Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS’s) submitted on 07/19/2024, 09/03/2025, and 01/13/2026, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 17, 32, 43, 47-49, and 56-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abotabl et al. (2021/0352667), hereinafter Abotabl.
Re. Claims 1 and 32, Abotabl teaches A method, performed by a wireless access network node, comprising: dertermining an uplink subband for uplink transmission based on a configuration from a wireless access node (¶0071 - The PDCCH may carry DCI 114 for one or more UEs in a cell. This can include, but is not limited to, power control commands, scheduling information, a grant, and/or an assignment of REs for DL and UL communications), the uplink subband occupying a contiguous resource blocks in frequency and a set of symbols in time within a first set of resources (Fig. 6. & ¶0087 - FIG. 6 illustrates one example of a slot for an SBFD carrier 602. In the illustrated example, the DL portion 604 of the slot and the UL portion 606 of the slot are separated from one another in frequency, with a guard band (GB) 605 between the respective UL and DL portions to reduce interference such as leakage of the UL into the DL, or leakage of the DL into the UL), wherein: flexible resources are configured by a second signaling for the uplink subband in resources of the uplink subband (¶0091 - The slot format corresponds to a configuration of resource elements (REs) within a slot as either for UL, DL, or, in some examples, as being flexible (can be either UL or DL). Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “Or”); OR a portion of resources of the uplink subband are allowed to be configured by the second signaling as flexible resources; and wherein: the first set of resources are configured as downlink or direction-flexible resources to the UE (¶0086 – With SBFD… a portion of the time-frequency resources on that same carrier supports DL), and the first signaling is used to configure time-frequency resources of the uplink subband (¶0086 - With SBFD, a portion of the time-frequency resources on a given carrier is dedicated for UL).
Re. Claims 17 and 48, Abotabl teaches a method, performed by a wireless terminal device, comprising: determining an uplink subband for uplink transmission based on a configuration from a wireless access network node (¶0071 - The PDCCH may carry DCI 114 for one or more UEs in a cell. This can include, but is not limited to, power control commands, scheduling information, a grant, and/or an assignment of REs for DL and UL communications), the uplink subband occupying a contiguous resource blocks in frequency and a set of OFDM symbols in time within a first set of resources (Fig. 6. & ¶0087 - FIG. 6 illustrates one example of a slot for an SBFD carrier 602. In the illustrated example, the DL portion 604 of the slot and the UL portion 606 of the slot are separated from one another in frequency, with a guard band (GB) 605 between the respective UL and DL portions to reduce interference such as leakage of the UL into the DL, or leakage of the DL into the UL); and receiving a downlink transmission in the configured uplink subband from the wireless access network node (Fig. 7, & ¶0089 - FIG. 7 is a conceptual illustration of an example slot configured for wireless communication utilizing sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) according to an aspect of the present disclosure. In the illustrated slot, the upper portion 704B and the lower portion 704A of the slot (in frequency) are utilized for downlink (DL) communication, and in between those portions lies an uplink (UL) portion 702 utilized for UL communication (e.g., physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)), wherein: the first set of resources are configured as downlink or direction-flexible resources to the UE (¶0086 – With SBFD… a portion of the time-frequency resources on that same carrier supports DL), and the first signaling is used to configure time-frequency resources of the uplink subband (¶0086 - With SBFD, a portion of the time-frequency resources on a given carrier is dedicated for UL).
Re. Claim 43, Abotabl teaches Claim 32.
Additionally, Abotabl further teaches wherein: transmission direction of the flexible resources is determined based on direction of transmissions scheduled in the flexible resources (¶0091 - The slot format corresponds to a configuration of resource elements (REs) within a slot as either for UL, DL, or, in some examples, as being flexible (can be either UL or DL)); the flexible resources configured in the uplink subband comprise: one or more OFDM symbols across an entire frequency range of the uplink subband (Fig. 8, ¶0092 - the first slot (Slot A) is configured for TDD, wherein the full carrier bandwidth is utilized for DL communication, other than the final one or two OFDM symbols of the slot, where the full carrier bandwidth may be utilized for UL communication. Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “Or”); OR one or more frequency resource blocks across an entire OFDM symbol range of the uplink subband.
Re. Claim 47, Abotabl teaches Claim 32.
Additionally, Abotabl further teaches wherein the flexible resources are configured in response to the wireless access network node receiving a capability report from the wireless terminal device (¶0091 - the scheduling entity 108 may designate respective portions of the carrier within a given slot as an uplink (UL) portion or as a downlink (DL) portion. The scheduling entity 108 may signal the designation of the UL and DL portions to a scheduled entity 106 by utilizing a suitable indication or configuration message that enables a scheduled entity 106 to determine a slot format), the capability report indicating that the wireless terminal device supports a subband full-duplex (SBFD) (¶0090 - A scheduled entity 106 and a scheduling entity 108 may utilize an example slot having this slot format or other such formats (e.g., having at least one DL portion and at least one UL portion) to communicate with one another over an SBFD carrier. Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “Or”) OR the wireless terminal device supports the flexible resources in the uplink subband.
Re. Claim 49, Abotabl teaches Claim 48.
Additionally, Abotabl further teaches wherein receiving the downlink transmission in the configured uplink subband comprises receiving a signaling from the wireless access network node to schedule the downlink transmission in at least one portion of the uplink subband (¶0071 - This can include, but is not limited to, power control commands, scheduling information, a grant, and/or an assignment of REs for DL and UL communications) that corresponds to no other portions of the uplink subband that overlap with the at least one portion of the uplink subband and that are scheduled for uplink transmission (Fig. 6. & ¶0087 - In the illustrated example, the DL portion 604 of the slot and the UL portion 606 of the slot are separated from one another in frequency, with a guard band (GB) 605 between the respective UL and DL portions to reduce interference such as leakage of the UL into the DL, or leakage of the DL into the UL).
Re. Claim 52, Abotabl teaches Claim 49.
Additionally, Abotabl further teaches wherein the wireless access network node is prohibited from further scheduling an uplink transmission over second set of time-frequency resources overlapping with the at least one portion of the configured uplink subband in time and within a frequency resource range of the configured uplink subband (¶0011 - the method may further include determining that the overlapping portion comprises resources unavailable for DL transmission. The method further includes communicating over a wireless carrier utilizing the slot format while disregarding (e.g., ignoring, forgoing to process, etc.) information related to the overlapping portion).
Re. Claim 56, Abotabl teaches Claim 48.
Additionally, Abotabl further teaches prohibiting scheduling a dynamic PDSCH downlink transmission and a dynamic PUSCH/PUCCH by a same PDCCH with overlapping time within the uplink subband (¶0099 - REs may also be unavailable for a PDSCH when the PDSCH is scheduled by a PDCCH with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI, MCS-C-RNTI, CS-RNTI, or PDSCHs with SPS. This list is not intended to be exhaustive or limiting, and within various aspects of the present disclosure, a scheduling entity 108 may utilize any suitable rules to declare such PRBs, and/or REs within such PRBs as unavailable for a PDSCH transmission).
Re. Claim 57, Abotabl teaches Claim 48.
Additionally, Abotabl further teaches resolving a scheduling conflict between a dynamic PDSCH downlink transmission and a dynamic PUSCH/PUCCH uplink transmission overlapping in time within the uplink subband based on a timing of respective scheduling PDCCH for the dynamic PDSCH downlink transmission and the dynamic PUSCH/PUCCH uplink transmission (¶0087 - In the illustrated example, the DL portion 604 of the slot and the UL portion 606 of the slot are separated from one another in frequency, with a guard band (GB) 605 between the respective UL and DL portions to reduce interference such as leakage of the UL into the DL, or leakage of the DL into the UL).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33,35-36, 52-53, 55, 58 and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abotabl in view of Guo; Li (2026/0052495), Guo.
Re. Claim 33, Abotabl teaches Claim 32.
Additionally, Abotabl teaches receiving a scheduling via a Downlink Control Information (DCI) message (¶0047 - The scheduled entity 106 is a node or device that receives DL control information (DCI) 114, including but not limited to scheduling information (e.g., a grant), synchronization or timing information, or other control information from another entity in the wireless communication network (e.g., from a scheduling entity 108)).
However, Abotabl does not expressly teach a second set of time-frequency resources for an uplink transmission from the wireless access network node, the second set of time-frequency resources are partially within and partially outside of the uplink subband in time.
Yet, Guo explicitly teaches a second set of time-frequency resources for an uplink transmission from the wireless access network node, the second set of time-frequency resources are partially within and partially outside of the uplink subband in time (Fig. 4B, ¶0062 - During the uplink transmission, two adjacent uplink transmissions might overlap in the time domain if the terminal device uses different TAGs to adjust the uplink timing for these two adjacent uplink transmissions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Guo to the teaching of Abotabl. The motivation for such would be to improve transmission effectiveness as Guo provides a set of time-frequency resources for uplink that are both in and out of the uplink subband (¶0062, Guo). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 35, Abotabl and Guo teach Claim 33.
However, Abotabl does not expressly teach wherein a portion of the second set of time-frequency resources outside of the uplink subband is implemented as a time-domain adjustment to the uplink subband.
Yet, Guo explicitly teaches wherein a portion of the second set of time-frequency resources outside of the uplink subband is implemented as a time-domain adjustment to the uplink subband (¶0062 - During the uplink transmission, two adjacent uplink transmissions might overlap in the time domain if the terminal device uses different TAGs to adjust the uplink timing for these two adjacent uplink transmissions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Guo to the teaching of Abotabl. The motivation for such would be to improve transmission effectiveness as Guo provides that a portion of the resources is used for an adjustment to the subband (¶0062, Guo). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 36, Abotabl and Guo teach Claim 35.
However, Abotabl does not expressly teach wherein the time-domain adjustment to the uplink subband is only valid during the scheduling of the second set of time-frequency resources for the uplink transmission, or is valid until a next time-domain adjustment to the uplink subband, or is valid for a predetermined or configured period of time following the scheduling of the second set of time-frequency resources for the uplink transmission.
Yet, Guo explicitly teaches wherein the time-domain adjustment to the uplink subband is only valid during the scheduling of the second set of time-frequency resources for the uplink transmission, or is valid until a next time-domain adjustment to the uplink subband, OR is valid for a predetermined or configured period of time following the scheduling of the second set of time-frequency resources for the uplink transmission (Fig. 4B& ¶0063 - In the example of FIG. 4B, the PUSCH #1 and PUSCH #2 overlap in time domain. The terminal device can reduce the PUSCH #1 in duration relative to the PUSCH #2. The terminal device can reduce the PUSCH #2 in duration relative to the PUSCH #1. When the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission overlap due to timing advance command in the first TAG and the second TAG, the terminal device can reduce the transmission of one uplink transmission. Examiner understands this section to state that the time-domain adjustment is set to only the uplink in overlap and as such is for a set predetermined amount of time. Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “Or”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Guo to the teaching of Abotabl. The motivation for such would be to improve transmission effectiveness as Guo provides that the time domain adjustment is valid for a predetermined period of time (¶0063, Guo). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 38, Abotabl and Guo teach Claim 33.
Additionally, Abotabl further teaches wherein the configuration of the uplink subband is transmitted in response to the wireless access network node receiving a capability report from the wireless terminal device, the capability report indicating that the wireless terminal device supports a subband full-duplex (SBFD) (¶0013 - In a more particular example, the code includes instructions for causing a user equipment (UE) to receive information indicating a slot format, the information identifying a first frequency portion of a slot for uplink (UL) communication and at least one other portion of the slot for downlink (DL) communication. The code further includes instructions for causing the UE to receive a DL resource allocation for the slot, the DL resource allocation comprising an overlapping portion where at least a portion of the downlink resource allocation overlaps with at least a portion of the first frequency portion of the slot. & ¶0086 - an endpoint (e.g., scheduling entity 108, scheduled entity 106) communicating while utilizing SBFD transmits and receives at the same time, but on different frequency resources of the same carrier. Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “Or”) OR the wireless terminal device supports using the second set of time-frequency resources for the uplink transmission.
Re. Claim 39, Abotabl and Guo teach Claim 33.
Additionally, Abotabl further teaches wherein the DCI message comprises: one or more parameters indicating to the wireless terminal device a time and frequency location of the second set of time-frequency resources (¶0047 - the scheduled entity 106 is a node or device that receives DL control information (DCI) 114, including but not limited to scheduling information (e.g., a grant), synchronization or timing information, or other control information from another entity in the wireless communication network (e.g., from a scheduling entity 108). Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “Or”); OR an indicator that indicates to the wireless terminal device that the uplink subband is to be extended according to the second set of resources.
Re. Claim 41, Abotabl and Guo teach Claim 33.
Additionally, Abotabl further teaches wherein the wireless access network node is prohibited from further scheduling any resources that co-locate in time with a portion of the second set of time-frequency resources that is outside of the uplink subband and within a frequency resource range of the uplink subband (¶0011 - the method may further include determining that the overlapping portion comprises resources unavailable for DL transmission. The method further includes communicating over a wireless carrier utilizing the slot format while disregarding (e.g., ignoring, forgoing to process, etc.) information related to the overlapping portion).
Re. Claim 53, Abotabl teaches Claim 48.
However, Abotabl does not expressly teach determining a first priority level for the uplink subband, the first priority level being used as a basis for determining whether a downlink transmission is allowed to be scheduled in the uplink subband; wherein: the downlink transmission is allowed if the first priority level of the uplink subband is lower than a second priority level associated with the downlink transmission; and the downlink transmission is prohibited if first priority level of the uplink subband is higher than the second priority level associated with the downlink transmission.
Yet, Guo explicitly teaches determining a first priority level for the uplink subband, the first priority level being used as a basis for determining whether a downlink transmission is allowed to be scheduled in the uplink subband; wherein: the downlink transmission is allowed if the first priority level of the uplink subband is lower than a second priority level associated with the downlink transmission; and the downlink transmission is prohibited if first priority level of the uplink subband is higher than the second priority level associated with the downlink transmission (¶0064 - the terminal device reduces the transmission that has lower priority in duration relative to the transmission that has higher priority. The terminal device can determine the priority of the transmission according one or more of the following rules: a PUCCH with HARQ-ACK information can have high priority; PUSCH have higher priority than SRS; and the uplink transmission associated with the first TRP can have higher priority than the uplink transmission associated with the second TRP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Gao to the teaching of Abotabl. The motivation for such would be to improve transmission effectiveness as Gao provides that the downlink transmission is allowed when the transmission priority is higher than the uplink subband priority (¶0064, Gao). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 55, Abotabl and Guo teach Claim 48.
However, Abotabl does not expressly teach resolving scheduling conflict between two downlink transmissions or between a downlink transmission and uplink transmission of a same priority with time overlap within the uplink subband by retaining a transmission inside a frequency range of the uplink subband and by discarding the transmission outside the frequency range of the uplink subband.
Yet, Guo explicitly teaches resolving scheduling conflict between two downlink transmissions or between a downlink transmission and uplink transmission of a same priority with time overlap within the uplink subband by retaining a transmission inside a frequency range of the uplink subband and by discarding the transmission outside the frequency range of the uplink subband (¶0063 - If the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission overlap in time domain due to timing advance command in the first TAG and the second TAG, the terminal device can reduce one of these two uplink transmission in duration relative to the other uplink transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Gao to the teaching of Abotabl. The motivation for such would be to improve transmission effectiveness as Guo provides a means of resolving a scheduling conflict by retaining a transmission inside a range and discarding the rest (¶0063, Guo). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 58, Abotabl and Guo teach Claim 48.
Additionally, Abotabl further teaches wherein PDSCH transmission and PUSCH/PUCCH transmission overlap in time within the uplink subband (¶0037 - allocated downlink resources may overlap with resources that a slot format has designated for uplink communication).
However, Abotabl does not expressly teach resolving a scheduling conflict between a dynamic PDSCH downlink transmission and a semi-static PUSCH/PUCCH uplink transmission: based on an OFDM symbol level time separation between respective scheduling PDCCH for the dynamic PDSCH downlink transmission and the semi-static PUSCH/PUCCH uplink transmission; or by retaining the semi-static PUSCH/PUCCH uplink transmission and by discarding the dynamic PDSCH downlink transmission
Yet, Guo explicitly teaches resolving a scheduling conflict between a dynamic PDSCH downlink transmission and a semi-static PUSCH/PUCCH uplink transmission (¶0026 - As such, the TRPs may coordinate the communications using a semi-static or a static scheme. & ¶0027 - Each TRP can send one DCI to schedule one PDSCH transmission): based on an OFDM symbol level time separation between respective scheduling PDCCH for the dynamic PDSCH downlink transmission and the semi-static PUSCH/PUCCH uplink transmission; OR by retaining the semi-static PUSCH/PUCCH uplink transmission and by discarding the dynamic PDSCH downlink transmission (¶0063 - If the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission overlap in time domain due to timing advance command in the first TAG and the second TAG, the terminal device can reduce one of these two uplink transmission in duration relative to the other uplink transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Guo to the teaching of Abotabl. The motivation for such would be to improve transmission effectiveness as Guo provides a means for resolving a scheduling conflict by retaining part of the transmission and discarding other parts (¶0063, Guo). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 60, Abotabl and Guo teach Claim 48.
Additionally, Abotabl further teaches a PUSCH/PUCCH uplink transmission overlapping in time within the uplink subband by retaining the PUSCH/PUCCH uplink transmission and by discarding the semi-static PDSCH downlink transmission (¶0011 - the DL resource allocation comprising an overlapping portion where at least a portion of the DL resource allocation overlaps with at least a portion of the first frequency portion of the slot. In some examples, the method may further include determining that the overlapping portion comprises resources unavailable for DL transmission. The method further includes communicating over a wireless carrier utilizing the slot format while disregarding (e.g., ignoring, forgoing to process, etc.) information related to the overlapping portion).
However, Abotabl does not expressly teach further comprising resolving a scheduling conflict between a semi-static PDSCH downlink transmission.
Yet, Guo explicitly teaches resolving a scheduling conflict between a semi-static PDSCH downlink transmission (¶0026 - As such, the TRPs may coordinate the communications using a semi-static or a static scheme. & ¶0027 - Each TRP can send one DCI to schedule one PDSCH transmission. Additionally, Examiner uses these cited paragraphs alongside the above cited Abotabl citations to show that the process found therein can be performed with a semi-static scheme).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Guo to the teaching of Abotabl. The motivation for such would be to improve transmission effectiveness as Guo provides that the PDSCH downlink transmission is semi-static (¶0026, Guo). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. (20180310291) - ¶0005-0084
/N.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475