DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,071,759. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims to the current application are merely broader than the claims to US Patent No. 12,071,759 and are thus encompassed by said claims.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,643,801. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims to the current application are merely broader than the claims to US Patent No. 11,643,801 and are thus encompassed by said claims.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second expandable seal per claims 7 and 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claims 1, 10, and 17, it is unclear what applicant is referencing by “expandable seal”. The phrase “expandable seal” does not appear in the specification. It is unclear if applicant is referencing the expandable coiled wall or the hydrophilic gasket which expands. For the purpose of examination on the merits, the examiner has assumed the expandable seal to be the hydrophilic gasket.
Claims 2-9, 11-16, and 18-20 are dependent upon claims 1, 10, and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kiest, Jr. (2019/0113168).
With regard to claim 1, Kiest discloses a system for reducing infiltrate within a wastewater management system comprising:
a circular sleeve (16) configured to be used with a cured in place pipe (paras 0003-0005) and comprising an inner cavity, first open end, second open end, and lateral porthole (fig. 2), wherein said lateral porthole of said circular sleeve extends from an exterior surface of said circular sleeve to said inner cavity (fig. 2); and an expandable seal (10) secured to said exterior surface of said circular sleeve and around said lateral porthole (fig. 2), wherein said expandable seal is configured to reduce an amount of infiltrate entering said lateral porthole by creating a water barrier between said exterior surface of said circular sleeve and a host pipe (12; fig. 2).
With regard to claim 9, Kiest further discloses said circular sleeve is configured in a way such that a diameter of said circular sleeve expands when a force is applied against an interior surface of said circular sleeve in an outward direction (paras 0041-0042).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 6, 10, and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiest, Jr. (2019/0113168) in view of Eitel (2020/0378542).
With regard to claims 2-3, Kiest discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding said circular sleeve comprises a coiled wall having a locking mechanism secured to an interior surface of said coiled wall and said locking mechanism comprises at least two slotted grooves; and at least two locking gears configured to follow said at least two slotted grooves from a first point to a second point, causing a diameter of said coiled wall to expand.
Eitel discloses a sealing system with a circular sleeve (3) that comprises a coiled wall (fig. 1) having a locking mechanism (7/9) secured to an interior surface of said coiled wall (fig. 2) and said locking mechanism comprises at least two slotted grooves (7; para 0011; fig. 2) and at least two locking gears (9) configured to follow said at least two slotted grooves from a first point to a second point, causing a diameter of said coiled wall to expand (paras 0061-0062).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kiest and utilize a coiled wall with locking mechanisms as taught in Eitel, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow the device to be expanded based on the diameter of the host pipe.
With regard to claims 6 and 13, Kiest discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding said circular sleeve is made from a malleable metal selected from a group consisting of soft stainless steel sheet metal and aluminum.
Eitel discloses the circular sleeve sleeve is made from a malleable metal selected from a group consisting of soft stainless steel sheet metal and aluminum (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kiest and construct the sleeve from steel, as taught by Eitel, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
With regard to claims 10 and 16, Kiest discloses a system for reducing infiltrate within a wastewater management system comprising: an expandable sleeve (16) configured to be secured within a host pipe (12), wherein said expandable sleeve comprising wall and a lateral porthole extending from an exterior surface of said wall to an inner cavity of said wall (fig. 2), wherein said expandable sleeve is configured in a way such that a diameter of said expandable sleeve expands when a force is applied against an interior surface of said expandable sleeve (paras 0041-0042), wherein said expandable sleeve is configured in a way such that said diameter may increase but is prevented from decreasing once increased (figs. 3-5); and an expandable seal (10) secured to said exterior surface of said expandable sleeve and around said lateral porthole (fig. 2), wherein said expandable seal is configured to reduce an amount of infiltrate entering said lateral porthole by creating a water barrier between said exterior surface of said expandable sleeve and a host pipe (paras 0005-0006).
Kiest is silent regarding a coiled wall a locking mechanism of said expandable sleeve allows said diameter of said expandable sleeve to increase but not decrease.
Eitel discloses a sealing system with an expandable sleeve (3) that comprises a coiled wall (fig. 1) having a locking mechanism (7/9) causing a diameter of said coiled wall to expand (paras 0061-0062).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kiest and utilize a coiled wall with a locking mechanism as taught in Eitel, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow the device to be expanded based on the diameter of the host pipe.
With regard to claims 14-15, Kiest, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding a second expandable seal secured to an interior surface of said circular sleeve around said lateral porthole, wherein said second expandable seal is configured to create a water barrier between said circular sleeve and a cured-in-place pipe wherein said second expandable seal is ring-shaped and comprises an internal diameter that is wider than said lateral porthole.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to an additional seal, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
With regard to claims 17-20, Kiest discloses a method for sealing an annular space within a sewer connection line (fig. 2), comprising steps of: obtaining an annular space sealing apparatus comprising a circular sleeve (16) and expandable seal (10), wherein said expandable seal is positioned around a lateral porthole of a wall of said circular sleeve (fig. 2); securing said annular space sealing apparatus within a host pipe (12) having a lateral line (fig. 2); wherein said lateral porthole and said expandable seal are positioned around a lateral line connection point created between said host pipe and said lateral line (fig. 2), installing a cured-in-place pipe (20) through said host pipe and said annular space sealing apparatus (fig. 2); and cutting a hole into said cured-in-place pipe at said lateral porthole to reestablish flow from said lateral line to said host pipe (para 0015), said circular sleeve is configured in a way such that a diameter of said circular sleeve expands when a force is applied against an interior surface of said circular sleeve in an outward direction (figs. 3-5).
Kiest discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding said circular sleeve comprises a coiled wall having a locking mechanism that allows said diameter of said circular sleeve to increase but not decrease; and at least two slotted grooves and at least two locking gears configured to follow said at least two slotted grooves from a first point to a second point, allowing said diameter of said circular sleeve to increase.
Eitel discloses a sealing system with a circular sleeve (3) that comprises a coiled wall (fig. 1) having a locking mechanism (7/9) that allows said diameter of said circular sleeve to increase but not decrease (figs. 1-2) and said locking mechanism comprises at least two slotted grooves (7; para 0011; fig. 2) and at least two locking gears (9) configured to follow said at least two slotted grooves from a first point to a second point, allowing said diameter of said circular sleeve to increase (paras 0061-0062).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kiest and utilize a coiled wall with locking mechanisms as taught in Eitel, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow the device to be expanded based on the diameter of the host pipe.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiest, Jr. (2019/0113168).
With regard to claims 7-8, Kiest discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding a second expandable seal secured to an interior surface of said circular sleeve around said lateral porthole, wherein said second expandable seal is configured to create a water barrier between said circular sleeve and a cured-in-place pipe wherein said second expandable seal is ring-shaped and comprises an internal diameter that is wider than said lateral porthole.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to an additional seal, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 11-12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Kiest discloses the thickness of the seal is approximately 0.4 inches (para 0038). The cited prior art lacks the thickness of the seal being two inches as required by the dependent claim(s) and it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the prior art to achieve applicant’s invention without the benefit of hindsight and applicant’s own disclosure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/BENJAMIN F FIORELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
BF
11/10/2025