DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-25 are pending in the application. Claims 1, 7, 13 and 20 are currently amended. Applicant’s amendment to the Claims have overcome each and every objection and 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 07 Oct 2025.
The claims are no longer found allowable over the prior art following the amendment to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the inlet pipe" in Ln. 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim. It appears claim 1 may have been inadvertently amended to delete its introduction of an inlet pipe.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the inlet pipe" in Ln. 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim. It appears claim 1 may have been inadvertently amended to delete its introduction of an inlet pipe.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “at least one ventilation component that is provided within the gas passage, configured to communicate with the at least two chambers and provide a channel for the gas to flow from one chamber to another” in claim 20. The language “ventilation component” is read as generally the same as “component for ventilation”.
The corresponding structure for the “ventilation component” is best understood from the specification as at least: ventilation component 5 which has a series of baffles with spacing between the baffles forming air channels (e.g. Pg. 17-18; Figs. 8-13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-13 and 15-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerlach (U.S. Pub. 2024/0358943).
Regarding claim 1, Gerlach discloses a noise-reducing air passage device (Figs. 1-3 #1; ¶0063) for use in a PAP machine (¶0004), configured to generate and deliver pressurized gas to an airway of a patient (¶¶0003-0004), the noise-reducing air passage device comprising: a casing (Figs. 1-2 #2; ¶0063) comprising at least two parts (seen in view of Fig. 2), having an outlet (Fig. 1 #3; ¶0063), an inlet (Fig. 2 #6; ¶0065), inner walls (Fig. 2 various internal walls of #2), and outer walls (Fig. 1 various exterior walls of #2); a gas passage (Figs. 2-3 from #6 to #3), formed by a space enclosed by the inner walls of the casing, wherein the gas passage comprises at least one chamber (Figs. 2-3 interior of #2) configured to provide a space for gas accumulation and flow (¶0065); a blower (Fig. 2 #5; ¶0064), including an intake port (Fig. 2 from #10; ¶0065) to receive gas and an exhaust port (Fig. 3 exit from #5 to Fig. 1 #3; ¶0065) to allow the pressurized gas to exit, wherein the blower is provided within one (Fig. 2) of the at least one chamber, and is configured to pressurize the gas that enters the at least one chamber and deliver the pressurized gas to the outlet of the casing (Figs. 1 & 3; ¶0065); wherein the outlet and the inlet are not provided on a same inner wall or outer wall of the casing (Figs. 1-2); wherein the casing is configured such that a path of the gas includes the gas entering the at least one chamber via the inlet of the casing, flowing through the gas passage, entering the blower through the intake port, and exiting the casing through the outlet (Figs. 2-3; ¶0065), wherein the path of the gas includes at least two turns (Figs. 2-3; ¶0065) and movement along x, y, and z axes in a three-dimensional Cartesian coordinate system (Figs. 2-3; ¶0065) and at least three elevation changes along the z-axis from the gas entering and the gas exiting the casing (e.g. Figs. 2-3 up through #7, down through #8, up through #10), wherein the at least three elevation changes include at least an elevation change within the gas passage extending from an upper portion (e.g. Figs. 2-3 entrance to #8) of the at least one chamber to the intake port of the blower provided within a lower portion (Fig. 2 entrance to #10)of the at least one chamber, wherein a shortest vertical elevation drop of the path along the z-axis is at least 15 mm (¶0032 – length dimension), and wherein the at least one chamber does not include foam (¶0012 – free of foam). The recitation in the preamble of the device being noise-reducing represents an intended functionality and is given limited patentable weight (MPEP 2111.02).
Gerlach fails to explicitly disclose a total volume of the at least one chamber is between 3 to 18 times a volume of the blower.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art viewing Figs. 2-3 of Gerlach would have considered it prima facie obvious that blower 5 is shown as occupying less than a third of the interior space of housing 2, but also more than one-eighteenth of that interior space (see also volume discussion in ¶0020). Thus, the illustration in Figs. 2-3 of Gerlach would have obviously suggested the required proportionality of the claim relating the blower to the at least one chamber.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Gerlach a total volume of the at least one chamber is between 3 to 18 times a volume of the blower based upon how the illustration in Figs. 2-3 are obviously suggestive of this proportionality.
Regarding claim 2, Gerlach further teaches an inlet pipe (Figs. 2-3 #7; ¶0065) is configured to be integrally formed with the casing (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 3, Gerlach further suggests as obvious a distance between the intake port of the blower and the inner walls of the casing is at least 5 mm (Fig. 2 – #5 is obviously at least 5 mm from inner walls of #2). The claim does not require the intake port to be at least 5 mm from all of the inner walls of the casing. (It is noted that attempting to specify the intake port of the blower as at least 5 mm from all inner walls of the casing would result in a new matter rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as the application as originally filed lacks that specificity.)
Regarding claim 4, Gerlach further teaches an axis (Fig. 2 vertical through #7) of an inlet pipe (Figs. 2-3 #7; ¶0065) is parallel
Regarding claim 5, Gerlach further teaches an outlet pipe (Fig. 1 #3; ¶0063) is provided at the outlet and communicates with the exhaust port of the blower (¶0065).
Regarding claim 6, Gerlach further teaches the casing forms a part of the PAP machine (Fig. 1; ¶¶0003-0004).
Regarding claim 7, Gerlach discloses a noise-reducing air passage device (Figs. 1-3 #1; ¶0063) for use in a PAP machine (¶0004), configured to generate and deliver pressurized gas to an airway of a patient (¶¶0003-0004), the noise-reducing air passage device comprising: a casing (Figs. 1-2 #2; ¶0063) comprising at least two parts (seen in view of Fig. 2), having an outlet (Fig. 1 #3; ¶0063), an inlet (Fig. 2 #6; ¶0065), inner walls (Fig. 2 various internal walls of #2), and outer walls (Fig. 1 various exterior walls of #2); a gas passage (Figs. 2-3 from #6 to #3), formed by a space enclosed by the inner walls of the casing, wherein the gas passage comprises at least two chambers (Figs. 2-3 interior of #2) configured to provide a space for gas accumulation and flow (¶0065); a blower (Fig. 2 #5; ¶0064), including an intake port (Fig. 2 from #10; ¶0065) to receive gas and an exhaust port (Fig. 3 exit from #5 to Fig. 1 #3; ¶0065) to allow the pressurized gas to exit, wherein the blower is provided within one (Fig. 2) of the at least two chambers, and is configured to pressurize the gas that enters the at least two chambers and deliver the pressurized gas to the outlet of the casing (Figs. 1 & 3; ¶0065); wherein an inlet pipe (Figs. 2-3 #7; ¶0065) is provided at and connectable to the inlet of the casing, and the inlet pipe is configured to deliver the gas from an external environment into the at least two chambers within the casing (Fig. 2); wherein the casing is configured such that a path of the gas includes the gas entering the at least two chambers via the inlet of the casing, flowing through the gas passage, entering the blower through the intake port, and exiting the casing through the outlet (Figs. 2-3; ¶0065), wherein the path of the gas includes at least two turns (Figs. 2-3; ¶0065) and movement along x, y, and z axes in a three-dimensional Cartesian coordinate system (Figs. 2-3; ¶0065) and at least three elevation changes along the z-axis from the gas entering and the gas exiting the casing (e.g. Figs. 2-3 up through #7, down through #8, up through #10), wherein the at least three elevation changes include at least an elevation change within the gas passage extending from an upper portion (e.g. Figs. 2-3 entrance to #8) of the at least two chambers to the intake port of the blower provided within a lower portion (Fig. 2 entrance to #10) of one of the at least two chambers, and wherein the at least two chambers do not include foam (¶0012 – free of foam). The recitation in the preamble of the device being noise-reducing represents an intended functionality and is given limited patentable weight (MPEP 2111.02).
Gerlach fails to explicitly disclose a total volume of the at least two chambers is between 3 to 18 times a volume of a blower.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art viewing Figs. 2-3 of Gerlach would have considered it prima facie obvious that blower 5 is shown as occupying less than a third of the interior space of housing 2, but also more than one-eighteenth of that interior space (see also volume discussion in ¶0020). Thus, the illustration in Figs. 2-3 of Gerlach would have obviously suggested the required proportionality of the claim relating the blower to the at least one chamber.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Gerlach a total volume of the at least one chamber is between 3 to 18 times a volume of the blower based upon how the illustration in Figs. 2-3 are obviously suggestive of this proportionality.
Regarding claim 9, Gerlach further teaches the inlet pipe is provided at an edge portion of the casing (Fig. 2), and the inlet pipe and the outlet of the casing are not on a same wall of the casing (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Gerlach further teaches the inlet pipe is tapered (Fig. 6; ¶0075 – widens).
Regarding claim 11, Gerlach further suggests as obvious a distance between the intake port of the blower and its opposing inner wall of the casing is at least 2 mm (Fig. 2 – #5 is obviously at least 5 mm from inner walls of #2).
Regarding claim 12, Gerlach further teaches the casing forms a part of the PAP machine (Fig. 1; ¶¶0003-0004).
Regarding claim 13, Gerlach discloses a noise-reducing air passage device (Figs. 1-3 #1; ¶0063) for use in a PAP machine (¶0004), configured to generate and deliver pressurized gas to an airway of a patient (¶¶0003-0004), the noise-reducing air passage device comprising: a casing (Figs. 1-2 #2; ¶0063) comprising at least two parts (seen in view of Fig. 2), having an outlet (Fig. 1 #3; ¶0063), an inlet (Fig. 2 #6; ¶0065), inner walls (Fig. 2 various internal walls of #2), and outer walls (Fig. 1 various exterior walls of #2); a gas passage (Figs. 2-3 from #6 to #3), formed by a space enclosed by the inner walls of the casing, wherein the gas passage comprises at least one chamber (Figs. 2-3 interior of #2) configured to provide a space for gas accumulation and flow (¶0065); a blower (Fig. 2 #5; ¶0064), including an intake port (Fig. 2 from #10; ¶0065) to receive gas and an exhaust port (Fig. 3 exit from #5 to Fig. 1 #3; ¶0065) to allow the pressurized gas to exit, wherein the blower is provided within one (Fig. 2) of the at least one chamber, and wherein the blower is configured to pressurize the gas that enters the at least one chamber and deliver the pressurized gas to the outlet of the casing (Figs. 1 & 3; ¶0065); wherein an inlet pipe (Figs. 2-3 #7; ¶0065) is provided at and connectable to the inlet of the casing, and the inlet pipe is configured to deliver the gas from an external environment into the at least one chamber within the casing (Fig. 2); wherein the casing is configured such that a path of the gas includes the gas entering the at least one chamber via the inlet of the casing, flowing through the gas passage, entering the blower through the intake port, and exiting the casing through the outlet (Figs. 2-3; ¶0065), wherein the path of the gas includes at least two turns (Figs. 2-3; ¶0065) and movement along x, y, and z axes in a three-dimensional Cartesian coordinate system (Figs. 2-3; ¶0065) and at least three elevation changes along the z-axis from the gas entering and the gas exiting the casing (e.g. Figs. 2-3 up through #7, down through #8, up through #10), wherein the at least three elevation changes include at least an elevation change within the gas passage extending from an upper portion (e.g. Figs. 2-3 entrance to #8) of the at least one chamber to the intake port of the blower provided within a lower portion (e.g. Figs. 2-3 entrance to #10) of the at least one chamber, and wherein an axis of the intake port of the blower is non-parallel to an axis of the inlet of the casing (Fig. 4 – axis of first channel 7 is curved and nozzle 10 is not curved). The recitation in the preamble of the device being noise-reducing represents an intended functionality and is given limited patentable weight (MPEP 2111.02).
Gerlach fails to explicitly disclose a total volume of the at least one chamber is between 3 to 18 times a volume of a blower.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art viewing Figs. 2-3 of Gerlach would have considered it prima facie obvious that blower 5 is shown as occupying less than a third of the interior space of housing 2, but also more than one-eighteenth of that interior space (see also volume discussion in ¶0020). Thus, the illustration in Figs. 2-3 of Gerlach would have obviously suggested the required proportionality of the claim relating the blower to the at least one chamber.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Gerlach a total volume of the at least one chamber is between 3 to 18 times a volume of the blower based upon how the illustration in Figs. 2-3 are obviously suggestive of this proportionality.
Regarding claim 15, Gerlach further teaches the inner walls of the casing are configured to form at least two chambers (e.g. Fig. 2 #4, 9; ¶¶0065-0065) for gas accumulation within the gas passage.
Regarding claim 16, Gerlach further teaches the inner walls of the casing opposite the path of the gas have an arcuate surface (Figs. 1 & 3-8 rounded inner corners).
Regarding claim 17, Gerlach further suggests as obvious a distance between the intake port of the blower and its opposing inner wall of the casing is at least 2 mm (Fig. 2 – #5 is obviously at least 5 mm from inner walls of #2).
Regarding claim 18, Gerlach further teaches the casing forms a part of the PAP machine (Fig. 1; ¶¶0003-0004).
Regarding claim 19, Gerlach further teaches the at least one chamber does not include foam (¶0012 – free of foam).
Regarding claim 20, Gerlach discloses a noise-reducing air passage device (Figs. 1-3 #1; ¶0063) for use in a PAP machine (¶0004), configured to generate and deliver pressurized gas to an airway of a patient (¶¶0003-0004), the noise-reducing air passage device comprising: a casing (Figs. 1-2 #2; ¶0063) comprising at least two parts (seen in view of Fig. 2), having an outlet (Fig. 1 #3; ¶0063), an inlet (Fig. 2 #6; ¶0065), inner walls (Fig. 2 various internal walls of #2), and outer walls (Fig. 1 various exterior walls of #2); a gas passage (Figs. 2-3 from #6 to #3), formed by the space enclosed by the inner walls of the casing, wherein the gas passage comprises at least two chambers (Figs. 2-3 interior of #2) configured to provide a space for gas accumulation and flow (¶0065); a blower (Fig. 2 #5; ¶0064), including an intake port (Fig. 2 from #10; ¶0065) to receive gas and an exhaust port (Fig. 3 exit from #5 to Fig. 1 #3; ¶0065) to allow the pressurized gas to exit, wherein the blower is provided within one (Fig. 2) of the at least two chambers, and wherein the blower is configured to pressurize the gas that enters the at least two chambers and deliver the pressurized gas to the outlet of the casing (Figs. 1 & 3; ¶0065); wherein the noise-reducing air passage device further comprises at least one ventilation component (Figs. 2-3 #8; ¶0065) that is provided within the gas passage, configured to communicate with the at least two chambers and provide a channel for the gas to flow from one chamber to another (Figs. 2-3; ¶0065); wherein a main path of the gas within the gas passage is an airflow path (Figs. 2-3; ¶0065), wherein the airflow path is configured to have at least two turns (Figs. 2-3; ¶0065) and displacements along an x-axis, y-axis, and z-axis in a three-dimensional Cartesian coordinate system (Figs. 2-3; ¶0065) and at least three elevation changes along the z-axis from the gas entering the inlet of the casing and the gas exiting the outlet of the casing (e.g. Figs. 2-3 up through #7, down through #8, up through #10), and a total length of the airflow path is greater than 20 cm (inherent based on measures in ¶0032 when taken in the overall context of Figs. 2-3), and wherein a shortest vertical elevation drop of the path along the z-axis is at least 15 mm (¶0032 – length dimension); wherein the at least three elevation changes include at least an elevation change within the gas passage extending from an upper portion (e.g. Figs. 2-3 entrance to #8) of the at least one chamber to the intake port of the blower provided within a lower portion (Fig. 2 entrance to #10) of the at least one chamber. The recitation in the preamble of the device being noise-reducing represents an intended functionality and is given limited patentable weight (MPEP 2111.02). Second channel 8 is read as at least a functional equivalent of the disclosed ventilation component based upon its role in performing acoustic impedance while directing flow between chambers (¶¶0065, 0067).
Gerlach fails to explicitly disclose a total volume of the at least two chambers is between 3 to 18 times a volume of the blower; and wherein an area of the inlet of the casing is greater than or equal to an area of the intake port of the blower.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art viewing Figs. 2-3 of Gerlach would have considered it prima facie obvious that blower 5 is shown as occupying less than a third of the interior space of housing 2, but also more than one-eighteenth of that interior space (see also volume discussion in ¶0020). Thus, the illustration in Figs. 2-3 of Gerlach would have obviously suggested the required proportionality of the claim relating the blower to the at least one chamber. Additionally, Gerlach discusses various dimensions for first channel 7 in ¶0032 (e.g. width and depth measures) which define an area of possibly greater than 1000 mm2. And notice then that inlet 6 is itself significantly larger in cross-sectional area than first channel 7 (e.g. Figs. 2-3), though specific measures are only discussed for first channel 7. One of ordinary skill in the art viewing the relative size of nozzle 10 in Fig. 2 would not have expected its circular cross-sectional area to need to be greater than the cross-sectional area defined by the rectangular inlet 6, when further considered in relation to the measures discussed in at least ¶0032.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Gerlach a total volume of the at least one chamber is between 3 to 18 times a volume of the blower based upon how the illustration in Figs. 2-3 are obviously suggestive of this proportionality and to have specified in Gerlach an area of the inlet of the casing is greater than or equal to an area of the intake port of the blower based upon the relative sizes of inlet 6 and nozzle 10 illustrated in Figs. 2-3 and in light of the dimensions discussed of first channel 7 in ¶0032, with a recognition that inlet 6 defines a cross-sectional area significantly larger than first channel 7 (e.g. Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 21, Gerlach further teaches the at least two chambers comprise a first chamber (Fig. 2 #4; ¶0064) and a second chamber (Fig. 2 #9; ¶0065), the blower is provided within the first chamber (Fig. 2; ¶0064), and the intake port of the blower communicates with the second chamber (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 22, Gerlach further teaches the second chamber is smaller than the first chamber (Fig. 2; ¶0093).
Regarding claim 23, Gerlach further teaches the ventilation component includes an intake end (Figs. 2-3 top of #8) and an exhaust end (Figs. 2-3 bottom of #8). Gerlach further suggests as obvious a distance between the exhaust end and its opposing inner wall of the casing is at least 3.5 mm (Fig. 2 – height of auxiliary chamber 9 will obviously be at least 3.5 mm). The instant claim does not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Regarding claim 24, Gerlach further teaches an outlet pipe (Fig. 1 pipe with #3) is provided at the outlet and communicates with the exhaust port of the blower (¶0065).
Regarding claim 25, Gerlach further teaches the casing forms a part of the PAP machine (Fig. 1; ¶¶0003-0004).
Claim(s) 8 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerlach (U.S. Pub. 2024/0358943) in view of Librett et al. (U.S. Pub. 2014/0299130).
Regarding claim 8, Gerlach fails to teach the inner walls of the casing include a silicone layer connectable to the inner walls, and the silicone layer is configured to reduce noise within the gas passage.
Librett teaches a PAP device (e.g. Fig. 1) wherein inner walls of the PAP device include a silicone layer (¶¶0034-0035) connectable to the inner walls. Librett teaches a silicone layer as providing the benefit of being a lining material for the housing of the PAP device which is specifically selected as a noise attenuating material (¶0034).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in Gerlach the inner walls of the casing include a silicone layer connectable to the inner walls, and the silicone layer is configured to reduce noise within the gas passage in order to provide the benefit of being a lining material for the housing of the PAP device which is specifically selected as a noise attenuating material in view of Librett.
Regarding claim 14, Gerlach fails to teach the inner walls of the casing include a silicone layer connectable to the inner walls, and the silicone layer is configured to reduce noise within the gas passage.
Librett teaches a PAP device (e.g. Fig. 1) wherein inner walls of the PAP device include a silicone layer (¶¶0034-0035) connectable to the inner walls. Librett teaches a silicone layer as providing the benefit of being a lining material for the housing of the PAP device which is specifically selected as a noise attenuating material (¶0034).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in Gerlach the inner walls of the casing include a silicone layer connectable to the inner walls, and the silicone layer is configured to reduce noise within the gas passage in order to provide the benefit of being a lining material for the housing of the PAP device which is specifically selected as a noise attenuating material in view of Librett..
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Regarding the independent claims attention is specifically drawn to: Lindell et al. (U.S. Pub. 2009/0007912; Fig. 2), Frater et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0018324; Fig. 20) and Yu et al. (CN 117404338 A; Fig. 7).
/JOSEPH D. BOECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785