DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to application 18/778,301, which was filed 07/19/24 and is a continuation of application 17/539,182, now US Patent 12,086,564, which was a divisional of application 16/578,386, now US Patent 11,205,056. Claim 1 is pending in the application and has been considered.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of US Patent 12,086,564.
Specifically, a comparison of claim 1 in the present application with claims 1 and 2 of US Patent 12,086,564 yields the following:
(Present application) (US Patent 12,086,564)
1. A system for transcribing natural language speech, the system comprising:
a data annotator tool implemented by a computer that performs:
receiving an audio clip comprising the natural language speech from a server;
morphing the audio clip to a morphed audio clip, wherein the audio clip is pitch shifted in a first direction, frequency shifted, and pitch shifted a second time in a second direction opposite to the first direction,
playing the morphed audio clip for a human being;
receiving a transcription input from the human being for the morphed audio clip; and
providing the transcription input to a memory.
1. A system for transcribing natural language speech, the system comprising: a computer implementing
a data annotator tool that performs:
receiving an audio clip comprising the natural language speech from a server;
morphing the audio clip to a morphed audio clip where the audio clip is pitch shifted, frequency shifted, and pitch shifted a second time;
playing the morphed audio clip for a human being; receiving a transcription input from the human being for the morphed audio clip; and
providing the transcription input to a memory...
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the morphing comprises: first pitch shifting the received audio clip; frequency shifting the pitch shifted speech clip; and pitch shifting the frequency shifted speech clip in a direction opposite to the first pitch shift.
As the table above demonstrates, although the language is not identical each limitation of claim 1 of the present application is found in claims 1 and 2 of US Patent 12,086,564, and therefore, the claim is anticipated. Specifically, the limitations in bold found in claim 1 of the instant application which are missing from claim 1 of US Patent 12,086,564 are found in claim 2 of US Patent 12,086,564 as shown above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Othmer et al. (US 20040064317, already on Applicant’s 07/16/24 IDS) in view of Mousa (“Voice Conversation Using Pitch Shifting Algorithm by Time Stretching with PSOLA and Re-Sampling”. Journal of ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING, VOL. 61, NO. 1, 2010, 57–61).
Consider claim 1, Othmer discloses a system for transcribing natural language speech (system for providing a transcription service, [0024], for a voicemail, i.e. natural language speech, [0045]), the system comprising:
a data annotator tool (transcription server 120, Fig 1, [0027], and workstation 162, Fig 1, [0078]) implemented by a computer (audio device may be a computer, [0028]) that performs:
receiving an audio clip comprising the natural language speech from a server (receiving and segmenting an audio file, [0049] from voice mail gateway 210, Fig 2, [0030]);
morphing the audio clip to a morphed audio clip where the audio clip is pitch shifted in a first direction, frequency shifted (voices are masked in such a way to make all speakers sound similar in frequency and pitch, by altering both the frequency and pitch, [0050]), and pitch shifted a second time (normalizing the already masked audio by adjusting the speech to the pitch preferred by the transcriber, [0060]);
playing the morphed audio clip for a human being (playback of the audio file for the transcriber, [0085]);
receiving a transcription input from the human being for the morphed audio clip (transcriber enters text while listening to the file playback, [0085]); and
providing the transcription input to a memory (transcriptions are stored in database 110, Fig. 1, [0026]).
Othmer does not specifically mention the audio clip is pitch shifted a second time in a second direction opposite to the first direction.
Mousa discloses an audio clip is pitch shifted a second time in a second direction opposite to the first direction (the time stretching using PSOLA and resampling were applied to a female speech signal as shown in Fig. 4, i.e. “audio clip”, page 60, Simulation Results, which expands the sound by time stretch then resampling to create a higher pitch, then compresses and resamples to create a deeper pitch, i.e. shifting “a second time in a second direction opposite to the first direction”, Section 2.4, page 59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Othmer by such that an audio clip is pitch shifted a second time in a second direction opposite to the first direction in order to achieve speech morphing by ensuring the source and target signals are sufficiently similar to become reasonably aligned and interpolated for achieving new signals, as suggested by Mousa (Section 2, page 58). Doing so would have had predictable applications in speaker security, as suggested by Mousa (Section 1, page 58). The references cited are analogous art in the same field of speech processing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 5986198 Gibson discloses changing the timbre and pitch of audio signals using a pitch shifter and memory buffer
US 5749073 Slaney (already on Applicant’s 07/16/24 IDS) discloses morphing audio by changing pitch and formant frequencies
US 9984700 Cohen (already on Applicant’s 07/16/24 IDS) discloses voice morphing by decomposing the signal into source and filter without having to determine formant positions
US 6336092 Gibson discloses targeted vocal transformation using spectral characteristics
US 20080147413 Sobol-Shikler discloses speech affect editing systems
/Jesse S Pullias/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2655 04/13/26