DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 20 December 2024. Claims 21-40 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 23-27, 29-34, 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et al. (US 20210410034 A1) (hereinafter You) in view of Ryu et al. (US 20190116531 A1) (hereinafter Ryu).
In regards to claim 21, You-Ryu teaches a method applied to an access network device or a module in the access network device, and the method comprising:
determining that a first cell is a serving cell of a terminal device (You, fig. 2, fig. 6, fig. 7-8, [0050]-[0111], [0112]-[0169], [0170]-[0180]: Yu discloses a source base station for the cell where the terminal device is currently located prior to handover. [0054] FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram of a cell handover procedure. As shown in FIG. 2, a main procedure of cell handover (Handover) may include three phases: a handover preparation phase, a handover execution phase, and a handover completion phase. A source base station is a base station of a cell where the terminal device is currently located, and a target base station is a base station of a target cell to which the terminal device is handed over. [0055] As shown in FIG. 2, in the handover preparation phase, the source base station may configure the terminal device to perform measurement reporting, and send a handover request to the target base station based on a measurement report reported by the terminal device. After the target base station agrees to the handover request, the target base station configures a handover command for the terminal equipment, which includes a dedicated random access channel (RACH, Random Access Channel) resource, a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI, Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier), a security algorithm of the target base station and a system message of the target base station (the system message includes common RACH resources), etc. The dedicated RACH resource may include a dedicated preamble for contention-free random access, and a common RACH resource is a RACH resource for contention-based random access.); and
sending information of W cells to the terminal device on the first cell, wherein the W cells comprise the first cell (You, fig. 2, fig. 6, fig. 7-8, [0050]-[0111], [0112]-[0169], [0170]-[0180]: Yu discloses sending a handover command to a terminal device through an RRC message, where the RRC message includes a condition for the terminal device to initiate handover to a second network device. [0076] In 303, the first network device sends, to a terminal device, the handover command and a condition set by the first network device for the terminal device to initiate handover to the second network device. [0077] In an illustrative embodiment, the first network device may send the handover command to the terminal device through an RRC message (for example, an RRC connection reconfiguration message or an RRC reconfiguration message), and the RRC message may further include the condition set by the first network device for the terminal device to initiate handover to the second network device.); and
wherein the information of W cells is for determining a data transmission mode corresponding to performing a handover of the terminal device from one cell in the W cells to another cell in the W cells through a cell handover of a first type, and wherein W is an integer greater than 1 (You, fig. 2, fig. 6, fig. 7-8, [0050]-[0111], [0112]-[0169], [0170]-[0180]: The duration information can be seen as data transmission mode because it defines the conditions under which the terminal device performs the conditional handover. [0063] the distance of the terminal device to a boundary area of a source cell or to the source base station is greater than a certain threshold. [0070] In an illustrative embodiment, the first network device may determine the suggested duration information for the first timer according to at least one of the following: moving speed of the terminal device, moving direction of the terminal device, and signal quality of the serving cell currently reported by the terminal device. For example, the first network device can determine the movement of the terminal device according to the moving speed, the moving direction, and/or the currently reported signal quality of the serving cell of the terminal device, so as to generate the suggested duration of the first timer and/or estimate the duration required for the terminal device to reach the cell of the second network device, and send the same to the second network device as the duration suggestion information for the first timer. [0081] In an illustrative embodiment, the conditional handover indication information may be configured to indicate that the handover request is for conditional handover. The suggested duration information for the first timer may include at least one of the following: suggested duration of the first timer, and estimated duration required for the terminal device to reach a cell of the second network device.).
Thus, the system of You does not explicitly mention the terms data transmission mode.
Similar to the system of You, Ryu teaches the MME may perform the CP mode, that is, a data transmission mode in which data is transmitted and received between a UE and an eNB, through a control plane SRB, which can be seen as, data transmission mode (Ryu, fig. 13-16, [0080]-[0160], [0161]-[0240], [0241]-[0299], [0300]-[0311]: [0292] First, the MME may perform the CP mode, that is, a data transmission mode in which data is transmitted and received between a UE and an eNB, through a control plane SRB (S1610). In this flowchart, the UE may correspond to a UE that does not receive a CP only indicator indicating the application of only the CP mode from the MME in the last attach procedure.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine You with Ryu to improve the data transmission capability of the handover procedure by utilizing Ryu’s disclosed data transmission mode in a packet-based system supporting various IP-based wireless access technologies (Ryu, [0081]).
In regards to claims 27 and 34, You-Ryu teaches the method/communication apparatus applied to a terminal device or a module in the terminal device comprising:
at least one processor (You, fig. 2, fig. 6, fig. 7-8, [0050]-[0111], [0112]-[0169], [0170]-[0180]: [0176] As shown in FIG. 14, in an example, the terminal 1400 may include: a processor.); and
a memory coupled to the at least one processor and storing executable instructions for execution by the at least one processor, the instructions instructing the communication apparatus to (You, fig. 2, fig. 6, fig. 7-8, [0050]-[0111], [0112]-[0169], [0170]-[0180]: [0176] the memory 1420 is configured to store instructions, and the processor 1410 is configured to execute the instructions stored in the memory 1420 to control the transceiver 1440 to send signals.):
receiving information of W cells from an access network device via a first cell, wherein the W cells comprise the first cell (You, fig. 2, fig. 6, fig. 7-8, [0050]-[0111], [0112]-[0169], [0170]-[0180]: Yu discloses a source base station for the cell where the terminal device is currently located prior to handover. [0054] FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram of a cell handover procedure. As shown in FIG. 2, a main procedure of cell handover (Handover) may include three phases: a handover preparation phase, a handover execution phase, and a handover completion phase. A source base station is a base station of a cell where the terminal device is currently located, and a target base station is a base station of a target cell to which the terminal device is handed over. [0055] As shown in FIG. 2, in the handover preparation phase, the source base station may configure the terminal device to perform measurement reporting, and send a handover request to the target base station based on a measurement report reported by the terminal device. After the target base station agrees to the handover request, the target base station configures a handover command for the terminal equipment, which includes a dedicated random access channel (RACH, Random Access Channel) resource, a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI, Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier), a security algorithm of the target base station and a system message of the target base station (the system message includes common RACH resources), etc. The dedicated RACH resource may include a dedicated preamble for contention-free random access, and a common RACH resource is a RACH resource for contention-based random access.); and
determining, based on the information of W cells, a data transmission mode corresponding to performing a handover of the terminal device from one cell in the W cells to another cell in the W cells through a cell handover of a first type, wherein W is an integer greater than 1 (You, fig. 2, fig. 6, fig. 7-8, [0050]-[0111], [0112]-[0169], [0170]-[0180]: The duration information can be seen as data transmission mode because it defines the conditions under which the terminal device performs the conditional handover. [0063] the distance of the terminal device to a boundary area of a source cell or to the source base station is greater than a certain threshold. [0070] In an illustrative embodiment, the first network device may determine the suggested duration information for the first timer according to at least one of the following: moving speed of the terminal device, moving direction of the terminal device, and signal quality of the serving cell currently reported by the terminal device. For example, the first network device can determine the movement of the terminal device according to the moving speed, the moving direction, and/or the currently reported signal quality of the serving cell of the terminal device, so as to generate the suggested duration of the first timer and/or estimate the duration required for the terminal device to reach the cell of the second network device, and send the same to the second network device as the duration suggestion information for the first timer. [0081] In an illustrative embodiment, the conditional handover indication information may be configured to indicate that the handover request is for conditional handover. The suggested duration information for the first timer may include at least one of the following: suggested duration of the first timer, and estimated duration required for the terminal device to reach a cell of the second network device.).
Thus, the system of You does not explicitly mention the terms data transmission mode.
Similar to the system of You, Ryu teaches the MME may perform the CP mode, that is, a data transmission mode in which data is transmitted and received between a UE and an eNB, through a control plane SRB, which can be seen as, data transmission mode (Ryu, fig. 13-16, [0080]-[0160], [0161]-[0240], [0241]-[0299], [0300]-[0311]: [0292] First, the MME may perform the CP mode, that is, a data transmission mode in which data is transmitted and received between a UE and an eNB, through a control plane SRB (S1610). In this flowchart, the UE may correspond to a UE that does not receive a CP only indicator indicating the application of only the CP mode from the MME in the last attach procedure.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine You with Ryu to improve the data transmission capability of the handover procedure by utilizing Ryu’s disclosed data transmission mode in a packet-based system supporting various IP-based wireless access technologies (Ryu, [0081]).
In regards to claim 23, Ryu teaches the method according to claim 21:
Thus, the system of You does not explicitly teach wherein the information of the W cells comprises radio link control (RLC)-layer group information, the RLC-layer group information indicates at least one RLC group, and each group of the at least one RLC group comprises at least one of the W cells; when the one cell and the another cell are not in a same RLC group, the data transmission mode comprises performing RLC re-establishment.
Similar to the system of You, Ryu teaches radio link control (RLC)-layer group information and multiple RLC operation modes (TM, UM, and AM), which can be seen as, wherein the information of the W cells comprises radio link control (RLC)-layer group information, the RLC-layer group information indicates at least one RLC group, and each group of the at least one RLC group comprises at least one of the W cells (Ryu, fig. 13-16, [0080]-[0160], [0161]-[0240], [0241]-[0299], [0300]-[0311]: [0108] The MAC layer of the second layer (L2) provides a service to the Radio Link Control (RLC) layer, which is an upper layer thereof, through a logical channel. Furthermore, the MAC layer provides a function of mapping between a logical channel and a transport channel; and multiplexing/demultiplexing a MAC Service Data Unit (SDU) belonging to the logical channel to the transport block, which is provided to a physical channel on the transport channel. [0109] The RLC layer of the second layer (L2) supports reliable data transmission. The function of the RLC layer includes concatenation, segmentation, reassembly of the RLC SDU, and so on. To satisfy varying Quality of Service (QoS) requested by a Radio Bearer (RB), the RLC layer provides three operation modes: Transparent Mode (TM), Unacknowledged Mode (UM), and Acknowledge Mode (AM). The AM RLC provides error correction through Automatic Repeat reQuest (ARQ). Meanwhile, in case the MAC layer performs the RLC function, the RLC layer may be incorporated into the MAC layer as a functional block.; and
wherein:
when the one cell and the another cell are not in a same RLC group, the data transmission mode comprises performing RLC re-establishment (Ryu, fig. 13-16, [0080]-[0160], [0161]-[0240], [0241]-[0299], [0300]-[0311]: [0113] A cell constituting the base station is set to one of 1.25, 2.5, 5, 10, and 20 MHz bandwidth, providing downlink or uplink transmission services to a plurality of UEs. Different cells may be set to different bandwidths. [0278] 3. When the eNB receives the initial context setup message, it may start the execution of DRB setup (or the application of the UP mode/solution, the setup of an UP path) for the UE. More specifically, for the DRB setup, the eNB transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration message to the UE. Furthermore, when the eNB receives the initial context setup message, it may establish an UL S1-U with the S-GW by receiving an UL S1-U address (e.g., S-GW address, UL S-GW TEID).); or
when the one cell and the another cell are in a same RLC group, the data transmission mode comprises skipping performing RLC re-establishment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine You with Ryu to improve the data transmission capability of the handover procedure by utilizing Ryu’s disclosed data transmission mode in a packet-based system supporting various IP-based wireless access technologies (Ryu, [0081]).
In regards to claim 24, You-Ryu teaches the method according to claim 21:
wherein the information of the W cells comprises an identifier configured for each cell of the W cells (You, fig. 2, fig. 6, fig. 7-8, [0050]-[0111], [0112]-[0169], [0170]-[0180]: [0055] As shown in FIG. 2, in the handover preparation phase, the source base station may configure the terminal device to perform measurement reporting, and send a handover request to the target base station based on a measurement report reported by the terminal device. After the target base station agrees to the handover request, the target base station configures a handover command for the terminal equipment, which includes a dedicated random access channel (RACH, Random Access Channel) resource, a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI, Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier), a security algorithm of the target base station and a system message of the target base station (the system message includes common RACH resources), etc. The dedicated RACH resource may include a dedicated preamble for contention-free random access, and a common RACH resource is a RACH resource for contention-based random access.); and
wherein:
when the one cell and the another cell are configured with different identifiers, the data transmission mode comprises performing packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) data recovery and radio link control (RLC) re-establishment; or
when the one cell and the another cell are configured with a same identifier, the data transmission mode comprises performing PDCP maintenance and RLC maintenance (You, fig. 2, fig. 6, fig. 7-8, [0050]-[0111], [0112]-[0169], [0170]-[0180]: [0056] As shown in FIG. 2, in the handover execution phase, the source base station can forward the handover command to the terminal device through a radio resource control (Radio Resource Control, RRC) message (such as an RRC connection reconfiguration message or an RRC reconfiguration message). After receiving the handover command, the terminal device may initiate a random access procedure to the target base station. At the same time, the source base station sends sequence number (SN, Sequence Number) status (Status) to the target base station to inform the target base station of uplink Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP, Packet Data Convergence Protocol) SN reception status and downlink PDCP SN transmission status. [0060] The timer T312 starts when a measurement report is sent. If the timer expires, the terminal device returns to the idle state (IDLE) or initiates a connection re-establishment procedure. The premise of the existence of the timer T312 is that the timer T310 is running, and when the terminal device receives multiple out-of-sync indications reported by the physical layer, the timer T310 starts. However, due to the long duration of timer T310, the problem of handover too late (for example, the handover command has not been received) can hardly be avoided, so the timer T312 is introduced to avoid the situation of handover too late. When the UE receives a handover command, both timers T310 and T312 will stop.).
Similar to the system of You, Ryu teaches operation of the radio link control layer to support reliable data transmission and perform RLC functions, which can be seen as, RLC maintenance (Ryu, fig. 13-16, [0080]-[0160], [0161]-[0240], [0241]-[0299], [0300]-[0311]: See paragraph [0110]. [0111] The Radio Resource Control (RRC) layer in the lowest part of the third layer (L3) is defined only in the control plane. The RRC layer performs the role of controlling radio resources between the UE and the network. To this purpose, the UE and the network exchange RRC messages through the RRC layer. The RRC layer controls a logical channel, transport channel, and physical channel with respect to configuration, re-configuration, and release of radio bearers. A radio bearer refers to a logical path that the second layer (L2) provides for data transmission between the UE and the network. Configuring a radio bearer indicates that characteristics of a radio protocol layer and channel are defined to provide specific services; and each individual parameter and operating methods thereof are determined. Radio bearers may be divided into Signaling Radio Bearers (SRBs) and Data RBs (DRBs). An SRB is used as a path for transmitting an RRC message in the control plane, while a DRB is used as a path for transmitting user data in the user plane.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine You with Ryu to improve the data transmission capability of the handover procedure by utilizing Ryu’s disclosed data transmission mode in a packet-based system supporting various IP-based wireless access technologies (Ryu, [0081]).
In regards to claim 25, You-Ryu teaches the method according to claim 21:
wherein the information of the W cells comprises an identifier configured for each cell of the W cells (You, fig. 2, fig. 6, fig. 7-8, [0050]-[0111], [0112]-[0169], [0170]-[0180]: [0055] As shown in FIG. 2, in the handover preparation phase, the source base station may configure the terminal device to perform measurement reporting, and send a handover request to the target base station based on a measurement report reported by the terminal device. After the target base station agrees to the handover request, the target base station configures a handover command for the terminal equipment, which includes a dedicated random access channel (RACH, Random Access Channel) resource, a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI, Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier), a security algorithm of the target base station and a system message of the target base station (the system message includes common RACH resources), etc. The dedicated RACH resource may include a dedicated preamble for contention-free random access, and a common RACH resource is a RACH resource for contention-based random access.); and
wherein:
when the one cell and the another cell are configured with different identifiers, the data transmission mode comprises performing at least one of packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) data recovery, radio link control (RLC) re-establishment, or media access control (MAC) reset; or
Thus, the system of You does not explicitly teach when the one cell and the another cell are configured with a same identifier, the data transmission mode comprises performing at least one of PDCP maintenance, RLC maintenance, or MAC partial reset.
Similar to the system of You, Ryu teaches operation of the radio link control layer to support reliable data transmission and perform RLC functions, which can be seen as, when the one cell and the another cell are configured with a same identifier, the data transmission mode comprises performing at least one of PDCP maintenance, RLC maintenance, or MAC partial reset (Ryu, fig. 13-16, [0080]-[0160], [0161]-[0240], [0241]-[0299], [0300]-[0311]: See paragraph [0110]. [0111] The Radio Resource Control (RRC) layer in the lowest part of the third layer (L3) is defined only in the control plane. The RRC layer performs the role of controlling radio resources between the UE and the network. To this purpose, the UE and the network exchange RRC messages through the RRC layer. The RRC layer controls a logical channel, transport channel, and physical channel with respect to configuration, re-configuration, and release of radio bearers. A radio bearer refers to a logical path that the second layer (L2) provides for data transmission between the UE and the network. Configuring a radio bearer indicates that characteristics of a radio protocol layer and channel are defined to provide specific services; and each individual parameter and operating methods thereof are determined. Radio bearers may be divided into Signaling Radio Bearers (SRBs) and Data RBs (DRBs). An SRB is used as a path for transmitting an RRC message in the control plane, while a DRB is used as a path for transmitting user data in the user plane.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine You with Ryu to improve the data transmission capability of the handover procedure by utilizing Ryu’s disclosed data transmission mode in a packet-based system supporting various IP-based wireless access technologies (Ryu, [0081]).
In regards to claim 26, You teaches the method according to claim 25 further comprising:
sending configuration information to the terminal device, wherein the configuration information is for configuring a corresponding data transmission mode applied when the one cell and the another cell are configured with different identifiers or a corresponding data transmission mode applied when the one cell and the another cell are configured with a same identifier (You, fig. 2, fig. 6, fig. 7-8, [0050]-[0111], [0112]-[0169], [0170]-[0180]: The duration information can be seen as data transmission mode because it defines the conditions under which the terminal device performs the conditional handover. [0063] the distance of the terminal device to a boundary area of a source cell or to the source base station is greater than a certain threshold. [0070] In an illustrative embodiment, the first network device may determine the suggested duration information for the first timer according to at least one of the following: moving speed of the terminal device, moving direction of the terminal device, and signal quality of the serving cell currently reported by the terminal device. For example, the first network device can determine the movement of the terminal device according to the moving speed, the moving direction, and/or the currently reported signal quality of the serving cell of the terminal device, so as to generate the suggested duration of the first timer and/or estimate the duration required for the terminal device to reach the cell of the second network device, and send the same to the second network device as the duration suggestion information for the first timer. [0081] In an illustrative embodiment, the conditional handover indication information may be configured to indicate that the handover request is for conditional handover. The suggested duration information for the first timer may include at least one of the following: suggested duration of the first timer, and estimated duration required for the terminal device to reach a cell of the second network device.).
In regards to claims 29 and 36, Ryu teaches the method/communication apparatus:
Thus, the system of You does not explicitly teach wherein the information of the W cells comprises radio layer control (RLC)-layer group information, the RLC-layer group information indicates at least one RLC group, and each group of the at least one RLC group comprises at least one of the W cells; and when the one cell and the another cell are not in a same RLC group, the data transmission mode comprises performing RLC re-establishment.
Similar to the system of You, Ryu teaches radio link control (RLC)-layer group information and multiple RLC operation modes (TM, UM, and AM), which can be seen as, wherein the information of the W cells comprises radio layer control (RLC)-layer group information, the RLC-layer group information indicates at least one RLC group, and each group of the at least one RLC group comprises at least one of the W cells (Ryu, fig. 13-16, [0080]-[0160], [0161]-[0240], [0241]-[0299], [0300]-[0311]: [0108] The MAC layer of the second layer (L2) provides a service to the Radio Link Control (RLC) layer, which is an upper layer thereof, through a logical channel. Furthermore, the MAC layer provides a function of mapping between a logical channel and a transport channel; and multiplexing/demultiplexing a MAC Service Data Unit (SDU) belonging to the logical channel to the transport block, which is provided to a physical channel on the transport channel. [0109] The RLC layer of the second layer (L2) supports reliable data transmission. The function of the RLC layer includes concatenation, segmentation, reassembly of the RLC SDU, and so on. To satisfy varying Quality of Service (QoS) requested by a Radio Bearer (RB), the RLC layer provides three operation modes: Transparent Mode (TM), Unacknowledged Mode (UM), and Acknowledge Mode (AM). The AM RLC provides error correction through Automatic Repeat reQuest (ARQ). Meanwhile, in case the MAC layer performs the RLC function, the RLC layer may be incorporated into the MAC layer as a functional block.; and
wherein:
when the one cell and the another cell are not in a same RLC group, the data transmission mode comprises performing RLC re-establishment (Ryu, fig. 13-16, [0080]-[0160], [0161]-[0240], [0241]-[0299], [0300]-[0311]: [0113] A cell constituting the base station is set to one of 1.25, 2.5, 5, 10, and 20 MHz bandwidth, providing downlink or uplink transmission services to a plurality of UEs. Different cells may be set to different bandwidths. [0278] 3. When the eNB receives the initial context setup message, it may start the execution of DRB setup (or the application of the UP mode/solution, the setup of an UP path) for the UE. More specifically, for the DRB setup, the eNB transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration message to the UE. Furthermore, when the eNB receives the initial context setup message, it may establish an UL S1-U with the S-GW by receiving an UL S1-U address (e.g., S-GW address, UL S-GW TEID).); or
when the one cell and the another cell are in a same RLC group, the data transmission mode comprises skipping performing RLC re-establishment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine You with Ryu to improve the data transmission capability of the handover procedure by utilizing Ryu’s disclosed data transmission mode in a packet-based system supporting various IP-based wireless access technologies (Ryu, [0081]).
In regards to claims 30 and 37, You-Ryu teaches the method/communication apparatus:
wherein the information of the W cells comprises an identifier configured for each cell of the W cells (You, fig. 2, fig. 6, fig. 7-8, [0050]-[0111], [0112]-[0169], [0170]-[0180]: [0055] As shown in FIG. 2, in the handover preparation phase, the source base station may configure the terminal device to perform measurement reporting, and send a handover request to the target base station based on a measurement report reported by the terminal device. After the target base station agrees to the handover request, the target base station configures a handover command for the terminal equipment, which includes a dedicated random access channel (RACH, Random Access Channel) resource, a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI, Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier), a security algorithm of the target base station and a system message of the target base station (the system message includes common RACH resources), etc. The dedicated RACH resource may include a dedicated preamble for contention-free random access, and a common RACH resource is a RACH resource for contention-based random access.); and
wherein:
when the one cell and the another cell are configured with different identifiers, the data transmission mode comprises performing packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) data recovery and radio link control (RLC) re-establishment; or
Thus, the system of You does not explicitly teach when the one cell and the another cell are configured with a same identifier, the data transmission mode comprises performing PDCP maintenance and RLC maintenance.
Similar to the system of You, Ryu teaches operation of the radio link control layer to support reliable data transmission and perform RLC functions, which can be seen as, when the one cell and the another cell are configured with a same identifier, the data transmission mode comprises performing PDCP maintenance and RLC maintenance (Ryu, fig. 13-16, [0080]-[0160], [0161]-[0240], [0241]-[0299], [0300]-[0311]: See paragraph [0110]. [0111] The Radio Resource Control (RRC) layer in the lowest part of the third layer (L3) is defined only in the control plane. The RRC layer performs the role of controlling radio resources between the UE and the network. To this purpose, the UE and the network exchange RRC messages through the RRC layer. The RRC layer controls a logical channel, transport channel, and physical channel with respect to configuration, re-configuration, and release of radio bearers. A radio bearer refers to a logical path that the second layer (L2) provides for data transmission between the UE and the network. Configuring a radio bearer indicates that characteristics of a radio protocol layer and channel are defined to provide specific services; and each individual parameter and operating methods thereof are determined. Radio bearers may be divided into Signaling Radio Bearers (SRBs) and Data RBs (DRBs). An SRB is used as a path for transmitting an RRC message in the control plane, while a DRB is used as a path for transmitting user data in the user plane.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine You with Ryu to improve the data transmission capability of the handover procedure by utilizing Ryu’s disclosed data transmission mode in a packet-based system supporting various IP-based wireless access technologies (Ryu, [0081]).
In regards to claims 31 and 38, You-Ryu teach the method/communication apparatus:
wherein the information of the W cells comprises an identifier configured for each cell of the W cells (You, fig. 2, fig. 6, fig. 7-8, [0050]-[0111], [0112]-[0169], [0170]-[0180]: [0055] As shown in FIG. 2, in the handover preparation phase, the source base station may configure the terminal device to perform measurement reporting, and send a handover request to the target base station based on a measurement report reported by the terminal device. After the target base station agrees to the handover request, the target base station configures a handover command for the terminal equipment, which includes a dedicated random access channel (RACH, Random Access Channel) resource, a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI, Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier), a security algorithm of the target base station and a system message of the target base station (the system message includes common RACH resources), etc. The dedicated RACH resource may include a dedicated preamble for contention-free random access, and a common RACH resource is a RACH resource for contention-based random access.); and
wherein:
when the one cell and the another cell are configured with different identifiers, the data transmission mode comprises performing at least one of packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) data recovery, radio link control (RLC) re-establishment, or media access control (MAC) reset; or
Thus, the system of You does not explicitly teach when the one cell and the another cell are configured with a same identifier, the data transmission mode comprises performing at least one of PDCP maintenance, RLC maintenance, or MAC partial reset.
Similar to the system of You, Ryu teaches operation of the radio link control layer to support reliable data transmission and perform RLC functions, which can be seen as, when the one cell and the another cell are configured with a same identifier, the data transmission mode comprises performing at least one of PDCP maintenance, RLC maintenance, or MAC partial reset (Ryu, fig. 13-16, [0080]-[0160], [0161]-[0240], [0241]-[0299], [0300]-[0311]: See paragraph [0110]. [0111] The Radio Resource Control (RRC) layer in the lowest part of the third layer (L3) is defined only in the control plane. The RRC layer performs the role of controlling radio resources between the UE and the network. To this purpose, the UE and the network exchange RRC messages through the RRC layer. The RRC layer controls a logical channel, transport channel, and physical channel with respect to configuration, re-configuration, and release of radio bearers. A radio bearer refers to a logical path that the second layer (L2) provides for data transmission between the UE and the network. Configuring a radio bearer indicates that characteristics of a radio protocol layer and channel are defined to provide specific services; and each individual parameter and operating methods thereof are determined. Radio bearers may be divided into Signaling Radio Bearers (SRBs) and Data RBs (DRBs). An SRB is used as a path for transmitting an RRC message in the control plane, while a DRB is used as a path for transmitting user data in the user plane.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine You with Ryu to improve the data transmission capability of the handover procedure by utilizing Ryu’s disclosed data transmission mode in a packet-based system supporting various IP-based wireless access technologies (Ryu, [0081]).
In regards to claims 32 and 39, You teaches the method/communication apparatus further comprising:
receiving configuration information from the access network device, wherein the configuration information is for configuring a corresponding data transmission mode applied when the one cell and the another cell are configured with different identifiers or a corresponding data transmission mode applied when the one cell and the another cell are configured with a same identifier (You, fig. 2, fig. 6, fig. 7-8, [0050]-[0111], [0112]-[0169], [0170]-[0180]: The duration information can be seen as data transmission mode because it defines the conditions under which the terminal device performs the conditional handover. [0063] the distance of the terminal device to a boundary area of a source cell or to the source base station is greater than a certain threshold. [0070] In an illustrative embodiment, the first network device may determine the suggested duration information for the first timer according to at least one of the following: moving speed of the terminal device, moving direction of the terminal device, and signal quality of the serving cell currently reported by the terminal device. For example, the first network device can determine the movement of the terminal device according to the moving speed, the moving direction, and/or the currently reported signal quality of the serving cell of the terminal device, so as to generate the suggested duration of the first timer and/or estimate the duration required for the terminal device to reach the cell of the second network device, and send the same to the second network device as the duration suggestion information for the first timer. [0081] In an illustrative embodiment, the conditional handover indication information may be configured to indicate that the handover request is for conditional handover. The suggested duration information for the first timer may include at least one of the following: suggested duration of the first timer, and estimated duration required for the terminal device to reach a cell of the second network device.).
In regards to claims 33 and 40, You teaches the method/communication apparatus further comprising:
the cell handover of the first type is a layer 1/layer 2 handover (You, fig. 2, fig. 6, fig. 7-8, [0050]-[0111], [0112]-[0169], [0170]-[0180]: [0058] A timer can be used during the handover procedure. Examples of timers that can be used during handover are shown in Table 1 below. See table 1: T310 is running indications from lower Perform connection layers; re-establishment Receiving a handover command Trigger a connection re-establishment procedure; or Expiry of T310 T310 Receiving N310 Receiving N311 Perform RRC consecutive consecutive in-sync connection out-of-sync indications from re-establishment; or indications from physical layer; Return to an idle physical layer Receiving a handover state command; or Triggering a connection re-establishment procedure T304 Receiving a handover Successful completion Initiate RRC command of handover (successful connection random access) re-establishment T307 Receiving a handover Successful completion Inform the Evolved command of random access on UMTS Terrestrial primary and secondary Radio Access cells (Primary and Network (Evolved Secondary Cells, UMTS Terrestrial PSCell) Radio Access Network, E-UTRAN) about secondary cell group (Secondary Cell Group, SCG) failure).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22, 28, and 35 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jin et al. (US-20210377830-A1) discloses determining whether to perform a handover, based on the conditional handover configuration information.
Fujishiro et al. (US-20180332507-A1) discloses a UE receives a handover command from a source cell to perform a handover to a target cell in response to the handover command. The handover command includes a notification indicating omitting a random access procedure during the handover.
/FRANCESCA LIMA SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468