DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Remarks/Arguments filed on May 26th, 2025, have been carefully considered.
Claims 1, 13, and 20 have been amended.
No claims have been added or canceled.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 13-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hampel et al. [US2021/0049115] in view of Chung et al. [US2010/0118616]. Hampel teaches memory controller for selective rank or subrank access. Chung teaches semiconductor memory device.
Regarding claim 1, 3, 13, and 20, Hampel teaches a memory system [Hampel abstract “…a memory module…”], comprising:
a memory device [Hampel figure 9, feature 621 “memory module”], comprising:
a memory array comprising memory cells [Hampel figure 9, feature 623 “Memory Device A”]; and a peripheral circuit coupled to the memory array [Hampel figure 9, feature 607], wherein the peripheral circuit comprises a micro controller unit (MCU) [Hampel figure 9, feature 607 “memory controller”(Since the peripheral circuit comprises the micro controller unit then the whole controller unit can be considered the peripheral circuit.)] and a plurality of circuits controlled by the MCU [Hampel figure 9, feature 610, 612, “MSel”, “SSel”, 615, 627, and 623 and 625 (The examiner has determined from the specification that circuits are defined in paragraph 0027 as “and other circuits controlled by the control logic 212, including a page buffer/sense amplifier 204, a column decoder/bit line driver 206, a row decoder/word line driver 208, and a voltage generator 210” and as such the examiner has determined this circuits to be inherently necessary for the typical operation of memory even though they are left out of the figure.)],
Hampel fails to explicitly teach wherein the plurality of circuits comprise at least one of a sense amplifier, a word line driver, or a bit line driver, wherein the MCU is configured to switch between a first register and a second register that are coupled to a first circuit of the plurality of circuits and wherein the peripheral circuit.
However, Chung does teach wherein the plurality of circuits comprise at least one of a sense amplifier, a word line driver, or a bit line driver [Chung figure 1, feature 130 “Bit-line Selector” and 140 “Shared Sense Amplifier” and paragraph 0050, last lines “…he dual edge flip-flops DD1 to DDn of the bit-line selection signal output unit 132 latch output signals of the logical OR gates OR1 to ORn and sequentially activate the eight bit-line selection signals BSLi to BSLi+7. The two logical OR gates ORS1 and ORS2 of the sense amplifier enable signal output unit 133 activate and output the sense amplifier enable signals SA_en1 and SA_en2, respectively in response to activation of the corresponding bit-line selection signals…”], wherein the MCU is configured to switch between a first register and a second register that are coupled to a first circuit of the plurality of circuits and wherein the peripheral circuit [Chung paragraph 0010, last lines “…the bit-line selector may have a dual edge flip-flop configured to latch and output the output signal of the logical OR gate in response to rising and falling edges of the read burst signal…” and paragraph 0043, first lines “…In response to rising and falling edges of the read burst signal RD_BL, the dual edge flip-flops DD1 to DDn latch the output signals of the logical OR gates OR1 to ORn at the previous stages, and output the bit-line selection signals BSL1 to BSLn…”(The examiner has determined that dual edge flip-flops contain two flip-flop registers that switch back and forth based on the raising or falling edge of the signal, and the output is directly connected to the sense amplifiers and thus reads on the claim limitation or first and second registers)].
Hampel and Chung are analogous arts in that they both deal with controlling memory.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hampel’s memory device with Chung’s teachings of dual edge triggered flip-flops that are connected to sense amplifiers for the benefit of accomplishing more within a single clock cycle for the benefit of improving the sensing margins [Chung paragraph 0070, last lines “…the shared sense amplifier unit 140 of FIG. 6, the respective sense amplifiers SA1 to SA4 sense and amplify data applied through the bit lines BLi to BLi+7 for one cycle of the clock signal CLK. Thus, sensing margin is improved…”].
during a first time period [Hampel paragraph 0033, last lines “…the shared chip-select line may be activated to trigger sampling of the command/address path within the memory devices 301 of sub-rank A during a first command interval…”], send first data corresponding to a first operation from the MCU to the first register [Hampel paragraph 0046, middle lines “…The command path multiplexer 615 responds to a source-select value, SSel, to couple either internal command path 610 or internal command path 612 to command path, CA, and thus select either transaction queue 609 or transaction queue 611 to source the commands and associated address values for a given memory transaction…”]; and
during a second time period [Hampel paragraph 0033, middle lines “…to enable independent memory commands to be received within the A and B memory sub-ranks, a delay interval between chip-select line activation and sampling of the command/address paths—an interval referred to herein as a sampling latency—is established within the memory devices 303 of sub-rank B, so that command path sampling occurs at a later time within memory sub-rank B than within memory sub-rank A…”]:
perform the first operation by the first circuit [Hampel paragraph 0046, last lines “…the command path may be driven exclusively by one transaction queue or the other, with chip-select signals for memory sub-ranks (and the data input/output circuitry within transaction queues or elsewhere within the memory controller 607)…”]; and
send second data corresponding to a second operation from the MCU to the second register [Hampel paragraph 0046, middle lines “…after each command output sequence from a given transaction queue to enable the alternate transaction queue to drive command path CA in the ensuing command interval…”],
wherein the second operation is subsequent to the first operation [Hampel paragraph 0046, middle lines “…after each command output sequence from a given transaction queue…”(Where the word after reads on subsequent.)]; and
a controller coupled to the memory device and configured to send signals to the memory device to initiate the first operation and the second operation [Hampel 0003, last lines “…some time, T.sub.RD, after receipt of the memory access command, the read data values retrieved within each of the A and B memory devices are output in parallel data burst sequences…”].
Regarding claims 2 and 14, as per claim 1, Chung teaches an address of the first register is same as an address of the second register [Chung paragraph 0041, middle lines “…a dual edge flip-flop…”]. The examiner has determined that the construction of the dual edge flip-flop operates by way of splitting the input data to both internal flip-flop registers and as such both inputs must have the same address. Which is the same as applications figure 4A and B, there is only one data line going to both registers.
Regarding claims 4 and 15, as per claim 1, Hampel teaches a multiplexer (MUX) is coupled between the first register and the second register [Hampel figure 9, feature 615], and wherein the MCU is configured to send an enable signal to the MUX to enable the switch between the first register and the second register [Hampel paragraph 0046, middle lines “…The command path multiplexer 615 responds to a source-select value, SSel, to couple either internal command path 610 or internal command path 612 to command path, CA, and thus select either transaction queue 609 or transaction queue 611 to source the commands and associated address values for a given memory transaction…”(Where the SSEL reads on the enable signal.)].
Regarding claims 5 and 15, as per claim 1, Hampel teaches the MCU is configured to send the enable signal to the MUX after the first time period and before the second time period [Hampel paragraph 0046, middle lines “…after each command output sequence from a given transaction queue to enable the alternate transaction queue to drive command path CA in the ensuing command interval…”].
Regarding claim 8, as per claim 1, Hampel teaches the MUX is coupled to an output terminal of the first register and an output terminal of the second register [Hampel figure 9, features 615, 610 and 612].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 9-12, and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 13, and 20 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
How et al. [US9,806,696] How teaches peripheral circuits with dual edge triggered flipflops similar to applicant’s figure 4A as seen in How’s figure 2 feature DET FF.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC CARDWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2139