DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action is response to communications received on 07/19/2024. Claims 1-17 are currently pending and addressed below.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 & 15-17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,278,826. The elements of the instant application are to be found in the Patent and therefore are anticipated. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent and the instant application all recite the same basic structure with a permutation of similar elements throughout.
Regarding Claims 1-17, patent claims 1-17 (respectively) recite the same limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the spherical shell section" in lines 12-13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the tapered shell section" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the spherical shell section" in lines 10-11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the tapered shell section" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-13 & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hutton et al. (US 10,307,255).
Regarding Claim 10, as best understood (see 112 rejection supra), Hutton teaches an acetabular implant for hip arthroplasty comprising:
an acetabular shell (100) configured to be attached to an acetabulum of a patient, the acetabular shell having a proximal end (shown) and a distal end (shown), the acetabular shell including an inner surface defining a shell cavity (inside shell), the inner surface having a shell section (shown) tapering inward toward a central axis (shown) of the acetabular shell as the shell section extends distally toward the distal end, the acetabular shell including at least one shell interlocking structure (shown); and
an acetabular liner (200) sized and shaped to be disposed in the shell cavity of the acetabular shell (Fig 6), the acetabular liner including an outer surface having a liner section (shown) corresponding to the shell section, a transition liner (shown) section disposed distally of the tapered liner section and a spherical liner section (shown) disposed distally of the transition liner section and corresponding to the spherical shell section (shown), the liner section configured to engage the shell section to inhibit movement of the acetabular liner (200) relative to the acetabular shell (100) when the acetabular liner is disposed in the shell cavity of the acetabular shell, the acetabular liner (200) including at least one liner interlocking structure configured to mate with the at least one shell interlocking structure (230) to inhibit rotation of the acetabular liner relative to the acetabular shell about the central axis when the acetabular liner is disposed in the shell cavity of the acetabular shell (Col 5: lines 36-39), the acetabular liner defining a liner cavity (shown),
wherein the transition liner section is generally conical (Figs 3, 5 & 6).
Regarding Claim 11, Hutton teaches wherein the at least one shell interlocking structure includes a plurality of shell interlocking structures (shown) circumferentially spaced apart from one another (Fig 1) and the at least one liner interlocking structure (230) includes a plurality of liner interlocking structures circumferentially spaced apart from one another (Fig 1), each shell interlocking structure configured to mate with one of the liner interlocking structures.
Regarding Claim 12, Hutton teaches wherein the at least one shell interlocking structure (shown) comprises an interlocking recess and the at least one liner interlocking (230) structure comprises an interlocking projection (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 13, as best understood (see 112 rejection supra), Hutton teaches wherein the tapered shell section and the tapered liner section (shown) each taper at about 19 degrees relative to the central axis (Col 3: lines 52-56).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination teaches wherein the acetabular liner (200) is constructed using a cobalt-chrome alloy or a ceramic (Col 3: lines 16-19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 & 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hutton et al. (US 10,307,255) in view of Davenport et al. (US 9,763,806).
Regarding Claim 1, as best understood (see 112 rejection supra), Hutton discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Hutton teaches an acetabular implant (Fig 6) for hip arthroplasty comprising:
an acetabular shell (100) configured to be attached to an acetabulum of a patient, the acetabular shell having a proximal end (shown) and a distal end (shown), the acetabular shell including an inner surface defining a shell cavity (inside shell), the inner surface having a shell section (shown) tapering inward toward a central axis (shown) of the acetabular shell as the shell section extends distally toward the distal end, the acetabular shell including a snap-fit receiver (shown as 150); and
an acetabular liner (200) sized and shaped to be disposed in the shell cavity of the acetabular shell (Fig 6), the acetabular liner including an outer surface having a liner section (shown) corresponding to the shell section, a transition liner (shown) section disposed distally of the liner section, and a spherical liner section (shown) disposed distally of the transition liner section and corresponding to the spherical shell section (shown), the liner section configured to engage the shell section to inhibit movement of the acetabular liner relative to the acetabular shell when the acetabular liner (200) is disposed in the shell cavity of the acetabular shell (100), the acetabular liner including a snap-fit retainer (250) sized and shaped to be received by the snap-fit receiver (150) of the acetabular shell to form a snap-fit connection (Col 5: lines 48-52) between the acetabular liner and the acetabular shell when the acetabular liner is inserted into the shell cavity of the acetabular shell,
wherein the transition liner section (shown) is generally conical (Figs 3, 5 & 6).
However, Hutton does not disclose wherein the acetabular shell (100) includes a tool interlocking structure configured to mate with a shell insertion tool to inhibit the acetabular shell from rotating.
Davenport teaches an acetabular inserter instrument (20) in the same field of endeavor. Said instrument comprising a rotational/keyed locking portion (76) configured to mate with a rotational control portion (78) of an acetabular cup in order to rotationally fix the two components (Col 5: lines 7-13) to provide control of the prosthesis during implantation (Col 5: lines 27-33).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize both the tool interlocking structure and shell insertion tool, as taught by Davenport, as a means to implant the shell (100) as taught by Hutton. Providing Davenport’s tool interlocking structure (78) on the shell of the Hutton, as well as the complimentary-shaped shell insertion tool, would allow the surgeon to rotationally fix the shell and instrument together thus provide increased control of the prosthesis during implantation
Regarding Claim 2, the combination teaches wherein the tool interlocking structure comprises an insertion tool recess sized and shaped to receive a corresponding projection of the shell insertion tool (Col 4: line 62 – Col 5: line 13).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination teaches wherein the insertion tool recess is aligned with the central axis, the insertion tool recess including a rotation inhibiting section sized and shaped to receive a rotation inhibiting structure of the shell projection of the shell insertion tool to inhibit the acetabular shell from rotating about the central axis when the acetabular shell and shell insertion tool are coupled together (Col 4: line 62 – Col 5: line 13).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination teaches wherein the snap-fit receiver (150) comprises a circumferential recess and the snap-fit retainer (250) comprises a circumferential lip (Figs 1 & 6).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination teaches wherein the acetabular shell (100) includes an alignment recess (shown as shell interlocking structure) and the acetabular liner (200) includes an alignment projection (230) configured to be inserted into the alignment recess to align the acetabular shell and the acetabular liner (Figs 1 & 6).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination teaches wherein the acetabular shell (100) includes a shell interlocking structure (shown) and wherein the acetabular liner (200) includes a liner interlocking structure (230) configured to mate with the shell interlocking structure to inhibit rotation of the acetabular liner relative to the acetabular shell about the central axis when the acetabular liner is disposed in the shell cavity of the acetabular shell
Claim(s) 6 & 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hutton et al. (US 10,307,255) in view of Davenport et al. (US 9,763,806) and in further view of Rister et al. (US 11,013,604). Please refer to the annotated figure below in consideration of the following rejection:
Regarding Claim 6, as set for the supra, the combination discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, the combination does not disclose wherein the implant further comprises a mobile insert, the mobile insert sized and shaped to be received in the liner cavity, the mobile insert defining a mobile insert cavity sized and shaped to receive the femoral head, the mobile insert having a spherical outer surface forming the majority of a sphere.
Rister teaches an acetabular cup system with comprising a mobile insert (220) in the same field of endeavor. Said mobile insert sized and shaped to be received in a liner cavity (Fig 5), the mobile insert defining a mobile insert cavity sized and shaped to receive the femoral head (210), the mobile insert having a spherical outer surface forming the majority of a sphere (Figs 1 & 5). Rister further teaches that these dual-mobility systems (i.e., with a mobile insert) reduce the rate of dislocation of the implant (Col 1: lines 30-44) by allowing for varying head size.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of the combination with the mobile insert, as taught by Rister, in order to construct a dual-mobility system and therefore reduce the rate of dislocation of the implant.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination teaches wherein the mobile insert (220) defines a stem relief recess (shown) at a proximal end of the mobile insert cavity, the stem relief recess configured to receive a stem of a femoral implant when the femoral implant rotates relative to the mobile insert (Fig 1).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hutton et al. (US 10,307,255) in view of Davenport et al. (US 9,763,806) and in further view of Nevins et al. (US 2012/0179270). Please refer to the annotated figure below in consideration of the following rejection:
Regarding Claim 8, as set forth supra, the combination discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, the combination does not specifically disclose wherein the acetabular shell defines at least five fastener openings, each fastener opening sized and shaped to receive a fastener to secure the acetabular shell to the acetabulum.
Nevins teaches an acetabular shell system (Fig 18) in the same field of endeavor. Said shell comprises at least five fastener openings (Fig 18), sized and shaped to receive a fastener and secure the shell to the acetabulum. The number of fasteners aids in the stability and fixation in the acetabular shell when there is less than optimal amount of bone to secure the shell to the acetabulum [0052].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of the combination with at least five fastener openings in order to aid in the stability and fixation of the acetabular shell when there is less than optimal amount of bone to secure the shell to the acetabulum.
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hutton et al. (US 10,307,255) in view of Rister et al. (US 11,013,604). Please refer to the annotated figure below in consideration of the following rejection:
Regarding Claim 14, as set forth supra, Hutton discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Hutton does not disclose wherein the acetabular shell includes an alignment recess and the acetabular liner includes an alignment projection configured to be inserted into the alignment recess to align the acetabular shell and the acetabular liner.
Rister teaches an acetabular cup system (Fig 5) in the same field of endeavor. Said system comprising an acetabular shell (120) including an alignment recess (135) and the acetabular liner (230) includes an alignment projection (238) configured to be inserted into the alignment recess to align the acetabular shell and the acetabular liner (Col 5: lines 44-51).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the alignment recess and projection, as taught by Rister to the acetabular shell and liner, as taught by Hutton, in order to align the shell and liner during implantation.
Regarding Claim 15, as set forth supra, Hutton discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Hutton does not disclose wherein the implant further comprises a mobile insert, the mobile insert sized and shaped to be received in the liner cavity, the mobile insert defining a mobile insert cavity sized and shaped to receive the femoral head, the mobile insert having a spherical outer surface forming the majority of a sphere.
Rister teaches an acetabular cup system with comprising a mobile insert (220) in the same field of endeavor. Said mobile insert sized and shaped to be received in a liner cavity (Fig 5), the mobile insert defining a mobile insert cavity sized and shaped to receive the femoral head (210), the mobile insert having a spherical outer surface forming the majority of a sphere (Figs 1 & 5). Rister further teaches that these dual-mobility systems (i.e., with a mobile insert) reduce the rate of dislocation of the implant (Col 1: lines 30-44) by allowing for varying head size.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the acetabular cup system, as taught by Hutton, with the mobile insert, as taught by Rister, in order to construct a dual-mobility system and therefore reduce the rate of dislocation of the implant.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination teaches wherein the mobile insert (220) defines a stem relief recess (shown) at a proximal end of the mobile insert cavity, the stem relief recess configured to receive a stem of a femoral implant when the femoral implant rotates relative to the mobile insert (Fig 1).
Conclusion
/BRIAN A DUKERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774