DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the backplate". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-12, 15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lon Hine Tong et al (Pub 2016/0294062, further referred to as Tong).
As to claim 1, Tong teaches an antenna (figs 4, 6, and 22), comprising:
a first conductive sheet (30)(paragraph 11, antennas are formed of conductive material and are separated by each other by a substrate) comprising: (i) a first part that extends in a first direction (30a), and (ii) a second part (30B) that extends in a second direction;
a second conductive sheet comprising (20): (iii) a third part that is parallel to the first part and
extends in the first direction (portion of 20 that is parallel with 30a, the “long section” extending to the right), and (iv) a fourth part that is parallel to the second part and extends in the second direction (the portion of 20 parallel to 30b the “short section” extending up),
wherein the first part and the third part are spaced apart by a first distance (fig 6, d22), and wherein the second part and the fourth part are spaced apart by a second distance (d23) different from the first distance (the distances apart from each other in the figures appear different and are distinct); and
a dielectric layer between the first conductive sheet and the second conductive sheet (paragraphs 95 and 109, FR-4 is a dielectric substrate).
Tong does not explicitly teach the antenna used in wireless power transfer.
As would have been recognized by a person of ordinary skill in the art using the antenna taught in Tong in a wireless power transfer system is done merely as intended use to use the antenna taught in a user desired system. As such it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to use the antenna taught in Tong in wireless charging as it would be a mere matter of intended use to use the antenna in different circuit applications.
As to claim 3, Tong teaches wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction (paragraph 67).
As to claim 4, Tong teaches further comprising a feeding port (21), electrically coupled to the first conductive sheet and the second conductive sheet (paragraphs 109-114).
As to claim 5, Tong teaches wherein the feeding port comprises at least one of: a coaxial port,
or a stripline feed (paragraph 114).
As to claim 7, Tong teaches wherein the first conductive sheet and the second conductive sheet
are printed on a planar surface (paragraph 109).
As to claim 8, Tong teaches wherein the planar surface comprises a printed circuit board (paragraphs 95, 118-120).
As to claim 9, Tong teaches wherein the first conductive sheet and the second conductive sheet (paragraph 109). It would be obvious the conductive sheets are metallic as metallic conductive sheets are notoriously well known in the art.
As to claim 10, Tong teaches wherein the dielectric layer comprises via holes connecting surfaces to each other (paragraph 113). It would be obvious for the dielectric layer to comprise air as the it is notoriously well known in the art to not fill the via holes, thus within the dielectric layer comprises air.
As to claim 11, Tong teaches an antenna (figs 4, 6, and 22), comprising:
a first conductive sheet (30)(paragraph 11, antennas are formed of conductive material and are separated by each other by a substrate) comprising: (i) a first part that extends in a first direction (30a), and (ii) a second part (30B) that extends in a second direction;
a second conductive sheet comprising (20): (iii) a third part that is parallel to the first part and
extends in the first direction (portion of 20 that is parallel with 30a, the “long section” extending to the right), and (iv) a fourth part that is parallel to the second part and extends in the second direction (the portion of 20 parallel to 30b the “short section” extending up),
wherein the first part and the third part are spaced apart by a first distance (fig 6, d22), and wherein the second part and the fourth part are spaced apart by a second distance (d23) different from the first distance (the distances apart from each other in the figures appear different and are distinct); and
a dielectric layer between the first conductive sheet and the second conductive sheet (paragraphs 95 and 109, FR-4 is a dielectric substrate).
Tong does not explicitly teach the antenna used in wireless power transfer system with transmitter, receiver, and power source.
As would have been recognized by a person of ordinary skill in the art using the antenna taught in Tong in a wireless power transfer system is done merely as intended use to use the antenna taught in a user desired system. As such it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to use the antenna taught in Tong in wireless charging as it would be a mere matter of intended use to use the antenna in different circuit applications.
As to claim 12, Tong teaches wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction (paragraph 67).
As to claim 14, Tong teaches further comprising a feeding port (21), electrically coupled to the first conductive sheet and the second conductive sheet (paragraphs 109-114).
As to claim 17, Tong teaches wherein the first conductive sheet and the second conductive sheet
are printed on a planar surface (paragraph 109).
As to claim 18, Tong teaches wherein the planar surface comprises a printed circuit board (paragraphs 95, 118-120).
As to claim 19, The dimensions of the antennas used is done merely as a design choice to choosing user desired sizes of antennas.
As to claim 20, Tong teaches a method of using an antenna (figs 4, 6, and 22), comprising:
Electrically coupling a feeding port (80) to a first conductive sheet (30)(paragraph 11, antennas are formed of conductive material and are separated by each other by a substrate) comprising: (i) a first part that extends in a first direction (30a), and (ii) a second part (30B) that extends in a second direction;
a second conductive sheet comprising (20): (iii) a third part that is parallel to the first part and
extends in the first direction (portion of 20 that is parallel with 30a, the “long section” extending to the right), and (iv) a fourth part that is parallel to the second part and extends in the second direction (the portion of 20 parallel to 30b the “short section” extending up),
providing electric power to the first conductive sheet and second conductive sheet via the feeding port (80 is the feeding port in which the antenna is connected to power/other circuitry to apply power so the antenna can operate)
wherein the first part and the third part are spaced apart by a first distance (fig 6, d22), and wherein the second part and the fourth part are spaced apart by a second distance (d23) different from the first distance (the distances apart from each other in the figures appear different and are distinct); and
a dielectric layer between the first conductive sheet and the second conductive sheet (paragraphs 95 and 109, FR-4 is a dielectric substrate).
Tong does not explicitly teach the antenna used in wireless power transfer.
As would have been recognized by a person of ordinary skill in the art using the antenna taught in Tong in a wireless power transfer system is done merely as intended use to use the antenna taught in a user desired system. As such it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to use the antenna taught in Tong in wireless charging as it would be a mere matter of intended use to use the antenna in different circuit applications.
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (Pub 2023/0299496, further referred to as Kim)
As to claim 1, Kim teaches an antenna (2), comprising:
a first conductive sheet (210) comprising: (i) a first part (212) that extends in a first direction (left and right), and (ii) a second part (214) that extends in a second direction (left and right);
a second conductive sheet comprising (230): (iii) a third part (left 230) that is parallel to the first part and extends in the first direction (parallel to 210 and extends left and right), and (iv) a fourth part (right 230) that is parallel to the second part (parallel to 214) and extends in the second direction (extends left and right)),
wherein the first part and the third part are spaced apart by a first distance (210 and 230 are spaced apart from each other at a first distance), and wherein the second part and the fourth part are spaced apart by a second distance (214 and 230 are spaced apart at second distance) different from the first distance and
a dielectric layer (100) between the first conductive sheet and the second conductive sheet (paragraphs 95 and 109, FR-4 is a dielectric substrate).
Kim does not explicitly teach the antenna used in wireless power transfer.
As would have been recognized by a person of ordinary skill in the art using the antenna taught in Kim in a wireless power transfer system is done merely as intended use to use the antenna taught in a user desired system. As such it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to use the antenna taught in Tong in wireless charging as it would be a mere matter of intended use to use the antenna in different circuit applications.
As to claim 2, Kim teaches the first and second direction are the same (left and right).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 13, 14, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the cited prior art teach or suggest the fifth part as is recited in claims 6 and 16; and the backplate as is recited in claims 13-14.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY M SHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849