DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on July 22, 2026, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Applicant should note that the large number of references in the attached IDSs have been considered by the examiner in the same manner as other documents in Office search files are considered by the examiner while conducting a search of the prior art in a proper field of search. See MPEP 609.05(b). Applicant is invited to point out any particular reference(s) in the IDS that they believe may be of particular relevance to the instant claimed invention in response to this Office Action. It is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents if it can be avoided. If a long list is submitted, highlight those documents which have been specifically brought to applicant’s attention and/or are known to be of most significance. See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948, 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972), aff ’d, 479 F.2d 1338, 178 USPQ 577 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 874 (1974). But cf. Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 48 F.3d 1172, 33 USPQ2d 1823 (Fed. Cir. 1995).
Response to Amendment
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 08/10/2026.
Claims 1-4, 6, 20, 21, 34, 56, and 58 have been amended.
Claims 1-6, 20-26, 28-32, 34, 56, and 58 are pending in the present application.
Objection to Drawings and Specification are withdrawn.
Rejection to claims under 35 USC § 112 is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 30-31 filed on 08/10/2026 have been considered and are persuasive. Thus, rejection to claims 30-31 under 35 USC § 112 is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 20, and 56 filed on 08/10/2026 have been considered but are moot because the arguments related to newly added limitation “the UE subscription information and the UE flight path information is transmitted via a handover request message” addressed in the instant Office Action with newly identified prior art, Hong (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210256855, hereinafter “Hong”), thus rendering applicant’s arguments moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8, 20-26, 28, 30-32, 56, and 58 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210208602, hereinafter “Yi”) in view of Hong (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210256855, hereinafter “Hong”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Yi unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to Claims 1, 20, 56, and 58:
Regarding claim 1, Yi teaches 1. A wireless communication method, comprising:
transmitting, from a first communication node to a second communication node, user equipment (UE) subscription information of a UE and (para [0330]: In the case of X2-based handover, aerial UE subscription information of a user is transmitted to a target BS (interpreted as “second communication node”) as follows:) (para [0331]: If a source BS (interpreted as “first communication node”) supports the aerial UE function and aerial UE subscription information of a user is included in UE context, the source BS includes corresponding information in the X2-AP handover request message of a target BS. An MME transmits, to the target BS, the aerial UE subscription information in a Path Switch Request Acknowledge message.), (The missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of Hong.)
wherein:
the first communication node is a first base station comprising a Master Node (MN), or a Centralized Unit (CU), or a source MN, the second communication node is a second base station comprising a Secondary Node (SN), or a Distributed Unit (DU), or a target MN, (para [0330]: In the case of X2-based handover, aerial UE subscription information of a user is transmitted to a target BS as follows:) (para [0331]: If a source BS (interpreted as “the first communication node is a first base station comprising a Master Node (MN), or a Centralized Unit (CU), or a source MN,”) supports the aerial UE function and aerial UE subscription information of a user is included in UE context, the source BS includes corresponding information in the X2-AP handover request message of a target BS (interpreted as “the second communication node is a second base station comprising a Secondary Node (SN), or a Distributed Unit (DU), or a target MN”).), and
the UE subscription information and (The missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of Hong.)
As noted above, Yi does not explicitly disclose that the UE flight path information is transmitted via a handover request message.
Hong discloses a method for a source base station providing network service to an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), comprising transmitting the UAV’s flight path information to a target base station by carrying the flight path information into a first handover request signaling (see paragraphs [0011-0014] of Hong: the source base station is connected with the target base station through an X2 interface;… sending the flight path information to the target base station includes: … carrying the flight path information into a first handover request signaling; … sending the first handover request signaling to the target base station.) (see paragraphs [0158-0159]: the source base station is connected with the target base station …the flight path information on the UAV is carried into a first handover request signaling.)
Both Yi and Hong are in the same field of endeavor, specifically focusing on mobility management and X2 interface-based handover optimization for unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs/aerial UEs) in cellular network. Hong expressly teaches that sending flight path information to target base station during handover allows the target base station to predict the UAV’s trajectory and provide better network service (see para [0148] of Hong). Furthermore, Yi teaches that flight route plans can be used for mobility enhancement (see para [0301] of Yi).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the handover request message of Yi to further include the flight path information as taught by Hong. The motivation to do so would be to allow the target base station to simultaneously verify the aerial UE’s authorization to operate (via Yi’s subscription information) and proactively optimize network resource allocation based on the predicted trajectory (via Hong’s flight path information) within a single efficient handover signaling procedure.
Regarding claim 20, Yi teaches A wireless communication method, comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE), a configuration message from a wireless communication node to configure at least one of the following configurations of the UE (para [0304]: An aerial UE receives measurement configuration information from a base station (S1010). In this case, a message including the measurement configuration information is called a measurement configuration message.) (para [0425]: First, the unmanned aerial vehicle (interpreted as “a UE”) receives, from a base station (interpreted as “a wireless communication node”), measurement configuration information …. The step S1810 is performed by the communication unit of the unmanned aerial vehicle.):
a UE height measurement configuration (para [0426]: The unmanned aerial vehicle performs a measurement based on the measurement configuration information in S1820. The step S1820 is performed by the processor of the unmanned aerial vehicle.) (para [0427]: The unmanned aerial vehicle transmits a measurement report to the base station if a first event condition included in the measurement configuration information is satisfied, in S1830.) (para [0431]: The measurement report may further include at least one of location altitude information (The received measurement configuration information is interpreted as “a UE height measurement configuration” because the location altitude information is measured and reported based on the received measurement configuration information.)); or
a request of a UE flight path report configuration (para [0426]: The unmanned aerial vehicle performs a measurement based on the measurement configuration information in S1820. The step S1820 is performed by the processor of the unmanned aerial vehicle.) (para [0431]: The measurement report may further include at least one of … or flight path information (The received measurement configuration information is interpreted as “a request of a UE flight path report configuration” because the flight path information is configured and reported based on the received measurement configuration information.).); and
triggering a report to the wireless communication node, according to the configuration message (para [0253]: Height reporting based on an event in which the altitude of a UE exceeds a reference altitude threshold configured with a network.) (para [0260]: An aerial UE may be configured with event-based height reporting (interpreted as “triggering a report”). The aerial UE transmits height reporting when the altitude of the UE is higher or lower than a set threshold. The reporting includes height and a location.),
wherein the report comprises UE flight path information of the UE (para [0427]: The unmanned aerial vehicle transmits a measurement report to the base station…) (para [0431]: The measurement report may further include at least one of location altitude information or flight path information.) and causes the wireless communication node to (The missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of Hong.)
As noted above, Yi does not explicitly disclose that the “transmit the UE flight path information to another communication node during a handover procedure.”
Hong discloses a method for a source base station providing network service to an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), comprising transmitting the UAV’s flight path information to a target base station by carrying the flight path information into a first handover request signaling (see paragraphs [0011-0014] of Hong: the source base station is connected with the target base station through an X2 interface;… sending the flight path information to the target base station includes: … carrying the flight path information into a first handover request signaling; … sending the first handover request signaling to the target base station.) (see paragraphs [0158-0159]: the source base station is connected with the target base station …the flight path information on the UAV is carried into a first handover request signaling.)
Both Yi and Hong are in the same field of endeavor, specifically focusing on mobility management and X2 interface-based handover optimization for unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs/aerial UEs) in cellular network. Hong expressly teaches that sending flight path information to target base station during handover allows the target base station to predict the UAV’s trajectory and provide better network service (see para [0148] of Hong). Furthermore, Yi teaches that flight route plans can be used for mobility enhancement (see para [0301] of Yi).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the handover request message of Yi to further include the flight path information as taught by Hong. The motivation to do so would be to allow the target base station to simultaneously verify the aerial UE’s authorization to operate (via Yi’s subscription information) and proactively optimize network resource allocation based on the predicted trajectory (via Hong’s flight path information) within a single efficient handover signaling procedure.
Regarding claim 56, it is a communication node claim corresponding to the method claim 1, except limitations “at least one memory” (Fig. 3, Storage unit 230) and “one or more processors” (Fig. 3, Control unit 240) and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 58, it is a user equipment (UE) claim corresponding to the method claim 20, except limitations “at least one memory” (Fig. 19, memory 1922) and “one or more processors” (Fig. 19, processor 1921) and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 20.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim 3, Yi and Hong teach The method of claim 1, further comprising: Yi further teaches
transmitting, from the first communication node to the UE, at least one of (para [0425]: First, the unmanned aerial vehicle (interpreted as “a UE”) receives, from a base station (interpreted as “first communication node”), measurement configuration information and information on an access limit distance of a flight restricted area in S1810. The step S1810 is performed by the communication unit of the unmanned aerial vehicle.):
a UE height measurement configuration to configure the UE for a height measurement report (para [0426]: The unmanned aerial vehicle performs a measurement based on the measurement configuration information in S1820. The step S1820 is performed by the processor of the unmanned aerial vehicle.) (para [0427]: The unmanned aerial vehicle transmits a measurement report to the base station if a first event condition included in the measurement configuration information is satisfied, in S1830.) (para [0431]: The measurement report may further include at least one of location altitude information (The received measurement configuration information is interpreted as “a UE height measurement configuration to configure the UE for a height measurement” because the location altitude information is measured and reported based on the received measurement configuration information.)); or
a request of a UE flight path report configuration (para [0426]: The unmanned aerial vehicle performs a measurement based on the measurement configuration information in S1820. The step S1820 is performed by the processor of the unmanned aerial vehicle.) (para [0431]: The measurement report may further include at least one of … or flight path information (The received measurement configuration information is interpreted as “a request of a UE flight path report configuration” because the flight path information is configured and reported based on the received measurement configuration information.).).
Regarding claim 4, Yi and Hong teach The method of claim 3, Yi further teaches wherein the UE height measurement configuration includes at least one of:
a reference height threshold for the UE to trigger the height measurement report when a condition based on the reference height threshold is met (para [0253]: Height reporting based on an event in which the altitude of a UE exceeds a reference altitude threshold configured with a network.) (para [0260]: An aerial UE may be configured with event-based height reporting (interpreted as “trigger the height measurement when a condition based on the reference height threshold is met”). The aerial UE transmits height reporting when the altitude of the UE is higher or lower than a set threshold. The reporting includes height and a location.); or …
Regarding claim 5, Yi and Hong teach The method of claim 3, Yi further teaches wherein the request of the UE flight path report configuration (para [0264]: An E-UTRAN may request a UE to report flight route information configured with a plurality of middle points defined as 3D locations, as defined in TS 36.355.) includes at least one of:
a maximum number of way points that the UE can include in a flight path report (para [0264]: An E-UTRAN may request a UE to report flight route information configured with a plurality of middle points defined as 3D locations, as defined in TS 36.355. If the flight route information is available for the UE, the UE reports a waypoint for a configured number (The configured number is interpreted as “a maximum number of way points”).) ; or
an indicator to indicate whether a time stamp of a way point is required (para [0264]: … The reporting may also include a time stamp per waypoint if it is configured in the request and available for the UE.).
Regarding claim 21, Yi and Hong teach The wireless communication method of claim 20, Yi further teaches wherein the UE height measurement configuration includes at least one of:
a reference height threshold (para [0253]: Height reporting based on an event in which the altitude of a UE exceeds a reference altitude threshold (interpreted as “a reference height threshold”) configured with a network.) (para [0260]: An aerial UE may be configured with event-based height reporting. The aerial UE transmits height reporting when the altitude of the UE is higher or lower than a set threshold. The reporting includes height and a location.);
a hysteresis parameter used within an entry and leave condition of an event triggered reporting condition (paragraphs [0307-0315]: … A UE considers that an entering condition for the event is satisfied when 1) the following defined condition H1-1 is satisfied, and considers that a leaving condition for the event is satisfied when 2) the following defined condition H1-2 is satisfied.
Ms−Hys>Thresh+Offset Inequality H1-1 (Entering condition):
…
Hys is a hysteresis parameter (i.e., hl-hysteresis as defined in ReportConfigEUTRA) for an event.);
… or
an indicator indicating whether the UE is permitted to initiate a UE height measurement when the leave condition is met (para [0306]: (2) Reporting configuration information: this is information on a reporting condition and reporting type regarding when an aerial UE reports the transmission of a measurement result. … The reporting criterion is a level in which the transmission of a measurement result by a UE is triggered. )(para [0309]: Ms+Hys<Thresh+Offset Inequality H1-2 (leaving condition): ).
Regarding claim 22, Yi and Hong teach The wireless communication method of claim 21, Yi further teaches wherein the UE height measurement configuration is associated with at least one of a cell ID information, a Reference Signal Identification (RS ID), or Transmission Reception Point (TRP) information (para [0318]: (3) Measurement identity information (interpreted as “at least one of a cell ID information, a Reference Signal Identification (RS ID), or Transmission Reception Point (TRP) information”): this is information on a measurement identity by which an aerial UE determines to report which measurement object using which type by associating the measurement object and a reporting configuration. The measurement identity information is included in a measurement report message, and may indicate that a measurement result is related to which measurement object and that measurement reporting has occurred according to which reporting condition.) (para [0305]: The measurement object includes at least one of an intra-frequency measurement object that is an object of measurement within a cell, an inter-frequency measurement object that is an object of inter-cell measurement, or an inter-RAT measurement object that is an object of inter-RAT measurement. For example, the intra-frequency measurement object may indicate a neighbor cell having the same frequency band as a serving cell. The inter-frequency measurement object may indicate a neighbor cell having a frequency band different from that of a serving cell. The inter-RAT measurement object may indicate a neighbor cell of an RAT different from the RAT of a serving cell.).
Regarding claim 23, Yi and Hong teach The wireless communication method of claim 20, Yi further teaches wherein the UE height measurement configuration is indicated by at least one of measurement object information, measurement report configuration, or RS or Beam measurement configuration (paragraphs [0305-0315]: (1) Measurement object information: this is information on an object on which an aerial UE will perform measurement. …(2) Reporting configuration information: this is information on a reporting condition and reporting type regarding when an aerial UE reports the transmission of a measurement result. …).
Regarding claim 24, Yi and Hong teach The wireless communication method of claim 20, further comprising: Yi further teaches
transmitting a UE height measurement report to the wireless communication node, in response to a height of the UE meeting a height threshold configuration configured by the wireless communication node (para [260]: An aerial UE may be configured with event-based height reporting. The aerial UE transmits height reporting when the altitude of the UE is higher or lower than a set threshold. The reporting includes height and a location.) (para [0304]: If a measurement result satisfies a reporting condition within the measurement configuration information, the aerial UE reports the measurement result to the base station (S1030). A message including the measurement result is called a measurement report message. The measurement configuration information may include the following information.).
Regarding claim 25, Yi and Hong teach The wireless communication method of claim 24, further comprising: Yi further teaches
transmitting extra UE height measurement reports to the wireless communication node periodically after the height of the UE meets the height threshold configuration configured by the wireless communication node based on a report interval configuration and report number configuration in the UE height measurement configuration (para [0306]: (2) Reporting configuration information: this is information on a reporting condition and reporting type regarding when an aerial UE reports the transmission of a measurement result. The reporting configuration information may be configured with a list of reporting configurations. Each reporting configuration may include a reporting criterion and a reporting format. The reporting criterion is a level in which the transmission of a measurement result by a UE is triggered. The reporting criterion may be the periodicity of measurement reporting (interpreted as periodically after the height of the UE meets the height threshold configuration”) or a single event for measurement reporting (interpreted as “report number configuration in the UE height measurement configuration”). The reporting format is information regarding that an aerial UE will configure a measurement result in which type.).
Regarding claim 26, Yi and Hong teach The wireless communication method of claim 24, wherein the UE height measurement report comprises at least one of: Yi further teaches
a height of the UE (para [260]: An aerial UE may be configured with event-based height reporting. The aerial UE transmits height reporting when the altitude of the UE is higher or lower than a set threshold. The reporting includes height and a location.)…
Regarding claim 28, Yi and Hong teach The wireless communication method of claim 20, Yi further teaches wherein the configuration message further includes at least one of measurement objects (MO) configuration or report configuration for interference detection (paragraphs [0304-0306]: An aerial UE receives measurement configuration information from a base station (S1010). In this case, a message including the measurement configuration information is called a measurement configuration message. The measurement configuration information may include the following information. (1) Measurement object information: this is information on an object on which an aerial UE will perform measurement. … (2) Reporting configuration information: this is information on a reporting condition and reporting type regarding when an aerial UE reports the transmission of a measurement result. .) (para [0261]: (3) Interference detection and mitigation for aerial UE communication) (para [0262]: For interference detection, when each (per cell) RSRP value for the number of configured cells satisfies a configured event, an aerial UE may be configured with an RRM event A3, A4 or A5 that triggers measurement reporting. The reporting includes an RRM result and location. For interference mitigation, the aerial UE may be configured with a dedicated UE-specific alpha parameter for PUSCH power control.)
Regarding claim 30, Yi and Hong teach The wireless communication method of claim 28, Yi further teaches wherein the MO configuration includes at least one of:
a plurality of parameters respectively for the interference detection and Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurement (para [0261]: (3) Interference detection and mitigation for aerial UE communication) (para [0262]: For interference detection, when each (per cell) RSRP value for the number of configured cells satisfies a configured event, an aerial UE may be configured with an RRM event A3, A4 or A5 that triggers measurement reporting(The A3, A4, and A5 are interpreted as “a plurality of parameters”). The reporting includes an RRM result and location. For interference mitigation, the aerial UE may be configured with a dedicated UE-specific alpha parameter for PUSCH power control.); or
an indicator indicating whether the UE is indicated to perform the interference detection or whether a measurement object is applicable for interference detection (para [0261]: (3) Interference detection and mitigation for aerial UE communication) (para [0262]: For interference detection, when each (per cell) RSRP value for the number of configured cells satisfies a configured event, an aerial UE may be configured with an RRM event A3, A4 or A5 that triggers measurement reporting (The RRM event is interpreted as “an indicator indicating whether the UE is indicated to perform the interference detection or whether a measurement object is applicable for interference detection”). The reporting includes an RRM result and location. For interference mitigation, the aerial UE may be configured with a dedicated UE-specific alpha parameter for PUSCH power control.).
Regarding claim 31, Yi and Hong teach The wireless communication method of claim 30, wherein the plurality of parameters comprise at least one of: Yi further teaches
a list of cells for interference detection (para [0262]: For interference detection, when each (per cell) RSRP value for the number of configured cells (interpreted as “a list of cells for interference detection”) satisfies a configured event, an aerial UE may be configured with an RRM event A3, A4 or A5 that triggers measurement reporting. The reporting includes an RRM result and location. For interference mitigation, the aerial UE may be configured with a dedicated UE-specific alpha parameter for PUSCH power control.).
Regarding claim 32, Yi and Hong teach The wireless communication method of claim 28, wherein report configuration include at least one of: Yi further teaches
a plurality of parameters respectively for the interference detection and RRM measurement (para [0261]: (3) Interference detection and mitigation for aerial UE communication) (para [0262]: For interference detection, when each (per cell) RSRP value for the number of configured cells satisfies a configured event, an aerial UE may be configured with an RRM event A3, A4 or A5 that triggers measurement reporting(The A3, A4, and A5 are interpreted as “a plurality of parameters”). The reporting includes an RRM result and location. For interference mitigation, the aerial UE may be configured with a dedicated UE-specific alpha parameter for PUSCH power control.); or
an indicator indicating whether the UE is indicated to perform the interference detection or whether the report configuration is applicable for interference detection (para [0261]: (3) Interference detection and mitigation for aerial UE communication) (para [0262]: For interference detection, when each (per cell) RSRP value for the number of configured cells satisfies a configured event, an aerial UE may be configured with an RRM event A3, A4 or A5 that triggers measurement reporting (The RRM event is interpreted as “an indicator indicating whether the UE is indicated to perform the interference detection or whether a measurement object is applicable for interference detection”). The reporting includes an RRM result and location. For interference mitigation, the aerial UE may be configured with a dedicated UE-specific alpha parameter for PUSCH power control.).
Claim(s) 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi in view of Hong, and further in view of Futaki et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220286936, hereinafter “Futaki”).
Regarding claim 2, Yi and Hong teach The method of claim 1, Yi and Hong fail to explicitly teach further comprising:
receiving, by the first communication node from the second communication node transmitted in response to the second communication node receiving the UE subscription information, at least one of the following information:
an indicator to request the first communication node to configure a UE height measurement to a UE;
a UE height measurement configuration generated by the second communication node;
an indicator to request a UE height report from the first communication node;
an indicator indicating whether a UE height measurement report is in demand to the second communication node;
an indicator to request the first communication node to configure a request of a UE flight path report to a UE;
a request of a UE flight path report configuration generated by the second communication node;
an indicator to request a UE flight path report possessed by the first communication node; or
an indicator to indicate whether a UE flight path report is in demand to the second communication node.
Futaki, in analogous art, teaches,
receiving, by the first communication node from the second communication node transmitted in response to the second communication node receiving the UE subscription information, at least one of the following information (para [0224] of Futaki: An NG-RAN node 500A (interpreted as “first communication node”) transmits the NG SETUP REQUEST message including the first capability information (interpreted as “UE subscription information”, see paragraphs [0237-0238] of Futaki: the first capability information may indicate whether or not to support the operation of the radio station 500 for performing flight management of a manned flight vehicle capable of flying using a radio communication network (for example, a radio communication network using specifications of 3GPP)) to the AMF 200 (S1101) (The AMF 200 is interpreted as “second communication node”) (para [0238] of Futaki: the first capability information may indicate whether or not to support the operation of the radio station 500 for performing flight management of a manned flight vehicle capable of flying using a radio communication network (for example, a radio communication network using specifications of 3GPP).) (para [0225] of Futaki: In response to reception of the NG SETUP REQUEST message, the AMF 200 (“second communication node”) transmits the NG SETUP RESPONSE message to the NG-RAN node 500A (“first communication node”) (S1103). In the NG SETUP RESPONSE message, the second capability information (interpreted as “following information”) may be included.):
an indicator to request the first communication node to configure a UE height measurement to a UE (para [0247] of Futaki: when the second capability information is transmitted from the first CN node 200 to the radio station 500 as described above, the radio station 500 can determine whether or not to support the operation of the first CN node 200 for performing flight management of a manned flight vehicle that can fly using a radio communication network (for example, a radio communication network using specifications of 3GPP)); …
As discussed above, Yi discloses the transfer of aerial UE subscription information between nodes to authorize aerial functions (see para [0330-0332] of Yi). Futaki teaches that in response to NG SETUP REQUEST message including the first capability information, an AMF transmits an “NG SETUP RESPONSE message” including the second capability information to a base station (‘radio station 500’), which includes capability information for “performing flight management” of a flight vehicle (see paragraphs [0225 and 0238] of Futaki). While Futaki uses the term “flight management,” a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the flight management in a 3GPP network environment includes the management of a flight vehicle’s altitude (see Fig. 10 and paragraphs [0303-306] of Yi, ‘The measurement configuration information’). Therefore, providing information to enable flight management as taught by Futaki is functionally equivalent to providing an “an indicator to request the first communication node to configure a UE height measurement to a UE” as recited in claim 2.
It would have been obvious to combine these teachings to ensure that once a UE’s subscription is verified (see para [0258] of Yi and para [0238] of Futaki), the network nodes (AMF (MME) and gNB) exchange the necessary instruction and capability indicators (‘second capability information’ discussed in Futaki) to perform flight control tasks, such as height measurement, to ensure, in a handover of a mobile terminal configured to move according to flight path information, continuous communication with a flying mobile terminal (see paragraphs [0006-0008] of Futaki).
Claim(s) 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi in view of Hong, and further in view of Ryu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230397155, hereinafter “Ryu”).
Regarding claim 6, Yi and Hong teach The method of claim 1, Yi and Hong fail to explicitly teach further comprising:
transmitting, from the first communication node to the second communication node, at least one of the following information:
location, altitude, or speed of the UE;
a height indicator indicating that a height of the UE meets a height threshold configured by the second communication node; or
an identity indicator indicating an identity of a cell, an RS, or a TRP whose threshold configured by the second communication node is met.
Ryu, in analogous art, teaches,
transmitting, from the first communication node to the second communication node, at least one of the following information (para [0250] of Ryu: Later, the AMF (interpreted as “second communication node”) may receive a fourth message comprising a status (e.g., AOI status, presence height status) from the base station. The status may comprise above, below, unknown, in, out and/or the like. :
location, altitude, or speed of the UE; (para [0250] of Ryu: Later, the AMF may receive a fourth message comprising a status (e.g., AOI status, presence height status) from the base station. The status may comprise above, below, unknown, in, out and/or the like. The fourth message may be a location report message);
a height indicator indicating that a height of the UE meets a height threshold configured by the second communication node (para [0249] of Ryu: the AMF may send a third message to a base station (BS) to get notification the change in height of the wireless device based on threshold information.) (para [0250] of Ryu: Later, the AMF may receive a fourth message comprising a status (e.g., AOI status, presence height status) from the base station.); or
an identity indicator indicating an identity of a cell, an RS, or a TRP whose threshold configured by the second communication node is met (para [0251] of Ryu: In an example, AMF may send a first message to the base station to request a location reporting to notify a change in height of the wireless device.) (para [0252] of Ryu: the first message may comprise a UE identity, an event type, area of interest, location reporting id, and/or the like. … In an example, the area of interest may be an area of interest comprising a list of tracking area identities (e.g., TAI), an area of interest comprising a list of cell identities (e.g., cell global identity (CGI), an area of interest comprising as a list of base station identities (e.g., global RAN node identity), an area of interest comprising the threshold information, and/or the like. In an example, the threshold information may comprise upper altitude threshold, lower altitude threshold, and/or the like..).) (para [0258] of Ryu: the base station may send a second message to the AMF to notify a change in height (e.g., height based event notification) of the wireless device. The second message may be based on the measurement report. The second message may be a location report message. The second message may indicate whether the wireless device is above, below, unknown regarding the height in change of the wireless device. In an example, the second message may comprise UE identity, a user location information, a UE presence in area of interest list, a UE presence in height, location reporting request type, and/or the like. In an example the UE identity may comprise an AMF UE NGAP ID, RAN UE NGAP ID, and/or the like. In an example, the user location information may comprise E-UTRAN user location information, new radio (NR) user location information, N3IWF user location information, and/or the like. In an example, the E-UTRA user location information may comprise E-UTRA cell global identity, tracking area identity, age of location, and/or the like. In an example, the NR user location information may comprise NR cell global identity (CGI), tracking area identity, age of location, and/or the like. In an example, the N3IWF user location information may comprise IP address, port number, and/or the like. In an example, the UE presence in area of interest list may comprise list of a UE presence with corresponding location reporting reference id.).
As discussed above, Ryu discloses a method where a base station sends a location report message to an AMF, Comprising a presence height status and a cell identity (see para [0250] of Ryu). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine these teachings. Given the mobility management framework for aerial UEs taught by the combination of Yi and Hong, implementing the specific threshold-based reporting and cell identification mechanisms Ryu is a predictable improvement to ensure that the network can precisely monitor a UAV’s compliance with altitude restrictions at specific locations.
Claim(s) 34 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi in view of Hong, and further in view of Shi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220174572, hereinafter “Shi”).
Regarding claim 34, Yi and Hong teach The wireless communication method of claim 20, further comprising: Yi and Hong fail to teach:
transmitting a failure report to the wireless communication node, upon detection of an master cell group (MCG) or secondary cell group (SCG) failure,
wherein the failure report includes at least one of: location, altitude, speed, or flight path information of the UE; and
wherein the MCG or SCG failure includes at least one of: radio link failure, handover failure, PSCell addition failure, or PSCell change failure.
While Yi teaches addressing a radio link failure (RLF) and handover failure for aerial UEs using location parameters, it does not explicitly disclose the formal transmission of a “failure report” containing the UE’s altitude (see paragraphs [0298-0301] of Yi).
However, Shi explicitly discloses:
transmitting a failure report to the wireless communication node, upon detection of an master cell group (MCG) or secondary cell group (SCG) failure, (para [0131] of Shi: A radio link failure occurs between a terminal and an S-MN. Because an MN is a master base station, the radio link failure may be referred to as an “MCG failure”.) (para [0133] of Shi: A radio link failure occurs between a terminal and an S-SN. Because an SN is a secondary base station, the radio link failure may be referred to as an “SCG failure”.) (para [0146-0147] of Shi: 401: The terminal sends a first link failure report to a second radio access network device, where the first link failure report is used to indicate that a link between the terminal and the first radio access network device fails… When the link between the terminal and the first radio access network device is faulty, the terminal may send the first link failure report (an SCG failure report) to the second radio access network device.)
wherein the failure report includes at least one of: location, altitude, speed, or flight path information of the UE; (para [0172] of Shi: Optionally, the first link failure report includes at least one of the following: … location information of the terminal; a result of measurement between the terminal and each primary cell in a master cell group; and a result of measurement between the terminal and each secondary cell in a secondary cell group.) (para [0177] of Shi: The location information (locationinfo) of the terminal may be a latitude and a longitude and/or a height of the terminal. )and
wherein the MCG or SCG failure includes at least one of: radio link failure, handover failure, PSCell addition failure, or PSCell change failure (para [0131] of Shi: A radio link failure occurs between a terminal and an S-MN. Because an MN is a master base station, the radio link failure may be referred to as an “MCG failure”.) (para [0133] of Shi: A radio link failure occurs between a terminal and an S-SN. Because an SN is a secondary base station, the radio link failure may be referred to as an “SCG failure”.) (para [0003] of Shi: In a terminal moving scenario, setting an inappropriate handover parameter deteriorates user experience, and network resources are wasted due to a ping-pong handover, a handover failure, and a radio link failure. The radio link failure caused by the inappropriate handover parameter affects user experience and the network resources. ).
Furthermore, Shi explicitly teaches that this link failure report includes location information of the terminal, and specifically defines that the location information may include the latitude, longitude, and/or a height (i.e., altitude) of the terminal (see paragraphs [0172] and [0176] of Shi).
Yi, Hong, and Shi are in the same field of endeavor, focusing on mobility management, dual connectivity, and Mobility Robust Optimization following radio link and handover failures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the failure reporting mechanism of Shi into the aerial UE communication method of Yi and Hong. The motivation for this combination is to provide the network with precise 3D spatial data (location and height/altitude) at the exact moment of an MCG or SCG failure, as taught by Shi, which enables the base station to perform accurate root-cause analysis and optimize subsequent mobility and handover parameters for aerial UEs experiencing link failures.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 29 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 29 contains the following underlined features which, when combined with other features of the claim, prior art of record failed to anticipate or render obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application was filed:
“wherein the MO configuration includes a reference MO ID associated with a reference MO configuration, wherein the MO configuration and the reference MO configuration are associated with a same Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) or Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) frequency.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WON JUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411