DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application: Claims 1-13 are present for examination at this time.
Claims 1, and 8-9 are rejected.
Please refer to Forms 892 of record in this application and/or submitted IDSes to resolve any possible discrepancies in the listed reference numbers, titles, and/or author or inventor names.
Applicant is reminded that claim mapping is provided as a courtesy to the applicant, but applicant should consider a reference as a whole, as the entire reference gives context to mapped sections.
Notice of Pre-AIA AIA Status
The present application, filed on after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first invent to file provisions of the AIA .
Restriction/Election
Examiner notes Applicant’s election without traverse on 7/9/2026 of Claims 1, 8, and 9.
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by “Detection Of Periodic Transmissions For Identifying Malicious Computers” by Luo et al, US11,063,969 (“Luo”)
With respect to Claim 1, Luo discloses a malicious communication detection device comprising: a processor to execute a program; and a memory to store the program which, when executed by the processor, performs processes (Luo 1:38-41, 7:39-54)
acquiring a communication message and determining whether the communication message is a normal message on the basis of a periodicity requirement set for each of time-varying states of the communication message, (Luo 3:1-47 where a message is received, and it’s periodicity is used to determined if the message is an attack).
wherein the periodicity requirement of the communication message is identified on the basis of a state of the communication message classified according to a transition type which is a factor affecting a periodic error of the communication message and a plurality of transition conditions which is set for each transition type to determine whether the communication message is a normal message (Id., 5:66-6:10, and 6:53-7:11 where the periodicity is gauged mathematically, and if the periodicity is within or outside a specified range, the message is determined to be malicious or safe).
With respect to Claim 8, Luo discloses a malicious communication detection method comprising:
acquiring a communication message; and determining whether the communication message is a normal message on the basis of a periodicity requirement set for each time-varying state of the communication message, (Luo 3:1-47 where a message is received, and it’s periodicity is used to determined if the message is an attack).
wherein in the determining, the periodicity requirement of the communication message is identified on the basis of a state of the communication message classified according to a transition type which is a factor affecting a periodic error of the communication message and a plurality of transition conditions which is set for each transition type, and it is determined whether the communication message is a normal message (Id., 5:66-6:10, and 6:53-7:11 where the periodicity is gauged mathematically, and if the periodicity is within or outside a specified range, the message is determined to be malicious or safe).
With respect to Claim 9, Luo discloses a storage medium storing a malicious communication detection program for causing a computer to perform all of the processing according to claim 8 (Luo at 7:55-64, “An article of manufacture may be embodied as computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by the processor 101 cause the network security device 100 to be operable to perform the functions of the one or more software modules 110” )
Claims 1, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by “Periodicity Detection Of Network Traffic” by Reed et al., US10,671,708B2
With respect to Claim 1, Reed discloses a malicious communication detection device comprising: a processor to execute a program; and a memory to store the program which, when executed by the processor, performs processes (Hitachi ¶¶31-39)
acquiring a communication message and determining whether the communication message is a normal message on the basis of a periodicity requirement set for each of time-varying states of the communication message, (Reed at 1:38-2:3 where a message is received, and it’s periodicity is used to determined if the message is an attack).
wherein the periodicity requirement of the communication message is identified on the basis of a state of the communication message classified according to a transition type which is a factor affecting a periodic error of the communication message and a plurality of transition conditions which is set for each transition type to determine whether the communication message is a normal message (Reed 3:1-16 and 4:9-23 where the periodicity is gauged mathematically, and if the periodicity is within or outside a specified range, the message is determined to be malicious or safe)
With respect to Claim 8, Reed discloses a malicious communication detection method comprising:
acquiring a communication message; and determining whether the communication message is a normal message on the basis of a periodicity requirement set for each time-varying state of the communication message, (Reed at 1:38-2:3 where a message is received, and it’s periodicity is used to determined if the message is an attack).
wherein in the determining, the periodicity requirement of the communication message is identified on the basis of a state of the communication message classified according to a transition type which is a factor affecting a periodic error of the communication message and a plurality of transition conditions which is set for each transition type, and it is determined whether the communication message is a normal message (Reed 3:1-16 and 4:9-23 where the periodicity is gauged mathematically, and if the periodicity is within or outside a specified range, the message is determined to be malicious or safe)
With respect to Claim 9, Reed discloses a storage medium storing a malicious communication detection program for causing a computer to perform all of the processing according to claim 8 Reed 2:4-11 “Examples are implemented as a computer process, a computing system, or as an article of manufacture such as a device, computer program product, or computer readable medium. According to an aspect, the computer program product is a computer storage medium readable by a computer system and encoding a computer program comprising instructions for executing a computer process.” )
Claims 1, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by “Information Processing Device and Authorized Communication Determination Method” WO2021/024786A1 (“Hitachi”)
With respect to Claim 1, Hitachi discloses a malicious communication detection device comprising: a processor to execute a program; and a memory to store the program which, when executed by the processor, performs processes (Hitachi ¶¶31-39)
acquiring a communication message and determining whether the communication message is a normal message on the basis of a periodicity requirement set for each of time-varying states of the communication message, (Hitachi ¶¶31-33 where a message is received, and it’s periodicity is used to determined if the message is an attack).
wherein the periodicity requirement of the communication message is identified on the basis of a state of the communication message classified according to a transition type which is a factor affecting a periodic error of the communication message and a plurality of transition conditions which is set for each transition type to determine whether the communication message is a normal message (Hitachi ¶¶37-39 where the periodicity is gauged mathematically, and if the periodicity is within or outside a specified range, the message is determined to be malicious or safe)
With respect to Claim 8, Hitachi discloses a malicious communication detection method comprising:
acquiring a communication message; and determining whether the communication message is a normal message on the basis of a periodicity requirement set for each time-varying state of the communication message, (Hitachi ¶¶31-33 where a message is received, and it’s periodicity is used to determined if the message is an attack).
wherein in the determining, the periodicity requirement of the communication message is identified on the basis of a state of the communication message classified according to a transition type which is a factor affecting a periodic error of the communication message and a plurality of transition conditions which is set for each transition type, and it is determined whether the communication message is a normal message (Hitachi ¶¶37-39 where the periodicity is gauged mathematically, and if the periodicity is within or outside a specified range, the message is determined to be malicious or safe).
With respect to Claim 9, Hitachi discloses a storage medium storing a malicious communication detection program for causing a computer to perform all of the processing according to claim 8 (Hitachi at ¶19 “The program source may be, for example, a program distribution server or a storage medium readable by a computer.” )
Documents Considered but not relied upon
The following references read substantially if not completely on Claim 1.
CYBERSECURITY ON A CONTROLLER AREA NETWORK IN A VEHICLE US20210203682 (discusses detecting intrusions based on patterns that are periodic at ¶¶14, 16, and 23)
ATTACK DETECTION APPARATUS, ATTACK DETECTION METHOD AND PROGRAM US 20230247035 A1 (discusses at ¶¶8-10 using periodicity to detect attacks, but needing to account for false positives.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA L SCHWARTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649