DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Remarks
This is a reply to the amendments filed on 11/21/2025, in which, claims 1 and 7-20 are amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the present application with claims 1, 9, and 10 being independent claims.
When making claim amendments, the applicant is encouraged to consider the references in their entireties, including those portions that have not been cited by the examiner and their equivalents as they may most broadly and appropriately apply to any particular anticipated claim amendments.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 23, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and is being considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/21/2025 with respect to amended claims 1, 9, and 10 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazi (US 20200250498 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Kazi”) in view of Lee et al. (US 20160253915 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Lee”), and further in view of Takahashi et al. (JP 2013105384 A, hereinafter referred to as “Takahashi”).
Regarding claim 1, Kazi discloses a signal processor comprising:
attracted by the playing of the drum included in the performance image (see Kazi, paragraph [0111]: “the subject-specific feeling estimation unit 214 estimates a feeling of the image capturing person for each subject in the captured image on the basis of stored data (subject-specific degree of attention data or subject-specific sensor data)”) by inputting the performance image into a learning model (see Kazi, paragraph [0094]: “the image processing unit 215 may perform machine learning on the basis of, for example, a user selection history, and select an optimum approach of image treatment”), the learning model having been subjected to machine learning to estimate the degree of attention based on a feature quantity of the playing of the drum (see Kazi, paragraph [0089]: “The image processing unit 215 treats each subject appearing in the captured image on the basis of feeling information (feeling index) for each subject calculated by the subject-specific feeling estimation unit 214. Alternatively, the image processing unit 215 may treat each subject appearing in the captured image on the basis of a degree of attention for each subject calculated by the degree-of-attention calculation unit”); and
an outputter configured to output the degree of attention estimated by the estimator (see Kazi, paragraph [0043]: “The processor 20 calculates the degree of attention for each subject on the basis of the data regarding a line-of-sight of the image capturing person, analyzes the sensor data of the image capturing person, and estimates a feeling of the image capturing person for each subject (feeling of the image capturing person directed to each subject). Then, the processor 20 treats the captured image on the basis of the degree of attention for each subject and information regarding estimated feeling (feeling index). The processor 20 generates an image closer to the landscape that the image capturing person has seen (felt) with naked eyes. The processor 20 outputs the generated image to the display”).
Regarding claim 1, Kazi discloses all the claimed limitations with the exception of an image obtainer configured to obtain a performance image including playing of a drum; and an estimator configured to estimate a degree of attention from viewers.
Lee from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses an image obtainer configured to obtain a performance image including playing of a drum (see Lee, paragraph [0029]: “a musical instrument may correspond to … drum(s)” and paragraph [0090]: “music instruction system 115 may include a camera 145 that may capture video images 560 of the user during the user's performance. According to such an exemplary implementation, the user may be able to continue to observe the user interface and simultaneously view his/her performance”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Lee with the teachings as in Kazi. The motivation for doing so would ensure the system to have the ability to use the music instruction system including a camera disclosed in Lee to capture video images of the user during the user's performance wherein the musical instrument may correspond to drum(s) thus obtaining a performance image including playing of a drum in order to store the obtained performance image/video in the storage as image information so that it can be used to calculate a degree of attention attracted by the playing of the drum.
Regarding claim 1, Kazi and Lee discloses all the claimed limitations with the exception of an estimator configured to estimate a degree of attention from viewers.
Takahashi from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses an estimator configured to estimate a degree of attention from viewers (see Takahashi, Page 11 of 14: “The attention level estimation device 1 is generated in step S13 by using the first learning data D1 learned by the attention level identification unit 50 and stored in the learning data storage unit 40 including the line-of-sight variation. The degree of attention to the feature quantity (feature quantity descriptor) is specified (estimated) (step S14). Through the above operation, the attention level estimation device 1 can estimate the attention level of the person H who views the video content (topic) with respect to the topic. At this time, the attention level estimation device 1 estimates the attention level without imposing a load on the person H because the body characteristics of the person H such as the body movement amount, the blink interval time, and the line-of-sight variation amount are measured by image processing … Also, the attention level estimation device 1 can accurately calculate the attention level by not using the line-of-sight feature amount for attention level estimation when there are many subtitles in the video content or when there is a lot of video motion”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Takahashi with the teachings as in Kazi and Lee. The motivation for doing so would ensure the system to have the ability to use the attention level estimation device for measuring the level of attention of a person who views video content disclosed in Takahashi to estimate the attention level of the person H who views the video content (topic) with respect to the topic using the learning data learned by the attention level identification unit thus estimating a degree of attention from viewers using an estimator in order to detect the content attracting a high degree of attention from a video so that the performance video can be edited based on the estimation result.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teachings of Kazi, Lee, and Takahashi as discussed above also disclose the signal processor according to claim 1, wherein
in the machine learning, the learning model has been trained to learn learning data correlated with the degree of attention (see Kazi, paragraph [0065]: “The object recognition unit 211 recognizes (detects) an object (subject) by analyzing a captured image... In the general object recognition, an object is recognized by extracting features from an input image and classifying the features by using a learned classifier. In the specific object recognition, determination is performed by extracting features from an input image and collating the features with a database generated in advance”), and
the degree of attention is based on a feature quantity that depends on a movement of a drummer of the drum shown in a learning image (see Kazi, paragraph [0066]: “The degree-of-attention calculation unit 212 calculates a period of time during which a line-of-sight has been fixed in a pixel of each object on the basis of a recognition result regarding an object (subject) in the captured image from the object recognition unit 211 and the data regarding a line-of-sight”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Claim 9 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 1 above.
Claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 9 above.
Claims 3-6 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazi, Lee, and Takahashi as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Kobayashi (US 20140297012 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Kobayashi”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teachings of Kazi, Lee, and Takahashi as discussed above also disclose signal processor according to claim 1, wherein
in the machine learning, the learning model has been trained to learn learning data correlated with the degree of attention (see Kazi, paragraphs [0073]-[0081]: “processing data (e.g., smile index calculated from, for example, a captured image or muscles of expression, data acquired by machine learning, and the like) calculated from one or more pieces of sensor data … The subject-specific feeling estimation unit 214 estimates a feeling of the image capturing person for each subject on the basis of the degree of attention for each subject calculated by the degree-of-attention calculation unit 212 and an analysis result regarding sensor data for the subject calculated by the sensor data analysis unit”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teachings of Kazi, Lee, and Takahashi as discussed above disclose all the claimed limitations with the exceptions of the degree of attention is based on a feature quantity that depends on whether a particular tone produced by the drum is included in a performance sound corresponding to a learning image.
Kobayashi from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the degree of attention is based on a feature quantity that depends on whether a particular tone produced by the drum is included in a performance sound corresponding to a learning image (see Kobayashi, paragraphs [0434]-[0437]: “the object may be a character appearing in a performance scene realised as a CG image … a method of reflecting various types of metadata stored in the metadata storage unit 112 on the performance scene realised as a CG image … the visualization parameter determination unit 114 acquires from the metadata storage unit 112 the metadata obtained as a result of the analysis processing by the music analysis unit 110 (S202). For example, beats, key, chord progression, melody line, bass line, presence probability and solo probability of each instrument sound, tone and genre of music, music structure, or the like, is acquired”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Kobayashi with the teachings as in Kazi, Lee, and Takahashi. The motivation for doing so would ensure the system to have the ability to use the information processing apparatus and method disclosed in Kobayashi to reflect various types of metadata stored in the metadata storage unit on the performance image; to automatically detect feature quantity of music data changing in time series; to visualize the music data based on the feature quantity; and to analyze tone of music, melody line and beats of drum thus determining a feature quantity that depends on a particular tone or a number of tones produced by the drum is/are included in a performance sound corresponding to a learning image; or depending on a rhythm similarity degree indicating how a rhythm of a tone produced by the drum included in a performance sound corresponding to a learning image is similar to a rhythm of a tone produced by a musical instrument different from the drum; or depending on information indicating whether a part of music being played corresponds to a musical bar that is before a change in melody, the information being determined using musical score information corresponding to a learning image in order to estimate a degree of attention attracted by the playing of the drum included in the performance image by inputting the performance image into a learning model so that the degree of attention can be estimated based on a feature quantity related to the playing of the drum.
Regarding claim 4, the combination teachings of Kazi, Lee, Takahashi, and Kobayashi as discussed above also disclose the signal processor according to claim 1, wherein
in the machine learning, the learning model has been trained to learn learning data correlated with the degree of attention (see Kazi, paragraphs [0073]-[0081]: “processing data (e.g., smile index calculated from, for example, a captured image or muscles of expression, data acquired by machine learning, and the like) calculated from one or more pieces of sensor data … The subject-specific feeling estimation unit 214 estimates a feeling of the image capturing person for each subject on the basis of the degree of attention for each subject calculated by the degree-of-attention calculation unit 212 and an analysis result regarding sensor data for the subject calculated by the sensor data analysis unit”), and
the degree of attention is based on a feature quantity that depends on a number of tones produced by the drum included in a performance sound corresponding to a learning image (see Kobayashi, paragraph [0431]: “generate a calculation formula for computing the tone of music, it is only necessary to input, along with a plurality of log spectra of music data whose tones are known as the evaluation data, decision values indicating the tone of music as the teacher data. By using a calculation formula generated from these inputs by the learning processing by the feature quantity calculation formula generation apparatus 10 and by inputting a log spectrum of a whole music piece to the calculation formula, the tone of music of the music piece is computed as the metadata per music piece”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 5, the combination teachings of Kazi, Lee, Takahashi, and Kobayashi as discussed above also disclose the signal processor according to claim 1, wherein
in the machine learning, the learning model has been trained to learn learning data correlated with the degree of attention (see Kazi, paragraphs [0073]-[0081]: “processing data (e.g., smile index calculated from, for example, a captured image or muscles of expression, data acquired by machine learning, and the like) calculated from one or more pieces of sensor data … The subject-specific feeling estimation unit 214 estimates a feeling of the image capturing person for each subject on the basis of the degree of attention for each subject calculated by the degree-of-attention calculation unit 212 and an analysis result regarding sensor data for the subject calculated by the sensor data analysis unit”), and
the degree of attention is based on a feature quantity that depends on a rhythm similarity degree indicating how a rhythm of a tone produced by the drum included in a performance sound corresponding to a learning image is similar to a rhythm of a tone produced by a musical instrument different from the drum (see Kobayashi, paragraph [0301]: “The similarity probability which has been converted can be visualized as FIG. 38, for example. The vertical axis of FIG. 38 corresponds to a position in the first focused beat section, and the horizontal axis corresponds to a position in the second focused beat section. Furthermore, the intensity of colours plotted on the two-dimensional plane indicates the degree of similarity probabilities between the first focused beat section and the second focused beat section at the coordinate”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 6, the combination teachings of Kazi, Lee, Takahashi, and Kobayashi as discussed above also disclose the signal processor according to claim 1, wherein
in the machine learning, the learning model has been trained to learn learning data correlated with the degree of attention (see Kazi, paragraphs [0073]-[0081]: “processing data (e.g., smile index calculated from, for example, a captured image or muscles of expression, data acquired by machine learning, and the like) calculated from one or more pieces of sensor data … The subject-specific feeling estimation unit 214 estimates a feeling of the image capturing person for each subject on the basis of the degree of attention for each subject calculated by the degree-of-attention calculation unit 212 and an analysis result regarding sensor data for the subject calculated by the sensor data analysis unit”), and
the degree of attention is based on a feature quantity that depends on information indicating whether a part of music being played corresponds to a musical bar that is before a change in melody, the information being determined using musical score information corresponding to a learning image (see Kobayashi, paragraph [0406]: “the melody line determination unit 288 computes the rate of appearance of pitch transition whose change amount Δo at the correct melody line of each music data. After computing the appearance rate of each pitch transition Δo for a number of pieces of music data, the melody line determination unit 288 computes, for each pitch transition Δo, the average value and the standard deviation for the appearance rate for all the pieces of music data”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 3 above.
Claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 3 above.
Claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 4 above.
Claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 4 above.
Claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 4 above.
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 5 above.
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 5 above.
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 5 above.
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 5 above.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 5 above.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 5 above.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazi, Lee, and Takahashi as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Sneidern et al. (US 20160080835 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Sneidern”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination teachings of Kazi, Lee, and Takahashi as discussed above also disclose the signal processor according to claim 1, wherein the performance image includes a plurality of performance images (see Lee, paragraph [0090]: “music instruction system 115 may include a camera 145 that may capture video images 560 of the user during the user's performance”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination teachings of Kazi, Lee, and Takahashi as discussed above disclose all the claimed limitations with the exceptions of the signal processor further comprises an editor configured to: select, from the plurality of performance images, a first performance image having a score equal to or higher than a threshold, the score being determined based on the degree of attention estimated by the estimator; and generate a first video image using the selected first performance image.
Sneidern from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the signal processor further comprises an editor configured to:
select, from the plurality of performance images, a first performance image having a score equal to or higher than a threshold, the score being determined based on the degree of attention estimated by the estimator (see Sneidern, paragraph [0028]: “The numerical representation may indicate a feature's level of interestingness. The baseline feature set may be a set of threshold values for each feature. Source video clips with one or more features that exceed the threshold values of the baseline feature set may be deemed interesting for inclusion in a compilation video”); and
generate a first video image using the selected first performance image (see Sneidern, paragraph [0029]: “The feature vector may be evaluated against a baseline feature set that includes threshold values for the features. Video clips associated with features that exceed one or more of the thresholds in the baseline feature set may be organized into a compilation video based on the metadata”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Sneidern with the teachings as in Kazi, Lee, and Takahashi. The motivation for doing so would ensure the system to have the ability to use the system and method for creating a compilation video disclosed in Sneidern to use the numerical representation to indicate a feature's level of interestingness; to evaluate feature vector against a baseline feature set that includes threshold values for the features; and to generate a compilation video using video clips associated with features that exceed one or more of the thresholds thus selecting a performance image having a score equal to or higher than a threshold from the plurality of performance images and generating a video image using the selected performance image in order to identify an image that conveys strong interest so that a shortened performance video can be generated with selected images.
Regarding claim 8, the combination teachings of Kazi, Lee, Takahashi, and Sneidern as discussed above also disclose the signal processor according to claim 7, wherein
the image obtainer is configured to obtain a plurality of images of the playing of the drum (see Lee, paragraph [0040]: “The visual images may be displayed on display 120. Music instruction system 115 may send and/or receive visual images to/from other persons (e.g., other users, a remote instructor, etc.) via a network (e.g., the Internet, etc.)”), and
the editor is further configured to:
identify, from the plurality of performance images, a set of performance images that were taken at an identical time (see Sneidern, paragraph [0083]: “the baseline feature set may include time or date-based features. For example, at block 610 a date or a date range within which video clips were recorded may be identified as a feature. Video frames and video clips of the one or more source videos may be given a relevance score at block 615 based on the time it was recorded”);
select, from the identified set of performance images, a second performance image having a score equal to or higher than the threshold (see Sneidern, paragraph [0028]: “The numerical representation may indicate a feature's level of interestingness. The baseline feature set may be a set of threshold values for each feature. Source video clips with one or more features that exceed the threshold values of the baseline feature set may be deemed interesting for inclusion in a compilation video”); and
generate a second video image using the selected second performance image (see Sneidern, paragraph [0029]: “The feature vector may be evaluated against a baseline feature set that includes threshold values for the features. Video clips associated with features that exceed one or more of the thresholds in the baseline feature set may be organized into a compilation video based on the metadata”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claims 1 and 7 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NIENRU YANG
Examiner
Art Unit 2484
/NIENRU YANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2484
/THAI Q TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2484