DETAILED ACTION
Status
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. No information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted in this application.
Drawings
4. The drawings submitted on 7/19/2024 are in compliance with 37 CFR § 1.81 and 37 CFR § 1.83 and have been accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 Non-Statutory
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Specifically, representative Claim 1 recites:
An electronic device for implementing a temperature prediction and control system, the electronic device comprising:
a communication interface;
a memory in which a trained first neural network model and a trained second neural network model are stored; and
one or more processors configured to:
perform preprocessing, when process information including fuel input information for a glass melting device is received through the communication interface, on the received process information;
input the preprocessed process information into the trained first neural network model and obtain first predicted temperature information corresponding to a first position of the glass melting device;
input the obtained first predicted temperature information and the preprocessed process information into the trained second neural network model and obtain second predicted temperature information corresponding to a second position of the glass melting device; and
provide guidance information including the obtained first predicted temperature information and the obtained second predicted temperature information.
The claim limitations in the abstract idea have been highlighted in bold above; the remaining limitations are “additional elements.”
Similar limitations comprise the abstract ideas of Claims 8 and 15.
Under Step 1 of the analysis, claim 1 does belong to a statutory category, namely it is a device claim. Likewise, claim 8 is a process claim and claim 15 a non-transitory computer readable medium claim.
Under Step 2A, prong 1, claim 1 is found to include at least one judicial exception, that being a mathematical concept and/or mental process. This can be seen in the claim limitation of “perform preprocessing, when process information including fuel input information for a glass melting device is received through the communication interface, on the received process information; input the preprocessed process information into the trained first neural network model and obtain first predicted temperature information corresponding to a first position of the glass melting device; input the obtained first predicted temperature information and the preprocessed process information into the trained second neural network model and obtain second predicted temperature information corresponding to a second position of the glass melting device; and provide guidance information including the obtained first predicted temperature information and the obtained second predicted temperature information.”, which is the judicial exception of a mental process and/or a mathematical concept because it is merely a data evaluation including calculations, and/or judgements capable of being performed mentally.
Similar limitations comprise the abstract ideas of Claims 8 and 15.
Step 2A, prong 2 of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception(s) into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (a) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (b) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application.
In addition to the abstract ideas recited in claim 1, the claimed method recites additional elements including “a communication interface” (claims 1, 8, and 15) which are merely data gathering steps recited at a high level of generality and therefore merely amount to “insignificant extra-solution” activity(ies). See MPEP 2106.05(g) “Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity,”. The claim also recites “neural network model/ a machine learning model” and a processor (claims 1, 8, and 15) however the “machine learning” and “processors” are recited at a high level of generality, e.g. Spec. [0038 & 0057 ] describing a variety of different types of “machine learning” models and “processors” that may be used, and merely amounts to the use of computer technology as a tool to apply the abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)) and/or the use of “machine learning” and “processors” to perform the predictions, that are otherwise abstract, is merely an attempt at limiting the abstract to a particular field of use (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The generic data gathering, processing, and output steps, and other elements, are recited so generically (no details whatsoever are provided) that it represents no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exceptions on a computer. It can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exceptions to the technological environment of a computer. Noting MPEP 2106.04(d)(I): “It is notable that mere physicality or tangibility of an additional element or elements is not a relevant consideration in Step 2A Prong Two. As the Supreme Court explained in Alice Corp., mere physical or tangible implementation of an exception does not guarantee eligibility. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S. 208, 224, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1983-84 (2014) ("The fact that a computer ‘necessarily exist[s] in the physical, rather than purely conceptual, realm,’ is beside the point")”.
Thus, under Step 2A, prong 2 of the analysis, even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is directed to the judicial exception. No specific practical application is associated with the claimed system. For instance, nothing is done with the guidance information.
Under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, as described above with respect to Step 2A Prong 2, merely amount to a general purpose computer system that attempts to apply the abstract idea in a technological environment, limiting the abstract idea to a particular field of use, and/or merely insignificant extra-solution activity (claims 1, 8, and 15). Such insignificant extra-solution activity, e.g. data gathering and output, when re-evaluated under Step 2B is further found to be well-understood, routine, and conventional as evidenced by MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) (describing conventional activities that include transmitting and receiving data over a network, electronic recordkeeping, storing and retrieving information from memory, and electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document).
Therefore, similarly the combination and arrangement of the above identified additional elements when analyzed under Step 2B also fails to necessitate a conclusion that claim 1, as well as claims 8 and 15, amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
With regards to the dependent claims, claims 2-7 and 9-14 merely further expand upon the algorithm/abstract idea and do not set forth further additional elements therefore these claims are found ineligible for the reasons described for independent claims 1, 8, and 15.
See Supreme court decision in Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. V. CLS Bank International, et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Borysowicz et al. US 2002/0124598.
With regards to claim 1, 8 and 15 Borysowicz et al. US 2002/0124598 teaches an electronic device, method and a non-transitory computer readable medium for implementing a temperature prediction and control system, the electronic device comprising:
a communication interface;(operator input; paragraph 0035)
a memory in which a trained first neural network model and a trained second neural network model are stored; (figure 2) and
one or more processors (Paragraph 0025) configured to:
perform preprocessing, when process information including fuel input information for a glass melting device is received through the communication interface, on the received process information; (paragraph 0032)
input the preprocessed process information into the trained first neural network model and obtain first predicted temperature information corresponding to a first position of the glass melting device; (paragraph 0045)
input the obtained first predicted temperature information and the preprocessed process information into the trained second neural network model and obtain second predicted temperature information corresponding to a second position of the glass melting device; (paragraph 0030-31) and
provide guidance information including the obtained first predicted temperature information and the obtained second predicted temperature information. (paragraph 0046 & 0048)
With regards to claims 2 and 9, Borysowicz et al. US 2002/0124598 teaches the preprocessed process information includes the fuel input information and process state information; the fuel input information includes information on an amount of fuel input into the glass melting device; (paragraph 0032)
when the preprocessed process information including the information on the amount of fuel input into the glass melting device is input, the trained first neural network model is trained to output the first predicted temperature information according to the amount of input fuel; and when the output first predicted temperature information and the preprocessed process information are input, the trained second neural network model is trained to output the second predicted temperature information according to the amount of input fuel. (paragraph 0030-0031)
With regards to claims 3 and 10, Borysowicz et al. US 2002/0124598 teaches the memory further includes temperature change information corresponding to the second position according to a unit fuel input amount; and the one or more processors obtain, when it is identified that the obtained second predicted temperature information is out of a predetermined range, guidance information to guide the second predicted temperature information to fall within the predetermined range based on information stored in the memory, and provide a user interface (UI) including the obtained guidance information. (paragraph 0031-0032)
With regards to claims 4 and 11, Borysowicz et al. US 2002/0124598 teaches the one or more processors identify sub-fuel input information in which the information on an amount of input fuel included in the fuel input information has changed, obtain second sub-predicted temperature information by inputting sub-process information including the sub-fuel input information into the trained second neural network model, and obtain the temperature change information corresponding to the second position according to the unit fuel input amount by using the second predicted temperature information and the second sub-predicted temperature information. (paragraph 0014)
With regards to claims 5 and 12, Borysowicz et al. US 2002/0124598 teaches the preprocessed process information further includes process history information including history information on an amount of input fuel and history information on a temperature at the second position, and the one or more processors identify relationship information between the amount of input fuel and the temperature at the second position based on the process history information, and obtain and store the temperature change information corresponding to the second position according to the unit fuel input amount based on the identified relationship information. (in order to determine changes over time a history would be required; paragraph 0016-0017)
With regards to claims 6 and 13, Borysowicz et al. US 2002/0124598 teaches the one or more processors provide a UI including process history information including temperature history information at the first position and temperature history information at the second position. (in order to determine changes over time a history would be required; paragraph 0016-0017)
With regards to claims 7 and 14, Borysowicz et al. US 2002/0124598 teaches a user interface, wherein, when a user input corresponding to the obtained guidance information is received through the user interface, the one or more processors identify control information corresponding to the received user input and transmit the identified control information to a control engine through the communication interface. (paragraph 0035)
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Miller US Pat # 4,409,012 teaches a method and apparatus for monitoring a glass furnace.
/ADITYA S BHAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857 September 5, 2026