Figure 4) and a first path end point (midpoint of 34c, Figure 4), the second section of rotation path having a second path start point (midpoint of 34c, Figure 4) and a second path end point (apex between 34c and 34a, Figure 4), and the first path end point coinciding with the second path start point;
wherein the internal push force is a variable internal push force, if the variable internal push force is capable of moving the rotating wheel to any position between the first path start point and the second path end point, the rotating wheel returns to the rotating wheel door-closing position after the variable internal push force disappears (the notch 34b is a stable position wherein the radius of the rotating wheel is at a relative minimum, such the rotating wheel will return due to the bias of spring 26, Figure 3); and
if the variable internal push force moves the rotating wheel to a position beyond the second path end point, the rotating wheel moves to the rotating wheel door-opening position after the variable internal push force disappears (the stop point of Figure 2 is a stable position wherein although the radius of the rotating wheel is constant, the rotating wheel will return due to the bias of spring 42, Figure 2).
Hapke does not disclose that wherein when the rotating wheel moves between the first path start point and the first path end point of the first section of rotation path, there is a first ratio of a change in magnitude of the internal push force to a change in displacement of the door;
wherein the rotating wheel moves between the second path start point and the second path end point of the first section of rotation path, there is a second ratio of the change in magnitude of the internal push force to the change in displacement of the door; and
wherein the first ratio is greater than the second ratio.
However, Promutico teaches a latch arrangement having a rotating wheel (41 Figure 4) and force adjustment device (42 Figure 4), wherein the rotating wheel has a cam structure (412 Figure 4) comprising a stable, indexed door open position (Figure 4) and a stable indexed door closed position (Figure 7c) using only a single biasing element. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hapke’s cam structure to have both a descending slope in addition to the ascending slope, with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to use Promutico’s cam structure to eliminate the need for Hapke’s second biasing element, thereby reducing the cost and complexity of the device.
Therefore, Hapke in view of Promutico teaches that wherein when the rotating wheel moves between the first path start point and the first path end point of the first section of rotation path, there is a first ratio of a change in magnitude of the internal push force to a change in displacement of the door;
wherein the rotating wheel moves between the second path start point and the second path end point of the first section of rotation path, there is a second ratio of the change in magnitude of the internal push force to the change in displacement of the door; and
wherein the first ratio is greater than the second ratio (due to the modified cam structure as taught by Promutico, 412 Figure 4).
With regards to claim 18, Hapke in view of Promutico teaches the door lock assembly of claim 16, further comprising:
a rotating wheel seat (24 Figure 2), the rotating wheel seat being configured such that the rotating wheel seat is driven by the rotating wheel (18 Figure 2) to move when rotating along with the rotating wheel (Col. 4 Lines 24-28);
at least one bias device (26 Figure 2), the at least one bias device being configured such that if an adjustment force applied by the force adjustment device (28 Figure 2) to the rotating wheel is capable of moving the rotating wheel to a position beyond the second path end point (34a Figure 4, modified to have the decreasing radius taught by Promutico), the at least one bias device moves the rotating wheel to the rotating wheel door-opening position (Figure 2) after the variable internal push force disappears (as taught by both Hapke and Promutico); and
if the adjustment force exerted by the force adjustment device on the rotating wheel is capable of moving the rotating wheel to any position between the first path start point and the second path end point (34c Figure 4, modified to have to variable curvature taught by Promutico), the at least one bias device returns the rotating wheel to the rotating wheel door-closing position (Figure 3) after the variable internal push force disappears (such that force adjustment device 28 finds the relative minimum radius of 34b, Figures 3 and 4);
wherein the rotating wheel door-closing position is corresponding to the closing position of the door (Figure 3), and the rotating wheel door-opening position is corresponding to the opening position of the door (Figure 2).
With regards to claim 19, Hapke in view of Promutico teaches the door lock assembly of claim 18, wherein the rotating wheel (18 Figure 2) comprises:
a rotating wheel head section (right section of rotating wheel 18, Figure 2), a rotating wheel middle section (middle section of rotating wheel 18, Figure 2) and a rotating wheel tail section (left section of rotating wheel 18, Figure 2), the rotating wheel middle section is provided with the rotating shaft (27 Figure 1), the rotating wheel head section is provided with lock hooks (16 Figure 2), the lock hooks are configured to be capable of engaging with the door hook (12 Figure 2), and inserting the door hook into the door hook hole or pulling out the door hook from the door hook hole causes the rotating wheel to rotate around the rotating shaft in the door-opening direction (clockwise, Figure 2) or the door-closing direction (counter-clockwise, Figure 2) (Col. 5 Lines 15-29);
the rotating wheel tail section is provided with the cam structure (34 Figure 1, as modified by Promutico), the cam structure is provided with an inner side surface (34b, 34c Figure 2, modified as taught by 412 Figure 4 of Promutico) and an outer side surface (34a Figure 2, modified as taught by 412 Figure 4 of Promutico), the inner side surface has a first working side surface (34b Figure 4) and an second working side surface (34c Figure 4), and the first working side surface and the second working side surface have different curvatures (as taught by Hapke Figures 2-3 and Promutico Figures 4 and 7a-7c);
wherein the first working side surface is corresponding to the first “internal push force versus door-opening displacement” curve, and the second working side surface is corresponding to the second “internal push force versus door-opening displacement” curve (as taught by Hapke Figures 2-3 and Promutico Figures 4 and 7a-7c).
With regards to claim 20, Hapke in view of Promutico teaches the door lock assembly of claim 19, wherein the force adjustment device is a pin shaft (28 Figure 2);
the first working side surface is a notch (34b Figure 4) provided in the inner side of the cam structure (34 Figure 1, as modified by Promutico);
the second working side surface (34c Figure 4, modified as taught by 412 Figure 4 of Promutico) is an ascending slope surface provided on the inner side of the cam structure;
the outer side surface is a descending slope (34a Figure 2, modified as taught by 412 Figure 4 of Promutico) surface provided on the outer side of the cam structure;
the ascending slope surface and the descending slope surface are connected at the slope surface meeting point (apex between 34c and 34a, Figure 4, modified as taught by 412 Figure 4 of Promutico);
when the rotating wheel (18 Figure 2) is in the rotating wheel door-opening position (Figure 2), the pin shaft abuts against the door-opening stop point of the rotating wheel (flat surface abutting pin shaft 28, Figure 2) on the descending slope surface;
wherein the notch in the inner side of the cam structure and the door-opening stop point are stable positions during the rotation of the rotating wheel, and all positions of the rotating wheel other than the notch and the door-opening stop point are transitional positions during the rotation of the rotating wheel (as modified by the teachings of Promutico, both the notch and stop point are stable positions wherein the radius of the rotating wheel is at a relative minimum [Figures 2 and 3 of Hapke]);
wherein when the rotating wheel is in the rotating wheel door-closing position, the pin shaft is located in the stable position of the notch, and when the rotating wheel is in the rotating wheel door-opening position, the pin shaft is located in the stable position of the door-opening stop point (as modified by the teachings of Promutico, both the notch and stop point are stable positions wherein the radius of the rotating wheel is at a relative minimum [Figures 2 and 3 of Hapke]); and
wherein during the rotation of the rotating wheel from the rotating wheel door-closing position towards the rotating wheel door-opening position, the pin shaft and the rotating wheel contact and perform relative movement, such that the pin shaft reaches the door-opening stop point from the notch by passing through the ascending slope surface and the descending slope surface (as taught by Hapke Figures 2-3 and Promutico Figures 4 and 7a-7c).
With regards to claim 21, Hapke in view of Promutico teaches the door lock assembly of claim 20, wherein the relative movement of the pin shaft (28 Figure 2) from the notch (34b Figure 4) of the rotating wheel (18 Figure 2) to the ascending slope surface is corresponding to the first section of rotation path (34c Figure 4, modified to have to variable curvature taught by Promutico); and
the relative movement of the pin shaft from the ascending slope surface of the rotating wheel to the slope surface meeting point is corresponding to the second section of rotation path (34c Figure 4, modified to have to variable curvature taught by Promutico).
With regards to claim 22, Hapke in view of Promutico teaches the door lock assembly of claim 21, wherein the shape of the first “internal push force versus door-opening displacement” curve depends on the shape of the notch (34b Figure 4); and
the shape of the second “internal push force versus door-opening displacement” curve depends on the shape of the ascending slope surface (34c Figure 4, modified to have to variable curvature taught by Promutico).
With regards to claim 23, Hapke in view of Promutico teaches the door lock assembly of claim 22, wherein there is further a third section of rotation path (34a Figure 2, modified to have a descending slope as taught by 412 Figure 4 of Promutico) during the rotation of the rotating wheel (18 Figure 2) from the rotating wheel door-closing position towards (Figure 3) the rotating wheel door-opening position (Figure 2); and
the relative movement of the pin shaft (28 Figure 2) from the slope surface meeting point (the transitional point between 34a and 34c, Figure 4, modified as taught by Promutico) of the rotating wheel to the door-opening stop point (flat surface abutting pin shaft 28, Figure 2) by passing through the descending slope surface is corresponding to the third section of rotation path (as taught by Hapke Figures 2-3 and Promutico Figures 4 and 7a-7c).
With regards to claim 24, Hapke in view of Promutico teaches the door lock assembly of claim 23, wherein the at least one bias device (26 Figure 2) is configured, in a door-opening process (Figure 3 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Figure 2), such that if the variable internal push force (opposite 22, Figure 3) moves the pin shaft (28 Figure 2) relative to the rotating wheel (18 Figure 2) to a position before the slope surface meeting point, the at least one bias device can return the pin shaft to the stable position of the notch after the variable internal push force disappears (as modified by the teachings of Promutico, both the notch and stop point are stable positions wherein the radius of the rotating wheel is at a relative minimum [Figures 2 and 3 of Hapke]); and
if the variable internal push force moves the pin shaft relative to the rotating wheel to a position beyond the slope surface meeting point, the at least one bias device can continue to move, after the variable internal push force disappears, the pin shaft relative to the rotating wheel to the stable position of the door-opening stop point (as modified by the teachings of Promutico, both the notch and stop point are stable positions wherein the radius of the rotating wheel is at a relative minimum [Figures 2 and 3 of Hapke]).
With regards to claim 25, Hapke in view of Promutico teaches the door lock assembly of claim 24, further comprising:
a housing (32 Figure 2), the force adjustment device (28 Figure 2) being fixed to the housing (Col. 4 Lines 37-40);
a rotating wheel seat (24 Figure 2), the rotating wheel seat being movably accommodated inside the housing, the rotating shaft (27 Figure 1) of the rotating wheel (18 Figure 2) being rotatably mounted on the rotating wheel seat, such that the rotating shaft of the rotating wheel can drive the rotating wheel seat to perform the linear movement relative to the housing during the rotation of the rotating wheel (Col. 4 Lines 24-28);
the at least one bias device (26 Figure 2) abuts between the rotating wheel seat and the housing (Figures 2-3); and
when the rotating wheel rotates on the rotating wheel seat, the rotating wheel and the rotating wheel seat can move inside the housing, and the at least one bias device can be compressed or spring back during the movement of the rotating wheel seat inside the housing (Col. 4 Lines 48-55, Col. 5 Lines 10-14).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 27 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although the references of record show some features similar to those of applicant's device, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious the claimed invention. With regards to claim 27, Hapke discloses the door lock assembly of claim 1, wherein the first working side surface comprises a circular notch. However, the prior art does not teach that the pin shaft snap fits into the circular notch, each of the first working side surface, the second working side surface, and the third working side surface have a different surface curvature, a first interaction force is required to move the rotating wheel when the pin shaft is in the circular notch, and at least one different second interaction force is required to move the rotating wheel when the pin shaft is against the second working side surface. Therefore, such an arrangement is not taught by the prior art, nor can the Examiner can find teaching or motivation to suggest such a modification to one of ordinary skill in the art without fundamentally altering the principles of operation of the device or otherwise relying upon the benefit of impermissible hindsight reasoning.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NOAH HOROWITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675