DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
1) “an emotional valence estimator” in claim 1. The emotional valence estimator in claim 1 is modified by functional language, “estimate an emotional valence state”, and not further modified by sufficient structure, material or acts for performing the claim functions. Accordingly, these limitations meet the 3-Prong analysis and therefore invoke 112(f). The specification fails to provide sufficient structure that performs the claimed function. See further rejection in 112(a) and 112(b) rejection sections.
2) “a stimulation device” in claim 4. The stimulation device in claim 4 is modified by functional language, “configured to perform an intervention”, and not further modified by sufficient structure, material or acts for performing the claim functions. Accordingly, these limitations meet the 3-Prong analysis and therefore invoke 112(f). The specification fails to provide sufficient structure that performs the claimed function. See further rejection in 112(b) rejection section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea (mental process for a system and method for estimating emotional valence) without significantly more.
Step 2A, Prong One:
Regarding claims 1-20, the recited steps are directed to mental process, i.e., concepts that can be performed in a mental process (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection (III)). The courts have found that concepts performed in a human mind falls within the judicial exceptions, often labelled as “abstract ideas”.
Specifically, the following limitations recite mental process.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation of “estimate an emotional valence state of the wearer” (mental process: observation, evaluation, judgement).
Regarding claim 1, the limitation of “provide feedback to the low-performance computing device in order to improve valence estimation” (mental process: observation, evaluation, judgement).
Regarding claim 2, the limitation of “calculating a depth of breath, breathing cycle time, and respiration rate based on the respiration signal;” (mental process: observation, evaluation, judgement).
Regarding claim 2, the limitation of “estimating a valence level based on the MPP” (mental process: observation, evaluation, judgement).
Regarding claim 9, the limitation of “estimating emotional valence continuously based on physiological measurements of respiration activity” (mental process: observation, evaluation, judgement).
Regarding claim 9, the limitation of “calculating a depth of breath, breathing cycle time, and respiration rate based on the respiration signal (mental process: observation, evaluation, judgement);
Regarding claim 9, the limitation of “estimating a valence level based on the MPP” (mental process: observation, evaluation, judgement).
Regarding claim 10, the limitation of “improving the valence estimation via feedback” (mental process: evaluation, adjustment).
Regarding claim 11, the limitation of “identifying high and low valence events in the respiration signal.” (mental process: observation, evaluation, judgment).
Regarding claim 12, the limitation of “the high and low valence events are identified by comparing features extracted from each breath to their expected behavior during no emotional response.” (mental process: observation, evaluation, judgement).
Regarding claim 14, the limitation of “the depth of breath is the difference between the amplitude of respiration measured at the end of inhalation and the amplitude measured at the start of inhalation, and the rate of inhalation comprises breath amplitude divided by the time of inhalation.” (mental process: observation, evaluation, judgement).
Step 2A, Prong Two:
The claims, including dependent claims, are analyzed as a whole to determine whether additional limitations are recited such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Regarding claim 1, the additional element of “respiration sensor” amounts to a general sensor for insignificant extra solution activity (data gathering) (MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 1, the additional element of “a low-performance computing device configured to acquire the sensor data” amounts to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 1, the additional element of “emotional valence estimator;” amounts to a particular technological environment or field-of-use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 1, the additional element of “high-performance computing device configured to provide feedback to the low-performance computing device in order to improve valence estimation” amounts to insignificant extra solution activities/data output (MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 1, the additional element of “low-performance computing device” amounts mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 1, the additional element of “high-performance computing device” amounts to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 1, the additional element of “a display to show the estimated valence level.” Amounts to insignificant extra solution activities (data output) (MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 1, the additional element of “display” amounts mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 2, the additional element of “at least one of the low-performance computing device and the high-performance computing device comprises a processor and a non-transitory computer-readable medium with instructions stored thereon, which when executed by the processor, perform steps comprising:” amounts to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 2, the additional element of “low-performance computing device” amounts mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 2, the additional element of “high-performance computing device” amounts to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 2, the additional element of “processor” amounts to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 2, the additional element of “measuring a respiration signal via the respiration sensor;” amounts to insignificant extra solution activities (data gathering) (MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 2, the additional element of “respiration sensor” amounts to a particular technological environment or field-of-use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 2, the additional element of “generating a marked point process (MPP) using k-means grouping of the calculated depth of breath, breathing cycle time, and respiration rate;” amounts to insignificant extra solution activities (data output) (MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 2, the additional element of “displaying the estimated valence level.” amounts to insignificant extra solution activities (data output) (MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 2, the additional element of “display” amounts to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 3, the additional element of “where the respiration sensor comprises a respiration belt, a camera, an electroencephalogram (EEG), or an electrocardiogram (ECG).” amounts to a particular technological environment or field-of-use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 4, the additional element of “a stimulation device configured to perform an intervention.” amounts to a particular technological environment or field-of-use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 5, the additional element of “the intervention comprises an electrical stimulation.” amounts to a particular technological environment or field-of-use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 6, the additional element of “the intervention comprises an electrical stimulation.” amounts to a particular technological environment or field-of-use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 7, the additional element of “the display is configured to display an intervention suggestion” amounts to insignificant extra solution activities (data output) (MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 9, the additional element of “measuring a respiration signal via the respiration sensor;” amounts to insignificant extra solution activities (data gathering) (MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 9, the additional element of “respiration sensor” amounts to a particular technological environment or field-of-use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 9, the additional element of “generating a marked point process (MPP) using a k-means grouping algorithm on the calculated depth of breath, breathing cycle time, and respiration rate;” amounts to insignificant extra solution activities (data output) (MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 9, the additional element of “displaying the estimated valence level” amounts to insignificant extra solution activities (data output) (MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 13, the additional element of “the respiration signal comprises a waveform including inhalation amplitude, exhalation amplitude, inhalation time, and exhalation time” amounts to insignificant extra solution activities (data output) (MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 15, the additional element of “the algorithm comprises an unsupervised algorithm.” amounts to insignificant extra solution activities (MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 16, the additional element of “the unsupervised algorithm comprises k-means clustering.” amounts to insignificant extra solution activities (MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 17, the additional element of “administering an intervention when a negative valence is estimated.” amounts to a particular technological environment or field-of-use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 18, the additional element of “the intervention comprises instructions to perform a breathing exercise, music, or instructions to administer medication.” amounts to a particular technological environment or field-of-use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 19, the additional element of “the intervention is automated.” amounts to a particular technological environment or field-of-use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 20, the additional element of “the intervention comprises a vibration or an electrostimulation.” amounts to a particular technological environment or field-of-use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
Regarding the claimed system and method for estimating emotional valence disclosed in the applicant’s specification, the specification does not sufficiently describe a concrete technological improvement attributable to the claimed invention of the system and method for estimating emotional valence. A particular technological environment or field or use and Insignificant extra solution activity do not integrate a judicial exception. Regarding claims 1-20, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B:
The claims 1-20 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements above and, including “processors”, “display”, “low-performance computing device”, “high-performance computing device”, and “non-transitory computer-readable medium” are recited at a high level of generality and are used for extra-solution activity, such as data gathering necessary to perform the abstract idea as well as part of generic measuring equipment used to perform extra-solution data delivery functions to perform the abstract idea as well as part generic computer equipment used to perform extra-solution data delivery computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)). Therefore, these elements do not provide an inventive concept sufficient to transform the claimed abstract idea into patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation, “emotional valence estimator”. The recitation performs as a software algorithm (to estimate emotional valence). However, the specification fails to disclose sufficient algorithmic detail. The term “emotional valence estimator” is treated as a black box and the specification does not describe the specifics of how to achieve the above-recited function(s) with this algorithm but merely restates the claimed functions without providing any specific algorithm, (e.g., the necessary steps and/or flowcharts) that perform the claimed function in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor possessed the claimed subject matter at the time of filing. An algorithm is defined, for example, as “a finite sequence of steps for solving a logical or mathematical problem or performing a task.” Microsoft Computer Dictionary (5th ed., 2002). Applicant may “express that algorithm in any understandable terms including as a mathematical formula, in prose, or as a flow chart, or in any other manner that provides sufficient structure.” Finisar Corp. v. DirecTV Grp., Inc., 523 F.3d 1323, 1340, 86 USPQ2d 1609, 1623 (Fed. Cir. 2008) (internal citation omitted). It is not enough that one skilled in the art could write a program to achieve the claimed function because the specification must explain how the inventor intends to achieve the claimed function to satisfy the written description requirement. See, e.g., Vasudevan Software, Inc. v. MicroStrategy, Inc., 782 F.3d 671, 681-683, 114 USPQ2d 1349, 1356, 1357 (Fed. Cir. 2015). See MPEP 2161.01(I).
Claims 1-8, 10, and 14-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “an emotional valence estimator” in claim 1 and “a stimulation device” in claim 4 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the functions of “estimate an emotional valence” and of “stimulation device”. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the sensor data" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the wearer" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the estimated valence level " in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase, “the estimated valence level” renders the scope of the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the recitation refers to a valence level” in claim 2 or “the estimated valence level” in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase “the respiration sensor comprises a respiration belt, a camera, an electroencephalogram (EEG), or an electrocardiogram (ECG).” in line 2 renders the claim indefinite. An EEG or ECG are conventionally considered either a data type or a measuring procedure. This makes it unclear what it means for a sensor to comprise a data type or a measuring procedure. It is unclear what the scope of the claim is meant to be. For examination purposes it will be treated as if the claim reads “the respiration sensor comprises a respiration belt, a camera, an electroencephalogram (EEG) sensor, or an electrocardiogram (ECG) sensor”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the valence estimation" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase “their” in line 2 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the recitation is meant to refer to.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the amplitude of respiration” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the end” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the amplitude” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the start” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the rate of inhalation” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the time of inhalation” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the algorithm” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The recitation should be “the k-means grouping algorithm”.
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 15 recites the limitation “unsupervised algorithm”, which is already defined in claim 9 because k-means grouping algorithm is an unsupervised algorithm. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 16 recites the limitation “k-means clustering”, which is already defined in claim 9 because k-means grouping algorithm is k-means clustering. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Ehsani” (WO 2022272057 A1) in view of “Nandi” (“Federated Learning with Exponentially Weighted Moving Average for Real-Time Emotion Classification", Ambient Intelligence-Software and Applications-13th International Symposium on Ambient Intelligence. ISAmI 2022. Lecture Notes in Networks and Systems, vol 603. Springer, Cham.).
Regarding claim 1.
Ehsani teaches A system for estimating emotional valence continuously based on physiological measurements of respiration activity (Abstract and Paragraph 0080), comprising:
a respiration sensor (Paragraph 0050: “the biosensor device 3 may be configured to read one or more biological properties to obtain physiological data, including but not necessarily limited to a heart rate (HR), a heart rate variability (HRV), an oxygen saturation (Sp02), an electrodermal activity (EDA), a breathing rate (BR), a body temperature (BT), a movement, and any combination thereof” and Paragraph 0080: “there is depicted a diagram of an exemplary embodiment of the system that utilizes biosignal data (e.g., ECG, EDA, respiration, accelerometer, temperature, or any combination thereof)”);
a low-performance computing device (mobile device operably connected with the one or more biosensor devices) (Paragraph 0068: “The system involves one or more biosensor devices which generate the data by monitoring the biological property of the individual. Methods and operations of the system may be performed, in whole or in part, by a mobile device operably connected with the one or more biosensor devices”) configured to acquire the sensor data and estimate an emotional valence state of the wearer via an emotional valence estimator (Paragraph 0063: “the AI engine runs on the smartphone and executes time series event detection using a classification engine. The final step is to classify the event, if possible, so that predetermined logic can be executed”, Paragraph 0068: “one or more logics may be stored on the non-transitory machine-readable medium of the mobile device and executed by the processer of the mobile device when the method is performed.”,” The system involves one or more biosensor devices which generate the data by monitoring the biological property of the individual. Methods and operations of the system may be performed, in whole or in part, by a mobile device operably connected with the one or more biosensor devices”, and Paragraph 0017: “The detecting positive and negative emotional valences of the individual may be performed by at least a classification engine of the instructions, which may be based on a suitable algorithm or approach for classification”, Paragraph 0019: “The operations may involve determining a magnitude or intensity of each of the positive and negative emotional valences”, Paragraph 0080: ” there is depicted a diagram of an exemplary embodiment of the system that utilizes biosignal data (e.g., ECG, EDA, respiration, accelerometer, temperature, or any combination thereof) and a CNN for classifying events as being positive affect (PA) or negative affect (NA)”, and Paragraph 0069: “The data structure may be used to create a V-vector model or diagram 24 for each observed individual, and the baseline or valence axes are computed based on physiological and psychological data of the data structure 23”);
a high-performance computing device (computational device 7) (Paragraph 0059: “The computational device 7 may involve a networked server, operably connected to the mobile device 4 and configured to execute a machine learning (ML) algorithm to evaluate a detected event.”).
a display to show the estimated valence level (Paragraph 0019: “The operations may involve determining a magnitude or intensity of each of the positive and negative emotional valences, and, based on the determined magnitudes, generating and placing at least one data point on a Y-vector model. The Y-vector model may be used to map the emotional valences, with or without visual representation, on a two-dimensional axis representative of stress magnitude (e.g., high stress, medium stress, low stress, no stress) and sign (e.g., positive, negative, both, neutral).”, Paragraph 0076: “The computer system 100 can further include a video display 110 (e.g., a liquid crystal display (LCD) or a cathode ray tube (CRT))”).
However, Ehsani does not teach a high-performance computing device configured to provide feedback to the low-performance computing device in order to improve valence estimation;
Nandi teaches a low-performance computing device (mobile and IoT devices (wearable sensors), as local clients) configured to acquire the sensor data and estimate an emotional valence state of the wearer via an emotional valence estimator (Abstract: “In particular it is a useful framework to use resource-constrained edge computing devices, such as mobile and IoT devices (wearable sensors), as local clients.”; Page 126, section 2.3, lines 1-2: “The main functions of local clients are: (1) access to the local data, develop the model and perform the corresponding learning task”; Page 128, section 3.3 (Feature extraction and fusion), lines 22-25: “a feature fusion approach (concatenation approach) is used to combine the extracted features from EDA and RB modality. The fused features are then sent to the client-side emotion classifier.”; Page 128, section 3.3 (Emotion classifier), lines 26-27: “To classify the discrete emotion labels (in Table 2), we have employed a three-layer Feed Forward Neural Network (FFNN) as the base classifier to do the classification in real-time from multi-modal data streams (EDA and RB)”);
a high-performance computing device (global server) configured to provide feedback to the low-performance computing device in order to improve valence estimation (Page 125, section 2.2, lines 19-21 (last paragraph): “Federated Learning (FL [6,10]) is a promising distributed machine learning approach that enables mobile local clients to build a powerful global model by collaborating with a global server.”; Page 125, section 2.2, lines 23-24 (last paragraph): “there are two parties involved in the whole approach, global server and local clients (end/edge users/devices) [6].”; Page 126, section 2.2, lines 1-8.: “The main functions of local clients are: (1) access to the local data, develop the model and perform the corresponding learning task (2) sharing the developed local model to the global server (3) receive the global model and replace the local model with the global model. The main functions of the global server are: (1) collect the shared local models from local clients; (2) create the global model by model averaging (called Federated Averaging) of all the collected local models; (3) broadcast the global model to all the local models participated in the Federated Averaging (FedAvg)”; Abstract: “We propose an exponentially weighted moving average (EWMA) for local model updates at the local client to ddress this issue and improve model performance.”); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ehsani with Nandi’s feature-based emotion-recognition approach because incorporating Nandi’s feature-based emotion-recognition approach into the primary respiration-based system would have allowed physiological-signal features to be selected and processed with machine-learning techniques to recognize valence, thereby providing a known way to derive useful emotion-related information from the primary system’s respiration data (Page 125, section 2.2, lines 19-21 (Abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Ehsani in view of Nandi teaches the system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Ehsani does not teach where the respiration sensor comprises a respiration belt, a camera, an electroencephalogram (EEG), or an electrocardiogram (ECG).
Nandi teaches where the respiration sensor comprises a respiration belt, a camera, an electroencephalogram (EEG), or an electrocardiogram (ECG) (Page 125, section 2.1, lines 7-10.: “It should be noted that in a multi-modal data stream classification scenario, features are extracted from each modality (sensors)”; Page 127, section 3.2, line 10.: “channel no. 38 is for Respiratory Belt (RB) signal.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ehsani with Nandi to use a respiratory belt as the respiration sensor because incorporating Nandi’s respiratory-belt sensing would have provided Ehsani’s emotion-classification system with direct respiration data from a wearable sensor, thereby enabling real-time classification of the wearer’s emotional state based on that physiological input (Page 125, section 2.1, lines 7-10; Page 127, section 3.2, line 10; Page 126, section 3.1 ).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehsani in view of Nandi, “Jooris” (EP 3954290 A1), and “Loza” ("A Marked Point Process Framework for Extracellular Electrical Potentials". Front. Syst. Neurosci. 11:95, 2018).
Regarding claim 2, Ehsani in view of Nandi teaches the system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Ehsani teaches wherein at least one of the low-performance computing device and the high-performance computing device comprises a processor and a non-transitory computer-readable medium with instructions stored thereon, which when executed by the processor, perform steps comprising (Paragraph 0060: “one or more devices, such as the computational device 7, may include a module for event-driven activities, a module for natural language understanding (NLU), a module for speech to text (ASR), or a combination thereof. These modules may be provided as executable computer algorithms, in the form of machine-readable instructions stored in a non- transitory machine-readable medium of the computational device 7”, Paragraph 0068: “one or more logics may be stored on the non-transitory machine-readable medium of the mobile device and executed by the processer of the mobile device when the method is performed.”, “In embodiments, the mobile device may include appropriate hardware necessary or sufficient for performing the method in whole or in part, as would be understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art. Exemplary hardware may include a processor, a non- transitory machine-readable medium,”):
measuring a respiration signal via the respiration sensor (Paragraph 0055: “the biosensor device 3 may be configured to read one or more biological properties to obtain physiological data, including but not necessarily limited to a heart rate (HR), a heart rate variability (HRV), an oxygen saturation (Sp02), an electrodermal activity (EDA), a breathing rate (BR)”, Paragraph 0080: “there is depicted a diagram of an exemplary embodiment of the system that utilizes biosignal data (e.g., ECG, EDA, respiration, accelerometer, temperature, or any combination thereof)”, “the quantitative processed features from the wearable device may be used to build a physiological stress model.”);
calculating respiration rate based on the respiration signal (Paragraph 0055: “the biosensor device 3 may be configured to read one or more biological properties to obtain physiological data, including but not necessarily limited to a heart rate (HR), a heart rate variability (HRV), an oxygen saturation (Sp02), an electrodermal activity (EDA), a breathing rate (BR)”);
displaying the estimated valence level (Paragraph 0019: “The operations may involve determining a magnitude or intensity of each of the positive and negative emotional valences, and, based on the determined magnitudes, generating and placing at least one data point on a Y-vector model. The Y-vector model may be used to map the emotional valences, with or without visual representation, on a two-dimensional axis representative of stress magnitude (e.g., high stress, medium stress, low stress, no stress) and sign (e.g., positive, negative, both, neutral).”, Paragraph 0068: “the mobile device may include appropriate hardware necessary or sufficient for performing the method in whole or in part, as would be understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art. Exemplary hardware may include a processor, a non- transitory machine-readable medium, a speaker, a microphone, and a human-readable display.”, and Paragraph 0076: “The computer system 100 can further include a video display 110 (e.g., a liquid crystal display (LCD) or a cathode ray tube (CRT))”).
However, Ehsani does not teach calculating a depth of breath, breathing cycle time, based on the respiration signal.
generating a marked point process (MPP) using k-means grouping of the calculated depth of breath, breathing cycle time, and respiration rate;
estimating a valence level based on the MPP;
Jooris teaches calculating a depth of breath, breathing cycle time, and respiration rate based on the respiration signal (Paragraph 0045: “respiratory data (respiration rate, respiration variability, predetermined respiration patterns, effort, temperature, and air pressure (inhalation/exhalation)),”, Paragraph 0081: “From the measured data from the experiment of Fig. 1, there was found to be a correlation of the respiration rate with the self-reported level of anxiety, with rs= 0.458 and a p-value = 0.002”, Paragraph 0083: “FIG. 26 shows such respiratory data during a time period of about 1 minute. As shown, from such respiratory data there could be extracted parameters such as the breathing cycle duration, which is the time period associated with one complete breathing cycle; the exhalation duration, which is the time period associated with the part of the breathing cycle during which the exhalation takes place; the inhalation duration, which is the time period associated with the part of the breathing cycle during which the inhalation takes place; and/or any ratio's and/or any combination of such durations; and/or any other parameters derivable from such time domain respiratory data signal, such as for example the peak to peak amplitude of the signal, the minima and maxima of the signal, and/or variability of such signals,”, and Paragraph 0085: “it is possible to take into account data with respect to the volume and/or depth of breathing, which could for example be directly measured, and/or indirectly derived from data relating to oxygen saturation,”).
Loza teaches generating a marked point process (MPP) using k-means grouping (Page 1, lines 10-14: “Therefore, this allows for the first time a description of neuromodulation in EEPs as a Marked Point Process (MPP), represented by their amplitude, center frequency, duration, and time of occurrence. The generative model for the multi-frequency phasic events exploits sparseness and involves a shift-invariant implementation of the clustering technique known as k-means.”; Page 7, section 2.3, lines 5-8: “our learning scheme takes the form of dictionary learning or sparse coding approaches, i.e., the sources (MPP) are explicitly estimated during the estimation of the dictionary elements. ”; and Page 7,section 2.3.1, lines 29-32: “For each rhythm, the seed dictionary, with its K initial dictionary elements become centers in k-means. The stage known in k-means as cluster assignment is denoted as phasic event decomposition for our learning approach (Figure 2A).”; the examiner notes that MPP using k-means could process the calculated depth of breath, breathing cycle time, and respiration rate that were calculated above (by Jooris));
Ehsani teaches estimating a valence level (Paragraph 0019: “The operations may involve determining a magnitude or intensity of each of the positive and negative emotional valences, and based on the determined magnitudes, generating and placing at least one data point on a Y-vector model. The Y-vector model may be used to map the emotional valences, with or without visual representation, on a two-dimensional axis representative of stress magnitude (e.g., high stress, medium stress, low stress, no stress) and sign (e.g., positive, negative, both, neutral).”, Paragraph 0080: “there is depicted a diagram of an exemplary embodiment of the system that utilizes biosignal data (e.g., ECG, EDA, respiration, accelerometer, temperature, or any combination thereof) and a CNN for classifying events as being positive affect (PA) or negative affect (NA).”; the examiner notes that estimating a valence level based on the MPP taught by Loza above).
Combination:
Jooris discloses deriving respiratory parameters including breading-cycle duration and inhalation and exhalation durations-from respiratory data, and accounting for breathing depth, thereby supplying quantitative respiration features for Ehsani’s physiological assessment of emotional valence (Jooris, Paragraphs 0045,0047,0083,0085; Ehsani, Paragraphs 0019,0080).
After incorporating Jooris’ respiration-derived parameters into Ehsani, a skilled artisan would apply Loza’s MPP and k-means approach to group successive respiratory events with similar depth, cycle-time and rate feature, providing grouped event data for Ehsani’s valence analysis.
Then, Loza discloses representing events as marked points and using k-means for clustering and event decomposition; applying that framework to Jooris’s respiration-feature data would group similar respiratory events into a representation for Ehsani’s valence analysis (Loza, Page 1, lines 10-14, Page 7, Section 2. 3, lines 5-8, Section 2.3.1, lines 29-32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ehsani with Jooris to calculate depth of breath, breathing-cycle time, and respiration rate from a respiration signal because such incorporation would have provided quantitative respiration features for Ehsani’s physiological assessment of emotional valence (Jooris, Paragraphs 0045,0047, 0083).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ehsani with Loza to generate a marked point process using k-means grouping of the calculated respiration features because incorporating Loza’s MPP framework and k-means would have represented detected events as marked events and grouped similar features patterns for subsequent analysis of emotional valence as a predictable use of a known method (Loza, page 1, lines 10-14; page 7, section 2.3, lines 5-8; page 7, section 2.3.1, lines 29-32).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehsani in view of Nandi and “Sayag” (WO2022038596A1),
Regarding claim 4, Ehsani in view of Nandi teaches the system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Ehsani teaches perform an intervention (Paragraph 0009: “The operations may further include providing an intervention to the individual if the negative emotional valence surpasses a first threshold of the V-vector mode”, and Paragraph 0073: “the method 25 comprises collecting 26 physiological data points from a device or system of the system, whether continuously or discretely (e.g., sampled). The data is mapped 27 to the space/features of the V-Vector model and compared 28 to the V-vector model 32 wherein the V-vector model 32 may involve at least a first threshold. If all or a portion of the data is above the first threshold 29 (e.g., a negative stress threshold), then the device or system may intervene 30 with the individual. If the data does not surpass the threshold 29, the device or system may continue collecting 26 physiological data. After intervening, the results of the intervention may be used to adapt and/or update 31 the model or V-vector model 32, which may be used in subsequent comparisons 28 between observed data and the V-vector model 32 and the threshold(s)”).
However, Ehsani is silent on a stimulation device.
Sayag teaches further comprising a stimulation device configured to perform an intervention (Page 11, lines 10-13: “for example, vibrations are known to "hijack" pain signal bandwidth in the nervous system, and thus tell the brain that things are better than they seem to be, reducing the level of pain-fear alarm. In addition, the vibration on the body has an additional calming effect, telling the brain things are "ok", similar to the intervention of a physical companion's touch”; and Page 11, (last two paragraphs), lines 20-28: “According to some embodiments, the device and/or system is configured to combine vibrations and breath awareness to induce calm. According to some embodiments, the device and/or system includes a wearable device that can help users stay within their useful level of stress as they go about their day. Reference is made to FIG. 1, which is a schematic illustration of an emotional regulative assistance device 100, in accordance with some embodiments of the present invention. Device 100 includes two separated, functionally associated, units: a respiration sensing unit 150 configured to sense a respiratory pattern of the user and a tactile stimulation unit 110 configured to apply tactile stimulation (such as vibrations) to the body of the user.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ehsani with Sayag because incorporating respiration-responsive tactile stimulation would have given the system a known way to help the user regulate stress or emotion after monitoring the user’s physiological state (Page 14, lines 15-19; Page 15, lines 7-8; Page 14, lines 25-27).
Regarding claim 5, Ehsani in view of Nandi and Sayag teaches the system of claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above).
Ehsani does not teach wherein the intervention comprises a vibration.
Sayag teaches wherein the intervention comprises a vibration (Page 11, lines 10-13: “for example, vibrations are known to "hijack" pain signal bandwidth in the nervous system, and thus tell the brain that things are better than they seem to be, reducing the level of pain-fear alarm. In addition, the vibration on the body has an additional calming effect, telling the brain things are "ok", similar to the intervention of a physical companion's touch”; and Page 11, (last two paragraphs), lines 20-28: “According to some embodiments, the device and/or system is configured to combine vibrations and breath awareness to induce calm. According to some embodiments, the device and/or system includes a wearable device that can help users stay within their useful level of stress as they go about their day. Reference is made to FIG. 1, which is a schematic illustration of an emotional regulative assistance device 100, in accordance with some embodiments of the present invention. Device 100 includes two separated, functionally associated, units: a respiration sensing unit 150 configured to sense a respiratory pattern of the user and a tactile stimulation unit 110 configured to apply tactile stimulation (such as vibrations) to the body of the user.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ehsani with Sayag because incorporating respiration-responsive tactile stimulation would have given the system a known way to help the user regulate stress or emotion after monitoring the user’s physiological state (Page 12, lines 21-24).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehsani in view of Nandi, Sayag, and “Kotake” (US20190239795A1).
Regarding claim 6, Ehsani in view of Nandi and Sayag teaches the system of claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above).
Ehsani does not teach wherein the intervention comprises an electrical stimulation.
Kotake teaches wherein the intervention comprises an electrical stimulation (Paragraph 0213: “suggesting certain activities to undertake or lifestyle to follow, or one or more stimuli signals induced on the subject (for instance, audio/video signal to induce stimulation on the subject, and/or an electric signal inducing stimulation on the subject, etc.). For example, the feedback may be provided when the estimated arousal value and/or the estimated valence value meet a predetermined condition”, “the subject can be guided/instructed or physically stimulated towards maintain a good health condition, or improving his/her health condition.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ehsani with Kotake’s electric-signal stimulation because incorporating electric stimulation signal would physically have stimulated the subject based on the estimated arousal or valence and guided the subject toward maintaining or improving their health (Kotake, Paragraph 0213).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehsani in view of Nandi, and “Freckleton” (US20220304603A1).
Regarding claim 7, Ehsani in view of Nandi teaches the system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Ehsani teaches an intervention suggestion (Paragraph 0073: “The method 25 comprises collecting 26 physiological data points from a device or system of the system, whether continuously or discretely (e.g., sampled). The data is mapped 27 to the space/features of the V-Vector model and compared 28 to the V-vector model 32 wherein the V-vector model 32 may involve at least a first threshold. If all or a portion of the data is above the first threshold 29 (e.g., a negative stress threshold), then the device or system may intervene 30 with the individual. If the data does not surpass the threshold 29, the device or system may continue collecting 26 physiological data. After intervening, the results of the intervention may be used to adapt and/or update 31 the model or V-vector model 32, which may be used in subsequent comparisons 28 between observed data and the V-vector model 32 and the threshold(s)”).
Ehsani does not teach wherein the display is configured to display an intervention suggestion.
Freckleton teaches teach wherein the display is configured to display an intervention suggestion (Paragraph 0051: “The alert can provide notice to a user, via a speaker or display on the output device 390, of a change in one or more physiological conditions or other parameter being monitored by the wearable device 300, or the alert can be used to provide an updated emotional indicator to a use”, Paragraph 0065: “The wearable device system 500 can utilize the one or more context sensors 502 to appropriate, characterize, and/or provide prospective to the physiological data of the one or more physiological sensors 504.”, and Paragraph 0070: “Upon detection of a change in emotional state above the predetermined threshold, the wearable device 502 can prompt the user to acknowledge the change by providing a series of suggested responses. In at least one instance, the response selection 520 can include several suggested tasks that can celebrate a positive mood or mitigate a negative mood of the user as measured by the one or more physiological sensors. The user 550 can select the desired response via the display 508 on a user interface 510.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ehsani with Freckleton’s display of suggested responses after detecting an emotional-state change would have provided the user with an actionable response for mitigating a negative mood, consistent with Ehsani’s goal of managing mental health through intervention (Ehsani, Paragraphs 0007,0009; Freckleton, Paragraphs 0068-0070).
Regarding claim 8, Ehsani in view of Nandi and Freckleton teaches the system of claim 7 (see rejection of claim 7 above).
Ehsani teaches wherein the intervention suggestion (Paragraph 0073: “The method 25 comprises collecting 26 physiological data points from a device or system of the system, whether continuously or discretely (e.g., sampled). The data is mapped 27 to the space/features of the V-Vector model and compared 28 to the V-vector model 32 wherein the V-vector model 32 may involve at least a first threshold. If all or a portion of the data is above the first threshold 29 (e.g., a negative stress threshold), then the device or system may intervene 30 with the individual. If the data does not surpass the threshold 29, the device or system may continue collecting 26 physiological data. After intervening, the results of the intervention may be used to adapt and/or update 31 the model or V-vector model 32, which may be used in subsequent comparisons 28 between observed data and the V-vector model 32 and the threshold(s)”).
However, Ehsani does not teach comprises instructions to perform a breathing exercise, playing music, or instructions to administer medication.
Freckleton teaches wherein the intervention suggestion comprises instructions to perform a breathing exercise, playing music, or instructions to administer medication (Paragraph 0051: “The alert can provide notice to a user, via a speaker or display on the output device 390, of a change in one or more physiological conditions or other parameter being monitored by the wearable device 300, or the alert can be used to provide an updated emotional indicator to a use”, Paragraph 0065: “The wearable device system 500 can utilize the one or more context sensors 502 to appropriate, characterize, and/or provide prospective to the physiological data of the one or more physiological sensors 504.”, and Paragraph 0070: “Upon detection of a change in emotional state above the predetermined threshold, the wearable device 502 can prompt the user to acknowledge the change by providing a series of suggested responses. In at least one instance, the response selection 520 can include several suggested tasks that can celebrate a positive mood or mitigate a negative mood of the user as measured by the one or more physiological sensors. The user 550 can select the desired response via the display 508 on a user interface 510”, Paragraph 0071: “If the user's selection is a guided response, the wearable device 502 can use a compliance detection system 522 to determine whether the user is performing the selected response properly (e.g. achieving the desired result/change in emotional state). For example, if the user has selected to perform a breathing exercise, the one or more physiological sensors 504 can monitor the user's respiratory rate to ensure they are following the guided response.”, and Paragraph 0079: “In at least one instance, the interventions include one or more suggested responses including, but not limited to, performing a breathing exercise, performing physical exercise (going for a walk, a jog, attending an exercise class, etc.), listening to music,”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ehsani in view of Jooris and Loza and further with Freckleton to provide the claimed intervention suggestions comprising breathing exercises or music because incorporating Freckleton’s suggested-response prompts and user selection through a display would have provided actionable responses after detecting an emotional-state change (Freckleton, Paragraphs 0070-0071; Ehsani, Paragraphs 0008-0009,0073).
Claims 9-10, 13-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehsani in view of Jooris and Loza.
Regarding claim 9.
Ehsani teaches A method for estimating emotional valence continuously based on physiological measurements of respiration activity (Abstract; Paragraphs 0069, 0073), comprising:
measuring a respiration signal via a respiration sensor (Paragraph 0055: “the biosensor device 3 may be configured to read one or more biological properties to obtain physiological data, including but not necessarily limited to a heart rate (HR), a heart rate variability (HRV), an oxygen saturation (Sp02), an electrodermal activity (EDA), a breathing rate (BR)”);
However, Ehsani does not teach calculating a depth of breath, breathing cycle time, and
generating a marked point process (MPP) using a k-means grouping algorithm on the calculated depth of breath, breathing cycle time, and respiration rate;
the MPP; and
Jooris teaches calculating a depth of breath, breathing cycle time, and respiration rate based on the respiration signal (Paragraph 0045: “respiratory data (respiration rate, respiration variability, predetermined respiration patterns, effort, temperature, and air pressure (inhalation/exhalation)),”, Paragraph 0081: “From the measured data from the experiment of Fig. 1, there was found to be a correlation of the respiration rate with the self-reported level of anxiety, with rs= 0.458 and a p-value = 0.002”, Paragraph 0083: “FIG. 26 shows such respiratory data during a time period of about 1 minute. As shown, from such respiratory data there could be extracted parameters such as the breathing cycle duration, which is the time period associated with one complete breathing cycle; the exhalation duration, which is the time period associated with the part of the breathing cycle during which the exhalation takes place; the inhalation duration, which is the time period associated with the part of the breathing cycle during which the inhalation takes place; and/or any ratio's and/or any combination of such durations; and/or any other parameters derivable from such time domain respiratory data signal, such as for example the peak to peak amplitude of the signal, the minima and maxima of the signal, and/or variability of such signals,”, and Paragraph 0085: “it is possible to take into account data with respect to the volume and/or depth of breathing, which could for example be directly measured, and/or indirectly derived from data relating to oxygen saturation,”)l;
Loza teaches generating a marked point process (MPP) using a k-means grouping algorithm (Page 1, lines 10-14: “Therefore, this allows for the first time a description of neuromodulation in EEPs as a Marked Point Process (MPP), represented by their amplitude, center frequency, duration, and time of occurrence. The generative model for the multi-frequency phasic events exploits sparseness and involves a shift-invariant implementation of the clustering technique known as k-means.”; Page 7, section 2.3, lines 5-8: “our learning scheme takes the form of dictionary learning or sparse coding approaches, i.e., the sources (MPP) are explicitly estimated during the estimation of the dictionary elements. ”; and Page 7,section 2.3.1, lines 29-32: “For each rhythm, the seed dictionary, with its K initial dictionary elements become centers in k-means. The stage known in k-means as cluster assignment is denoted as phasic event decomposition for our learning approach (Figure 2A).”; the examiner notes that generating MPP using k-means could be based on the calculated depth of breath, breathing cycle time, and respiration rate that were calculated above by Jooris);
Ehsani teaches estimating a valence level (Paragraph 0019: “The operations may involve determining a magnitude or intensity of each of the positive and negative emotional valences, and based on the determined magnitudes, generating and placing at least one data point on a Y-vector model. The Y-vector model may be used to map the emotional valences, with or without visual representation, on a two-dimensional axis representative of stress magnitude (e.g., high stress, medium stress, low stress, no stress) and sign (e.g., positive, negative, both, neutral).”, Paragraph 0080: “there is depicted a diagram of an exemplary embodiment of the system that utilizes biosignal data (e.g., ECG, EDA, respiration, accelerometer, temperature, or any combination thereof) and a CNN for classifying events as being positive affect (PA) or negative affect (NA).”; the examiner notes that estimating a valence level based on the MPP taught by Loza above); and
displaying the estimated valence level (Paragraph 0019: “The operations may involve determining a magnitude or intensity of each of the positive and negative emotional valences, and, based on the determined magnitudes, generating and placing at least one data point on a Y-vector model. The Y-vector model may be used to map the emotional valences, with or without visual representation, on a two-dimensional axis representative of stress magnitude (e.g., high stress, medium stress, low stress, no stress) and sign (e.g., positive, negative, both, neutral).”, Paragraph 0068: “the mobile device may include appropriate hardware necessary or sufficient for performing the method in whole or in part, as would be understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art. Exemplary hardware may include a processor, a non- transitory machine-readable medium, a speaker, a microphone, and a human-readable display.”, and Paragraph 0076: “The computer system 100 can further include a video display 110 (e.g., a liquid crystal display (LCD) or a cathode ray tube (CRT))”).
Combination:
Jooris discloses deriving respiratory parameters including breading-cycle duration and inhalation and exhalation durations-from respiratory data, and accounting for breathing depth, thereby supplying quantitative respiration features for Ehsani’s physiological assessment of emotional valence (Jooris, Paragraphs 0045,0047,0083,0085; Ehsani, Paragraphs 0019,0080).
After incorporating Jooris’ respiration-derived parameters into Ehsani, a skilled artisan would apply Loza’s MPP and k-means approach to group successive respiratory events with similar depth, cycle-time and rate feature, providing grouped event data for Ehsani’s valence analysis.
Then, Loza discloses representing events as marked points and using k-means for clustering and event decomposition; applying that framework to Jooris’s respiration-feature data would group similar respiratory events into a representation for Ehsani’s valence analysis (Loza, Page 1, lines 10-14, Page 7, Section 2. 3, lines 5-8, Section 2.3.1, lines 29-32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ehsani with Jooris to calculate a respiration signal and calculate depth of breath, breathing-cycle time, and respiration rate because incorporating Joori’s breathing depth or volume, breathing-cycle duration, and respiration rate as cycles per minute would have provided quantitative respiratory features for Ehsani’s assessment of emotional valence (Jooris, Paragraphs 0045, 0083, 0085,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ehsani with Loza to generate a marked point process using k-means grouping of the calculated respiration features because incorporating Loza’s MPP framework and applying its k-means clustering to Ehsani’s physiological data would have used a known clustering technique to group similar feature patter for subsequent analysis and detected events as marked events and grouped similar features patterns for subsequent analysis of emotional valence (Loza, page 1, lines 10-14; page 7, section 2.3, lines 5-8; page 7, section 2.3.1, lines 29-32).
Regarding claim 10, Ehsani in view of Jooris and Loza teaches the method of claim 9 (see rejection of claim 9 above).
Ehsani teaches further comprising improving the valence estimation via feedback (Paragraph 0017: “The detecting positive and negative emotional valences of the individual may be performed by at least a classification engine of the instructions, which may be based on a suitable algorithm or approach for classification”, Paragraph 0063: “The final step is to classify the event, if possible, so that predetermined logic can be executed. If there is any doubt of the classification, then the individual may be queried to identify the type(s) of stress correlated with the event. This approach allows the logic to be easily trained on tagged data, and a limited amount of verification may be necessary. In embodiments, the automated conversational agent may provide tagging of events, e.g., from the individual, which can facilitate training of the model(s) of the system and provide customization of the system to the individual or a group of individuals. In this manner, the system may be more efficiently and effectively trained, and may be smaller, more lightweight, and generally improved compared to data-heavy approaches.”, Paragraph 0071: “the trained device or system may benefit the individual through improved stress detection and classification for the individual”, and Paragraph 0073: “the method 25 comprises collecting 26 physiological data points from a device or system of the system, whether continuously or discretely (e.g., sampled). The data is mapped 27 to the space/features of the V-Vector model and compared 28 to the V-vector model 32 wherein the V-vector model 32 may involve at least a first threshold. If all or a portion of the data is above the first threshold 29 (e.g., a negative stress threshold), then the device or system may intervene 30 with the individual. If the data does not surpass the threshold 29, the device or system may continue collecting 26 physiological data. After intervening, the results of the intervention may be used to adapt and/or update 31 the model or V-vector model 32, which may be used in subsequent comparisons 28 between observed data and the V-vector model 32 and the threshold(s)”).
Regarding claim 13, Ehsani in view of Jooris, and Loza teaches the method of claim 9 (see rejection of claim 9 above).
Ehsani does not teach wherein the respiration signal comprises a waveform including inhalation amplitude, exhalation amplitude, inhalation time, and exhalation time.
Jooris teaches wherein the respiration signal comprises a waveform including inhalation amplitude, exhalation amplitude, inhalation time, and exhalation time (Paragraph 0083: “FIG. 26 shows such respiratory data during a time period of about 1 minute. As shown, from such respiratory data there could be extracted parameters such as the breathing cycle duration, which is the time period associated with one complete breathing cycle; the exhalation duration, which is the time period associated with the part of the breathing cycle during which the exhalation takes place; the inhalation duration, which is the time period associated with the part of the breathing cycle during which the inhalation takes place; and/or any ratio's and/or any combination of such durations; and/or any other parameters derivable from such time domain respiratory data signal, such as for example the peak to peak amplitude of the signal, the minima and maxima of the signal, and/or variability of such signals,”, and Paragraph 0085: “it is possible to take into account data with respect to the volume and/or depth of breathing, which could for example be directly measured, and/or indirectly derived from data relating to oxygen saturation, such as for example by means an SpO2 sensor, or from the amount of belly and/or chest movement during breathing”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ehsani with Jooris to use a respiration waveform with inhalation/exhalation and times to characterize breathing because incorporating Jooris’s extraction of breathing-cycle, inhalation, and exhalation durations and waveform amplitude parameters would have provided quantitative time-domain features for analyzing respiration (Jooris, Paragraph 0083).
Regarding claim 14, Ehsani in view of Jooris, and Loza teaches the method of claim 9 (see rejection of claim 9 above).
Ehsani does not teach wherein the depth of breath is the difference between the amplitude of respiration measured at the end of inhalation and the amplitude measured at the start of inhalation, and the rate of inhalation comprises breath amplitude divided by the time of inhalation.
Jooris teaches wherein the depth of breath is the difference between the amplitude of respiration measured at the end of inhalation and the amplitude measured at the start of inhalation, and the rate of inhalation comprises breath amplitude divided by the time of inhalation (Paragraph 0083: “FIG. 26 shows such respiratory data during a time period of about 1 minute. As shown, from such respiratory data there could be extracted parameters such as the breathing cycle duration, which is the time period associated with one complete breathing cycle; the exhalation duration, which is the time period associated with the part of the breathing cycle during which the exhalation takes place; the inhalation duration, which is the time period associated with the part of the breathing cycle during which the inhalation takes place; and/or any ratio's and/or any combination of such durations; and/or any other parameters derivable from such time domain respiratory data signal, such as for example the peak to peak amplitude of the signal, the minima and maxima of the signal, and/or variability of such signals,”, and Paragraph 0085: “it is possible to take into account data with respect to the volume and/or depth of breathing, which could for example be directly measured, and/or indirectly derived from data relating to oxygen saturation, such as for example by means an SpO2 sensor, or from the amount of belly and/or chest movement during breathing”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ehsani with Jooris to calculate breath depth from respiration-amplitude change and inhalation rate from breath amplitude divided by inhalation time because incorporating Jooris’s extraction of breathing depth or volume inhalation duration, and signal-amplitude parameters would have provided quantitative measures of the subject’s breathing (Jooris, Paragraphs 0083,0085).
Regarding claim 15, Ehsani in view of Jooris, and Loza teaches the method of claim 9 (see rejection of claim 9 above).
Ehsani does not teach wherein the algorithm comprises an unsupervised algorithm.
Loza teaches wherein the algorithm comprises an unsupervised algorithm (Page 7, Section 2.3, left column, lines 5-8: “takes the form of dictionary learning or sparse coding approaches, i.e., the sources (MPP) are explicitly estimated during the estimation of the dictionary elements.”; Page 7, Section 2.3.1, left column, lines 26-28: “The adaptive unsupervised learning stage for the transient model is inspired by a shift-invariant implementation of kmeans,”; Page 7, Section 2.3.1, left column, lines 26-29: “For each rhythm, the seed dictionary, with its K initial dictionary elements become centers in k-means.”; Page 7, Section 2.3.1, left column, the last sentence -right column, lines 1-4: “the snippet is considered a MPP event. Therefore, its amplitude (α), index of the closest dictionary atom (!), and timing (𝜏) are noted. Specifically, they provide the necessary information to create the marked point process as the output of the model.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ehsani with Loza’s unsupervised algorithm incorporating Loza’s unsupervised MPP framework, which uses a k-means clustering techniques to identify phasic events in physiological signals would have allowed the system to identify recurring patterns in the respiration data without requiring labeled training data (Loza, Abstract, Page 1; Page 7, Section 2.3.1).
Regarding claim 16, Ehsani in view of Jooris, and Loza teaches the method of claim 5 (see rejection of claim 15 above).
Ehsani does not teach wherein the unsupervised algorithm comprises k-means clustering.
Loza teaches wherein the unsupervised algorithm comprises k-means clustering (Page 7, Section 2.3.1, left column, lines 26-28: “The adaptive unsupervised learning stage for the transient model is inspired by a shift-invariant implementation of kmeans,”; and Page 7, Section 2.3.1, left column, lines 26-29: “For each rhythm, the seed dictionary, with its K initial dictionary elements become centers in k-means.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ehsani with Loza’s k-means clustering as the unsupervised algorithm for generating the MPP because incorporating Loza’s unsupervised MPP framework would have allowed the system to identify recurring patterns in the respiration data without requiring labeled training data (Abstract, Page 1; Page 7, Section 2.3.1).
Regarding claim 17, Ehsani in view of Jooris, and Loza teaches the method of claim 9 (see rejection of claim 9 above).
Ehsani teaches further comprising administering an intervention when a negative valence is estimated (Paragraph 0020: “The operations may involve providing an intervention to the individual if the negative emotional valence surpasses a first threshold value of the V-vector model, such as a threshold for negative stress. Some individuals may find a degree of negative stress to be tolerable and may not always need an intervention if some negative stress is experienced.”, and Paragraph 0073: “The data is mapped 27 to the space/features of the V-Vector model and compared 28 to the V-vector model 32 wherein the V-vector model 32 may involve at least a first threshold. If all or a portion of the data is above the first threshold 29 (e.g., a negative stress threshold), then the device or system may intervene 30 with the individual.”).
Regarding claim 19, Ehsani in view of Jooris, and Loza teaches the method of claim 17 (see rejection of claim 17 above).
Ehsani teaches wherein the intervention is automated (Paragraph 00007: “Approaches may include a biosensor device, a biological signal (biosignal) event detection artificial intelligence (AI) engine, an automated conversation agent, real-time connectivity with health care providers, a regulatory-compliant (e.g., HIPAA-compliant) backend, or any combination thereof for real-time mental health monitoring, assessment, and, in certain instances, management and intervention.”, Paragraph 0063: “the AI engine runs on the smartphone and executes time series event detection using a classification engine. The final step is to classify the event, if possible, so that predetermined logic can be executed. If there is any doubt of the classification, then the individual may be queried to identify the type(s) of stress correlated with the event. This approach allows the logic to be easily trained on tagged data, and a limited amount of verification may be necessary. In embodiments, the automated conversational agent may provide tagging of events, e.g., from the individual, which can facilitate training of the model(s) of the system and provide customization of the system to the individual or a group of individuals. In this manner, the system may be more efficiently and effectively trained, and may be smaller, more lightweight, and generally improved compared to data-heavy approaches.”, and Paragraph 0073: “the method 25 comprises collecting 26 physiological data points from a device or system of the system, whether continuously or discretely (e.g., sampled). The data is mapped 27 to the space/features of the V-Vector model and compared 28 to the V-vector model 32 wherein the V-vector model 32 may involve at least a first threshold. If all or a portion of the data is above the first threshold 29 (e.g., a negative stress threshold), then the device or system may intervene 30 with the individual.”).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehsani in view of Jooris, Loza, and further “Zhang” ("Respiration-based emotion recognition with deep learning", Computers in Industry, Volumes 92–93, 2017, Pages 84-90).
Regarding claim 11, Ehsani in view of Jooris, and Loza teaches the method of claim 9 (see rejection of claim 9 above).
Ehsani teaches valence events (Paragraph 0019: “The operations may involve determining a magnitude or intensity of each of the positive and negative emotional valences, and, based on the determined magnitudes”).
However, Ehsani does not teach wherein the step of generating the MPP comprises identifying high and low valence events in the respiration signal.
Zhang teaches identifying high and low valence events in the respiration signal (Page 89, Section 6, (the last paragraph), right column, lines 21-27: “This paper investigates the potential of respiration signals alone as reliable tools for emotion recognition. One of the widespread dimensional affect theories, the arousal-valence theory, is adopted to help classify four types of emotions. A sparse auto-encoder is applied to extract and select emotion-related features. Two logistic regression detect a high/low arousal and a positive/negative valence.”; Page 87, Section 3, left column, lines 17-20: “Page 87, Section 3, left column, lines 17-20”).
Loza teaches wherein the step of generating the MPP (Page 1, lines 10-14: “Therefore, this allows for the first time a description of neuromodulation in EEPs as a Marked Point Process (MPP), represented by their amplitude, center frequency, duration, and time of occurrence. The generative model for the multi-frequency phasic events exploits sparseness and involves a shift-invariant implementation of the clustering technique known as k-means.”; and Page 7, section 2.3, lines 5-8: “our learning scheme takes the form of dictionary learning or sparse coding approaches, i.e., the sources (MPP) are explicitly estimated during the estimation of the dictionary elements.”).
Combination rationale:
After incorporating Zhang’s respiration-feature extraction and affect-classification approach into Ehsani, a skilled artisan would apply Loza’s MPP and k-means framework to the resulting respiration-derived features to represent and group similar respiratory events for subsequent analysis of high- and low-valence events.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ehsani with Zhang to use a deep-learning framework to extract respiration-related features and classify emotional valence because incorporating Zhang’s space auto-encoder and logistic-regression approach would have provided a known method for analyzing respiration signals and distinguishing affective states (Zhang, Abstract; Page 87, Section 3, lines 16-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ehsani in view Zhang and further with Loza to use an MPP for estimating high- and low-valence events of Zhang in respiration signals because incorporating Loza’s MPP framework would have provided an event-based representation of respiration features, and applying that known representation to Zhang’s respiration-based valence analysis would have been a predictable use of a known technique to organize and analyze the events (Loza, page 1, lines 10-14; page 7, section 2.3, lines 5-8; page 7, section 2.3.1, lines 29-32).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehsani in view of Zhang, Jooris, Loza, and “Jernigan” (US 20220071535 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Ehsani in view of Jooris, and Loza teaches the method of claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11 above).
Ehsani teaches valence events (Paragraph 0019: “The operations may involve determining a magnitude or intensity of each of the positive and negative emotional valences, and, based on the determined magnitudes”).
However, Ehsani does not teach wherein the high and low valence events are identified by comparing features extracted from each breath to their expected behavior during no emotional response.
Zhang teaches wherein the high and low valence events are identified (Page 89, Section 6, (the last paragraph), right column, lines 21-27: “This paper investigates the potential of respiration signals alone as reliable tools for emotion recognition. One of the widespread dimensional affect theories, the arousal-valence theory, is adopted to help classify four types of emotions. A sparse auto-encoder is applied to extract and select emotion-related features. Two logistic regression detect a high/low arousal and a positive/negative valence.”).
Jernigan teaches wherein the high and low valence events are identified by comparing features extracted from each breath to their expected behavior during no emotional response (Paragraph 0253: “FIG. 14 is an example of different windowing methods around the breath-to-breath interval with a value of 8133. This example illustrates respiratory features. Consider the list of breath-to-breath intervals 310 measured in milliseconds shown. Note that value “8133” 320 is significantly larger than other intervals”, Paragraph 0319: “Respiratory features that the system may calculate include but are not limited to”, Paragraph 0320: “Depth of inhale and exhale”, Paragraph 0321: “Intervals between inhale”, Paragraph 0322: “Intervals between exhales”, Paragraph 0323: “Intervals between inhales and exhales”, Paragraph 0324: “Ratio of duration between inhale and exhale”, Paragraph 0325: “Variability between any of the intervals (inhale to inhale, exhale to exhale, or inhale to exhale)”, Paragraph 0437: “Sleep is a consistent period of quiescence where external influences like user movement are minimized. In some embodiments, the system generates baseline metrics for the user while the user is asleep. These metrics can be used for computing absolute features.”, Paragraph 0438: “ome embodiments generate baseline metrics based on phase of sleep, while others may also consider how long the user has been asleep. For example, slow wave sleep—colloquially known as “deep sleep”—is one such stage when baseline metrics can be collected. Some embodiments collect these within the first few hours of sleep, as they will be closer to waking values because heart rate reaches its minimum later in the night.”, Paragraph 0251: “Features can be absolute, relative, or offset and may be compared. An absolute feature is based on the numerical values of the data in isolation.For example, an absolute feature might be the number of sigh breaths in the last two minutes. A relative value is based on surrounding data. For example, the percentage of breaths in the last two minutes that were sighs. An offset value is based on a baseline. For example, assume a certain number of sighs are expected per minute. An offset value for sighs may be a positive or negative value representing the number of sighs above or below the expected number of sighs. The baseline can be individualized or can be based on population-wide norms. In some embodiments, a population-wide baseline can be used until enough data is available to create an individualized baseline”, and Fig.5 illustrates positive (high) valence and negative (low) valence.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ehsani with Zhang to identify high – and low- valence form respiration signals because incorporating Zhang’s sparse auto-encoder feature extraction and logistic-regression classification would have provided a known approach for analyzing respiration signals and distinguishing affective states (Zhang, Abstract, Page 89, Section 6, right column, lines 21-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ehsani with Jernigan to compare features extracted from each breath with expected respiratory behavior during a quiescent baseline to identify high- and low-valence events, because incorporating Jernigan’s baseline-relative analysis of respiratory features would have allowed deviations from expected breathing behavior to be detected and used in mental-state classification (Jernigan, Paragraphs 0437-0440, 0056; Fig5).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehsani in view of, Jooris, Loza, and Freckleton.
Regarding claim 18, Ehsani in view of Jooris, and Loza teaches the method of claim 17 (see rejection of claim 17 above).
Ehsani teaches the intervention (Paragraph 0073: “If the data does not surpass the threshold 29, the device or system may continue collecting 26 physiological data. After intervening, the results of the intervention may be used to adapt and/or update 31 the model or V-vector model 32, which may be used in subsequent comparisons 28 between observed data and the V-vector model 32 and the threshold(s) “, Paragraph 0008: “A method for a system comprising a non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations for mental health assessment, the operations having the steps of determining at least a first set of data which corresponds to at least one physiological parameter of an individual, an environment of the individual, an interaction between the individual and the environment, or any combination thereof, evaluating said least a first set of data, and detecting the presence and magnitude of positive and negative emotional valences of the individual based on the evaluation of at least the first set of data”, and Paragraph 0009: “The operations may further include providing an intervention to the individual if the negative emotional valence surpasses a first threshold of the V-vector mode”).
However, Ehsani does not teach comprises instructions to perform a breathing exercise, music, or instructions to administer medication.
Freckleton teaches wherein the intervention comprises instructions to perform a breathing exercise, music, or instructions to administer medication (Paragraph 0070: “Upon detection of a change in emotional state above the predetermined threshold, the wearable device 502 can prompt the user to acknowledge the change by providing a series of suggested responses. In at least one instance, the response selection 520 can include several suggested tasks that can celebrate a positive mood or mitigate a negative mood of the user as measured by the one or more physiological sensors. The user 550 can select the desired response via the display 508 on a user interface 510. In other instances, the response selection can be a single option based on user information 514 and/or user history 516 as described in greater detail below.”, Paragraph 0071: “If the user's selection is a guided response, the wearable device 502 can use a compliance detection system 522 to determine whether the user is performing the selected response properly (e.g. achieving the desired result/change in emotional state). For example, if the user has selected to perform a breathing exercise, the one or more physiological sensors 504 can monitor the user's respiratory rate to ensure they are following the guided response.”, and Paragraph 0079: “In at least one instance, the interventions include one or more suggested responses including, but not limited to, performing a breathing exercise, performing physical exercise (going for a walk, a jog, attending an exercise class, etc.), listening to music,”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ehsani in view of Jooris and Loza and further with Freckleton to provide the a breathing exercise or music as the intervention because incorporating Freckleton’s suggested-response, including breathing exercises and listening to music, would have provided a user-selectable response for addressing a detected emotional-state change (Freckleton, Paragraphs 0070-0071; Ehsani, Paragraphs 0008-0009,0073).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehsani in view of Jooris, Loza, and Sayag.
Regarding claim 20, Ehsani in view of Jooris, and Loza teaches the method of claim 17 (see rejection of claim 17 above).
Ehsani does not teach wherein the intervention comprises a vibration or an electrostimulation.
Sayag teaches wherein the intervention comprises a vibration or an electrostimulation (Page 11, lines 10-13: “for example, vibrations are known to "hijack" pain signal bandwidth in the nervous system, and thus tell the brain that things are better than they seem to be, reducing the level of pain-fear alarm. In addition, the vibration on the body has an additional calming effect, telling the brain things are "ok", similar to the intervention of a physical companion's touch”; Page 11, (last two paragraphs), lines 20-28: “According to some embodiments, the device and/or system is configured to combine vibrations and breath awareness to induce calm. According to some embodiments, the device and/or system includes a wearable device that can help users stay within their useful level of stress as they go about their day. Reference is made to FIG. 1, which is a schematic illustration of an emotional regulative assistance device 100, in accordance with some embodiments of the present invention. Device 100 includes two separated, functionally associated, units: a respiration sensing unit 150 configured to sense a respiratory pattern of the user and a tactile stimulation unit 110 configured to apply tactile stimulation (such as vibrations) to the body of the user.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ehsani with Sayag to provide vibration as the intervention because incorporating respiration-responsive tactile vibration would have provided a known way to help regulate the user’s emotions and induce calmness (Sayag, Pages 12-13).
Conclusion
/MORGAN SANGJO SHIM/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/PATRICK FERNANDES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791