Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected composition, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/30/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-13 and 15-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dudnik et al. (US8877256).
Regarding claims 7-8, 17 and 21, Dudnik teaches forming a polymeric coating from a solution of acrylic acid and methyl acrylate, wherein the two monomers are grafted to form a copolymer coating on a catheter (Example 5) wherein it is noted that the methyl acrylate has a glass transition temperature of 10C.
Regarding clam 9, Dudnik further teaches wherein the treated article is placed in a container comprising Trizma base as cited above.
Regarding claim 10, Dudnik further teaches the use of an antimicrobial silver acetate meeting the claims limitations as cited above.
Regarding claim 11, Dudnik further teaches the use of brilliant green as claimed (Example 3).
Regarding claim 12, Dudnik further teaches the use of the three ingredients claimed in combination (Example 4 and claim 15).
Regarding claim 13, Dudnik further teaches washing in a Trizma base after antimicrobial coating (Example 3).
Regarding claim 15, Dudnik further teaches the use of benzoin photoinitiators (claim 15).
Regarding claim 16, Dudnik further teaches UV exposure as the means for coating formation (claim 15).
Regarding claims 18-19, because the coating of Dudnik is the same as that claimed, formed from the same materials using the similar methodologies, the coating of Dudnik would be expected to have the same properties claimed. A reference which is silent about a claimed invention’s features is inherently anticipatory if the missing feature is necessarily present in that which is described in the reference. In re Robertson, 49 USPQ2d 1949 (1999).
Regarding claim 20, Dudnik teaches wherein the coating may be applied to a plurality of the substrate materials claimed (col. 6, lines 29-44).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dudnik et al. (US8877256) as applied to claims 1-13 and 15-21 above and further in view of Gratzl et al. (“Mechanistic approaches on the antibacterial activity of poly(acrylic acid) copolymers” Colloids and Surfaces B: Biointerfaces, 126, 2015, pp. 98-105).
Regarding claim 14, the teachings of Dudnik are as shown above. Dudnik fails to teach protonating the surface of the coating as claimed. However, Gratzl teaches the exposure of PAA polymers to strong acids regenerates antimicrobial activity (see Conclusions) wherein said acid exposure would inherently protonate the acrylic acid monomer section present in the polymer provided. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat the polymer of Dudnik with acid as guided by Gratzl in order to provide antibacterial qualities to the catheter of Dudnik as described by Gratzl.
Conclusion
/ANDREW J BOWMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1717