DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 62/450,325, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. There is no support for a vice frame; a vice frame rotation joint that is coaxial with a drill string axis; a common jaw pivot coupled to both jaws in the first pair of gripping jaws, the common pivot coupled to the vice frame; both jaws in the first pair of gripping jaws are constrained to only rotational motion about the common jaw pivot; the first pair of gripping jaws includes replaceable jaws held in jaw carriers; each jaw in the first pair of gripping jaws is actuated by a separate actuating device; each jaw carrier includes the common pivot on a first end of the jaw carrier and an actuating device coupled to a second end of the jaw carrier; a second pair of gripping jaws; a rotation actuator to drive relative rotation about the vice frame rotation joint between the first pair of gripping jaws and the second pair of gripping jaws; a second gripper and its related structure; a rotation actuator to drive relative rotation about the vice frame rotation joint between the first gripper and the second gripper; the rotation actuator is a hydraulic rotation actuator; a slot in the second gripper to permit sideways loading and unloading of drill rods into the second pair of gripping jaws; the first pair of gripping jaws includes replaceable jaws held in jaw carriers; the second pair of gripping jaws includes replaceable jaws held in jaw carriers; each jaw in the first pair of gripping jaws is actuated by a separate actuating device; and each jaw in the second pair of gripping jaws is actuated by a separate actuating device.
Accordingly, claims 1-14 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application.
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 15/879,980, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. There is no support for a vice frame; a vice frame rotation joint that is coaxial with a drill string axis; a common jaw pivot coupled to both jaws in the first pair of gripping jaws, the common pivot coupled to the vice frame; both jaws in the first pair of gripping jaws are constrained to only rotational motion about the common jaw pivot; the first pair of gripping jaws includes replaceable jaws held in jaw carriers; each jaw in the first pair of gripping jaws is actuated by a separate actuating device; each jaw carrier includes the common pivot on a first end of the jaw carrier and an actuating device coupled to a second end of the jaw carrier; a second pair of gripping jaws; a rotation actuator to drive relative rotation about the vice frame rotation joint between the first pair of gripping jaws and the second pair of gripping jaws; a second gripper and its related structure; a rotation actuator to drive relative rotation about the vice frame rotation joint between the first gripper and the second gripper; the rotation actuator is a hydraulic rotation actuator; a slot in the second gripper to permit sideways loading and unloading of drill rods into the second pair of gripping jaws; the first pair of gripping jaws includes replaceable jaws held in jaw carriers; the second pair of gripping jaws includes replaceable jaws held in jaw carriers; each jaw in the first pair of gripping jaws is actuated by a separate actuating device; and each jaw in the second pair of gripping jaws is actuated by a separate actuating device.
Accordingly, claims 1-14 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application.
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 16/838,243, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. There is no support for a vice frame; a vice frame rotation joint that is coaxial with a drill string axis; a common jaw pivot coupled to both jaws in the first pair of gripping jaws, the common pivot coupled to the vice frame; both jaws in the first pair of gripping jaws are constrained to only rotational motion about the common jaw pivot; the first pair of gripping jaws includes replaceable jaws held in jaw carriers; each jaw in the first pair of gripping jaws is actuated by a separate actuating device; each jaw carrier includes the common pivot on a first end of the jaw carrier and an actuating device coupled to a second end of the jaw carrier; a second pair of gripping jaws; a rotation actuator to drive relative rotation about the vice frame rotation joint between the first pair of gripping jaws and the second pair of gripping jaws; a second gripper and its related structure; a rotation actuator to drive relative rotation about the vice frame rotation joint between the first gripper and the second gripper; the rotation actuator is a hydraulic rotation actuator; a slot in the second gripper to permit sideways loading and unloading of drill rods into the second pair of gripping jaws; the first pair of gripping jaws includes replaceable jaws held in jaw carriers; the second pair of gripping jaws includes replaceable jaws held in jaw carriers; each jaw in the first pair of gripping jaws is actuated by a separate actuating device; and each jaw in the second pair of gripping jaws is actuated by a separate actuating device.
Accordingly, claims 1-14 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application.
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 17/697,450, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. There is no support for a vice frame; a vice frame rotation joint that is coaxial with a drill string axis; a common jaw pivot coupled to both jaws in the first pair of gripping jaws, the common pivot coupled to the vice frame; both jaws in the first pair of gripping jaws are constrained to only rotational motion about the common jaw pivot; the first pair of gripping jaws includes replaceable jaws held in jaw carriers; each jaw in the first pair of gripping jaws is actuated by a separate actuating device; each jaw carrier includes the common pivot on a first end of the jaw carrier and an actuating device coupled to a second end of the jaw carrier; a second pair of gripping jaws; a rotation actuator to drive relative rotation about the vice frame rotation joint between the first pair of gripping jaws and the second pair of gripping jaws; a second gripper and its related structure; a rotation actuator to drive relative rotation about the vice frame rotation joint between the first gripper and the second gripper; the rotation actuator is a hydraulic rotation actuator; a slot in the second gripper to permit sideways loading and unloading of drill rods into the second pair of gripping jaws; the first pair of gripping jaws includes replaceable jaws held in jaw carriers; the second pair of gripping jaws includes replaceable jaws held in jaw carriers; each jaw in the first pair of gripping jaws is actuated by a separate actuating device; and each jaw in the second pair of gripping jaws is actuated by a separate actuating device.
Accordingly, claims 1-14 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application.
Due to being unable to claim priority to any of the recited prior applications for the reasons discussed above, the effective filing date of the current application is 19 July 2024, the actual filing date of the current application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, first/second vice frame, first/second vice frame rotation joint, first/second common jaw pivot, jaw carriers, second pair of gripping jaws, rotation actuator, second gripper, and slot must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because the drawings are poor quality with blurry lines.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: first/second vice frame, first/second vice frame rotation joint, first/second, second gripper, first/second common jaw pivot, second pair of gripping jaws, jaw carriers, replaceable jaws, separate actuating device, rotation actuator, and slot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the common pivot" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “a separate actuating device.” It is unclear if the separate actuating device is one of the “at least one actuating device” recited in claim 1 or an additional separate actuating device. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as being one of the “at least one actuating device.”
Claim 4 recites the limitation “an actuating device.” It is unclear if the separate actuating device is one of the “at least one actuating device” recited in claim 1 or an additional actuating device. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as being one of the “at least one actuating device.”
Claim 7 recites the limitation “at least one actuating device” in both lines 4 and 11. It is unclear if the claim requires one actuating device are two separate actuating device. For the purpose of examination, the limitations will be interpreted as “at least one first actuating device” and “at least one second actuating device.” Claim 8 will therefore be interpreted as “the first and second actuating devices.”
Claim 12 recites the limitation “ jaw carriers.” It is unclear if the jaw carriers are the same as those recited in claim 11 from which claim 12 depends. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as the same structure in both claims (i.e., claim 12 will be interpreted as “the jaw carriers”).
Claim 13 recites the limitation “a separate actuating device.” It is unclear if the separate actuating device is one of the “at least one actuating device” recited in claim 7 or an additional separate actuating device. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as being one of the “at least one first actuating device.”
Claim 14 recites the limitation “a separate actuating device.” It is unclear if the separate actuating device is one of the “at least one actuating device” recited in claim 7 or an additional separate actuating device. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as being one of the “at least one second actuating device.”
Claims 2-6 and 8-14 are rejected for depending from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Olander (US 2018/0320457).
With respect to claim 1: Olander discloses a directional drill vice, comprising:
a first pair of gripping jaws (310, 313, 318; ¶ [0026]; Claims 1, 7) located in a vice frame (¶ [0032]; Claims 1, 7);
at least one actuating device (312, 314; ¶ [0032]; Claim 1) coupled to the first pair of gripping jaws (¶ [0017, 0032]; Claims 1, 7);
a vice frame rotation joint (306; ¶ [0037]; Claim 6) that is coaxial with a drill string axis (¶ [0020, 0037]; Claims 6, 7); and
a common jaw pivot (311; Claims 1, 7) coupled to both jaws in the first pair of gripping jaws (¶ [0032]; Claims 1, 7), the common pivot coupled to the vice frame (¶ [0032]; Claims 1, 7); wherein
both jaws in the first pair of gripping jaws are constrained to only rotational motion about the common jaw pivot (¶ [0032]; Claims 1, 7).
With respect to claim 2: Olander further discloses the first pair of gripping jaws includes replaceable jaws held in jaw carriers (316, 318; ¶ [0026, 0033]; Claim 2).
With respect to claim 3: Olander further discloses each jaw in the first pair of gripping jaws is actuated by a separate actuating device (¶ [0017, 0034]; Claim 3).
With respect to claim 4: Olander further discloses each jaw carrier includes the common pivot on a first end of the jaw carrier and an actuating device coupled to a second end of the jaw carrier (¶ [0035]; Claim 4).
With respect to claim 5: Olander further discloses a second pair of gripping jaws (¶ [0036]; Claim 5).
With respect to claim 6: Olander further discloses a rotation actuator to drive relative rotation about the vice frame rotation joint between the first pair of gripping jaws and the second pair of gripping jaws (¶ [0037]; Claims 6, 7).
With respect to claim 7: Olander discloses a directional drill vice, comprising:
a first gripper (310; Claim 7), including:
a first pair of gripping jaws (313, 318; ¶ [0026, 0038]; Claim 7) located in a first vice frame (¶ [0032, 0038]; Claim 7);
at least one actuating device (312, 314; ¶ [0032, 0038]; Claim 7) coupled to the first pair of gripping jaws (¶ [0017, 0032, 0038]; Claim 7);
a vice frame rotation joint (306; ¶ [0037]; Claim 7) that is coaxial with a drill string axis (¶ [0020, 0037]; Claim 7);
a first common jaw pivot (311; ¶ [0038]) coupled to both jaws in the first pair of gripping jaws (¶ [0032, 0038]);
a second gripper (330; Claim 7), including:
a second pair of gripping jaws (¶ [0036, 0039]; Claim 7) located in a second vice frame (¶ [0039]; Claim 7);
at least one actuating device (¶ [0039]; Claim 7) coupled to the second pair of gripping jaws (¶ [0039]; Claim 7);
a second common jaw pivot (¶ [0039]; Claim 7) coupled to both jaws in the second pair of gripping jaws (¶ [0039]; Claim 7); and
a rotation actuator (¶ [0037, 0040]; Claim 7) to drive relative rotation about the vice frame rotation joint between the first gripper and the second gripper (¶ [0037, 0040]; Claim 7).
With respect to claim 8: Olander further discloses the actuating devices are hydraulic actuating devices (¶ [0041]; Claim 8).
With respect to claim 9: Olander further discloses the rotation actuator is a hydraulic rotation actuator (¶ [0042]; Claim 9).
With respect to claim 10: Olander further discloses a slot (¶ [0023, 0025]) in the second gripper to permit sideways loading and unloading of drill rods into the second pair of gripping jaws (¶ [0023, 0025]).
With respect to claim 11: Olander further discloses the first pair of gripping jaws includes replaceable jaws held in jaw carriers (¶ [0026, 0033]).
With respect to claim 12: Olander further discloses the second pair of gripping jaws includes replaceable jaws held in jaw carriers (¶ [0026, 0033, 0051]).
With respect to claim 13: Olander further discloses each jaw in the first pair of gripping jaws is actuated by a separate actuating device (¶ [0034]).
With respect to claim 14: Olander further discloses each jaw in the second pair of gripping jaws is actuated by a separate actuating device (¶ [0034, 0051]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Randall (US 2014/0151124) in view of Pierce (US 2003/0205411).
Claims 1-3 are rejected under a first interpretation of the art.
With respect to claims 1: Randall discloses a directional drill vice, comprising:
a first gripper (62) located in a vice frame (34);
a vice frame rotation joint (joint that allows rotation of 62 relative to 64; ¶ [0025]) that is coaxial with a drill string axis (¶ [0025]). Randal does not disclose the details of the first gripper and its activation.
Pierce teaches a gripper and its activation where the gripper includes:
a pair of gripping jaws (52, 54) located in a vice frame (30);
at least one actuating device (46, 48) coupled to the pair of gripping jaws (Figs. 5-6);
a common jaw pivot (where 52 and 54 attach and rotate in Figs. 5-6) coupled to both jaws in the pair of gripping jaws (Figs. 5-6), the common pivot coupled to the vice frame (Figs. 1, 5-6).
wherein both jaws in the pair of gripping jaws are constrained to only rotational motion about the common jaw pivot (Figs. 5-6).
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the gripper design of Pierce for that of Randall since doing so would perform the same predictable result of gripping a tubular for instillation and removal.
With respect to claim 2: Pierce from the combination of Randall and Pierce further teaches the first pair of gripping jaws includes replaceable jaws (52, 54; ¶ [0037-39]) held in jaw carriers (32a, 32b; ¶ [0037-39]).
With respect to claim 3: Pierce from the combination of Randall and Pierce further teaches each jaw in the first pair of gripping jaws is actuated by a separate actuating device (46, 48; ¶ [0029]).
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are interpreted under a second interpretation of the art.
With respect to claim 1: Randall discloses a directional drill vice, comprising:
a first gripper (62) located in a vice frame (34);
a vice frame rotation joint (joint that allows rotation of 62 relative to 64; ¶ [0025]) that is coaxial with a drill string axis (¶ [0025]). Randal does not disclose the details of the first gripper and its activation.
Pierce teaches a gripper and its activation where the gripper includes:
a pair of gripping jaws (32a, 32b, 52, 54) located in a vice frame (30);
at least one actuating device (46, 48) coupled to the pair of gripping jaws (Figs. 5-6);
a common jaw pivot (38) coupled to both jaws in the pair of gripping jaws (Figs. 5-6), the common pivot coupled to the vice frame (Figs. 1, 5-6).
wherein both jaws in the pair of gripping jaws are constrained to only rotational motion about the common jaw pivot (Figs. 5-6).
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the gripper design of Pierce for that of Randall since doing so would perform the same predictable result of gripping a tubular for instillation and removal.
With respect to claim 3: Pierce from the combination of Randall and Pierce further teaches each jaw in the first pair of gripping jaws is actuated by a separate actuating device (46, 48; ¶ [0029]).
With respect to claim 4: Pierce from the combination of Randall and Pierce further teaches, to the extent best understood (see 112(b) rejection above), each gripper jaw includes the common pivot on a first end of the gripper jaw (Figs. 5, 6) and an actuating device (46, 48) coupled to a second end of the gripper jaw (Figs. 5, 6).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under either of the above art interpretations.
With respect to claim 5: Randall from the combination of Randall and Pierce further teaches a second gripper (64). Randall does not teach the second gripper is a pair of gripper jaws. Pierce teaches gripper is a pair of gripping jaws (32a, 32b, 52, 54 OR 52, 54). It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the gripper design of Pierce for that of Randall and Pierce since doing so would perform the same predictable result of gripping a tubular for instillation and removal.
With respect to claim 6: Randall from the combination of Randall and Pierce further teaches a rotation actuator (100) to drive relative rotation about the vice frame rotation joint between the first pair of gripping jaws and the second pair of gripping jaws (¶ [0025]; the actuator is called a linear actuator in the prior art but it drives relative rotation about the vice frame rotation joint and is therefore also a rotation actuator).
With respect to claim 7: Randall discloses a directional drill vice, comprising:
a first gripper (62; joint that allows rotation of 62 relative to 64;), including:
a first gripping and actuating structure (62);
a vice frame rotation joint (joint that allows rotation of 62 relative to 64; ¶ [0025]) that is coaxial with a drill string axis (¶ [0025]);
a second gripper (64), including:
a second gripping and actuating structure (64);
and
a rotation actuator (100) to drive relative rotation about the vice frame rotation joint between the first gripper and the second gripper (¶ [0025]; the actuator is called a linear actuator in the prior art but it drives relative rotation about the vice frame rotation joint and is therefore also a rotation actuator). Randall does not disclose the details of the first and second gripping and actuating structures.
Perce teaches it is known in the art for a gripping and actuating structure to have:
a pair of gripping jaws (52, 54) located in a vice frame (30);
at least one actuating device (46, 48) coupled to the pair of gripping jaws (Figs. 5-6);
a common jaw pivot (where 52 and 54 attach and rotate in Figs. 5-6) coupled to both jaws in the pair of gripping jaws (Figs. 5-6), the common pivot coupled to the vice frame (Figs. 1, 5-6).
wherein both jaws in the pair of gripping jaws are constrained to only rotational motion about the common jaw pivot (Figs. 5-6).
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the gripper and actuating structures of Pierce for that of Randall since doing so would perform the same predictable result of gripping a tubular for instillation and removal.
With respect to claim 8: Pierce from the combination of Randall and Pierce further teaches the actuating devices include hydraulic actuating devices (46, 48 are pistons which are hydraulic actuation devices; ¶ [0029]).
With respect to claim 9: Pierce from the combination of Randall and Pierce further teaches hydraulic actuators are known in the art (46, 48 are pistons which are hydraulic actuators; ¶ [0029]). The combination of Randall and Pierce are silent as to the rotation actuator being a hydraulic rotation actuator. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute a hydraulic actuator like those taught by Pierce for the generic rotation actuator of Randall and Pierce since doing so would perform the same predictable result of allowing a tubing string to be connected to another tubing string.
With respect to claim 10: Randall from the combination of Randall and Pierce further teaches a slot (opening in structure containing 64 that 80 can be seen through) in the second gripper to permit sideways loading and unloading of drill rods into the second pair of gripping jaws (a pipe is capable of being inserted and removed sideways; Fig. 5).
With respect to claim 11: Pierce from the combination of Randall and Pierce further teaches the first pair of gripping jaws includes replaceable jaws (52, 54; ¶ [0037-39]) held in jaw carriers (32a, 32b; ¶ [0037-39]).
With respect to claim 12: Pierce from the combination of Randall and Pierce further teaches the second pair of gripping jaws includes replaceable jaws (52, 54; ¶ [0037-39]) held in jaw carriers (32a, 32b; ¶ [0037-39]).
With respect to claim 13: Pierce from the combination of Randall and Pierce further teaches each jaw in the first pair of gripping jaws is actuated by a separate actuating device (46, 48; ¶ [0029]).
With respect to claim 14: Pierce from the combination of Randall and Pierce further teaches each jaw in the second pair of gripping jaws is actuated by a separate actuating device (46, 48; ¶ [0029]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 6-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-9 of U.S. Patent No. 10,760,358. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims at issue are fully encompassed by the claims of the issued patent.
Claims 1 and 7-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8-10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,975,636. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims at issue are fully encompassed by the claims of the issued patent.
Conclusion
/KRISTYN A HALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672