DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
This action is in response to applicant filed on 04/29/2026.
Claims 6-12 have been cancelled.
Claims 13-14 are new.
Claims 1-5 and 13-14 are pending for examination.
Election/Restrictions
In view of the amendment filed on 04/29/2026, the restriction dated 01/30/2026 is moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 & 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nguyen (US 2006/0262002).
Regarding claim 1: Nguyen disclose a wireless remote-control device, comprising:
an IC chip (Fig. 3, item 300);
a PCB board (Fig. 3);
remote-control buttons (Fig. 3, item 302);
whereas the IC chip is mounted to the PCB board (¶00224);
whereas the IC chip comprises preloaded numerical program codes which correspond to an IR function of an electronic device (¶0030);
whereas the preloaded numerical program codes are configured to contain numerical program codes of one or more electronic device brands (¶0030); and
whereas one or more of the remote-control buttons correspond to a distinct electronic device brand (Fig. 5, ¶0029).
Regarding claim 3: Nguyen disclose the wireless remote-control device of claim 1, further comprising:
a primary keypad (Fig. 2, item 202);
a secondary keypad (Fig. 2, item 204); and
the secondary keypad contains the one or more remote-control buttons corresponding to a distinct electronic device brand (¶0023: extended key contains buttons for any device brand that is assigned to. Therefore, it would contain more remote-control buttons corresponding to a distinct electronic device brand).
Regarding claim 5: Nguyen disclose the wireless remote-control device of claim 1, further comprising: the electronic device comprises a television; and the preloaded numerical code corresponds to a numerical code that communicates with a specific television brand at the time of the electronic device wireless remote manufacture (¶0026).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 & 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen (US 2006/0262002) in view of Hsu (US 2011/0298581).
Regarding claim 2: Nguyen disclose the wireless remote-control device of claim 1, further comprising:
a primary keypad (Fig. 2, item 202);
a secondary keypad (Fig. 2, item 204) but does not explicitly disclose whereas the secondary keypad is configured to be hidden by a removable cover.
In analogous art regarding control remotes, Hsu disclose whereas the secondary keypad is configured to be hidden by a removable cover (Fig. 4, item 219, ¶0038).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to the one of the ordinary skill in the art to include the feature of whereas the secondary keypad is configured to be hidden by a removable cover, as disclose by Hsu, to the secondary keypad of Nguyen. The motivation is to provide protection to the keypads.
Regarding claim 4: Nguyen disclose the wireless remote-control device of claim 1, further comprising:
a primary keypad (Fig. 2, item 202);
a secondary keypad (Fig. 2, item 204); and
the secondary keypad contains the one or more remote-control buttons corresponding to a distinct electronic device brand (¶0023: extended key contains buttons for any device brand that is assigned to. Therefore, it would contain more remote-control buttons corresponding to a distinct electronic device brand) but does not explicitly disclose whereas the secondary keypad is configured to be hidden by a removable cover.
In analogous art regarding control remotes, Hsu disclose whereas the secondary keypad is configured to be hidden by a removable cover (Fig. 4, item 219, ¶0038).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to the one of the ordinary skill in the art to include the feature of whereas the secondary keypad is configured to be hidden by a removable cover, as disclose by Hsu, to the secondary keypad of Nguyen. The motivation is to provide protection to the keypads.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record cited in the PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/OMAR CASILLASHERNANDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689