DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18744839 (US 20250040484). Although the pending claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as they recite the same structure of a windrower and header flotation system, wherein in each claim the same calculations are performed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gahres (US 20240138302 A1) in view of Wegscheid (US 4008556 A).
Regarding claim 1, Gahres discloses a windrower (100) comprising:
a windrower frame (130) having left and right header lift arms (131);
a header floatation cylinder (133) configured to adjust the positioning of the header lift arms by causing the header lift arms to pivot about a header lift arm fulcrum (235);
a header assembly (101, see fig. 2) mounted on the header lift arms (131), the header assembly comprising:
a header framework pivotably connected to the header lift arms (131);
a header pitch cylinder (134) is connected between the header framework and the windrower frame, wherein extension of the header pitch cylinder causes the header framework to pivot about a header fulcrum (237) to adjust the pitch of the header assembly with respect to the windrower frame, wherein the header pitch cylinder has a position sensor (243) configured to determine a position of the header pitch cylinder;
a cutter bar pivotably mounted on the header framework so as to pivot about a cutterbar fulcrum (236), the cutter bar comprising:
a plurality of rotary cutters, each of the plurality of rotary cutters synchronized to rotate about a vertically axis (paragraph 0004);
a plurality of cutterbed modules (paragraph 0004, 0026), wherein each rotary cutter of the plurality of rotary cutters is mounted on a respective cutterbed module of the plurality of cutterbed modules such that the cutterbed modules are arranged in series to form the cutter bar, wherein each cutterbed module is pivotably attached to the header framework with a pivotable module mounting mechanism (236) that at least partially forms the cutterbar fulcrum, and wherein each cutterbed module is fixed to adjacent cutterbed modules with a linking mechanism forming a rigid connection such that the plurality of cutterbed modules combine to form a rigid body and;
at least one reaction arm (132);
at least one load cell (241, paragraph 0043) located between the header framework and a reaction arm; and
a controller (114) configured to receive input from position sensor of the header pitch cylinder and calculate a point of ground engagement (236 in fig. 4, paragraph 0044) for the cutter bar, the controller also configured to receive input from the at least one load cell and use a distance (346) between the cutterbar fulcrum (236) and the calculated point of ground engagement and a distance (347) between the load cell (241) and the cutterbar fulcrum (236) to calculate a ground force and compare the calculated ground force to a desired force (paragraphs 0043-48).
Gahres does not disclose wherein an elastomeric isolator is located in the module mounting mechanism between the each cutterbed module and the header framework.
In the same field of endeavor, Wegscheid discloses elastomeric isolators (55, 56, 52, 54, 70, 72) for mounting a cutterbar (38) to the remainder of a harvester header (20, see fig. 3) (col. 3 lines 33-41, col. 4 lines 49-54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided Gahres with elastomeric isolators, as disclosed by Wegscheid, to lower vibration from the cutterbed to the rest of the harvester, thereby increasing the harvester’s durability.
Regarding claim 2, Wegscheid, of the resultant combination discloses the windrower of claim 1 wherein the module mounting mechanism includes a collar (53) on a rear portion of each cutterbed module that interfaces with an associated collar bracket (78) extending from the header framework, wherein the collar is fastened to the collar bracket with a suitable fastener (76) and nut (80).
Regarding claim 3, Wegscheid, of the resultant combination discloses the windrower of claim 2 wherein the elastomeric isolator comprises a cylindrical member (58) that fits within an opening formed by the collar (53) such that the isolator provides an elastomeric medium (70, 72) between the collar and the fastener that attaches the collar to the collar bracket.
Regarding claim 5, Gahres, of the resultant combination, discloses the windrower of claim 1 the linking mechanism comprises at least one fastener connecting ends of adjacent cutterbed modules such that adjacent modules pivot about the cutterbar fulcrum (236) as a single body (see fig. 2-5).
Regarding claim 6, Wegscheid, of the resultant combination, discloses the windrower of claim 1 wherein a forward portion of each cutterbed module receives a replaceable rock guard (40).
Regarding claim 7, the resultant combination discloses the windrower of claim 1.
The combination does not disclose wherein each of the rotary cutters comprises an elliptical, metal knife carrier, and a pair of free swinging knives at opposite ends of the knife carrier, wherein each of plurality of rotary cutters is ninety degrees out of phase with respect to the adjacent rotary cutter such that circular paths of travel of the knives of adjacent cutters overlap one another and are out of phase so as to avoid striking each other.
The examiner takes official notice that it is old and well known in the art for a mower conditioner to utilize an elliptical, metal knife carrier, and a pair of free swinging knives at opposite ends of the knife carrier, wherein each of plurality of rotary cutters is ninety degrees out of phase with respect to the adjacent rotary cutter such that circular paths of travel of the knives of adjacent cutters overlap one another and are out of phase so as to avoid striking each other to mow crop while creating swaths. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the resultant combination with a mower comprising elliptical metal knife carriers positioned out of phase to avoid striking each other as one of many suitable mowing devices for a mower-conditioner harvesting machine.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20210063265 A1 discloses a method for measuring a center of gravity of a header.
/MADELINE I RUNCO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3671