Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the limitation “ creating a plurality of different seasoning blends” is vague and indefinite because it’s unclear what the step encompasses. The claim recites the composition of the blends but there is no actual processing step. Line 4, the recitation of “ the colors” does not have proper antecedent basis. Line 6, the recitation of “ the same color group, the total seasoning blend” does not have proper antecedent basis. Lines 7-8, the recitation “ the total seasoning blend” does not have proper antecedent basis. Line 10, the recitation of “ the red, white, green, orange, yellow and black color groups” does not have proper antecedent basis.
In claim 2, the limitation “ on claim 2” is vague and indefinite because it’s not known what is intended by it.
In claim 3, the abbreviation “ THC and CBD” is vague and indefinite because it’s unclear what is intended by the abbreviation. ( for prior art application, it’s assumed to be tetrahydrocannabinol and cannabidiol).
In claim 4, the recitation “ the same color family” does not have proper antecedent basis.
In claim 12, the recitation “ the color group” does not have proper antecedent basis.
Claim 13 has the same problem as claim 12.
In claim 14, the recitation of “ the total seasoning blend” does not have proper antecedent basis.
Claim 15 has the same problem as claim 1.
Claim 16 has the same problem as claim 15.
Claim 17 has the same problem as claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,4-16,18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Cook By Color “Tis the Seasonings”, a YouTube video showcasing the inventor’s product published more than one year before the priority date of the instant application, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eUSfBhvAk88&t=232s on December 10, 2016 (Transcript provided) in view of Anderson ( 2010/0124592
With respect to claims 1-2, 15,19, Cook By Color is described as a plurality seasoning blends comprising a combination of ingredients derived from at least two of the following groups: fruit, vegetable and herb/spice, wherein some of the seasonings consist of ingredients that are exclusively derived from at least one fruit, at least one vegetable and at least one herb/spice. The slogan for the seasonings is “Cook By Color, where complimentary colors equals complimentary taste.” (0:12-0:16) and they are described as 100% natural (5:20-5:26). The presence of the seasoning blends obviously encompasses the step of creating the plurality of seasoning blends.
Habanero comprises habanero, bell pepper, orange, and carrot.
Bell of the Ball comprises bell pepper, raspberry, and smoked paprika.
Ginger Tease comprises ginger, turmeric, sweet carrot, and lemon.
With respect to claim 4, Cook By Color teaches the seasoning blend comprising at least one fruit, at least one vegetable and at least one spice all derived from ingredients in the same color family
Regarding claims 5-12,14,18 Cook By Color teaches applicant’s seasoning blends consisting of at least one fruit (lemon, raspberry, orange), at least one vegetable (carrot, bell pepper, chili pepper), and at least one herb/spice (ginger, turmeric, paprika), wherein the ingredients in the seasonings have complimentary colors as recited above. Therefore, the limitations about the color group consisting of colors located in adjacent color families or the same color family on a twelve hue color are considered to be satisfied.
Cook by color does not disclose the concentration as in claims 1,14,15, 16 , the instruction of using one or more different seasoning blend as in claims 1,15 and color families as in claims 12 ,13.
Anderson discloses a method to incorporate whole food additives into a recipe. The additives comprise dehydrated vegetable powder selected to have color from specific color groups. For example, yellow-based dehydrated vegetable powder made from vegetables such as yellow corn, yellow beets, sweet potatoes, yellow winter squash etc.. The additives are used in recipes to provide the same color as the food product in the recipe. The additives are used with package food that comes with instruction to prepare the food. ( see paragraphs 0010-0019)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the concentration of the each ingredients depending on the taste and flavor intensity desired. For instance, it would have been obvious to use the same percentage of all of the three ingredients if equal taste and flavoring from the three different components are desired. This would have been an obvious matter of preference. Since the color of the blend is the same as shown in the applicant’s instant specification, it is obvious the color families are the same. In any event, it would have been an obvious matter of choice to select any color family group depending on the coloring and flavoring desired. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any particular color family or combination of color family depending on the flavoring and coloring wanted. This concept is well known as shown in Anderson. Such parameter would have well within the skill of one in the art through routine experimentation. Package food products are known to be available with instruction as shown in Anderson. It would have been readily obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add an instruction on the use of the season mix. Seasoning is known to be used in different recipes to enhance the taste, flavor and appearance of the food product. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the Cook by color seasoning in different recipes when desiring to enhance the taste, flavor and appearance of the foods. It would have been an obvious matter of choice to use 1 or 2 or more of the seasoning depending on individual taste preference.
Further, attention is invited to In re Levin, 84 U.S.P.Q. 232 and the cases cited therein, which are considered in point in the fact situation of the instant case, and wherein the Court stated on page 234 as follows:
This court has taken the position that new recipes or formulas for cooking food which involve the addition or elimination of common ingredients, or for treating them in ways which differ from the former practice, do not amount to invention, merely because it is not disclosed that, in the constantly developing art of preparing food, no one else ever did the particular thing upon which the applicant asserts his right to a patent. In all such cases, there is nothing patentable unless the applicant by a proper showing further establishes a coaction or cooperative relationship between the selected ingredients which produces a new, unexpected, and useful function. In re Benjamin D. White, 17 C. CP. A (Patents) 956, 39F.2d 974, 5 U.S.P.Q. 267, In re Mason et al, 33 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 1144, 156 F.2d 189, 70 U.S.P.Q. 221.
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook By Color “Tis the Seasonings”, a YouTube video showcasing the inventor’s product published more than one year before the priority date of instant applicationhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eUSfBhvAk88&t=232s on December 10, 2016 in view of Anderson as applied to claims 1-2,4-16,18-19 above and further in view of the article on Cannabis Cooking oil; The Best Recipes for Making Canna-Oil and the article by Bilow “ Even Lazy People Can Make this Fancy Edible Gift”.
Cook By Color teaches the seasoning blends as recited above with respect to claims 1 and 15. However, there is no teaching of infusing with a consumable liquid as recited in claims 3 and 17, respectively.
Bilow teaches infusing oils with ingredients such as cilantro, chili peppers, herbs, garlic, orange, lemon, lime, oregano, dried tomatoes and combinations thereof to provide flavored oils (page 1 and pages 3-5).
The article on Cannabis Cooking oil teaches cannabis oil is made by infusing cooking oil with cannabis ( see page 1)
Both Cook By Color and Bilow teach combinations of fruits, vegetables, and/or herbs/spices for providing flavor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to infuse the seasoning blend with oil since the blending of seasoning and oil is known as taught in Bilow. It would have been obvious to use cannabis oil as taught in the article on Cannabis Cooking oil when desiring the component and flavoring provided by cannabis.
Claims 1-2, 4-16,18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cremer et al. (USPGPub 2008/0241344 A1) in view of VeggiePur (DE202015003699U1- English Translation provided) , Chang ( 2015/0181917) and Anderson ( 2010/0124592).
With respect to claims 1 ,10,15,19, Cremer et al. teach a free flowing powder for incorporating into savory snack products comprising an intimate mixture of at least three different dehydrated vegetables (abstract; [0001]). Although the mixture is described as a vegetable mixture, Cremer et al. teach that the term ‘vegetable’ encompasses botanical fruits such as Cucurbita, which includes pumpkin ([0028] and [0040]). Moreover, Cremer et al. teach a mixture of pumpkin, onion, tomato, and red bell pepper powder (Example 3: [0091]-[0096]). Thus, where Cremer et al. teach a mixture comprising pumpkin, which is a botanical fruit, as well as onion, tomato, and red bell pepper powder, the reference teaches a composition comprising a mixture of fruits and vegetables. The forming of the free flowing powder obviously encompasses the step of creating the free flowing powder. Cremer discloses different combinations of vegetables and fruits. Thus, different plurality of free-flowing powder is formed.
However Cremer et al. fail to teach wherein the powdered mixture also comprises herbs or spice in addition to combinations of fruit and vegetables and the concentration of the fruit, vegetable and spice , cooking instruction as in claims 1 , 15, the addition of herbs or spice in addition to combinations of fruits and vegetable as in claim 2, the color requirement as in claims 4-8, the fruit as in claim 9, the herb or spice as in claim 11, the color requirement as in claims 1,12-13,15,18 and the concentration as in claims 14 , 16 .
VeggiePur teaches a free-flowing mixture of dried vegetables and dried herbs in powder form which can be used as a seasoning (abstract; [0001]; and [0005]). VeggiePur acknowledges that dried vegetable powders were already known, but teaches adding herbs to these powders [0003].
Chang discloses plant powder ingredient comprising at least one plant ingredient, at least one flavoring ingredient that includes spicy and pungent. The plant ingredients can include combination of vegetable, herb and fruit. The plant powder is used as seasoning powder. The plant ingredient can be selected from the plants cited in paragraphs 0033. ( see also paragraphs 0010,0016,0017,0024)
Anderson discloses a method to incorporate whole food additives into a recipe. The additives comprise dehydrated vegetable powder selected to have color from specific color groups. For example, yellow-based dehydrated vegetable powder made from vegetables such as yellow corn, yellow beets, sweet potatoes, yellow winter squash etc.. The additives are used in recipes to provide the same color as the food product in the recipe. The additives are used with package food that comes with instruction to prepare the food. ( see paragraphs 0010-0019)
Both Cremer et al. , VeggiePur and Chang teach free-flowing powder compositions comprising dried vegetables. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention include herbs and fruit in the composition of Cremer et al. because VeggiePur teaches that free-flowing powder mixtures of vegetables and herbs were also found to be desirable food additives and seasonings and Chang discloses combination of vegetable, fruit and herb. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select ingredients depending on the flavoring, taste and coloring desired. Regarding the color of each of the ingredients in the powder composition, Cremer et al. teach that a preferred embodiment has a uniform color distribution, meaning that with the naked eye the powder is perceived as being composed of particles having the same color ([0030]-[0031]). The powder comprising pumpkin, tomato, and red bell pepper imparts an orange color [0091]. The concept of selecting ingredients to provide specific color group is well known as shown in Anderson. VeggiePur also teaches that mixtures made from a variety of vegetables and herbs can be made available in many different colors such as red, green or yellow [0004]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to select ingredients based on their color and to formulate a mixture of fruits, vegetables, and herbs that are either in the same color group or adjacent color families depending on the coloring and appearance desired, because Cremer et al. teach that it was desirable to have powdered flavorings or seasonings of a uniform color at the time of filing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill the art to determine the concentration of each ingredients depending on the taste and flavor intensity desired. For instance, it would have been obvious to use the same percentage of all of the three ingredients if equal taste and flavoring from the three different components are desired. This would have been an obvious matter of preference. It would have been obvious to select any vegetable, fruit and herb or spice depending on the taste and flavor desired. This would have been an obvious matter of choice. It would have been obvious to make a plurality of different seasoning blends depending on the quantity desired. This would have been an obvious matter of preference. Such parameter would have well within the skill of one in the art through routine experimentation. Package food products are known to be available with instruction as shown in Anderson. It would have been readily obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add an instruction on the use of the season mix. It would have been readily obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add an instruction on the use of the season mix. Seasoning is known to be used in different recipes to enhance the taste, flavor and appearance of the food product. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the Cremer composition in different recipes when desiring to enhance the taste, flavor and appearance of the foods. It would have been an obvious matter of choice to use 1 or 2 or more of the seasoning depending on individual taste preference.
Further, attention is invited to In re Levin, 84 U.S.P.Q. 232 and the cases cited therein, which are considered in point in the fact situation of the instant case, and wherein the Court stated on page 234 as follows:
This court has taken the position that new recipes or formulas for cooking food which involve the addition or elimination of common ingredients, or for treating them in ways which differ from the former practice, do not amount to invention, merely because it is not disclosed that, in the constantly developing art of preparing food, no one else ever did the particular thing upon which the applicant asserts his right to a patent. In all such cases, there is nothing patentable unless the applicant by a proper showing further establishes a coaction or cooperative relationship between the selected ingredients which produces a new, unexpected, and useful function. In re Benjamin D. White, 17 C. CP. A (Patents) 956, 39F.2d 974, 5 U.S.P.Q. 267, In re Mason et al, 33 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 1144, 156 F.2d 189, 70 U.S.P.Q. 221.
Claims 3 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cremer in view of VeggiPur , Chang and Anderson as applied to claims 1-2, 4-16 ,18-19 above, and further in view of the article on “ Cannabis Cooking oil; The Best Recipes for Making Canna-Oil and the article by Bilow “ Even Lazy People Can Make this Fancy Edible Gift”.
Cremer in view of VeggiPur , Chang and the recipe does not disclose infusing with a consumable liquid as recited in claims 3 and 17.
Bilow teaches infusing oils with ingredients such as cilantro, chili peppers, herbs, garlic, orange, lemon, lime, oregano, dried tomatoes and combinations thereof to provide flavored oils (page 1 and pages 3-5).
The article on Cannabis Cooking oil teaches cannabis oil is made by infusing cooking oil with cannabis ( see page 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to infuse the seasoning blend with oil for enhancing the flavor and taste since the blending of seasoning and oil is known as taught in Bilow. It would have been obvious to use cannabis oil as taught in the article on Cannabis Cooking oil when desiring the component and flavoring provided by cannabis.
All the prior art used in the rejection are the same as set forth in the parent case 16/262853. The only new prior art is Anderson. Thus, only the Anderson reference will be provided.
Conclusion
October 15, 2026
/LIEN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793