DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the original application filed on 7/19/2024.
Claims 1-10 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by “3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #116 Electronic Online Meeting, Nov 1-12, 2021, R2-2111437” (hereinafter as “R2-2111437”).
Regarding Claim 1, “R2-2111437” teaches a communication control method in a mobile communication system for being capable of performing a first communication on a direct link between a remote user equipment and a base station and a second communication on an indirect link between the remote user equipment and the base station via a relay user equipment, the communication control method comprising (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”):
transmitting, by the remote user equipment, a measurement report message including identification information of the relay user equipment to the base station via the direct link (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, Step 1, the U2N Remote UE reports one or multiple candidate U2N Relay UE(s) and legacy Uu measurements, after it measures/discovers the candidate U2N Relays UE(s));
receiving, by the remote user equipment, an RRC Reconfiguration message for configuring the indirect link to the relay user equipment, from the base station via the direct link (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, Step 3, the gNB sends the RRCReconfiguration message to the U2N Remote UE, the contents of the RRCReconfiguration message can include PC5 RLC configuration for relay traffic and the associated end-to-end radio bearers);
establishing, by the remote user equipment, the indirect link to the relay user equipment (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, Step 4, the U2N Remote UE establishes PC5 connection with target U2N Relay UE); and
transmitting, by the remote user equipment, an RRC Reconfiguration Complete message to the base station (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, Step 5, the U2N Remote UE completes the path switch procedure by sending the RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the gNB via the relay UE) via the direct link (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.1-1, “Section 16.x.6.1 Switching from indirect to direct path”, Step 5, the UE sends the RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the gNB via direct path).
Regarding Claim 2, “RP-2111437” further teaches wherein the RRC Reconfiguration message includes the information of the relay user equipment (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, Step 3, the gNB sends the RRCReconfiguration message to the U2N Remote UE, the contents of the RRCReconfiguration message can include U2N Relay UE ID).
Regarding Claim 3, “RP-2111437” teaches a remote user equipment configured to be capable of performing a first communication on a direct link between the remote user equipment and a base station and a second communication on an indirect link between the remote user equipment and the base station via a relay user equipment, the remote user equipment comprising transceiver circuitry and processing circuitry operatively associated with the transceiver circuitry and configured to execute processing of (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, case of a UE switching to U2N Relay UE, inherently a UE would have both a processor and a transceiver);:
transmitting a measurement report message including identification information of the relay user equipment to the base station via the direct link (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, Step 1, the U2N Remote UE reports one or multiple candidate U2N Relay UE(s) and legacy Uu measurements, after it measures/discovers the candidate U2N Relays UE(s));
receiving an RRC Reconfiguration message for configuring the indirect link to the relay user equipment, from the base station via the direct link (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, Step 3, the gNB sends the RRCReconfiguration message to the U2N Remote UE, the contents of the RRCReconfiguration message can include PC5 RLC configuration for relay traffic and the associated end-to-end radio bearers);
establishing the indirect link to the relay user equipment (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, Step 4, the U2N Remote UE establishes PC5 connection with target U2N Relay UE); and
transmitting an RRC Reconfiguration Complete message to the base station (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, Step 5, the U2N Remote UE completes the path switch procedure by sending the RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the gNB via the Relay UE) via the direct link (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.1-1, “Section 16.x.6.1 Switching from indirect to direct path”, Step 5, the UE sends the RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the gNB via direct path).
Regarding Claim 4, “RP-2111437” further teaches wherein the RRC Reconfiguration message includes the information of the relay user equipment (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, Step 3, the gNB sends the RRCReconfiguration message to the U2N Remote UE, the contents of the RRCReconfiguration message can include U2N Relay UE ID).
Regarding Claim 5, “RP-2111437” teaches a mobile communication system comprising:
a base station (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, step 2, the gNB decides to switch the U2N Remote UE to a target U2N Relay UE);
a relay user equipment (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, step 2, the gNB decides to switch the U2N Remote UE to a target U2N Relay UE); and
a remote user equipment configured to be capable of performing a first communication on a direct link between the remote user equipment and the base station and a second communication on an indirect link between the remote user equipment and the base station via the relay user equipment (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, case of a UE switching to U2N Relay UE, step 2, the gNB decides to switch the U2N Remote UE to a target U2N Relay UE),
wherein the remote user equipment is configured to transmit a measurement report message including identification information of the relay user equipment to the base station via the direct link (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, Step 1, the U2N Remote UE reports one or multiple candidate U2N Relay UE(s) and legacy Uu measurements, after it measures/discovers the candidate U2N Relays UE(s));
the remote user equipment is configured to receive an RRC Reconfiguration message for configuring the indirect link to the relay user equipment, from the base station via the direct link (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, Step 3, the gNB sends the RRCReconfiguration message to the U2N Remote UE, the contents of the RRCReconfiguration message can include PC5 RLC configuration for relay traffic and the associated end-to-end radio bearers)
the remote user equipment is configured to establish the indirect link to the relay user equipment (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, Step 4, the U2N Remote UE establishes PC5 connection with target U2N Relay UE); and
the remote user equipment is configured to transmits an RRC Reconfiguration Complete message to the base station (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, Step 5, the U2N Remote UE completes the path switch procedure by sending the RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the gNB via the Relay UE) via the direct link (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.1-1, “Section 16.x.6.1 Switching from indirect to direct path”, Step 5, the UE sends the RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the gNB via direct path).
Regarding Claim 6, “RP-2111437” further teaches wherein the RRC Reconfiguration message includes the information of the relay user equipment (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, Step 3, the gNB sends the RRCReconfiguration message to the U2N Remote UE, the contents of the RRCReconfiguration message can include U2N Relay UE ID).
Regarding Claim 7, “RP-2111437” teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer of a remote user equipment, the remote user equipment configured to be capable of performing a first communication on a direct link between the remote user equipment and a base station and a second communication on an indirect link between the remote user equipment and the base station via a relay user equipment, to execute processing comprising (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, case of a UE switching to U2N Relay UE, step 2, the gNB decides to switch the U2N Remote UE to a target U2N Relay UE, inherently a UE would have a processor executing instructions stored in a memory):
transmitting a measurement report message including identification information of the relay user equipment to the base station via the direct link (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, Step 1, the U2N Remote UE reports one or multiple candidate U2N Relay UE(s) and legacy Uu measurements, after it measures/discovers the candidate U2N Relays UE(s));
receiving an RRC Reconfiguration message for configuring the indirect link to the relay user equipment, from the base station via the direct link (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, Step 3, the gNB sends the RRCReconfiguration message to the U2N Remote UE, the contents of the RRCReconfiguration message can include PC5 RLC configuration for relay traffic and the associated end-to-end radio bearers);
establishing the indirect link to the relay user equipment (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, Step 4, the U2N Remote UE establishes PC5 connection with target U2N Relay UE); and
transmitting an RRC Reconfiguration Complete message to the base station (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, Step 5, the U2N Remote UE completes the path switch procedure by sending the RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the gNB via the Relay UE) via the direct link (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.1-1, “Section 16.x.6.1 Switching from indirect to direct path”, Step 5, the UE sends the RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the gNB via direct path).
Regarding Claim 8, “RP-2111437” further teaches wherein the RRC Reconfiguration message includes the information of the relay user equipment (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, Step 3, the gNB sends the RRCReconfiguration message to the U2N Remote UE, the contents of the RRCReconfiguration message can include U2N Relay UE ID).
Regarding Claim 9, “RP-2111437” teaches a chipset for a remote user equipment configured to be capable of performing a first communication on a direct link between the remote user equipment and a base station and a second communication on an indirect link between the remote user equipment and the base station via a relay user equipment, the chipset comprising (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, case of a UE switching to U2N Relay UE, step 2, the gNB decides to switch the U2N Remote UE to a target U2N Relay UE, inherently a UE would have a processor to execute instructions stored in memory, with both the processor and memory on computer chips):
transmitting a measurement report message including identification information of the relay user equipment to the base station via the direct link (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, Step 1, the U2N Remote UE reports one or multiple candidate U2N Relay UE(s) and legacy Uu measurements, after it measures/discovers the candidate U2N Relays UE(s));
receiving an RRC Reconfiguration message for configuring the indirect link to the relay user equipment, from the base station via the direct link (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, Step 3, the gNB sends the RRCReconfiguration message to the U2N Remote UE, the contents of the RRCReconfiguration message can include PC5 RLC configuration for relay traffic and the associated end-to-end radio bearers);
establishing the indirect link to the relay user equipment (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, Step 4, the U2N Remote UE establishes PC5 connection with target U2N Relay UE); and
transmitting an RRC Reconfiguration Complete message to the base station (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, Step 5, the U2N Remote UE completes the path switch procedure by sending the RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the gNB via the Relay UE) via the direct link (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.1-1, “Section 16.x.6.1 Switching from indirect to direct path”, Step 5, the UE sends the RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the gNB via direct path).
Regarding Claim 10, “RP-2111437” further teaches wherein the RRC Reconfiguration message includes the information of the relay user equipment (“R2-2111437”, Fig 16.x.6.2-1, “Section 16.x.6.2 Switching from direct to indirect path”, Step 3, the gNB sends the RRCReconfiguration message to the U2N Remote UE, the contents of the RRCReconfiguration message can include U2N Relay UE ID).
Conclusion
/T.N.D/ Examiner, Art Unit 2412
/CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412