DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I in the reply filed on 9 January 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12-14, and 21-26 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cella et al., USPN 2020/0225655.
With regard to claims 1, 14, and 26, Cella discloses an apparatus, including a cyber threat autonomous response engine (0247, 1757, 2269) configured to control connectivity between a first computing device and a second computing device (1728-1735, 1590, 1646, 2295, 3317, 1751, 2112) and take one or more actions to mitigate a cyber threat (0247, 1757, 2269), which is further configured to determine that a connection between the first computing device and the second computing device needs to be modified (3444, 0972, 1024, 1060, 1751, 2112), identify an indicator in a message transmitted via the connection in accordance with a communication protocol (1712-1715, 1959, 1024, 1060, 1751, 2112), determine, based on the indicator and knowledge about a previously observed sequence of messages communicated between the first computing device and the second computing device in accordance with the communication protocol (2095, 1727-1735, 1069, 1751), a plurality of triggers to be sent to one or both of the first computing device and the second computing device to modify the connection (1033, 1609-1610), and cause the plurality of triggers to be sent (1580-1582, 1710-1715, 1742, 1751-1761, 2112-2119), and where instructions implemented in software for the cyber threat autonomous response engine are configured to be stored in one or more non-transitory storage mediums to be executed by one or more processing units (1869, 3316, 3324, 3444, 1742, 1919-1921, 1931, 1936).
With regard to claim 2, Cella discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses the communication protocol is a server message block (SMB) protocol (1726-1729).
With regard to claim 3, Cella discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses each trigger of the plurality of triggers includes a unique indicator, and wherein at least one of the plurality of triggers has a unique indicator configured to cause modification of the connection, where the modification of the connection is one or more of a disruption, an interruption, and a resetting of the connection (1710-1715, 1742, 1751-1761, 2112-2119) in order to mitigate the cyber threat (0247, 1757, 2269).
With regard to claim 4, Cella discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses indicator is a sequence number that uniquely identifies the message (1712-1715, 3444, 1727, 2112).
With regard to claim 5, Cella discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses each message in the sequence of messages is identified by a unique indicator (1712-1715, 3444, 1727, 2112).
With regard to claim 6, Cella discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses the indicator comprises a size associated with the message (1712-1727).
With regard to claims 7 and 21, Cella discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses the knowledge includes information, derived from the previously observed sequence of messages, about a size associated with each message in the previously observed sequence of message (1712-1735, 2095, 1069, 1751).
With regard to claims 8 and 22, Cella discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses the knowledge includes information, derived from the previously observed sequence of messages (2095, 1727-1735, 1069, 1751), about a property associated with each message in the previously observed sequence of messages (2095, 1727-1735, 1069, 1751), wherein a first trigger includes the property expected for a subsequent message to the message including the indicator (2095, 1727-1735, 1069, 1751), wherein the property includes one or more of a unique indicator, a sequence number, a payload size, and a packet size (1712-1727).
With regard to claim 9, Cella discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses the cyber threat autonomous response engine is configured to determine a latency associated with the message between the first computing device and the second computing device (1739-1747, 1942-1959, 2104-2112), and then based upon the latency the cyber threat autonomous response engine is configured to predict a permutation of an upcoming connection, which is the connection, and send the triggers for predicted stages of the connection (1739-1747, 1942-1959, 2104-2112, 2095, 1727-1735, 1069, 1751).
With regard to claim 10, Cella discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses a trigger of the plurality of triggers is configured to modify the connection during a stage of the communication protocol to prevent a subsequent stage of the communication protocol from being carried out, wherein the trigger includes a unique indicator configured to allow the connection to be disrupted by the trigger at the stage, in accordance with the communication protocol, to prevent the subsequent stage of the communication protocol being carried out (1710-1715, 1742, 1751-1761, 2112-2119).
With regard to claims 12, 23, and 25, Cella discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses the cyber threat autonomous response engine is configured to determine that the connection needs to be modified based on an indication that one or both of the first computing device and the second computing device has exhibited a metric indicative of anomalous behavior (0360, 1010, 1341, 1684).
With regard to claims 13 and 24, Cella discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses the cyber threat autonomous response engine is configured to determine a latency associated with the message between the first computing device and the second computing device, and based upon the latency associated with the message between the first computing device and the second computing device, then the cyber threat autonomous response engine is configured to send the plurality of triggers to arrive at the connection to modify that connection (1739-1747, 1942-1959, 2104-2112, 2095, 1727-1735, 1069, 1751).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cella.
With regard to claim 11, Cella discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses a trigger of the plurality of triggers is configured to spoof a behavior to monitor the response (0977), but does not disclose a trigger of the plurality of triggers is configured to spoof a message that is communicated between the first computing device and the second computing device in accordance with the communication protocol. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to use the method of spoofing behavior, as taught by Cella, to further investigate a possible anomaly in messages between devices by sending a spoof message, for the stated motivation of Cella, to improve analysis (0977).
References Cited
Mahaffey et al., USPN 2015/0128205, discloses a method of monitoring a connection between two devices, and modifying the channel upon anomaly detection (0006).
Conclusion
/JACOB LIPMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434