DETAILED ACTION
The examiner acknowledges receipt of preliminary amendment and IDS filed 07/19/2024.
Claims 1-11 are canceled.
New claims 12-17 are added and pending.
Priority
This application is a Continuation of 18/146,736 filed 12/27/2022, now US 12065630 B2, which is a Continuation of 16/768,183 filed 05/29/2020, now US 11566208 B2 and which is a 371 or PCT/EP18/85571 filed 12/18/2018 and which claims benefit of UK application 1721585.6 filed 12/21/2017.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 07/19/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Page 9, lines 21-23 contains embedded hyperlink/browser-executable code.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 depends on claim 12. Claim 12 does not recite polyfunctional acrylate. Thus “the poly-functional acrylate” does not have antecedent support from claim 12.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the poly-functional acrylate" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by FENG LINSHENG et al. (WO 2016061439 Al).
For claim 12, FENG discloses method for forming melamine resin acrylate microcapsule (abstract, paragraphs [0002], [0009] ); the method comprises forming dual oil/water phase involving emulsion or dispersion of the oil phase disperses in a continuous aqueous phase with the discontinuous oil phase containing the core material to be encapsulated (paragraph [0031]) meeting claim 12 (a), the core material being oil or scented oil or fragrances (paragraphs [0069], [0113]) is milled to form droplet (paragraphs [0017], [0037], [0045], [0078]); the core composition containing wall forming materials are subjected to conditions that enable polymerization of the wall forming material to form the wall around the oil droplet (paragraphs [0017], [0042]); the result is partial or full encapsulation of the oil phase with the wall surrounding the oil droplet (paragraph [0043]); the polymerization of the methacrylate polymer and melamine resin at the oil/water interface meeting claim 12 (b).
For claim 13, the shell-forming material is the polyamine/acrylate system is the
wall/shell forming material and part of the microcapsule. FENG teaches that test samples
were prepared by adding solids of the capsule forming material to form slurry for use (line 2 of page 39).
For claim 14, the reaction of the melamine polyamine and pentaerythritol tetraacrylate (PETA) polyfunctional acrylate (page 12, lines 10-14) forms thermosetting resin.
For claim 15, FENG lists melamine, 1,2-phenylenediamine, 1,3-phenylene diamine and 1,4-phenylediamine as polyamines (page 12, lines 23-24) meeting the requirement of claim 15.
For claim 16, pentaerythritol-tetraacrylate (PETA), pentaerythritol triacrylate (PETIA), 1,4-butanediol diacrylate (BDA-2), ethylene glycol dimethacrylate (EDGMA), trimethylolpropane triacrylate (TMPTA), hexane diol diacrylate (HODA), ((2,4,6-trioxocyclohexane-1,3 ,5-triyl)tris(oxy))tris(ethane-2, 1-diyl) triacrylate (TOCT A), Tris(2-acryloyloxyethyl) Isocyanurate, 1,3,5-triacryloylhexahydro-1,3,5-triazine (TAHHT) (page 12, lines 10-14) are poly-functional acrylate of the claim.
For claim 17, FENG teaches incorporating perfume and other functional ingredients in the core (page 5, lines 20-25; page 17, lines 17-20).
Therefore, FENG LINSHENG teaches claims 12-17.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 12-17 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8; 1-12; and 1-16 of U.S. Patent Nos. 12065630 B2; 11566208 B2; and 11504689 B2 respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
US 12065630 B2: The issued method teaches the examined method. The comprising language is open.
US 11566208 B2: The issued core-shell microcapsule is prepared by the examined method.
US 11504689 B2: The issued encapsulated composition in claims 1-11 comprising perfume is prepared by the examined method and the issued method claims 12-16 teaches the examined method.
No claim is allowed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Conclusion
/BLESSING M FUBARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613