DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 29 May 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-25 are pending in the application. Claims 1-2, 4, 7, 13 and 20 are currently amended. Applicant’s amendment to the Claims have overcome each and every 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 11 Mar 2026.
The prior 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection is withdrawn as requested (Pg. 9-11) based on the amendment to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 7, 13 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 4, 13-19 and 23 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, Ln. 1-2 recites “an axis of the inlet” which should read “the axis of the inlet” following after claim 1
Claim 13, Ln. 26 recites “an axis of the inlet” which should read “the axis of the inlet” following after Ln. 25 of the claim
Claim 23, Ln. 1-2 recites “the ventilation component” which should read “the ventilation component” for consistency with claim 20 (unless only a single ventilation component is intended, which would need to be made clear in the claim)
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “at least one ventilation component that is provided within the gas passage, configured to communicate with the at least two chambers and provide a channel for the gas to flow from one chamber to another” in claim 20. The language “ventilation component” is read as generally the same as “component for ventilation”.
The corresponding structure for the “ventilation component” is best understood from the specification as at least: ventilation component 5 which has a series of baffles with spacing between the baffles forming air channels (e.g. Pg. 17-18; Figs. 8-13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (CN 117404338 A; citations from machine translation attached with Office action mailed 11 Mar 2026).
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses a noise-reducing air passage device (any of Figs. 8 & 10-11; Pg. 5-7) for use in a PAP machine (Fig. 1), configured to generate and deliver pressurized gas to an airway of a patient (Pg. 2), the noise-reducing air passage device comprising: a casing (Fig. 1 #1, 2; Pg. 5) comprising at least two parts (Fig. 1 #1, 2), having an outlet (Fig. 3 #21; Pg. 4), an inlet (Fig. 1 #11; Pg. 4), inner walls (Fig. 1 #1, 2 have internal walls), and outer walls (Fig. 1 #1, 2 have outer walls); a gas passage (e.g. arrows shown in Figs. 7 & 9), formed by a space enclosed by the inner walls of the casing, wherein the gas passage comprises at least one chamber (Figs. 8 & 10-11 interior of #1, 2) configured to provide a space for gas accumulation and flow; a blower (Fig. 1 #7; Pg. 4), including an intake port (Figs. 7 & 9 arrows into bottom of fan 7) to receive gas and an exhaust port (exit port of #7 facing the view of Fig. 5) to allow the pressurized gas to exit, wherein the blower is provided within one (Figs. 8 & 10-11) of the at least one chamber, and is configured to pressurize the gas that enters the at least one chamber and deliver the pressurized gas to the outlet of the casing; wherein the outlet and the inlet are not provided on a same inner wall or outer wall of the casing (Figs. 1 & 6); wherein the casing is configured such that a path of the gas includes the gas entering the at least one chamber via the inlet of the casing, flowing through the gas passage, entering the blower through the intake port, and exiting the casing through the outlet (e.g. Figs. 7 & 9), wherein the path of the gas includes at least two turns (Figs. 7 & 9) and movement along x, y, and z axes in a three-dimensional Cartesian coordinate system (Figs. 1-4 & 8-11) and at least three elevation changes along the z-axis from the gas entering and the gas exiting the casing (Figs. 1-4 & 8-11), wherein the at least three elevation changes include at least an elevation change within the gas passage extending from an upper portion (e.g. Figs. 7 & 9 rightward arrow above #7) of the at least one chamber to the intake port of the blower provided within a lower portion (e.g. Figs. 7 & 9 upward arrow into #7) of the at least one chamber, wherein a shortest vertical elevation drop of the path along the z-axis is at least 15 mm (Figs. 7 & 9 only elevation drop is across fan 7 which must be at least 15 mm tall), wherein an axis of the inlet of the casing is horizontally disposed (Fig. 1). The recitation in the preamble of the device being noise-reducing represents an intended functionality and is given limited patentable weight (MPEP 2111.02).
Yu fails to explicitly disclose a total volume of the at least one chamber is between 3 to 18 times a volume of the blower; and wherein the at least one chamber does not include foam.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art viewing all of the figures of Yu would have considered it prima facie obvious that fan 7 is shown as occupying less than a third of the interior space of first shell 1 and second shell 2, but also more than one-eighteenth of that interior space. Thus, the illustration all of the figures of Yu would have obviously suggested the required proportionality of the claim relating the blower to the at least one chamber. Additionally, while Yu is silent about foam usage Yu does teach that a concern that prior art devices use silencing sound-absorbing material can generate toxic gas across long-term use (Pg. 2). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered it prima facie obvious that Yu is at least suggesting an obvious an avoidance of foam, as foam is recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as a common silencing sound-absorbing material which can generate toxic gas across long-term use.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Yu a total volume of the at least one chamber is between 3 to 18 times a volume of the blower; and wherein the at least one chamber does not include foam based upon how the illustrations across the figures of Yu are obviously suggestive of the claimed volume proportionality and based upon how Yu teaches a desire to avoid prior art silencing sound-absorbing material which can generate toxic gas across long-term use.
Regarding claim 2, Yu further teaches the inlet of the casing is configured to be integrally formed with the casing (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Yu further suggests as obvious a distance between the intake port of the blower and the inner walls of the casing is at least 5 mm (e.g. Figs. 7 & 9).
Regarding claim 4, Yu further teaches the axis of the inlet of the casing is
Regarding claim 5, Yu further teaches an outlet pipe (Fig. 6 #21; Pg. 4) is provided at the outlet and communicates with the exhaust port of the blower.
Regarding claim 6, Yu further teaches the casing forms a part of the PAP machine (Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 11-13 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higashiyama et al. (WO Pub. 2017/217440 A1; citations from attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Higashiyama discloses a noise-reducing air passage device (Fig. 8; Pg. 6-7) for use in a PAP machine (Pg. 2), configured to generate and deliver pressurized gas to an airway of a patient, the noise-reducing air passage device comprising: a casing (Fig. 5 #12) having an outlet (Fig. 8 #824; Pg. 6), an inlet (Fig. 8 #121; Pg. 6), inner walls (Fig. 8 various inner walls), and outer walls (Fig. 8 various outer walls); a gas passage (Fig. 8 arrows), formed by a space enclosed by the inner walls of the casing, wherein the gas passage comprises at least one chamber (Fig. 8 interior of #12) configured to provide a space for gas accumulation and flow; a blower (Fig. 8 #22; Pg. 2), including an intake port (Fig. 8 #243; Pg. 2) to receive gas and an exhaust port (Fig. 8 #242; Pg. 3) to allow the pressurized gas to exit, wherein the blower is provided within one (Fig. 8) of the at least one chamber, and is configured to pressurize the gas that enters the at least one chamber and deliver the pressurized gas to the outlet of the casing; wherein the outlet and the inlet are not provided on a same inner wall or outer wall of the casing (Fig. 8); wherein the casing is configured such that a path of the gas includes the gas entering the at least one chamber via the inlet of the casing, flowing through the gas passage, entering the blower through the intake port, and exiting the casing through the outlet (Fig. 8 arrows), wherein the path of the gas includes at least two turns and movement along x, y, and z axes in a three-dimensional Cartesian coordinate system (Fig. 8 arrows and rotational motion through #22) and at least three elevation changes along the z-axis from the gas entering and the gas exiting the casing (Fig. 8 arrows – down, up, up again), wherein the at least three elevation changes include at least an elevation change within the gas passage extending from an upper portion of the at least one chamber to the intake port of the blower provided within a lower portion of the at least one chamber (Fig. 8 initial downward arrows from #121 to #243), wherein a shortest vertical elevation drop of the path along the z-axis is at least 15 mm (Fig. 8 only elevation drop is from #121 to #243 which must be at least 15 mm), wherein an axis of the inlet of the casing is horizontally disposed (Fig. 8). The recitation in the preamble of the device being noise-reducing represents an intended functionality and is given limited patentable weight (MPEP 2111.02).
Higashiyama is silent as to the casing comprising at least two parts; a total volume of the at least one chamber is between 3 to 18 times a volume of the blower; and wherein the at least one chamber does not include foam.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art viewing Figs. 1 & 5 of Higashiyama would have noted the appearance in the top four corners of housing 12 of what appear to be screw or bolt holes. One of ordinary skill in the art viewing Figs. 1 & 5 would thus have obviously expected housing 12 to be formed of a top panel which includes the electronics of LCD 15 and switches 16 which is then connected to a bottom housing part via screws or bolts. Thus, the illustration of Figs. 1 & 5 of Higashiyama would have obviously suggested the casing comprising at least two parts. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art viewing Fig. 8 of Higashiyama would have considered it prima facie obvious that fan 22 is shown as occupying less than a third of the interior space of housing 12, but also more than one-eighteenth of that interior space. Thus, the illustration of Fig. 8 of Higashiyama would have obviously suggested the required proportionality of the claim relating the blower to the at least one chamber. Additionally, Higashiyama is silent about foam usage. One of ordinary skill in the art would thus have not had any expectation that foam is needed or intended in Higashiyama.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Higashiyama the casing comprising at least two parts; a total volume of the at least one chamber is between 3 to 18 times a volume of the blower; and wherein the at least one chamber does not include foam based upon how 1) the illustration of Figs. 1 & 5 of Higashiyama would have obviously suggested the casing comprising at least two parts which are either screwed or bolted together, 2) the illustration of Fig. 8 of Higashiyama are obviously suggestive of the claimed volume proportionality and 3) based upon how Higashiyama does not teach or suggest any need for or intent to use foam.
Regarding claim 2, Higashiyama further teaches the inlet of the casing is configured to be integrally formed with the casing (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 3, Higashiyama further suggests as obvious a distance between the intake port of the blower and the inner walls of the casing is at least 5 mm (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 4, Higashiyama further teaches the axis of the inlet of the casing is
Regarding claim 5, Higashiyama further teaches an outlet pipe (Fig. 8 #824) is provided at the outlet and communicates with the exhaust port of the blower.
Regarding claim 6, Higashiyama further teaches the casing forms a part of the PAP machine (Figs. 5 & 8).
Regarding claim 7, Higashiyama discloses a noise-reducing air passage device (Fig. 8; Pg. 6-7) for use in a PAP machine (Pg. 2), configured to generate and deliver pressurized gas to an airway of a patient, the noise-reducing air passage device comprising: a casing (Fig. 5 #12) having an outlet (Fig. 8 #824; Pg. 6), an inlet (Fig. 8 #121; Pg. 6), inner walls (Fig. 8 various inner walls), and outer walls (Fig. 8 various outer walls); a gas passage (Fig. 8 arrows), formed by a space enclosed by the inner walls of the casing, wherein the gas passage comprises at least two chambers (Fig. 8 #87A, 87B; Pg. 6) configured to provide a space for gas accumulation and flow; a blower (Fig. 8 #22; Pg. 2), including an intake port (Fig. 8 #243; Pg. 2) to receive gas and an exhaust port (Fig. 8 #242; Pg. 3) to allow the pressurized gas to exit, wherein the blower is provided within one of the at least two chambers (Fig. 8 #87A), and is configured to pressurize the gas that enters the at least two chambers and deliver the pressurized gas to the outlet of the casing; wherein an inlet pipe (Fig. 8 #121) is provided at and connectable to the inlet of the casing, and the inlet pipe is configured to deliver the gas from an external environment into the at least two chambers within the casing; wherein the casing is configured such that a path of the gas includes the gas entering the at least two chambers via the inlet of the casing, flowing through the gas passage, entering the blower through the intake port, and exiting the casing through the outlet (Fig. 8 arrows), wherein the path of the gas includes at least two turns and movement along x, y, and z axes in a three-dimensional Cartesian coordinate system (Fig. 8 arrows and rotational motion through #22) and at least three elevation changes along the z-axis from the gas entering and the gas exiting the casing (Fig. 8 arrows – down, up, up again), wherein the at least three elevation changes include at least an elevation change within the gas passage extending from an upper portion of the at least two chambers to the intake port of the blower provided within a lower portion of one of the at least two chambers (Fig. 8 initial downward arrows from #121 to #243), wherein an axis of the inlet of the casing is horizontally disposed (Fig. 8). The recitation in the preamble of the device being noise-reducing represents an intended functionality and is given limited patentable weight (MPEP 2111.02).
Higashiyama is silent as to the casing comprising at least two parts; a total volume of the at least two chambers is between 3 to 18 times a volume of the blower; and wherein the at least two chambers do not include foam.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art viewing Figs. 1 & 5 of Higashiyama would have noted the appearance in the top four corners of housing 12 of what appear to be screw or bolt holes. One of ordinary skill in the art viewing Figs. 1 & 5 would thus have obviously expected housing 12 to be formed of a top panel which includes the electronics of LCD 15 and switches 16 which is then connected to a bottom housing part via screws or bolts. Thus, the illustration of Figs. 1 & 5 of Higashiyama would have obviously suggested the casing comprising at least two parts. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art viewing Fig. 8 of Higashiyama would have considered it prima facie obvious that fan 22 is shown as occupying less than a third of the interior space of housing 12, but also more than one-eighteenth of that interior space. Thus, the illustration of Fig. 8 of Higashiyama would have obviously suggested the required proportionality of the claim relating the blower to the at least one chamber. Additionally, Higashiyama is silent about foam usage. One of ordinary skill in the art would thus have not had any expectation that foam is needed or intended in Higashiyama.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Higashiyama the casing comprising at least two parts; a total volume of the at least two chambers is between 3 to 18 times a volume of the blower; and wherein the at least two chambers do not include foam based upon how 1) the illustration of Figs. 1 & 5 of Higashiyama would have obviously suggested the casing comprising at least two parts which are either screwed or bolted together, 2) the illustration of Fig. 8 of Higashiyama are obviously suggestive of the claimed volume proportionality and 3) based upon how Higashiyama does not teach or suggest any need for or intent to use foam.
Regarding claim 9, Higashiyama further teaches the inlet pipe is provided at an edge portion of the casing (Fig. 8), and the inlet pipe and the outlet of the casing are not on a same wall of the casing (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 11, Higashiyama further suggests as obvious a distance between the intake port of the blower and its opposing inner wall of the casing is at least 2 mm (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 12, Higashiyama further teaches the casing forms a part of the PAP machine (Figs. 5 & 8).
Regarding claim 13, Higashiyama discloses a noise-reducing air passage device (Fig. 8; Pg. 6-7) for use in a PAP machine (Pg. 2), configured to generate and deliver pressurized gas to an airway of a patient, the noise-reducing air passage device comprising: a casing (Fig. 5 #12) having an outlet (Fig. 8 #824; Pg. 6), an inlet (Fig. 8 #121; Pg. 6), inner walls (Fig. 8 various inner walls), and outer walls (Fig. 8 various outer walls); a gas passage (Fig. 8 arrows), formed by a space enclosed by the inner walls of the casing, wherein the gas passage comprises at least one chamber (Fig. 8 interior of #12) configured to provide a space for gas accumulation and flow; a blower (Fig. 8 #22; Pg. 2), including an intake port (Fig. 8 #243; Pg. 2) to receive gas and an exhaust port (Fig. 8 #242; Pg. 3) to allow the pressurized gas to exit, wherein the blower is provided within one (Fig. 8) of the at least one chamber, and wherein the blower is configured to pressurize the gas that enters the at least one chamber and deliver the pressurized gas to the outlet of the casing; wherein an inlet pipe (Fig. 8 #121) is provided at and connectable to the inlet of the casing, and the inlet pipe is configured to deliver the gas from an external environment into the at least one chamber within the casing (Fig. 8); wherein the casing is configured such that a path of the gas includes the gas entering the at least one chamber via the inlet of the casing, flowing through the gas passage, entering the blower through the intake port, and exiting the casing through the outlet (Fig. 8 arrows), wherein the path of the gas includes at least two turns and movement along x, y, and z axes in a three-dimensional Cartesian coordinate system (Fig. 8 arrows and rotational motion through #22) and at least three elevation changes along the z-axis from the gas entering and the gas exiting the casing (Fig. 8 arrows – down, up, up again), wherein the at least three elevation changes include at least an elevation change within the gas passage extending from an upper portion of the at least one chamber to the intake port of the blower provided within a lower portion of the at least one chamber (Fig. 8 initial downward arrows from #121 to #243), wherein an axis of the inlet of the casing is horizontally disposed (Fig. 8), and wherein an axis of the intake port of the blower is non-parallel to an axis of the inlet of the casing (Fig. 8). The recitation in the preamble of the device being noise-reducing represents an intended functionality and is given limited patentable weight (MPEP 2111.02).
Higashiyama is silent as to the casing comprising at least two parts; and a total volume of the at least one chamber is between 3 to 18 times a volume of the blower.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art viewing Figs. 1 & 5 of Higashiyama would have noted the appearance in the top four corners of housing 12 of what appear to be screw or bolt holes. One of ordinary skill in the art viewing Figs. 1 & 5 would thus have obviously expected housing 12 to be formed of a top panel which includes the electronics of LCD 15 and switches 16 which is then connected to a bottom housing part via screws or bolts. Thus, the illustration of Figs. 1 & 5 of Higashiyama would have obviously suggested the casing comprising at least two parts. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art viewing Fig. 8 of Higashiyama would have considered it prima facie obvious that fan 22 is shown as occupying less than a third of the interior space of housing 12, but also more than one-eighteenth of that interior space. Thus, the illustration of Fig. 8 of Higashiyama would have obviously suggested the required proportionality of the claim relating the blower to the at least one chamber.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Higashiyama the casing comprising at least two parts; and a total volume of the at least one chamber is between 3 to 18 times a volume of the blower based upon how 1) the illustration of Figs. 1 & 5 of Higashiyama would have obviously suggested the casing comprising at least two parts which are either screwed or bolted together and 2) the illustration of Fig. 8 of Higashiyama are obviously suggestive of the claimed volume proportionality.
Regarding claim 15, Higashiyama further teaches the inner walls of the casing are configured to form at least two chambers (Fig. 8 #87A, 87B; Pg. 6) for gas accumulation within the gas passage.
Regarding claim 16, Higashiyama further suggests as obvious the inner walls of the casing opposite the path of the gas have an arcuate surface (Fig. 5 rounded inner corners).
Regarding claim 17, Higashiyama further suggests as obvious a distance between the intake port of the blower and its opposing inner wall of the casing is at least 2 mm (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 18, Higashiyama further teaches the casing forms a part of the PAP machine (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 19, Higashiyama further suggests as obvious the at least one chamber does not include foam. Higashiyama is silent about foam usage. One of ordinary skill in the art would thus have not had any expectation that foam is needed or intended in Higashiyama.
Claim(s) 8 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higashiyama et al. (WO Pub. 2017/217440 A1; citations from attached machine translation) in view of Librett et al. (U.S. Pub. 2014/0299130).
Regarding claim 8, Higashiyama fails to teach the inner walls of the casing include a silicone layer connectable to the inner walls, and the silicone layer is configured to reduce noise within the gas passage.
Librett teaches a PAP device (e.g. Fig. 1) wherein inner walls of the PAP device include a silicone layer (¶¶0034-0035) connectable to the inner walls. Librett teaches a silicone layer as providing the benefit of being a lining material for the housing of the PAP device which is specifically selected as a noise attenuating material (¶0034).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in Higashiyama the inner walls of the casing include a silicone layer connectable to the inner walls, and the silicone layer is configured to reduce noise within the gas passage in order to provide the benefit of being a lining material for the housing of the PAP device which is specifically selected as a noise attenuating material in view of Librett.
Regarding claim 14, Higashiyama fails to teach the inner walls of the casing include a silicone layer connectable to the inner walls, and the silicone layer is configured to reduce noise within the gas passage.
Librett teaches a PAP device (e.g. Fig. 1) wherein inner walls of the PAP device include a silicone layer (¶¶0034-0035) connectable to the inner walls. Librett teaches a silicone layer as providing the benefit of being a lining material for the housing of the PAP device which is specifically selected as a noise attenuating material (¶0034).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in Higashiyama the inner walls of the casing include a silicone layer connectable to the inner walls, and the silicone layer is configured to reduce noise within the gas passage in order to provide the benefit of being a lining material for the housing of the PAP device which is specifically selected as a noise attenuating material in view of Librett.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higashiyama et al. (WO Pub. 2017/217440 A1; citations from attached machine translation) in view of Gerlach (U.S. Pub. 2024/0358943).
Regarding claim 10, Higashiyama fails to teach the inlet pipe is tapered.
Gerlach teaches a ventilator including an inlet pipe (Fig. 6 #7; ¶0075) which is tapered. Gerlach teaches a tapered inlet as providing the benefit of achieving a noise reduction based upon its tapered design (¶0075).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in Higashiyama the inlet pipe is tapered in order to provide the benefit of achieving a noise reduction at the inlet pipe based upon a tapered design in view of Gerlach.
Claim(s) 20-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higashiyama et al. (WO Pub. 2017/217440 A1; citations from attached machine translation) in view of Chen (U.S. Pub. 2024/0207545).
Regarding claim 20, Higashiyama discloses a noise-reducing air passage device (Fig. 8; Pg. 6-7) for use in a PAP machine (Pg. 2), configured to generate and deliver pressurized gas to an airway of a patient, the noise-reducing air passage device comprising: a casing (Fig. 5 #12) having an outlet (Fig. 8 #824; Pg. 6), an inlet (Fig. 8 #121; Pg. 6), inner walls (Fig. 8 various inner walls), and outer walls (Fig. 8 various outer walls); a gas passage (Fig. 8 arrows), formed by the space enclosed by the inner walls of the casing, wherein the gas passage comprises at least two chambers (Fig. 8 #87A, 87B; Pg. 6) configured to provide a space for gas accumulation and flow; a blower (Fig. 8 #22; Pg. 2), including an intake port (Fig. 8 #243; Pg. 2) to receive gas and an exhaust port (Fig. 8 #242; Pg. 3) to allow the pressurized gas to exit, wherein the blower is provided within one of the at least two chambers (Fig. 8 #87A), and wherein the blower is configured to pressurize the gas that enters the at least two chambers and deliver the pressurized gas to the outlet of the casing (Fig. 8); wherein the noise-reducing air passage device further comprises at least one ventilation component (Fig. 8 #825; Pg. 6) that is provided within the gas passage, configured to communicate with the at least two chambers and provide a channel for the gas to flow from one chamber to another; wherein a main path of the gas within the gas passage is an airflow path (Fig. 8 arrows), wherein the airflow path is configured to have at least two turns and displacements along an x-axis, y-axis, and z-axis in a three-dimensional Cartesian coordinate system (Fig. 8 arrows and rotational motion through #22) and at least three elevation changes along the z-axis from the gas entering the inlet of the casing and the gas exiting the outlet of the casing (Fig. 8 arrows – down, up, up again), and wherein a shortest vertical elevation drop of the path along the z-axis is at least 15 mm (Fig. 8 only elevation drop is from #121 to #243 which must be at least 15 mm); wherein the at least three elevation changes include at least an elevation change within the gas passage extending from an upper portion of the at least one chamber to the intake port of the blower provided within a lower portion of the at least one chamber (Fig. 8 initial downward arrows from #121 to #243), and wherein an axis of the inlet of the casing is horizontally disposed (Fig. 8). The recitation in the preamble of the device being noise-reducing represents an intended functionality and is given limited patentable weight (MPEP 2111.02). Wall 825 is read as at least a functional equivalent of the disclosed ventilation component based upon its role in allowing gas passage will participating in noise reduction (Pg. 6).
Higashiyama is silent as to the casing comprising at least two parts; a total volume of the at least two chambers is between 3 to 18 times a volume of the blower; a total length of the airflow path is greater than 20 cm; and wherein an area of the inlet of the casing is greater than or equal to an area of the intake port of the blower.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art viewing Figs. 1 & 5 of Higashiyama would have noted the appearance in the top four corners of housing 12 of what appear to be screw or bolt holes. One of ordinary skill in the art viewing Figs. 1 & 5 would thus have obviously expected housing 12 to be formed of a top panel which includes the electronics of LCD 15 and switches 16 which is then connected to a bottom housing part via screws or bolts. Thus, the illustration of Figs. 1 & 5 of Higashiyama would have obviously suggested the casing comprising at least two parts. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art viewing Fig. 8 of Higashiyama would have considered it prima facie obvious that fan 22 is shown as occupying less than a third of the interior space of housing 12, but also more than one-eighteenth of that interior space. Thus, the illustration of Fig. 8 of Higashiyama would have obviously suggested the required proportionality of the claim relating the blower to the at least one chamber. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art viewing Figs. 5 & 8 of Higashiyama would have considered it prima facie obvious that the dimensions of housing 12 include a length of at least close to 20 cm. The airflow path then includes further dimensional directional changes between just the length dimension which one ordinary skill in the art would obviously expect to result in a total airflow path of at least 20 cm. Thus, the illustration of Figs. 5 & 8 of Higashiyama would have obviously suggested the required airflow path length of the claim.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Higashiyama the casing comprising at least two parts; a total volume of the at least two chambers is between 3 to 18 times a volume of the blower; a total length of the airflow path is greater than 20 cm based upon how 1) the illustration of Figs. 1 & 5 of Higashiyama would have obviously suggested the casing comprising at least two parts which are either screwed or bolted together, 2) the illustration of Fig. 8 of Higashiyama are obviously suggestive of the claimed volume proportionality and 3) the illustration of Figs. 5 & 8 of Higashiyama are obviously suggestive of the claimed airflow path length.
Chen teaches a ventilator (Figs. 1-8) including an inlet (Figs. 1-3 #13; ¶0037) of a casing and an intake port (Figs. 3-4 #21) of a blower (Figs. 2-3 #2; ¶0037). Chen illustrates as obvious an area of the inlet of the casing is at least equal to an area of the intake port of the blower when considering the views of Figs. 3-4 and considering how air intake 21 is a relatively small, gridded opening. Chen thus represents an expectation which one of ordinary skill in the art would have that the area of the intake port of the blower need not be greater than the area of the inlet of the casing.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Higashiyama an area of the inlet of the casing is greater than or equal to an area of the intake port of the blower based upon an obvious expectation which one of ordinary skill in the art would have that the area of the intake port of the blower need not be greater than the area of the inlet of the casing, such as when considering the specific dimensions illustrated in Figs. 3-4 of Chen.
Regarding claim 21, Higashiyama further teaches the at least two chambers comprise a first chamber (Fig. 8 #87A; Pg. 6) and a second chamber (Fig. 8 #87B; Pg. 6), the blower is provided within the first chamber (Fig. 8), and the intake port of the blower communicates with the second chamber (Fig. 8 – what passes through the intake port will travel to the second chamber). The claim does not require the intake port of the blower to directly interact with the second chamber.
Regarding claim 22, Higashiyama further teaches the second chamber is smaller than the first chamber (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 23, Higashiyama further teaches the ventilation component includes an intake end (Fig. 8 left side of #825) and an exhaust end (Fig. 8 right side of #825), and a distance between the exhaust end and its opposing inner wall of the casing is at least 3.5 mm (Fig. 8). The instant claim does not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Regarding claim 24, Higashiyama further teaches an outlet pipe (Fig. 8 #824) is provided at the outlet and communicates with the exhaust port of the blower (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 25, Higashiyama further teaches the casing forms a part of the PAP machine (Fig. 8).
Conclusion
Regarding the independent claims further attention is drawn to: Boulanger et al. (U.S. Pub. 2021/0404482; Fig. 8) and Chen (U.S. Pub. 2024/0207545; Figs. 1 & 3).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH D. BOECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785