DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Togino (US2010/0091385).
Regarding claim 1, Togino discloses a dual view endoscope, comprising: an image sensor (imaging element, not illustrated, appearing to be represented by image plane 5 behind cover glass C in Fig. 1 [0203]); and a functional module disposed in front of said image sensor (front group Gf comprising G1 and G2), said functional module including at least a first lens (first group G1 or transparent medium L1) and a second lens directly attached to said first lens (second group G2/transparent medium L2 is directly attached to first group G1/transparent medium L2 ), said second lens being located between said first lens and said image sensor (Fig. 3: second group G2 is located between first group G1 and the imaging element near image plane 5); wherein said first lens is configured to expand field of view of said image sensor (Fig 3: first group G1 expands the field of view of the image sensor, collecting light rays from optical path B), said second lens being configured to collect light rays from lateral directions and deflect said light rays into said image sensor (Fig. 3: second group G2/L2 collects light rays from lateral directions/optical path A to the image plate 5); wherein said image sensor and said functional module are aligned with an axial direction of said dual view endoscope (Fig. 35: optical system may be used in an endoscope; surface 11 appears to be aligned with an axial direction of the endoscope).
Regarding claim 2, Togino discloses the endoscope of claim 1, further disclosing wherein a lens module is disposed between said functional module and said image sensor to collect said light rays from a forward-viewing direction of said dual view endoscope (back group Gb comprising G3, G4, and G5 [0121] is between front group Gf and the imaging element/image plate 5, which also collects light rays from optical paths A and B [0127]).
Regarding claim 4, Togino discloses the endoscope of claim 2, further disclosing wherein said first lens is a planoconcave lens, wherein said first lens includes a spherical or aspherical shape on one side that is placed adjacent to said second lens (G1/L1 is a plano concave negative lens L1 with a spherical shape on one side that is adjacent to G2/L2 [0122]).
Regarding claim 5, Togino discloses the endoscope of claim 2, further disclosing wherein said first lens includes a negative refractive power (front group Gf, including G1/L1 has negative power [0079], G1/L1 is a plano concave negative lens [0122]).
Regarding claim 8, Togino discloses the endoscope of claim 2, further disclosing wherein said second lens is a freeform lens, wherein said second lens is rotational symmetric to its optical axis (G2/L2 is rotationally symmetric around central axis 2 [0123]) and consists three surface regions being placed adjacent to said first lens, each surface region of said second lens having a radius of curvature (Fig. 3: third transmissive surface 25, second reflective surface 23, and first transmissive surface 21 are adjacent to L1/G1 [0123], each of the surfaces having a radius of curvature; [0191-0192]).
Regarding claim 9, Togino discloses the endoscope of claim 8, further disclosing wherein said surface regions of said second lens includes: a central surface region located on a central portion of said second lens (third transmissive surface 25 is on a central portion of G2/L2); a distal surface region extended from said central surface region (second reflective surface 23 extends from the third transmissive surface 25); and a circumferential region located on an outer edge of said second lens and enclosed said distal surface region and said central surface region (first transmissive surface 21 is on an outer edge of G2/L2 and encloses surfaces 23 and 25 [0123]).
Regarding claim 10, Togino discloses the endoscope of claim 9, further disclosing wherein said light rays entered said first lens and passed said central surface region are imaged onto a central part of said image sensor (Fig. 3: light or direct view optical path B, along central axis 2, enters transmissive surface of 11, through second transmissive surface, to the third transmissive surface, which is further transmitted distally to be imaging element or image plane 5 behind the cover glass C).
Regarding claim 11, Togino discloses the endoscope of claim 10, further disclosing wherein said light rays from said lateral directions entered said circumferential region and reflected by said distal surface region are imaged onto an annular region in vicinity of said central part of said image sensor (Fig. 3: optical path A enters G2/L2 from the first transmissive surface 21 and is reflected off the reflective surface 23 [0128] appearing to eventually by imaged onto an annular region in the vicinity of the central part of the imaging element/image plate 5; in Fig. 3, the light rays of optical path A appear to be on the upper/top side of the cover glass C and the imaging element/image plate 5).
Regarding claim 12, Togino discloses a lens module for endoscope, comprising: a first lens (first group 1 or transparent medium L1); a second lens directly attached to said first lens (Fig. 3: second group G2/transparent medium L2 is directly attached to first group G1/transparent medium L2 ), said second lens being located between said first lens and said endoscope (Fig. 3: second group G2 is located between first group G1 and the imaging element near image plane 5; optical system 1 shown in Fig. 3 is used for an endoscope [0082]); wherein said first lens is configured to expand field of view of said endoscope (Fig 3: first group G1 expands the field of view of the image sensor, collecting light rays from optical path B), said second lens being configured to collect light rays from lateral directions and deflect said light rays onto an image sensor of said endoscope (Fig. 3: second group G2/L2 collects light rays from lateral directions/optical path A to the image plate 5; Fig. 35: optical system may be used in an endoscope; surface 11 appears to be aligned with an axial direction of the endoscope).
Regarding claim 13, Togino discloses the lens module of claim 12, further disclosing wherein said first lens includes spherical or aspherical shape on one side that is placed adjacent to said second lens (G1/L1 is a plano concave negative lens L1 with a spherical shape, surface 12, on one side that is adjacent to G2/L2 [0122]).
Regarding claim 14, Togino discloses the lens module of claim 12, further disclosing wherein said first lens includes negative refractive power to expand said field of view of said endoscope in its forward-viewing direction (front group Gf, including G1/L1 has negative power [0079], G1/L1 is a plano concave negative lens [0122]; Fig. 3: optical path B demonstrates the expanded field of view in the forward-viewing direction).
Regarding claim 16, Togino discloses the lens module of claim 12, further disclosing wherein said second lens is rotational symmetric to its optical axis (G2/L2 is rotationally symmetric around central axis 2 [0123]) and consists three surface regions being placed adjacent to said first lens, each surface region of said second lens having a radius of curvature (Fig. 3: third transmissive surface 25, second reflective surface 23, and first transmissive surface 21 are adjacent to L1/G1 [0123], each of the surfaces having a radius of curvature).
Regarding claim 17, Togino discloses the lens module of claim 16, further disclosing wherein said surface regions of said second lens includes: a central surface region located on a central portion of said second lens (third transmissive surface 25 is on a central portion of G2/L2); a distal surface region extended from said central surface region (second reflective surface 23 extends from the third transmissive surface 25); and a circumferential region located on an outer edge of said second lens and enclosed said distal surface region and said central surface region (first transmissive surface 21 is on an outer edge of G2/L2 and encloses surfaces 23 and 25 [0123]).
Regarding claim 18, Togino discloses the lens module of claim 17, further disclosing wherein said light rays entered said first lens and passed said central surface region are imaged onto a central part of said image sensor (Fig. 3: light or direct view optical path B, along central axis 2, enters transmissive surface of 11, through second transmissive surface 12, to the third transmissive surface 25, which is further transmitted distally to be imaging element or image plane 5 behind the cover glass C).
Regarding claim 19, Togino discloses the lens module of claim 18, further disclosing wherein said light rays from said lateral directions entered said circumferential region and reflected by said distal surface region are imaged onto an annular region in vicinity of said central part of said image sensor (Fig. 3: optical path A enters G2/L2 from the first transmissive surface 21 and is reflected off the reflective surface 23 [0128] appearing to eventually by imaged onto an annular region in the vicinity of the central part of the imaging element/image plate 5; in Fig. 3, the light rays of optical path A appear to be on the upper/top side of the cover glass C and the imaging element/image plate 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Togino in view of Miller et al. (US2023/0016459).
Regarding claim 3, Togino discloses the endoscope of claim 2, but fails to disclose wherein said functional module includes a first anti-fogging coating formed on a rear surface of said functional module. In the same field of endeavor, Miller teaches an endoscope, the endoscope comprising an image sensor (endoscope 100 may comprise image capture device such as CCD [0071]; camera [0027]), a lens disposed in front of the image sensor (camera lens [0027]), and an optical layer disposed on a rear surface of the lens (optical layers are disposed between the camera lens and light source and the visualization section of the coupler device [0027]; anti-fogging film may be applied to the outer surface, the inner surface or both the inside and outside surfaces [0021]), further teaching wherein the optical layer comprises an anti-fogging film ([0020-0021]). In view of Miller, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the anti-fogging film of Miller, to the first lens of Togino, as it is known in the endoscope lens art that the anti-fogging coating is common and advantageous for preventing condensation of fluid on any surface of the visualization section, allowing for better visibility [0020-0021].
Regarding claim 7, Togino discloses the endoscope of claim 2, but fails to disclose wherein said first lens is formed by lens replication on a glass substrate having a second anti-fogging coating. In the same field of endeavor, Miller teaches an endoscope, the endoscope comprising an image sensor (endoscope 100 may comprise image capture device such as CCD [0071]; camera [0027]), a lens disposed in front of the image sensor (camera lens [0027]), the lens formed by lens replication on a glass substrate (visualization section composed of optical material such as glass [0008]; the limitation “formed by lens replication” is a product-by-process limitation), and an optical layer disposed on the lens (optical layers are disposed between the camera lens and light source and the visualization section of the coupler device [0027]), further teaching wherein the optical layer comprises an anti-fogging film (anti-fogging film may be applied to the outer surface, the inner surface or both the inside and outside surfaces [0020-0021], teaching that a plurality of surfaces may have the anti-fogging film). In view of Miller, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the anti-fogging film of Miller, to the first lens of Togino, as it is known in the endoscope lens art that the anti-fogging coating is common and advantageous for preventing condensation of fluid on the surface of the visualization section, allowing for better visibility [0020-0021]. Further, since Togino fails to disclose the material of the lenses, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any transmissive lens material, including the glass taught by Miller, as the substrate used to form the lens of Togino.
Regarding claim 15, Togino discloses the lens module of claim 12, but fails to disclose wherein said first lens is formed by lens replication on a glass substrate having a second anti-fogging coating. In the same field of endeavor, Miller teaches an endoscope, the endoscope comprising an image sensor (endoscope 100 may comprise image capture device such as CCD [0071]; camera [0027]), a lens disposed in front of the image sensor (camera lens [0027]), the lens formed by lens replication on a glass substrate (visualization section composed of optical material such as glass [0008]; the limitation “formed by lens replication” is a product-by-process limitation), and an optical layer disposed on the lens (optical layers are disposed between the camera lens and light source and the visualization section of the coupler device [0027]), further teaching wherein the optical layer comprises an anti-fogging film (anti-fogging film may be applied to the outer surface, the inner surface or both the inside and outside surfaces [0020-0021], teaching that a plurality of surfaces may have the anti-fogging film). In view of Miller, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the anti-fogging film of Miller, to the first lens of Togino, as it is known in the endoscope lens art that the anti-fogging coating is common and advantageous for preventing condensation of fluid on the surface of the visualization section, allowing for better visibility [0020-0021]. Further, since Togino fails to disclose the material of the lenses, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any transmissive lens material, including the glass taught by Miller, as the substrate used to form the lens of Togino.
Regarding claim 20, Togino discloses the lens module of claim 16, but fails to wherein said second lens includes an anti-reflecting coating formed on a rear surface of said functional module. In the same field of endeavor, Miller teaches an endoscope, the endoscope comprising an image sensor (endoscope 100 may comprise image capture device such as CCD [0071]; camera [0016]), a lens disposed in front of the image sensor (camera lens [0027, 0016]), and an optical layer disposed on the rear surface of the lens (optical layers may be disposed on the surface of the camera lens [0016, 0027]; optical layer may be disposed on the inner surface, the outer surface or on both the inner and outer surfaces of the visualization section [0016]), further teaching wherein the optical layer comprises an anti-reflective coating ([0016, 0027]). In view of Miller, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the anti-reflective coating of Miller, to the second lens of Togino, as it is known in the endoscope lens art that the anti-reflective coating is common and advantageous for reducing a substantial portion of the reflected light in a visible range of light waves, thus reducing glare, allowing for better visibility [0016, 0027].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Togino in view of Hirata (US2007/0173695).
Regarding claim 6, Togino discloses the endoscope of claim 2, further teaching the endoscope comprising a cover glass formed adjacent to said first lens. In the same field of endeavor, Hirata teaches an endoscope comprising an image sensor (endoscope device has a CCD [0044]), a first lens disposed in front of an illumination source, a second lens disposed between the illumination source and the first lens (Fig. 12: first lens group 14a, analogous to applicant’s second lens, is disposed between LED supporting block 13 and second lens group 14b, analogous to applicant’s first lens [0055]). Hirata further teaches the endoscope comprising a cover glass formed adjacent and distal to said first lens (Fig. 12: recessed portion 467 in which the second lens group 12b, the most distal lens group, resides, comprises a resin or cover glass to protect the lens group [0072]). In view of Hirata, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the cover glass of Hirata, to be placed distally of the first lens of Togino, as it is known in the endoscope lens art that cover glass or resin is commonly placed over an exposed lens for protection [0072].
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended claim 1 to specify wherein the second lens is directly attached to the first lens. Applicant’s arguments regarding the U.S.C. 102 rejection in view of Mizusawa, filed May 15, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8-14, 16-19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Togino.
Applicant argues that Mizusawa did not disclose the three radiuses of curvature, and the examiner would like to address these arguments because the examiner believes these arguments could be applied against Togino. While the examiner did not explicitly evidence the exact numerical value of each surface’s radius of curvature in the Office Action filed 02/19/2026, the limitations of claims 8 and 16 recites wherein “each surface region of said second lens having a radius of curvature”. The claim language does not specify any numerical value for each radius of curvature, nor does it require that each radius of curvature is different from one another. The existence of the three surfaces of Mizusawa and Togino inherently evidences that each surface has a radius of curvature. Regardless, the radius of curvature can be found in Par. [0191-0192] of Togino. In the “Side view optical path” table [0192], the row with surface number 1 is the first transmissive surface 21, which comprises a radius of curvature denoted as ERFS [1] and the row with surface number 3 is second reflective surface 23 which comprises a radius of curvature denoted as ERFS [3](RE). It can later be seen in the second table that ERFS [1] is an infinite radius of curvature, which appears to match correctly with surface 21, and that ERFS [3] is a 4.88 radius of curvature. Under the “Direct view optical path” table [0192], the row with surface number 3 is the third transmissive surface 25, which comprises a radius of curvature denoted as ERFS [5], later seen to be 5.00. Therefore, the three radiuses of curvature for the third transmissive surface 25, the second reflective surface 23, and the first transmissive surface 21 is 5.00, 4.88, and infinite, respectively.
Applicant further argues that Miller and Hirata fail to teach the simpler structure without L2 of Mizusawa, which is an argument that may also be applied to Togino. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Togino teaches most of the structure as claimed by Applicant but is silent regarding any type of anti-fogging and/or anti-reflective coating, or a cover glass placed distally the first lens. These features are taught by Miller and Hirata in substantially similar endoscopes, and are commonly known in the endoscope lens art. Therefore, the USC 103 rejection is maintained in view of Miller and Hirata.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LI-TING SONG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANHTUAN T NGUYEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
08/05/26