DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the claim set filed 07/19/2024 and Response to Restriction filed 02/17/2026. Claims 1-9 are pending. The elected claims 1-4 are under consideration in this Office Action. Claims 5-9 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-4 are rejected for the reasons set forth below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-4 in the reply filed on 02/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 claims the quaternary ammonium salt having formula (1), wherein R1 and R2 are each an alkyl group with 8-18 carbon atoms and R3 and R4 are each a methyl group, while the exemplary didecyldimethylammonium chloride and dioctyldimethylammonium chloride have R1 and R3 are each an alkyl group with 8-18 carbon atoms and R2 and R4 are each a methyl group. And didecyldimethylammonium chloride should be stabler than the claimed structure because long alkyl chains are apart more than that of the claimed structure.
Claim 2 claims the quaternary ammonium salt having formula (1), wherein R1 is an alkyl group with 8-18 carbon atoms, R2 is a 3-(trihydroxysilyl)propyl group and R3 and R4 are each a methyl group, while the exemplary 3-(Trihydroxysilyl)propyldimethyloctadecyl ammonium chloride has wherein R1 is an alkyl group with 8-18 carbon atoms, R3 is a 3-(trihydroxysilyl)propyl group and R2 and R4 are each a methyl group. 3-(Trihydroxysilyl)propyldimethyloctadecyl ammonium chloride should be stabler than the claimed structure because longer chains are apart more than that of the claimed structure.
Claim 2 claims the quaternary ammonium salt having formula (1), wherein R1 is an alkyl group
with 8-18 carbon atoms, R2 is a 3-(trimethoxysilyl)propyl group and R3 and R4 are each a methyl group, while the exemplary 3-(Trimethoxysilyl)propyldimethyldodecylammonium chloride has R1 is an alkyl group with 8-18 carbon atoms, R3 is a 3-(trimethoxysilyl)propyl group and R2 and R4 are each a methyl group. 3-(Trimethoxysilyl)propyldimethyldodecylammonium chloride should be stabler than the claimed structure because longer chains are apart more than that of the claimed structure.
One ordinary skilled artisan would be confused with the above claimed structures because the structures should be uncommon if they exist. It is also confusing how R2 can be 3-(trihydroxysilyl)propyl group or 3-(trimethoxysilyl)propyl group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohnishi et al. (US6,551,705B1) in view of Kuroda et al. (US 2008/0003434).
Regarding Claim 1, Ohnishi teaches an antibacterial acrylic fiber (2: 30-35) wherein the acrylic fiber is an acrylonitrile-acrylic copolymer fiber (2: 57-67). Ohnishi further teaches the acrylonitrile-acrylic copolymer fiber containing a quaternary ammonium salt (2: 52-56) wherein the quaternary ammonium salt has the formula of [R1R2R3R4N]+a Xa-, wherein R1 to R4 independently represent an optionally substituted alkyl group having 1 to 18 carbon atoms; X represents a halogen ion, an organic and anion or an oxoacid ion (claim 3), and the exemplary quaternary ammonium salts include didecyldimethylammonium chloride (6: 31-32). The scope of the quaternary ammonium salt formula of Ohnishi encompasses that of the instant claimed formula (1) and didecyldimethylammonium chloride reads on the instant claimed formula (1). Ohnishi furthermore teaches the quaternary ammonium salt can be used in combination with nonionic surfactant (9: 24-36).
The difference between Ohnishi and instant Claim 1 is that Ohnishi is silent that the nonionic surfactant contains a sorbitan fatty acid ester and a polyoxyethylene triglyceride.
However, Kuroda teaches an antimicrobial artificial hair fiber (ab.) comprising an acrylic finer coated with surfactant ([0075]), wherein the surfactant is a mixture of sorbitan monostearate and polyoxyethylene castor oil ether ([0061]). In view of such teaching, one ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated before the effective filing date of instant application to use the surfactant taught by Kuroda for the antibacterial acrylonitrile-acrylic copolymer fiber of Ohnishi to obtain a modified antibacterial acrylonitrile-acrylic copolymer fiber because Kuroda teaches the mixture of sorbitan monostearate and polyoxyethylene castor oil ether is a suitable nonionic surfactant for acrylic fiber.
Ohnishi teaches the acrylonitrile-acrylic fibers having quaternary ammonium salt content of more than 0.05 wt.% and no more than 3 wt.% (claim 18). One ordinary skilled artisan would understand that the content of quaternary ammonium salt refers to the amount of quaternary ammonium salts attached to the acrylonitrile-acrylic fibers in reading Ohnishi as a whole because the amount was measured with yarns after drying (12:45-55) and Ohnishi does not disclose partial content of quaternary ammonium salts are weakly bound to fibers like chitosan (3: 25-35). After all, weakly binding to fibers is adhering to fibers as well. Thus, Ohnishi teaches the amount of quaternary ammonium salts adhered to the acrylonitrile-acrylic fibers being more than 0.05 wt.% and no more than 3 wt.%. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range taught by Ohnishi.
Kuroda teaches an antimicrobial artificial hair fiber (ab.) comprising an acrylic fiber coated with 0.25% omf (on the mass of fiber) surfactant ([0075]). The amount falling within the claimed 0.15% to 0.9% by mass of the synthetic fiber.
Regarding Claim 2, Ohnishi discloses that the exemplary quaternary ammonium salt being didecyldimethylammonium chloride. The compound is stabler than the claimed the compound having R1 and R2 are each an alkyl group with 8-18 carbon atoms and R3 and R4 are each a methyl group. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled artisan before the effective filing date of instant application to use didecyldimethylammonium chloride for the modified antibacterial acrylonitrile-acrylic copolymer fiber of Ohnishi in view of Kuroda.
Regarding Claim 4, The Office realizes that Ohnishi in view of Kuroda is silent on the claimed filament fineness. However, Ohnishi in view of Kuroda teaches all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. The original specification does not identify a feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed components in the claimed amount. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. filament fineness would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohnishi in view of Kuroda, as applied to Claim 1 above, and in further view of Fujiwara et al. (US4,536,324).
The disclosure of Ohnishi in view of Kuroda is incorporated herein by reference.
Ohnishi in view of Kuroda teaches a modified acrylonitrile-acrylic fiber comprising a surfactant which is a mixture of sorbitan monostearate and polyoxyethylene castor oil ether but is silent on the mass% of sorbitan monostearate relative to the total mass of the surfactant.
However, Fujiwara teaches a nonionic surfactant composed of 100 parts polyoxyethylene castor oil and 3 to 30 sorbitan polyesters of long-chain fatty acids (ab.) wherein the exemplary sorbitan polyesters of long-chain fatty acids include sorbitan trioleate (2: 58-60). Thus, Fujiwara teaches the nonionic surfactant composed of polyoxyethylene castor oil and sorbitan fatty acid ester wherein the sorbitan fatty acid ester is 2.9% by mass to 23% by mass of the total mass of the nonionic surfactant, the mass% overlapping the claimed 20% to 90% by mass.
One ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated, before the effective filling date of instant application to use the nonionic surfactant taught by Fujiwara (including the content of sorbitan fatty acid ester of the surfactant) for the modified acrylonitrile-acrylic fiber of Ohnishi in view of Kuroda due to the similarities between the surfactants of Ohnishi in view of Kuroda and Fujiwara. Additionally, Fujiwara teaches the surfactant acceptable by official authorities for use in cosmetics (2: 1-2).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4 and 5 of copending Application No. 18/621,470 (‘470) in view of Ohnishi et al. (US6,551,705B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 1 of ‘470 claims an antibacterial acrylic artificial hair fiber comprising chitosan and a nonionic surfactant wherein the nonionic surfactant comprises a sorbitan fatty acid ester and a polyoxyethylene triglyceride, and wherein an amount of the nonionic surfactant in the antibacterial acrylic artificial hair fiber is 0.10% by weight to 0.90% by weight.
The difference between ‘470 and instant Claim 1 is that Claim 1 of ‘470 is silent on the acrylic artificial hair fiber being an acrylonitrile-acrylic copolymer fiber and the hair fibers contain quaternary ammonium salts.
However, Ohnishi teaches an antibacterial acrylic fiber (2: 30-35) wherein the acrylic fiber is an acrylonitrile-acrylic copolymer fiber (2: 57-67). Ohnishi further teaches the acrylonitrile-acrylic copolymer fiber containing chitosan, a quaternary ammonium salt (claim 3) and nonionic surfactant (9:35-36). Ohnishi teaches the amount of quaternary ammonium salts adhered to the acrylonitrile-acrylic fibers being more than 0.05 wt.% and no more than 3 wt.%. (claim 18).
One ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated before the effective filing date of instant application to incorporate the quaternary ammonium salts and the amount into the acrylonitrile-acrylic hair fiber of ‘470 because Ohnishi teaches the quaternary ammonium salts making the softness of the artificial hair fiber obtained by chitosan permanent (5:37-45).
Regarding Claim 2, Ohnishi teaches an exemplary quaternary ammonium salt being didecyldimethylammonium chloride which is one the preferred quaternary ammonium salts of the instant application.
Regarding Claim 3, claim 1 of ‘470 claims the percentage of the sorbitan fatty acid ester in the nonionic surfactant is 20% by weight to 90% by weight.
Regarding Claim 4, claim 5 of ‘470 claims the antibacterial acrylic artificial hair fiber has a single fiber fineness of 10 to 150 dtex.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/HUIHONG QIAO/ Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/JOSEPH S DEL SOLE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1763