DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in view of the claim amendments, see page 10 of the Remarks, filed 23 March 2026, with respect to the claim objections of claims 3 and 19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections of claims 3 and 19 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments in view of the claim amendments, see page 10 of the Remarks, filed 23 March 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(d) rejection of claim 4 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(d) rejection of claim 4 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments in view of the claim amendments, see pages 10-12 and 14-15 of the Remarks, filed 23 March 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of independent claim 1 requiring a first housing, a second housing, the regulating device positioned between the first and second housing, a plurality of first openings, and a second opening that is surrounded by the first openings changed the scope of the claim requiring additional references.
Applicant’s arguments in view of the claim amendments, see pages 12-15 of the Remarks, filed 23 March 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 10-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of independent claim 10 requiring the flap closing based on the backflow and the second pair of inlets to prevent the backflow from exiting the body changed the scope of the claim requiring additional references.
Applicant’s arguments in view of the claim amendments, see pages 14-15, filed 23 March 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of independent claims 18 requiring a plurality of first openings, a second opening that is surrounded by the first openings, and closing the flap based on the backflow changed the scope of the claim requiring additional references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the second inlet configured to receive the second airflow via ambient air" in line 4 of the claim. Lines 1-2 of claim 20 recite that the first airflow is received. It is unclear how the second airflow is part of the receiving of the first airflow. The Office recommends amending the claim to remove the second airflow. For purposes of examination, the limitation will be considered as it is written.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 20 recites that the first inlet is configured to receive the first airflow from an air compressor and the second inlet is configured to receive the second airflow from ambient air. Claim 20 depends from claim 18 which recites similar limitations. The limitations of claim 20 does not further limit claim 18. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pansegrouw (US 7913724 B2) in view of Gravronsky (US 5829492 A) in further view of Ramsey (US 7320347 B2) and Chuang (US 6412669 B1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Pansegrouw discloses an inflation device (10, Figure 1), comprising:
a first inlet (22, Figure 8) configured to receive a first airflow (Column 4, Lines 21-23, the first airflow is from the compressor);
a valve configured to regulate the first airflow (Column 4, Lines 57-60, the second self-closing valve is the valve) through the first inlet (22, Figure 8);
a second inlet (26, Figure 8) configured to receive a second airflow separate from the first airflow (Column 4, Lines 28-32, the second airflow is from the ambient air);
a flap (28, Figure 8, the first self-closing valve is the flap) configured to regulate the second airflow (Column 4, Lines 33-35) through the second inlet (26, Figure 8); and
the valve opens and the first airflow is received (Column 5, Line 20, compressed air enters the first inlet) through the first inlet (22, Figure 8), thereby causing the second airflow to enter (Column 5, Lines 21-23) through the second inlet (26, Figure 8); and
a chamber (20, Figure 8, the venturi tube is the chamber).
Pansegrouw does not disclose:
a first housing part;
a second housing part;
a valve configured to regulate the first airflow through the first inlet;
a button, wherein in response to actuation of the button, the valve opens and the first airflow is received through the first inlet, thereby causing the second airflow to enter through the second inlet; and
a regulating device positioned between the first housing part and the second housing part, the regulating device comprising:
a chamber comprising:
a plurality of first openings, wherein each opening of the plurality of openings comprises a first diameter and
a second opening separate from the plurality of openings, the second opening comprising a second diameter greater than the first diameter, wherein the plurality of first opening surround the second opening; and
a seal that surrounds the chamber.
Gavronsky teaches an inflating device, comprising:
a valve configured to regulate the first airflow (Column 3, Lines 10-15, the on-off valve is the valve and it controls the flow of air) through the first inlet (17, Figure 2);
a button (18, Figure 2, the lever is the button), wherein in response to actuation of the button, the valve opens (Column 3, Lines 10-15, the on-off valve opens) and the first airflow is received through the first inlet, thereby causing the second airflow to enter through the second inlet (Column 3, Lines 22-31, the first airflow through the air channel caused the second air flow through the second inlet (30)); and
a chamber (24, Figure 4, the chamber is the regulating device and the chamber) comprising:
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pansegrouw to include a valve configured to regulate the first airflow through the first inlet, a button, wherein in response to actuation of the button, the valve opens and the first airflow is received through the first inlet, thereby causing the second airflow to enter through the second inlet, and a chamber as taught by Gravonsky with the motivation to ensure that compressed gas is provided only when the operator uses the device to prevent the device constantly providing air.
Pansegrouw and Gravonsky do not teach:
a first housing part;
a second housing part;
a regulating device positioned between the first housing part and the second housing part, the regulating device comprising:
a chamber comprising:
a plurality of first openings, wherein each opening of the plurality of openings comprises a first diameter; and
a second opening separate from the plurality of openings, the second opening comprising a second diameter greater than the first diameter, wherein the plurality of first opening surround the second opening; and
a seal that surrounds the chamber.
Ramsey teaches an inflation and deflation device, comprising:
a regulating device (38, Figure 3, the air distributor is the regulating device), the regulating device comprising:
a chamber (See Annotated Figure 3 below) comprising:
a plurality of first openings, wherein each opening of the plurality of openings comprises a first diameter (Column 5, Lines 9-17, and Figure 3, there are a plurality of first openings which are the distributor inlet and the first diameter is the opening size); and
a second opening (See Annotated Figure 3 below) separate from the plurality of openings (Column 5, Lines 9-17), the second opening comprising a second diameter greater than the first diameter, wherein the plurality of first opening surround the second opening (Figure 3, the first openings surround the second opening and have a smaller diameter than the second opening); and
a seal (40, Figure 3, the seals are the seal) that surrounds the chamber (See Annotated Figure 3 below).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pansegrouw and Gravonsky to include a regulating deice, a chamber, a plurality of first openings, a first diameter, a second opening, a seal, and second diameter greater than the first diameter as taught by Ramsey with the motivation to quickly connect the device to inflate and deflate the dunnage bag to reduce time of packing items.
Pansegrouw, Ramsey, and Gravonsky do not teach:
a first housing part;
a second housing part; and
a regulating device positioned between the first housing part and the second housing part.
Chuang teaches a sucking and dispensing device, comprising:
a first housing part;
a second housing part; and
a regulating device (23, Figure 2, the narrow section is the regulating device) positioned between the first housing part and the second housing part (See Annotated Figure 2 below).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pansegrouw, Ramsey, and Gravonsky to include a first housing part, a second housing part, and a regulating device positioned between the first housing part and the second housing part as taught by Chuang with the motivation to increase the pressure of the air going through the passage.
Ramsey, Figure 3
(Annotated by Examiner)
Chuang, Figure 2
(Annotated by Examiner)
Regarding Claim 6:
Pansegrouw discloses:
a chamber (20, Figure 8).
Pansegrouw, Chuang, and Gravonsky do not teach:
the seal is integrated with the chamber and surrounds the chamber.
Ramsey teaches:
the seal (40, Figure 3) is fitted against the chamber and surrounds the chamber (See Figure 3 above).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pansegrouw, Chuang, and Gravonsky to include the seal is fitted against the chamber and surrounds the chamber as taught by Ramsey with the motivation to have an air-tight fit to prevent the potential for leaks that could lead to longer filling times.
Pansegrouw, Chuang, Ramsey, and Gravonsky discloses the claimed invention except for the seal is integrated with the chamber. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the seal is integrated with the chamber, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
Regarding Claim 9:
Pansegrouw discloses:
wherein the second inlet (26, Figure 8) configured to receive the second airflow via ambient air (Column 4, Lines 24-27).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pansegrouw in view of Gravronsky in further view of Ramsey, Chuang, and Skotty (US 20150308425 A1).
Regarding Claim 2:
Pansegrouw discloses:
a sensor (30, Figure 8, the sensor means is the sensor) configured to determine a pressure based on the first airflow and the second airflow (Column 4, Lines 21-23 and 28-32, the first airflow is from a compressed air supply and the second airflow is from ambient air) provided to an object (Column 5, Lines 24-26).
Pansegrouw, Gravonsky, Chuang, and Ramsey do not teach:
a display configured to present the pressure as visual information.
Skotty teaches a power air compressor, comprising:
a display (Paragraph [0067], the operation interface contains a display screen) configured to present the pressure as visual information (Paragraph [0068]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pansegrouw, Ramsey, Chuang, and Gravonsky to include a display configured to present the pressure as visual information as taught by Skotty with the motivation to provide information to the user regarding the air pressure within the tire as it is being filled with air.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pansegrouw in view of Gravronsky in further view of Ramsey, Skotty, and Lucas (US 7056099 B1).
Regarding Claim 3:
Pansegrouw discloses:
the sensor (30, Figure 8).
Pansegrouw, Skotty, Chuang, and Ramsey do not teach:
a power source, wherein in response to the actuation of the button, the power source provides electrical energy to the sensor and the display.
Gravonsky teaches:
the button (18, Figure 2).
Pansegrouw, Gravonsky, Skotty, Chuang, and Ramsey do not teach:
a power source, wherein in response to the actuation of the button, the power source provides electrical energy to the sensor and the display.
Lucas teaches a tire pressure maintenance unit, comprising:
a power source (162, Figure 6), wherein in response to the actuation of the button (180, Figure 3), the power source provides electrical energy (Column 7, Lines 21-24) to the sensor (212, Figure 6) and the display (170, Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pansegrouw, Ramsey, Chuang, Skotty and Gravonsky to include a power source, wherein in response to the actuation of the button, the power source provides electrical energy to the sensor and the display as taught by Lucas with the motivation to power the fluid pump to inflate the tire while giving indications to the user.
Regarding Claim 4:
Pansegrouw discloses:
the first inlet (22, Figure 8) and the second inlet (26, Figure 8).
Pansegrouw, Lucas, Skotty, Chuang, and Ramsey do not teach:
the second housing part defines the first inlet and the second inlet.
Gravonsky teaches:
the second housing part (Figure 4, the second housing is the part where air channel is connected with)defines the first inlet (29, Figure 4) and the second inlet (22, Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pansegrouw, Ramsey, Chuang, Skotty and Lucas to include the second housing part defines the first inlet and the second inlet as taught by Gravonsky with the motivation to have one part of the housing contain both inlets to prevent the user from potentially covering an inlet with their hand if the inlets are on various housing parts.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pansegrouw in view of Gravronsky in further view of Ramsey, Skotty, Lucas, Chuang, and Konantambigi (US 20220035386 A1).
Regarding Claim 5:
Pansegrouw discloses:
the sensor (30, Figure 8).
Pansegrouw, Gravonsky, Skotty, Lucas, Chuang, and Ramsey do not teach:
the valve comprises a plunger,
in response to actuating the button no longer being actuated in a first direction toward the first housing part, the plunger moves in a second direction away from the button.
Konantambigi teaches an inflator, comprising:
the valve (200, Figure 2D, the control assembly is the valve) comprises a plunger (270, Figure 2D, the flow-control shaft is the plunger),
in response to actuating the button (290, Figure 2D, the trigger is the button) no longer being actuated in a first direction toward the first housing part (120, Figure 1D, the housing portion is the first housing part), the plunger moves in a second direction away from the button (Paragraph [0074] and Figure 5D).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pansegrouw, Ramsey, Skotty, Lucas, Chuang, and Gravonsky to include the valve comprises a plunger and in response to actuating the button no longer being actuated in a first direction toward the first housing part, the plunger moves in a second direction away from the buttonas taught by Konantambigi with the motivation to allow for an object to be inflated when the pressure is below a determined threshold to prevent the objected from being overfilled.
Claims 10, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pansegrouw (US 7913724 B2) in view of Gravronsky (US 5829492 A) in further view of Ramsey (US 7320347 B2) and Forsythe (US 3460746 A).
Regarding Claim 10:
Pansegrouw discloses an inflation device (10, Figure 1), comprising:
a body (12, Figure 1);
a first inlet (22, Figure 8) configured to receive a first airflow (Column 4, Lines 21-23, the first airflow is from the compressor);
a valve configured to regulate the first airflow (Column 4, Lines 57-60, the second self-closing valve is the valve) into the body (12, Figure 1) through the first inlet (22, Figure 8);
a second inlet (26, Figure 8) configured to receive a second airflow separate from the first airflow (Column 4, Lines 28-32, the second airflow is from the ambient air);
a flap (28, Figure 8, the first self-closing valve is the flap) configured to control the second airflow (Column 4, Lines 33-35) through the second inlet (26, Figure 8); and
an outlet (24, Figure 8), wherein:
the first airflow and the second airflow exit the body through the outlet (Column 4, Lines 24-27, the air exits through the outlet),
the flap closes the second inlet (Column 4, Lines 33-35).
Pansegrouw does not disclose:
a first pair of inlets configured to receive a first airflow;
a valve configured to regulate the first airflow into the body through the first pair of inlets;
a second pair of inlets configured to receive a second airflow separate from the first airflow;
a flap configured to control the second airflow through the second pair of inlets; and
an outlet, wherein:
in response to backflow into the outlet, the flap closes the second pair of inlets.
Gavronsky teaches an inflating device, comprising:
a body (14, Figure 2, the housing is the body);
a valve configured to regulate the first airflow (Column 3, Lines 10-15, the on-off valve is the valve and it controls the flow of air) into the body (14, Figure 2) through the first inlet (17, Figure 2); and
backflow into the outlet causes the airflow (Column 3, Lines 39-40, the backflow goes to the second inlet) goes to the second inlet (30, Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pansegrouw to include a valve configured to regulate the first airflow through the first inlet and backflow into the outlet causes the airflow goes to the second inlet as taught by Gravonsky with the motivation to ensure that compressed gas is provided only when the operator uses the device to prevent the device constantly providing air.
Pansegrouw and Gravonsky do not teach:
a first pair of inlets configured to receive a first airflow;
a valve configured to regulate the first airflow into the body through the first pair of inlets;
a second pair of inlets configured to receive a second airflow separate from the first airflow;
a flap configured to control the second airflow through the second pair of inlets; and
an outlet, wherein:
in response to backflow into the outlet, the flap closes the second pair of inlets.
Ramsey teaches an inflation and deflation device, comprising:
a first pair of inlets configured to receive a first airflow (Column 5, Lines 9-17, the distributor inlets are the first pair of inlets that receive the first airflow).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pansegrouw and Gravonsky to include a first pair of inlets configured to receive a first airflow as taught by Ramsey with the motivation to quickly connect the device to inflate and deflate the dunnage bag to reduce time of packing items.
Pansegrouw, Ramsey, and Gravonsky do not teach:
a second pair of inlets configured to receive a second airflow separate from the first airflow; and
an outlet, wherein:
in response to backflow into the outlet, the flap closes, based on the backflow, the second pair of inlets to prevent backflow from exiting the body.
Forsythe teaches an inflation aspirator, comprising:
an outlet (Figure 1, the second stage nozzle opposite of the second inlet (33)), wherein:
in response to backflow into the outlet, the flap (24, Figure 1, the check valve is the flap) closes, based on the backflow, the second inlet (33, Figure 3) to prevent backflow from exiting the body (Column 2, Lines 68-72 to Column 3, Lines 1-2, the backflow (back pressure) causes the flap to close the second inlet).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pansegrouw, Ramsey, and Gravonsky to include in response to backflow into the outlet, the flap closes, based on the backflow, the second inlet to prevent backflow from exiting the body as taught by Forsythe with the motivation to rapidly inflate inflatable objects during emergencies.
Pansegrouw, Ramsey, Forsythe and Gravonsky discloses the claimed invention except the second pair of inlets. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have multiple of the second inlets seen in Pansegrouw, Forsythe, Ramsey and Gravonsky, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding Claim 16:
Pansegrouw discloses:
wherein the second inlet (26, Figure 8) is configured to receive the second airflow via ambient air (Column 4, Lines 24-27).
Pansegrouw, Ramsey, Forsythe, and Gravonsky discloses the claimed invention except for the second pair of inlets. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have multiple second inlets seen in Pansegrouw, Ramsey, Forsythe, and Gravonsky, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding Claim 17:
Pansegrouw discloses:
the outlet (24, Figure 8) is configured to provide the first airflow and the second airflow (Column 4, Lines 24-27 and 28-32, the outlet provides the first and second airflows) to an object (Column 4, Lines 12-13, the object is a bag).
Pansegrouw, Forsythe, and Ramsey do not teach:
in response to inflation of the object based on the first airflow and the second airflow, the outlet is configured to receive the backflow from the object.
Gravonsky teaches:
in response to inflation of the object (B, Figure 1) based on the first airflow and the second airflow (Column 3, Lines 27-31, the first and second airflows are provided to the object), the outlet (16, Figure 2, the outlet is the nozzle) is configured to receive the backflow from the object (Column 3, Lines 39-43, the outlet is configured to receive the backflow).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pansegrouw, Forsythe, and Ramsey to include in response to inflation of the object based on the first airflow and the second airflow, the outlet is configured to receive the backflow from the object as taught by Gravonsky with the motivation to provide an indication to the user that the object is finished inflating.
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pansegrouw in view of Gravronsky in further view of Ramsey, Forsythe, and Komiya (US 20200011311 A1).
Regarding Claim 11:
Pansegrouw discloses:
the body (12, Figure 1).
Pansegrouw, Gravonsky, Skotty, Forsythe, and Ramsey do not teach:
a display aligned with an opening through a first surface of the body; and
a button connected to the body at a second surface of the body, the second surface opposite the first surface.
Komiya teaches a portable inflator, comprising:
a display (275, Figure 3) aligned with an opening through a first surface of the body (Figure 4, the display is part of the operation part (27) that is located in an opening (the hole in the upper surface) in the upper surface (first surface) of the body (2)); and
a button (41, Figure 4, the trigger is the button) connected to the body (2, Figure 4) at a second surface of the body, the second surface opposite the first surface (Figure 4, the bottom of the grip is the second surface that is opposite from the first surface).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pansegrouw, Ramsey, Skotty, Forsythe, and Gravonsky to include a display aligned with an opening through a first surface of the body and a button connected to the body at a second surface of the body, the second surface opposite the first surface as taught by Komiya with the motivation to have a more ergonomical hold of the inflation device for the user.
Regarding Claim 13:
Pansegrouw discloses:
the inflation device (10, Figure 1) and a chamber (20, Figure 8, the venturi tube is the chamber).
Pansegrouw, Forsythe, and Gravonsky do not teach:
further comprising a regulating device, the regulating device comprising:
a chamber; and
a seal that surrounds the chamber.
Ramsey teaches:
a regulating device (38, Figure 3, the air distributor is the regulating device), the regulating device comprising:
a chamber (See Annotated Figure 3 above); and
a seal (40, Figure 3, the seals are the seal) that surrounds the chamber (See Annotated Figure 3 above).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pansegrouw, Forsythe, and Gravonsky to include a regulating deice, a chamber, and seal surrounding the chamber as taught by Ramsey with the motivation to ensure there is no leak that could lead to longer inflation durations.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pansegrouw in view of Gravronsky in further view of Ramsey, Komiya, Forsythe, and Lucas (US 7056099 B1).
Regarding Claim 12:
Pansegrouw discloses:
the sensor (30, Figure 8).
Pansegrouw, Gravonsky, Forsythe, Komiya and Ramsey do not teach:
a switch; and
a power supply, wherein in response to the button actuating the switch, the power supply provides electrical energy to the display.
Lucas teaches a tire pressure maintenance unit, comprising:
a switch (180, Figure 6, the control button is the switch); and
a power supply (162, Figure 6), wherein in response to the button (100, Figure 3, the actuator element is the button) actuating the switch, the power supply provides electrical energy (Column 7, Lines 21-24) to the display (170, Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pansegrouw, Ramsey, Forsythe, Komiya and Gravonsky to include a switch and a power supply, wherein in response to the button actuating the switch, the power supply provides electrical energy to the display as taught by Lucas with the motivation to power the fluid pump to inflate the tire while giving indications to the user.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pansegrouw in view of Gravronsky in further view of Ramsey, Komiya, Forsythe, and Chuang (US 6412669 B1).
Regarding Claim 14:
Pansegrouw discloses:
the inflation device (10, Figure 1).
Pansegrouw, Gravonsky, Forsythe, Komiya and Ramsey do not teach:
a wherein the body comprises:
a first housing part, wherein the button is coupled with the first housing part; and
a second housing part, wherein the regulating device is positioned between the first housing part and the second housing part.
Lucas teaches a tire pressure maintenance unit, comprising:
a wherein the body (21, Figure 2) comprises:
a first housing part (See Annotated Figure 2 above), wherein the button (10, Figure 2, the handle is the button) is coupled with the first housing part; and
a second housing part (See Annotated Figure 2 above), wherein the regulating device (23, Figure 2, the narrow section is the regulating device) is positioned between the first housing part and the second housing part.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pansegrouw, Ramsey, Forsythe, Komiya and Gravonsky to include the body, a first housing part, the button is coupled with the first housing part, a second housing part, and the regulating device is positioned between the first housing part and the second housing part as taught by Chuang with the motivation to increase the pressure of the air going through the passage.
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pansegrouw (US 7913724 B2) in view of Gravronsky (US 5829492 A) in further view of Ramsey (US 7320347 B2) and Forsythe (US 3460746 A).
Regarding Claim 18:
Pansegrouw discloses a method for inflating (Column 5, Lines 15-26) an object (Column 4, Lines 12-13), comprising:
receiving, by a valve (Column 4, Lines 57-60, the second self-closing valve is the valve) of an inflation device (10, Figure 1), a first airflow (Column 5, Line 20) at a first inlet (22, Figure 8);
receiving, based on receiving the first airflow from the valve, a second airflow (Column 5, Lines 21-23) at a second inlet (26, Figure 8), wherein the second airflow is separate from the first airflow (Column 4, Lines 28-32, the second airflow is from the ambient air);
providing, at an outlet (24, Figure 8) of the inflation device (10, Figure 1), the first airflow and the second airflow to the object (Column 4, Lines 24-27, the air exits through the outlet);
combining, via a regulating device (34, Figure 8, the supersonic nozzle is the regulating device) of the inflation device (10, Figure 1), the first air flow and the second air flow (Column 5, Lines 20-23); and
closing, by a flap (28, Figure 8, the first self-closing valve is the flap) of the inflation device (10, Figure 1), the second inlet to block the second airflow (Column 4, Lines 33-35).
Pansegrouw does not disclose:
receiving, by a valve of an inflation device, a first airflow, via compressed air, at a first inlet;
receiving, based on receiving the first airflow from the valve, a second airflow, via ambient air, at a second inlet, wherein the second airflow is separate from the first airflow;
combining, via a regulating device of the inflation device, the first airflow and the second airflow, the regulating device comprising i) a first plurality of openings each having a first diameter and ii) a second opening surrounded by the first plurality of openings, the second opening having a second diameter greater than the first diameter; and
in response to receiving backflow through the outlet, closing, by a flap of the inflation device and based on the backflow, the second inlet to block the second airflow.
Gavronsky teaches an inflating device, comprising:
receiving, by a valve of an inflation device (Column 3, Lines 10-15, the on-off valve is the valve and it controls the flow of air in the inflation device (10)), a first airflow at a first inlet (17, Figure 2);
receiving, based on receiving the first airflow from the valve, a second airflow, via ambient air, at a second inlet (30, Figure 4), wherein the second airflow is separate from the first airflow (Column 3, Lines 27-35, the second airflow is ambient air that is sent to the object and separate than the first airflow from the source);
combining, via a chamber (24, Figure 4) of the inflation device (14, Figure 1), the first air flow and the second air flow (Column 3, Lines 23-31); and
in response to receiving backflow through the outlet (Column 3, Lines 39-40, the backflow goes to the second inlet), the backflow goes to the second inlet (30, Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pansegrouw to include receiving, by a valve of an inflation device, a first airflow at a first inlet; receiving, based on receiving the first airflow from the valve, a second airflow via ambient air at a second inlet, the second airflow is separate from the first airflow; combining, via a chamber of the inflation device, the first air flow and the second air flow, and in response to receiving backflow through the outlet, closing, by a flap, the second inlet to block the second airflow as taught by Gravonsky with the motivation to ensure that compressed gas is provided only when the operator uses the device to prevent the device constantly providing air.
Pansegrouw and Gravonsky do not teach:
a first airflow, via compressed air, at a first inlet;
the regulating device comprising i) a first plurality of openings each having a first diameter and ii) a second opening surrounded by the first plurality of openings, the second opening having a second diameter greater than the first diameter; and
in response to receiving backflow through the outlet, closing, by a flap of the inflation device and based on the backflow, the second inlet to block the second airflow.
Ramsey teaches an inflation and deflation device, comprising:
a first airflow, via compressed air (Column 4, Line 67 to Column 5, Lines 1-4, the first airflow is compressed air), at a first inlet (26, Figure 3, the air passage is the first inlet);
a regulating device (38, Figure 3, the air distributor is the regulating device comprising i) a plurality of first openings each having a first diameter (Column 5, Lines 9-17, and Figure 3, there are a plurality of first openings which are the distributor inlet and the first diameter is the opening size) and ii) a second opening (See Annotated Figure 3 above) surrounded by the first plurality of openings, the second opening having a second diameter greater than the first diameter (Figure 3, the first openings surround the second opening and have a smaller diameter than the second opening).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pansegrouw and Gravonsky to include a first airflow, via compressed air, at a first inlet, the regulating device comprising i) a first plurality of openings each having a first diameter and ii) a second opening surrounded by the first plurality of openings, the second opening having a second diameter greater than the first diameter as taught by Ramsey with the motivation to quickly connect the device to inflate and deflate the dunnage bag to reduce time of packing items.
Pansegrouw, Ramsey, and Gravonsky do not teach:
in response to receiving backflow through the outlet, closing, by a flap of the inflation device and based on the backflow, the second inlet to block the second airflow.
Forsythe teaches an inflation aspirator, comprising:
in response to receiving backflow through the outlet (Figure 1, the second stage nozzle opposite of the second inlet (33)), closing, by a flap (24, Figure 1, the check valve is the flap) of the inflation device and based on the backflow, the second inlet (33, Figure 3) to block the second airflow (Column 2, Lines 68-72 to Column 3, Lines 1-2, the backflow (back pressure) causes the flap to close the second inlet).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pansegrouw, Ramsey, and Gravonsky to include in response to receiving backflow through the outlet, closing, by a flap of the inflation device and based on the backflow, the second inlet to block the second airflow as taught by Forsythe with the motivation to rapidly inflate inflatable objects during emergencies.
Regarding Claim 20:
Pansegrouw discloses:
wherein receiving the first airflow (Column 5, Line 20) comprises:
the first inlet (22, Figure 8) configured to receive the first airflow via an air compressor (Column 4, Lines 21-23, the first inlet receives compressed air), and
second inlet (26, Figure 8) configured to receive the second airflow via ambient air (Column 4, Lines 24-27).
Pansegrouw, Forsythe, and Gravonsky do not expressly teach:
an air compressor.
Ramsey teaches an inflation and deflation device, comprising:
an air compressor (Column 6, Lines 63-67).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pansegrouw, Forsythe, and Gravonsky to include an air compressor as taught by Ramsey with the motivation to fill the bag with air from a typical source that is available.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pansegrouw in view of Gravronsky in further view of Ramsey, Forsythe, and Adaglio (US 3640241 A).
Regarding Claim 19:
Pansegrouw discloses:
One or more feedback components (30, Figure 8, the sensor means is the feedback component) that detects and determines when the container is filled to the predetermined degree (Column 4, Lines 36-40);
the second inlet (26, Figure 8) and the flap (28, Figure 8).
Pansegrouw and Gravonsky do not expressly teach:
further providing, based on the flap causing an audible sound in response to the flap covering the second inlet, a notification based on a current inflation of the object.
Adaglio teaches a warning device, comprising:
further providing, based on the flap (14, Figure 1, the flap valve is the flap) causing an audible sound in response to the flap covering the second inlet (12, Figure 1), a notification based on a status of the object (Column 3, Lines 1-11, the sound of the flap closing indicates the status of the level of gas within the container).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pansegrouw, Ramsey, Forsythe, and Gravonsky to include based on the flap causing an audible sound in response to the flap covering the second inlet, a notification based on a status of the object as taught by Adaglio with the motivation to inform the user about the pressure within the object.
Through the combination of Pansegrouw, Ramsey, Forsythe, Adaglio, and Gravonsky, the sound of the flap of Pansegrouw closing can cause a sound that notify a user as seen in Adaglio.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest pieces of prior art are Pansegrouw (US 7913724 B2) in view of Gravronsky (US 5829492 A) in further view of Ramsey (US 7320347 B2) and Chuang (US 6412669 B1).
Regarding Claim 7:
Claim 7 depends from claim 1 where Pansegrouw, Gravonsky, Ramsey, and Chuang teach the inflation device recited in claim 1. Claim 7 recites “the second portion angled with respect to the first portion and in alignment with the second opening such that the second portion opens to the second opening” in lines 4-5 of the claim. The limitation in view of all other limitations of claims 1 and 7 are not obvious or disclosed in the cited prior art. If another reference was found, it would lead to potential hindsight of Ramsey to teach the limitation.
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent on claim 7.
The closest pieces of prior art are Pansegrouw (US 7913724 B2) in view of Gravronsky (US 5829492 A) in further view of Ramsey (US 7320347 B2), Komiya (US 20200011311 A1), Forsythe (US 3460746 A), and Chuang (US 6412669 B1).
Regarding Claim 15:
Claim 15 depends from claims 11 and 13-14 where Pansegrouw, Gravonsky, Ramsey, Komiya, Forsythe, and Chuang teach the inflation device recited in claims 11 and 13-14. Claim 15 recites “the regulating device comprises a chamber that defines a third pair of inlets, and in response to the first airflow passing through the third pair of inlets, the chamber and the first housing part direct the first airflow into a first plurality of openings defined by the chamber” in lines 3-6 of the claim. The limitation in view of all other limitations of claims 11 and 13-15 are not obvious or disclosed in the cited prior art. If another reference was found, it would lead to potential hindsight.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Konantambigi (US 11392150 B2) teaches an inflator comprising a first inlet, a button, a first portion, a second portion, a chamber, and an outlet.
Huang (US 11167733 B2) teaches an inflating device comprising a first housing part, a second housing part, a chamber, and an outlet.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHANIE A SHRIEVES/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/KENNETH RINEHART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753