Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/12/2024 and 3/24/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20230048976 A1 (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches A communication apparatus, comprising (Li [0033] FIG. 1 is a
schematic diagram illustrating a wireless communication system in accordance with an embodiment of the disclosure. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the wireless communication system is a communication system based on the cellular mobile communication technology. The wireless communication system may include several terminals 11 and several base stations 12.
Note: the terminal is the communication apparatus.):
at least one processor (Li Fig. 11; [0227] As illustrated in FIG. 11, the apparatus 3000 may
include one or more of the following components: a processing component 3002.
[0228] The processing component 3002 can include one or more processors 3020 to execute instructions to perform all or some of the steps of the methods described above.); and
one or more memories including computer instructions that, when executed by the at least one
processor, cause the communication apparatus to perform operations comprising (Li Fig. 11; [0227] As illustrated in FIG. 11, the apparatus 3000 may include one or more of the following components: a memory 3004.
[0229] The memory 3004 is configured to store various types of data to support operations of the apparatus 3000. Examples of such data include instructions for operating any application or method on the apparatus 3000.
[0237] a memory 3004 including instructions, which are executable by the processor 3020 of the apparatus 3000 to perform the above method.):
in response to a length of an idle time domain resource of a terminal device being greater than or equal to a first threshold, or a cycle of discontinuous reception configured by a network device being greater than or equal to a second threshold (Li Fig. 7; [0136] As illustrated in FIG. 7, there are two SPS PDSCH resources within the measurement window during which the UE performs the inter-frequency signal measurement.
[0137] In FIG. 7, X represents the time period from the start time of a first one of the transmission windows occupied by the two SPS PDSCH resources to the start time of the measurement window.
[0138] In FIG. 7, Y represents the time period from the end time of the first one of the two SPS PDSCH resources to the start time of the second one of the two SPS PDSCH resources.
[0139] In FIG. 7, Z represents the time period from the end time of the second one of the two SPS PDSCH resources to the end time of the measurement window.
[0173] If y is greater than 2T, within the time period corresponding to y, the UE will perform the inter-frequency signal measurement.
Note: x, y and z are idle time resources.),
using a part of the idle time domain resource as a first resource to be used to perform inter-frequency measurement (Li [0173] If y is greater than 2T, within the time period corresponding to y, the UE will perform the inter-frequency signal measurement.
[0174] If z is greater than 2T, the inter-frequency signal measurement will be performed again after the transmission window 2. That is, within the time period corresponding to z, the UE will perform the inter-frequency signal measurement.); and
determining, based on the first resource, at least one of a resource or time used to perform the inter-frequency measurement (Li [0173] within the time period corresponding to y, the UE will perform the inter-frequency signal measurement.
Li [0174] That is, within the time period corresponding to z, the UE will perform the inter-frequency signal measurement.),
wherein the idle time domain resource comprises a time domain resource other than a time domain resource used for data receiving and sending and physical downlink control channel monitoring (Li Fig. 7, [0136] As illustrated in FIG. 7, there are two SPS PDSCH resources within the measurement window during which the UE performs the inter-frequency signal measurement.
[0137] In FIG. 7, X represents the time period from the start time of a first one of the transmission windows occupied by the two SPS PDSCH resources to the start time of the measurement window.
[0138] In FIG. 7, Y represents the time period from the end time of the first one of the two SPS PDSCH resources to the start time of the second one of the two SPS PDSCH resources.
[0139] In FIG. 7, Z represents the time period from the end time of the second one of the two SPS PDSCH resources to the end time of the measurement window.
[0054] The SPS PDSCH resource may be the periodic PDSCH resource configured by the base station in the serving cell for downlink communication. The UE may receive the downlink data in the serving cell using the SPS PDSCH resource.
Note: x, y and Z are idle time resources.).
Claim 1 recites similar limitations of claim 8, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches A communication apparatus, comprising (Li [0033] FIG. 1 is a
schematic diagram illustrating a wireless communication system in accordance with an embodiment of the disclosure. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the wireless communication system is a communication system based on the cellular mobile communication technology. The wireless communication system may include several terminals 11 and several base stations 12.
Note: the base station is the communication apparatus.):
at least one processor (Li Fig. 11; [0227] As illustrated in FIG. 11, the apparatus 3000 may
include one or more of the following components: a processing component 3002.
[0228] The processing component 3002 can include one or more processors 3020 to execute
instructions to perform all or some of the steps of the methods described above.); and
one or more memories including computer instructions that, when executed by the at least one
processor, cause the communication apparatus to perform operations comprising (Li Fig. 11; [0227] As illustrated in FIG. 11, the apparatus 3000 may include one or more of the following components: a memory 3004.
[0229] The memory 3004 is configured to store various types of data to support operations of the apparatus 3000. Examples of such data include instructions for operating any application or method on the apparatus 3000.
[0237] a memory 3004 including instructions, which are executable by the processor 3020 of the apparatus 3000 to perform the above method.):
in response to a length of an idle time domain resource of a terminal device being greater than or equal to a first threshold, or a cycle of discontinuous reception configured by a network device being greater than or equal to a second threshold (Li Fig. 7; [0136] As illustrated in FIG. 7, there are two SPS PDSCH resources within the measurement window during which the UE performs the inter-frequency signal measurement.
[0137] In FIG. 7, X represents the time period from the start time of a first one of the transmission windows occupied by the two SPS PDSCH resources to the start time of the measurement window.
[0138] In FIG. 7, Y represents the time period from the end time of the first one of the two SPS PDSCH resources to the start time of the second one of the two SPS PDSCH resources.
[0139] In FIG. 7, Z represents the time period from the end time of the second one of the two SPS PDSCH resources to the end time of the measurement window.
[0173] If y is greater than 2T, within the time period corresponding to y, the UE will perform the inter-frequency signal measurement.
Note: x, y and z are idle time resources.),
using a part of the idle time domain resource as a first resource to be used by the terminal device to perform inter-frequency measurement (Li [0173] If y is greater than 2T, within the time period corresponding to y, the UE will perform the inter-frequency signal measurement.
[0174] If z is greater than 2T, the inter-frequency signal measurement will be performed again after the transmission window 2. That is, within the time period corresponding to z, the UE will perform the inter-frequency signal measurement.); and
determining, based on the first resource, at least one of a resource or time used by the terminal device to perform the inter-frequency measurement (Li [0173] within the time period corresponding to y, the UE will perform the inter-frequency signal measurement.
Li [0174] That is, within the time period corresponding to z, the UE will perform the inter-frequency signal measurement.),
wherein the idle time domain resource comprises a time domain resource other than a time domain resource used for data receiving and sending and physical downlink control channel monitoring (Li Fig. 7, [0136] As illustrated in FIG. 7, there are two SPS PDSCH resources within the measurement window during which the UE performs the inter-frequency signal measurement.
[0137] In FIG. 7, X represents the time period from the start time of a first one of the transmission windows occupied by the two SPS PDSCH resources to the start time of the measurement window.
[0138] In FIG. 7, Y represents the time period from the end time of the first one of the two SPS PDSCH resources to the start time of the second one of the two SPS PDSCH resources.
[0139] In FIG. 7, Z represents the time period from the end time of the second one of the two SPS PDSCH resources to the end time of the measurement window.
[0054] The SPS PDSCH resource may be the periodic PDSCH resource configured by the base station in the serving cell for downlink communication. The UE may receive the downlink data in the serving cell using the SPS PDSCH resource.
Note: x, y and Z are idle time resources.).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches The method according to claim 1.
Li teaches wherein a second resource that is in the idle time domain resource and that is not
used to perform the inter-frequency measurement is related to a range that covers a length of the idle time domain resource or a range that covers the cycle of the discontinuous reception (Li [0172] In FIG. 7, if x is equal to or less than 2T, the UE will not perform the inter-frequency signal measurement after the measurement gap configured by the base station starts, and keep the downlink communication with the serving cell. That is, within the time period corresponding to x, the UE will not perform the inter-frequency signal measurement.); and
the first resource is a resource other than the second resource in the idle time domain resource (Li [0173] within the time period corresponding to y, the UE will perform the inter-frequency signal measurement.
[0174] within the time period corresponding to z, the UE will perform the inter-frequency signal measurement.).
Claim 9 and 16 recites similar limitations of claim 2 respectively, is thus rejected under similar
rational.
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches The method according to claim 1.
Li teaches wherein a proportion of a second resource that is in the idle time domain resource
and that is not used to perform the inter-frequency measurement is related to a range that covers a length of the idle time domain resource or a range that covers the cycle of the discontinuous reception (Li [0172] In FIG. 7, if x is equal to or less than 2T, the UE will not perform the inter-frequency signal measurement after the measurement gap configured by the base station starts, and keep the downlink communication with the serving cell. That is, within the time period corresponding to x, the UE will not perform the inter-frequency signal measurement.); and
the first resource is a resource other than the second resource in the idle time domain resource (Li [0173] within the time period corresponding to y, the UE will perform the inter-frequency signal measurement.
[0174] within the time period corresponding to z, the UE will perform the inter-frequency signal measurement).
Claim 10 and 17 recites similar limitations of claim 3 respectively, is thus rejected under similar
rational.
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches The method according to claim 1.
Li teaches wherein the method further comprises: in response to the length of the idle time
domain resource being less than the first threshold, or the cycle of the discontinuous reception being less than the second threshold (Li [0172] In FIG. 7, if x is equal to or less than 2T),
determining all of the idle time domain resource as the first resource to be used to perform the inter-frequency measurement (Li [0173] within the time period corresponding to y, the UE will perform the inter-frequency signal measurement.
[0174] within the time period corresponding to z, the UE will perform the inter-frequency signal measurement.).
Claim 11 and 18 recites similar limitations of claim 4 respectively, is thus rejected under similar
rational.
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches The method according to claim 4.
Li teaches wherein the determining the at least one of the resource or the time is based on a
quantity of reference signals needed to perform the inter-frequency measurement and a quantity of reference signals comprised in the first resource, or measurement time needed to perform the inter-frequency measurement and the first resource (Li Fig. 7, measurement window;
[0173] within the time period corresponding to y, the UE will perform the inter-frequency signal measurement.
[0174] within the time period corresponding to z, the UE will perform the inter-frequency signal measurement).
Claim 12 and 19 recites similar limitations of claim 5 respectively, is thus rejected under similar
rational.
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches The method according to claim 1.
Li teaches wherein the method further comprises: in response to
resources in the resource used to perform the inter-frequency measurement being greater than or equal to the third threshold, determining to restart the inter-frequency measurement (Li y and z in Fig. 7; [0173] within the time period corresponding to y, the UE will perform the inter-frequency signal measurement.
[0174] within the time period corresponding to z, the UE will perform the inter-frequency signal measurement.
Note: As shown in Fig. 7, y and z are two adjacent idle time domain resources. The interval between y and z is greater than the third threshold. The inter-frequency signal measurement performed during z can be interpreted as the restart of the inter-frequency measurement.).
Claim 13 and 20 recites similar limitations of claim 6 respectively, is thus rejected under similar
rational.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claims 6 and 13 above, and further in view of US 20230180173 A1 (hereinafter Kazmi).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches The method according to claim 6.
Although Li teaches the restarting the inter-frequency measurement (See rejection of claim 6
above), Li does not explicitly teach wherein comprises at least one of: discarding a measurement result obtained before the inter-frequency measurement is restarted, performing filtering without using the obtained measurement result, recalculating at least one of a resource or time used to perform the inter-frequency measurement, or restarting the inter-frequency measurement of a neighboring cell.
Kazmi in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein comprises at least one of:
discarding a measurement result obtained before the inter-frequency measurement is restarted (Kazmi [0122] the center frequency changes and the measurement can become inter-frequency …The UE may further be allowed to restart the positioning upon configured with the measurement gaps (e.g. the UE may be allowed to discard the previous measurement samples (taken before receiving the gaps or the new gap) and take new samples during the gaps).),
performing filtering without using the obtained measurement result, recalculating at least one of a resource or time used to perform the inter-frequency measurement, or restarting the inter-frequency measurement of a neighboring cell.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Kazmi’s above teachings. The motivation is improving the performance of the UE (Kazmi [0201]).
Claim 14 recites similar limitations of claim 7, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Conclusion
/D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418