Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 31, 2026 has been entered. The Applicant amended claims 1, 12, and 17-18. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed January 20, 2026. The examiner withdraws the Drawings and Claims objections in light of the amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sayem et al. (US PGPUB 2023/0187822 A1), hereinafter known as Sayem, in view of Fang et al. (US PGPUB 2004/0066334 A1), hereinafter known as Fang.
Regarding claim 1, Sayem teaches (Figs. 1A, 2A, and 3-5) A marine electronics device (10) for mounting in a dash of a watercraft ([0019]), the marine electronics device comprising: a liquid crystal display (LCD) (14) comprising a screen (14) defining a first surface (top surface of 14) opposing a second surface (bottom surface of 14), and a frame (40) attached to the second surface of the screen (bottom surface of 14), wherein the frame (40) is conductive ([0031]); at least one antenna element (30, 32) attached to the frame of the LCD (14), wherein the at least one antenna element defines a radiating element (30, 32) for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal and a ground portion (G1, G2 portions on 34), wherein the radiating element (30, 32) extends in a first plane and the ground portion (G1, G2 portions on 34) extends parallel to the first plane, and wherein the ground portion (G1, G2 portions on 34) is attached to the frame of the LCD (40); and a cable (36) extending from the ground portion of the at least one antenna element (30, 32) wherein the cable enables data communication between the at least one antenna element and a printed circuit board (34)
but does not specifically teach wherein the radiating element extends in a first plane and the ground portion extends in a second plane that is spaced apart from and parallel to the first plane, and wherein the ground portion is attached to and in electrical communication with the frame of the LCD.
However, Fang teaches (Fig. 6-7) wherein the radiating element (3) extends in a first plane and the ground portion (4) extends in a second plane that is spaced apart from and parallel to the first plane, and wherein the ground portion (4) is attached to and in electrical communication with the frame of a display (711; [0029]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Sayem with Fang to include “wherein the radiating element extends in a first plane and the ground portion extends in a second plane that is spaced apart from and parallel to the first plane, and wherein the ground portion is attached to and in electrical communication with the frame of a display,” as taught by Fang, for the purpose of improving signal reception (see also [0026]).
Regarding claim 2, Sayem further teaches (Fig. 6) wherein the at least one antenna element (30, 32) is a planar inverted F antenna ([0060]).
Regarding claim 3, Sayem further teaches (Fig. 5) further comprising a support (50) positioned between the ground portion (G1, G2 portions on 34) and the radiating element of the at least one antenna element (30, 32).
Regarding claim 4, Sayem further teaches (Fig. 5) wherein the support (50) is a non-conductive material ([0043]).
Regarding claim 5, Sayem further teaches (Fig. 3 and 5) wherein the at least one antenna element (30, 32) is a first antenna (30) and a second antenna (32), wherein the first antenna (30) is positioned on a first edge of the frame (40) and the second antenna (32) is positioned on a second edge of the frame (40), wherein the first edge (top left edge of 40) and the second edge (bottom right edge of 40) are different.
Regarding claim 6, Sayem further teaches (Fig. 3) wherein the first edge (top left edge of 40) and the second edge (bottom right edge of 40) are opposite.
Regarding claim 7, Sayem further teaches (Fig. 3) further comprising a housing (44), wherein the housing (44) encloses the frame (40) and the second surface (bottom surface of 14) of the LCD (14).
Regarding claim 8, Sayem further teaches (Fig. 3) wherein the housing (44) circumscribes the first surface (top surface of 14) of the LCD.
Regarding claim 9, Sayem further teaches (Fig. 3 and 5) wherein the housing (44) further encloses the printed circuit board (34).
Regarding claim 10, Sayem further teaches (Fig. 3) wherein the housing (44) is comprised of a dielectric material ([0031]).
Regarding claim 11, Sayem further teaches (Fig. 3) wherein the housing (44) is plastic ([0031]).
Regarding claim 17, Sayem teaches (Figs. 1A, 2A, and 3-5) A marine electronics device (10) positioned in a metal dash of a watercraft ([0019]), the marine electronics device comprising: a liquid crystal display (LCD) (14) comprising a screen (14) defining a first surface (top surface of 14) opposing a second surface (bottom surface of 14), and a frame (40) attached to the second surface of the screen (bottom surface of 14), wherein the frame (40) is conductive ([0031]); at least one planar inverted F antenna (PIFA) element (30, 32; [0060]) attached to the frame of the LCD (14), wherein the at least one PIFA element (30, 32) defines a radiating element (30, 32) for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal and a ground portion (G1, G2 portions on 34), wherein the radiating element (30, 32) extends in a first plane and the ground portion (G1, G2 portions on 34) extends parallel to the first plane, and wherein the ground portion (G1, G2 portions on 34) is attached to the frame of the LCD (40); a cable (36) extending from the ground portion (G1, G2 portions on 34) of the at least one PIFA element, wherein the cable (36) enables data communication between the at least one PIFA element (30, 32) and a printed circuit board (34)
but does not specifically teach wherein the radiating element extends in a first plane and the ground portion extends in a second plane that is spaced apart from and parallel to the first plane, and wherein the ground portion is attached to and in electrical communication with the frame of the LCD.
However, Fang teaches (Fig. 6-7) wherein the radiating element (3) extends in a first plane and the ground portion (4) extends in a second plane that is spaced apart from and parallel to the first plane, and wherein the ground portion (4) is attached to and in electrical communication with the frame of a display (711; [0029]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Sayem with Fang to include “wherein the radiating element extends in a first plane and the ground portion extends in a second plane that is spaced apart from and parallel to the first plane, and wherein the ground portion is attached to and in electrical communication with the frame of a display,” as taught by Fang, for the purpose of improving signal reception (see also [0026]).
Regarding claim 18, Sayem further teaches (Fig. 5) further comprising a support (50) positioned between the ground portion (G1, G2 portions on 34) and the radiating element of the at least one PIFA element (30, 32).
Regarding claim 19, Sayem further teaches (Fig. 5) wherein the support (50) is a non-conductive material ([0043]).
Regarding claim 20, Sayem further teaches (Fig. 3 and 5) wherein the at least one PIFA element (30, 32) is a first PIFA (30) and a second PIFA (32), wherein the first PIFA (30) is positioned on a first edge of the frame (top left edge of 40) and the second PIFA (32) is positioned on a second edge of the frame (bottom right edge of 40), wherein the first edge (top left edge of 40) and the second edge (bottom right edge of 40) are different.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/YONCHAN J KIM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2845