Status of Claims
Claims 13-17, 24-26, and 28 are cancelled. Claims 34-40 are new. Claims 1-12, 18-23, 27, and 29-40 are pending and under examination.
Priority
This application claims priority to US provisional application 63/514,949 filed on 07/21/2023.
Objections/Rejections Withdrawn
The objection over claims 15 and 26 is withdrawn per applicant’s claim cancellations.
The objection over claims 18 and 29 is withdrawn per applicant’s amendment to the claims.
The objection over claims 20 (actually 21) and 32 is withdrawn per applicant’s amendments to these claims.
The rejection under USC 112(b) over claim 32 is withdrawn per applicant’s amendment to change dependency.
The rejection under USC 103 over Tu and Anajafi is withdrawn per applicant’s amendments to import limitations of dependent claims.
As these rejections are withdrawn, applicant’s arguments toward these rejections are moot.
Claim Objections
Claims 18-20, 29-31 and 35 are objected to as they should introduce the component with “further comprises” as the independent claims already provide some components of the polymersome nanoparticle.
Claims 36, 39 and 40 are objected to for not having a closed parenthesis after THPMA. The recitation should be “PEG-b-P(BzMA-co-THPMA)”
Claims 36, 39 and 40 are objected to for being dependent on claims that are rejected over the prior art.
Appropriate correction is required.
Maintained Rejection – Modified As Necessitated by Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 18-23, 27, 29-35, and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tu et al (Theranostics, Jan 2021, volume 11, pages 2364-2380); Anajafi et al (Ther Deliv, 2015, volume 6, pages 521-534 (pages 1-23 in document)) and Mori et al (Progress in Polymer Science, 2003, volume 28, pages 1403-1439) as evidenced by GEN (Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology News, March 8, 2016, https://www.genengnews.com/news/cancer-cells-are-what-they-eat-and-its-not-glucose/).
Tu teaches inhibiting the endocytotic pathway with inhibitors including heparin, chlorpromazine, amiloride, dynasore, wortmannin, omeprazole, and genistein sensitized the multiple myeloma cells to bortezomib treatment (abstract and Materials and Methods Section, also see first column of page 2372 where wortmannin is referred to as another macropinocytosis blocker). Tu also teaches EIPA in Reagents and Antibodies (page 2365). Tu teaches an in vivo study with human myeloma graft treatment using 0.3 or 0.6 mg/kg of bortezomib and/or 10 or 100 mg/kg of dynasore (endocytosis pathway inhibitor) (in vivo study). Tu also used multiple myeloma cell lines for testing with the treatments (Cell culture). Tu teaches “Dynasore enhances the anti-MM effect of bortezomib in vivo and prolongs the survival of MM mice” (second column of page 2372). Tu teaches that inhibiting endocytosis enhances MM cell chemosensitivity to bortezomib and significantly increases apoptosis and death of the cells (page 2374-2375).
Tu does not provide for the combination in the form of a polymerosome nanoparticle or the components or functions of the polymerosomes as in applicant’s claims.
Anajafi teaches polymerosomes are stable vesicles prepared from amphiphilic polymers and are more stable compared to liposomes (abstract). Anajafi teaches drug encapsulation in the polymerosomes and that hydrophobic compounds of interest are solubilized/dispersed in the solvent with the polymers while hydrophobic drugs are added to the aqueous buffer during preparation of the polymerosomes (pages 2-3). Figure 1 shows hydrophilic drug in the core while hydrophobic drug is in the hydrophobic bilayer. Page 16 provides for PEG being used often as it is generally regarded as safe and biocompatible. Anajafi teaches pH-responsive polymerosomes and that “Due to the presence of a slightly acidic microenvironment in the tumor’s extracellular matrix (pH ≈ 6.8), inflammatory tissues (pH ≈ 6.8), and some subcellular compartments such as
endosomes and lysosomes (pH ≈ 5–6), pH-sensitive polymerosomes have been widely used as smart drug-delivery formulations [55,60]. The acidic pH for the tumor’s microenvironment results from the presence of large amounts of lactic acid and ATP hydrolysis in the absence of enough oxygen (hypoxia) as well as the fast metabolism of tumor cells” (page 6). This high metabolism of tumor cells causes the microenvironment to become devoid of nutrients. Anajafi teaches “Forming these stimuli-responsive vesicles can be achieved using different strategies. One approach is to use biodegradable polymers [poly (lactic acid) or poly (ε-caprolactone)] as
the hydrophobic part of amphiphilic copolymers that are known to undergo acid-induced
hydrolysis and the effective release of cargo in vitro/in vivo” (page 7). Anajafi teaches block copolymers with pH release stimulus including PEG-PTMBPEC and PEG-PTTMA-PAA (poly(ethyleneglycol)-b-poly(trimethoxybenzylidene tris(hydroxymethyl)ethane methacrylate)-b-poly (acrylic acid)) (table 2). Table 3 teaches polymerosome building blocks of PEG-PLA and PEG-b-PCL (Table 3). Page 3 teaches PEGylation and particles of mean size less than 200 nm (pages 3-4). Figure 3 teaches what happens to polymerosomes after injection.
Gen evidences that cancer cells mainly depend on amino acids for nutrients (first three paragraphs), so these would be metabolized quickly and depleted in the microenvironment.
Tu and Anajafi do not teach polymers of claims 15-17 or 26-28.
Mori teaches new polymeric architectures for novel polymers with (meth)acrylic acid segments (abstract). Mori teaches “Protected monomers with masked acid groups involve tert-butyl acrylate (tBuA), tert-butyl methacrylate (tBuMA), trimethylsilyl methacrylate (TMSMA), benzyl methacrylate (BzMA), 2-tetrahydropyranyl methacrylate (THPMA), and p-nitrophenyl methacrylate (PNPMA)” (figure 1). Mori teaches “After acid hydrolysis, thermolysis, or catalytic hydrogenolysis, these protective groups liberate their original acid functionality” (page 1405). Mori teaches that deprotection of these protecting groups is important in the preparation of polymers with (meth)acrylic acid segments (pages 1407-1408). Thus, these protected (meth)acrylates can be used in the preparation of polymers as they are protected leading up to use for making a polymer, which is applicable to polymers of polymerosomes in Anajafi.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have utilized polymerosomes and polymers therefor including pH responsive versions in making delivery systems for the anti-cancer drugs in Tu which are seen as effective at killing cancer cells in a subject in order to achieve more stable delivery systems that have the ability to target tumors by the pH of their environment via teachings of Anajafi. Therefore, there was a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Tu and Anajafi to provide for stable and pH-responsive polymerosomes of bortezomib and macropinocytosis blocker that will be effective in treating cancers like myeloma. One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have utilized protected forms of (meth)acrylate when making (meth)acrylate containing polymers as they are seen as useful for proper polymer synthesis by teachings of Mori, and thus, would have used such monomers in making (meth)acrylic containing polymers as taught by Anajafi in preparing polymerosomes with a reasonable expectation of success in successful polymerosome preparation. Therefore, the combined teachings of the references would provide for the methods and products of applicant’s claims with polymerosomes where such monomers would be used in synthesizing the polymers.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments over the Rejection under USC 103
Applicant argues that Tu in view of Anajafi does not disclose a polymerosome with active agents as claimed that is made up of benzyl methacrylate moiety and pH-sensitive moiety such as THPMA. Applicant argues that the rejection uses hindsight. The rejection under USC 103 that taught the benzyl methacrylate and pH-responsive moiety, THPMA, includes the combination of Tu, Anajafi and Mori. Tu motivates the combination of anti-cancer active agents while providing for enhanced activity, Anajafi motivates the use of polymerosome nanoparticles for improved, controlled delivery of drugs in treating cancer (tumors), and Mori teaches the use of methacrylate compounds such as benzyl methacrylate and THPMA to better make polymeric architectures that would be relevant to Anajafi’ polymerosome nanoparticles. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Note the combination motivated by the prior art allows for drug combinations as in applicant’s claims as well as use in (meth)acrylate polymersome nanoparticles that are pH-responsive to release drug in a tumor microenvironment as well as allowing for moieties of butyl methacrylate and THPMA (recognized methacrylate compounds for polymers for making new polymer architectures). Claims 1, 22 or 33 do not dictate how the benzyl methacrylate and pH-responsive moiety (THPMA in claims 1 and 33 and not defined in claim 22) are organized in polymers for the polymerosome nanoparticles. Thus, the prior art teaching of these moieties/compounds for use in polymeric architectures is sufficient in this instance.
If applicant includes the more particular block copolymer as in claim 36, for example, into independent claims then applicant would overcome the rejections under USC 103 as it was not motivated to use that particular block copolymer structure in such polymerosome nanoparticles with the two actives as in applicant’s claims.
Applicant argues that Tu’s work involves uptake of extracellular vesicles and does not provide the amino acid starvation mechanism and UPS- dependent protein degradation of the present methods. As the total combination of the prior art allows for the use of pH-responsive polymerosome nanoparticles for effective delivery to tumors and the use of the drug combination claimed, the combination that flows from the prior art would provide for such effects in treatment of tumors as these are the effects such a drug combination will have when effectively delivered to the tumor.
Applicant argues there is no motivation to replace extracellular vesicles in Tu’s methods with polymerosomes. However, it is the combination of the prior art that teaches the claimed invention. Anajafi recognizes the effectiveness of its system in delivering and releasing drugs at tumors and Tu recognizes treating cancer. Thus, there is motivation to use such a polymerosome system with cancer treating drug formulations of the prior art to achieve better direct delivery for effectiveness of cancer treatment. Mori teaches and motivates the use of other known (meth)acrylate compounds for such polymeric architectures.
Applicant last teaches that Mori does not teach cancer treatments, and thus, is not relevant prior art. The teachings of Mori relate to polymer architectures with (meth)acrylic acid segments, which is related to the polymerosomes of Anajafi. Anajafi provides the teachings of making polymerosomes and their use in treating tumors/cancer with Mori providing other polymer units that are previously known and would be useful to such architectures. It should be noted that Mori does teach block copolymers and drug delivery as an application in its teachings (introduction and section 5.2 of Mori). Therefore, the teachings of Mori remain relevant for its teachings.
Applicant argues that the rejection is improper to claims 5-9. However, GEN was used to evidence that there would be a high use of amino acids by the tumor where this would lead to depletions. The teachings of Anajafi and Tu provide treatments for cancer, and thus, will be targeting tumor sites via these teachings. Note that claim 8 also provides that it is the macropinocytosis inhibitor that inhibits protein internalization. Such agents are taught in Tu. Thus, the prior art would allow for such functionalities as there are teachings of both the active agents (Tu) and a polymerosome nanoparticle drug delivery system with recognition of the use of pH-responsive systems for tumors (Anajafi). That is, the prior art teaches the features that will allow for the functional aspect observed.
For these reasons, the rejection is maintained.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 36, 39 and 40 in view of each of the limitations of claims 33, 1 and 22, respectively, are not motivated by the prior art. If applicant imports the limitations of claims 36, 39 and 40 into claims 33, 1 and 22, respectively, applicant will have allowable claims barring any additional issues that might be brought in by an amendment.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK V STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613