DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,6-9,11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shashidhara to (US20100162261) in view of ÅKERBERG to (WO 2020143900 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Shashidhara teaches a distributed system comprising:
a plurality of compute nodes configured to process messages;( [0022] discloses counting the number of idle and overloaded computers periodically; (iii) circulating at least one predetermined busy token through the logical ring if the number of overloaded computers exceeds the number of idle computer ) each of the plurality of compute nodes being configured to 1) receive an indication of a respective time interval, ([0079] discloses (iii) all the computers in the network are physically synchronized, enabling communication between any two or more computers in the network; (iv) scalability is easily achieved; (v) as the time setting is done periodically, the difference in the time values of any two clocks, clock skew, is also taken care; and hence achieves logical synchronization) and 2) perform a self-maintenance operation during the respective time interval; ( [0023] discloses a plurality of computers connected in a substantial logical ring architecture…at least one predetermined token designated with any one of a busy or an idle status circulating through the logical ring.[0022] discloses circulate a message indicative of busy status and required resources for completing a predetermined job from the overloaded computer to other computers in the logical ring ) wherein each compute node of the plurality of compute nodes is configured to refrain from performing the self-maintenance operation outside of the respective time interval([0041] disclose whenever an idle computer receives the message frame, it checks the resource requirements and decides whether it can process this task…[0079]… the difference in the time values of any two clocks, clock skew, is also taken care; and hence achieves logical synchronization …[0023] discloses a plurality of computers connected in a substantial logical ring architecture; (ii) said computers configured having a synchronized clock operation; and (iii) at least one predetermined token designated with any one of a busy or an idle status circulating through the logical ring)
Shashidhara does not explicitly teach wherein each of a plurality of values of a common parameter of the messages is assigned to at least two of the plurality of compute nodes, the respective time interval being distinct for each of the at least two of the plurality of compute nodes
However, ÅKERBERG teaches wherein each of a plurality of values of a common parameter of the messages is assigned to at least two of the plurality of compute nodes, (page.8, lines 15-24 discloses communication link 140 in the TSN network 110 between two of the end-points 120a- 120N. S106: The control node 200 performs self-healing of the TSN communication link) the respective time interval being distinct for each of the at least two of the plurality of compute nodes(page.1, lines 19-25 discloses the CNC entity might configure the underlying TSN communication backbone components in such a way that the end-points achieve deterministic real time communication for their message exchange with other end points. If any network bridge, or other intermediate device in the TSN network, fails to transmit/receive message within the allocated TSN time slot, then the message will not be transmitted to the destination end-point)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Shashidhara include wherein each of a plurality of values of a common parameter of the messages is assigned to at least two of the plurality of compute nodes, the respective time interval being distinct for each of the at least two of the plurality of compute nodes, as suggested by ÅKERBERG. This modification would benefit the system to reduce communication error.
Regarding claim 6, Shashidhara teaches distributed system comprising: a plurality of compute nodes configured to process messages; ( [0022] discloses counting the number of idle and overloaded computers periodically; (iii) circulating at least one predetermined busy token through the logical ring if the number of overloaded computers exceeds the number of idle computer ) wherein each of a plurality of values of a common parameter of the messages is assigned to at least two of the plurality of compute nodes([0079] discloses (iii) all the computers in the network are physically synchronized, enabling communication between any two or more computers in the network; (iv) scalability is easily achieved; (v) as the time setting is done periodically, the difference in the time values of any two clocks, clock skew, is also taken care; and hence achieves logical synchronization) wherein each compute node of the plurality of compute nodes is configured to refrain from performing the self-maintenance operation when not granted the permission([0041] disclose whenever an idle computer receives the message frame, it checks the resource requirements and decides whether it can process this task…[0079]… the difference in the time values of any two clocks, clock skew, is also taken care; and hence achieves logical synchronization …)
Shashidhara does not explicitly teach each of the plurality of compute nodes being configured to 1) communicate with a server for a permission, and 2) perform a self-maintenance operation in response to receiving the permission from the server, the server restricting the permission to one of the at least two of the plurality of compute nodes during a given time;
However, ÅKERBERG teaches each of the plurality of compute nodes being configured to 1) communicate with a server for a permission,(page.8 lines lines 19-20 discloses The control node 200 obtains an indication of a failure of a TSN) and 2) perform a self-maintenance operation in response to receiving the permission from the server,( page .10, lines 12-17 discloses CUC entity is together with at least one CNC entity configured to, as part of performing the self-healing, co-ordinate and resolve the failure of the TSN communication link 140. That is, according to an embodiment the control node 200 is configured to, during the self-healing, communicate with at least one CNC entity for coordinating and resolving the failure of the TSN communication link 140) the server restricting the permission to one of the at least two of the plurality of compute nodes during a given time,( page .10, lines 12-15 discloses CUC entity is together with at least one CNC entity configured to, as part of performing the self-healing, co-ordinate and resolve the failure of the TSN communication link 140)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Shashidhara include each of the plurality of compute nodes being configured to 1) communicate with a server for a permission, and 2) perform a self-maintenance operation in response to receiving the permission from the server, the server restricting the permission to one of the at least two of the plurality of compute nodes during a given time, as suggested by ÅKERBERG. This modification would benefit the system to reduce communication error.
Regarding claim 2, Shashidhara teaches wherein each of the plurality of compute nodes is assigned to process a respective subset of at least two of the plurality of values of the common parameter([0038] discloses The message frame is sent to all computers in the logical ring as shown in step 206. On the way, whenever an overloaded computer receives the message frame, it checks the message frame to ascertain whether the particular idle computer can fulfill the requirements of any of the jobs that are ready in a queue).
Regarding claim 7, Shashidhara and ÅKERBERG teaches wherein the permission indicates a time interval during which the compute node is permitted to perform the self-maintenance operation( ÅKERBERG ,page .10, lines 12-15 discloses CUC entity is together with at least one CNC entity configured to, as part of performing the self-healing, co-ordinate and resolve the failure of the TSN communication link 140).
Regarding claim 8, Shashidhara teaches wherein each of the plurality of compute nodes is assigned to process a respective subset of at least two of the plurality of values of the common parameter([0038] discloses The message frame is sent to all computers in the logical ring as shown in step 206. On the way, whenever an overloaded computer receives the message frame, it checks the message frame to ascertain whether the particular idle computer can fulfill the requirements of any of the jobs that are ready in a queue).
Regarding claim 9, Shashidhara and ÅKERBERG teaches wherein each of the respective subsets differs from one
another by at least one value of the common parameter(ÅKERBERG ,page.3, lines 8-17 discloses handling failure of a TSN communication link in a TSN network. The TSN network comprises end-points and intermediate nodes. A TSN communication link extends between two of the end points via a first subset of the intermediate nodes. At least one further TSN communication link extends between said two of the end-points via a second subset of the intermediate nodes. The first subset and the second subset are not identical. The method is performed by a control node. The method comprises obtaining an indication of a failure of the TSN communication link. The method comprises performing self-healing of the TSN communication link).
Regarding claim 11, Shashidhara and ÅKERBERG teaches wherein each of the plurality of compute nodes is further configured to communicate with the server for the permission in response to a determination that maintenance is required,( ÅKERBERG page.8 lines lines 19-20 discloses The control node 200 obtains an indication of a failure of a TSN).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shashidhara to (US20100162261) in view of ÅKERBERG to (WO 2020143900 A1) further in view of Rao to (US PG Pub. 2020/0034929)
Regarding claim 3, Shashidhara does not explicitly teach wherein each of the respective subsets differs from one another by at least one value of the common parameter
However, Rao teaches wherein each of the respective subsets differs from one another by at least one value of the common parameter ([0030] discloses the electronic trading system's network, gateways at which trade orders (also referred to as transactions or orders) received from client systems are timestamped upon entry into the electronic trading system network, and the server which receives the trade orders from the gateways and provides them to the matching engine of an electronic trading application for processing)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Shashidhara include wherein each of the respective subsets differs from one another by at least one value of the common parameter, as suggested by Roa. This modification would benefit the system as a design choice.
Regarding claim 4, Shashidhara and ÅKERBERG and Roa teaches wherein each of the plurality of compute nodes assigned to a given value of the common parameter is configured to process a message corresponding to the given value in parallel and independent from one another(Roa [0030] discloses the electronic trading system's network, gateways at which trade orders (also referred to as transactions or orders) received from client systems are timestamped upon entry into the electronic trading system network, and the server which receives the trade orders from the gateways and provides them to the matching engine of an electronic trading application for processing).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shashidhara to (US20100162261) in view of ÅKERBERG to (WO 2020143900 A1) further in view of MERIAC to (WO 2016020640 A1)
Regarding claim 10, Shashidhara and ÅKERBERG does not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of compute nodes is further configured to communicate periodically with the server for the permission
However, MERIAC teaches wherein each of the plurality of compute nodes is further configured to communicate periodically with the server for the permission([00256] discloses… the status update may further comprise a request for reauthorisation from the server, with permission being granted whilst within the 24 hour period)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Shashidhara include wherein each of the plurality of compute nodes is further configured to communicate periodically with the server for the permission, as suggested by MERIAC. This modification would benefit the system with safety.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5, is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 12-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461