DETAILED ACTION
This final office action is responsive to Applicants' response filed on 06/12/26. Claims 1-13 are presented for examination and are pending for the reasons indicated herein below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/12/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
The inductor (L1) and diode (214) are respectively disclosed in separate and distinct embodiments of Mao's specification. Applicant submits that, combining separate embodiments within a single cited reference to account for the limitations of claim 1 (i.e., switch unit, coupled to the inductive reactance element) is an improper basis for anticipation. Applicant provides detailed arguments as follows: BIRCH
(I) Mao's inductor (Li) is disclosed in an embodiment referring to FIG. 3 and paragraph [0031]. This embodiment discloses basic function of buck DC-DC converter, where inductor L1 is a basic output element (i.e., "output inductor Li" as stated in the sixth line of [0031] of Mao) and does not provide protection for buck DC-DC converter. On the other hand, Mao's diode (214) is disclosed in another distinct embodiment referring to FIG. 2 and paragraph [0027]. This embodiment discloses protection function for buck DC-DC converter, where diode (214) is a current limiting element (i.e., "comprising the diode 214 may prevent an electric current from flowing into power converter" as stated in lines [0027] of Mao), which is not the basic function of buck DC-DC converter. Mao's inductor (Li) is disclosed in an embodiment of the basic function of buck DC-DC converter, and Mao's diode (214) is disclosed in another distinct embodiment of the protection function for protecting buck DC-DC converter. Mao's inductor (Li) and diode (214) are disclosed in distinct and separate embodiments within a single cited reference.
Examiner respectively disagrees: Citation is appropriate, using Mao’s [¶16] FIGS. 4 illustrates a schematic diagram of a three-terminal buck dc-dc converter and a protection device in accordance with an embodiment. Examiner is relaying only on the structure of 202 coupled to 302. This makes one embodiment to be use as a reference.
Applicant argues:
Even attempting to combine Mao's inductor L1 with the diode (214), it is impossible to achieve the circuit configuration of spike suppression device (100) of claim 1. Referring to last five lines of [0034] of Mao, it reveals that the protection device (202) of FIG. 2 can be used to replace the protection device (204) of FIG. 4 to improve performance. However, if the protection device (202) of FIG. 2 of Mao replaces the protection device (204) of FIG. 4, the diode (214) is not directly coupled to the inductor L1, and cannot achieve the feature of the suppression device (100) of claim 1 that "a switch unit, coupled to the inductive reactance element".
Examiner respectively disagrees: Applicant is not claiming any direct connection to any components recited in the claim.
Applicant argues:
(III) For the switched capacitor configuration of claimed invention, inductors and diodes are NOT built-in, which does not originally include an output inductor and freewheeling diode; its energy conversion is mainly achieved through the charging and discharging mechanism of the capacitor. The claimed invention employs additional introduction of an inductor and diode for freewheeling path at the SC output. In contrast, for the synchronous buck converter of Mao, inductors and diodes are essential and built-in, which employs "inductor-based" step-down architecture, and the inductor and the body diode of the synchronous switch are essential components for circuit operation, used for energy transfer and freewheeling. Accordingly, Mao's synchronous buck converter configuration fails to disclose the additional inductor and diode in the switched capacitor configuration of claim 1.
Examiner respectively disagrees: Rejection is appropriate, because based on applicant’s specifications and drawings, item 1000 (switched capacitor circuit) is shown to be the whole structure of figure 1 and does not exclude the inductor. Also claim 1 recites “…switched capacitor circuit comprises an output capacitor and at least one input capacitor, and the spike suppression device…”, the “and” infers the switched capacitor circuit includes the spike suppression device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mao et al. (US 20200007037 A1)
Regarding claim 1. Mao teaches a spike suppression device [fig 2, 202 w/ fig 4], for suppressing a spike current [inrush current, ¶24] in a switched capacitor circuit [302], wherein the switched capacitor circuit comprises an output capacitor and at least one input capacitor [C1 and C2], and the spike suppression device comprising:
an inductive reactance element [L1], disposed between the output capacitor and the at least one input capacitor;
and a switch unit [diode of 202], coupled to the inductive reactance element;
wherein the inductive reactance element is configured to generate an induced voltage [voltage at L1] in response to the spike current, the induced voltage [flyback voltage of L1 discharging to C2] is opposite to the spike current [i.e. positive to negative], and the switch unit is configured to form a discharge path [202 i.e. protect against reverse polarity diode forms a path] of the inductive reactance element.
Regarding claim 2. Mao teaches the spike suppression device according to claim 1, wherein the inductive reactance element is an inductor [L1].
Regarding claim 3. Mao teaches the spike suppression device according to claim 1, wherein the inductive reactance element is a wire between the output capacitor and the at least one input capacitor [L1 is a wire].
Regarding claim 4. Mao teaches the spike suppression device according to claim 1, wherein the switch unit is a diode [diode of 202], and a cathode of the diode is coupled to a first end of the inductive reactance element, and a second end of the inductive reactance element is coupled to the output capacitor.
Regarding claim 5. Mao teaches the spike suppression device according to claim 1, wherein when the switched capacitor circuit operates in a charge mode [sw1 when ON], the at least one input capacitor and the output capacitor are equivalently coupled in series and receive a charge current [sw1 when ON, capacitors are understood to be equivalently in coupled in series], wherein when the spike current flows through the inductive reactance element, the induced voltage of the inductive reactance element is opposite to the spike current [¶24].
Regarding claim 6. Mao teaches the spike suppression device according to claim 1, wherein when the switched capacitor circuit operates in a discharge mode, the at least one input capacitor and the output capacitor are equivalently coupled in parallel [when sw2 is ON Vm couples capacitors in parallel] and output a discharge current [inrush current through 204], wherein when the spike current flows through the inductive reactance element, the induced voltage of the inductive reactance element is opposite to the spike current [¶24-25].
Regarding claim 7. Mao teaches the spike suppression device according to claim 1, wherein the switched capacitor circuit further comprises a plurality of switch elements [mosfets of sw1-sw2], and a first switch element [see sw1] of the switch elements is disposed between the at least one input capacitor and the inductive reactance element.
Regarding claim 8. Mao teaches the spike suppression device according to claim 7, wherein when the switched capacitor circuit operates in a charge mode, the first switch element is turned ON to transmit a charge current, and the charge current flows through the inductive reactance element, and the switch unit of the spike suppression device is turned OFF [normal operation of a buck converter].
Regarding claim 9. Mao teaches the spike suppression device according to claim 8, wherein the switched capacitor circuit is coupled to a voltage source [vin] to receive the charge current, and the at least one input capacitor comprising: a first input capacitor [c1], coupled to the inductive reactance element through the first switch element;
and a second input capacitor [c2], disposed between the voltage source and the first input capacitor;
wherein in the charge mode, at least the first switch element is turned ON to allow the charge current to flow through the first input capacitor [i.e. upper terminal of c1], the inductive reactance element and the second input capacitor [i.e. upper terminal of c2], and the charge current does not flow through the switch unit of the spike suppression device [when sw1 is ON sw2 is OFF and thus current flows to the inductor].
Regarding claim 10. Mao teaches the spike suppression device according to claim 7, wherein when the switched capacitor circuit operates in a discharge mode, the first switch element is turned OFF, and the switch unit of the spike suppression device is turned OFF [paragraph 26 implies that switches in 202 are only used during startup phase, thus, during the discharge mode, happening after startup phase, 202 is off].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the claim objections stated above were overcome.
Examiner Note
The examiner cites particular columns and lines numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRYAN R PEREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2838