Response to Amendment
Applicant has amended the claims thus the objections to the claims are withdrawn.
Applicant contends Examiner did not accurately paraphrase Curchod (Remarks 10-11 filed 8/5/2026). Examiner acknowledges a typo associating “center” with “15 feet” on page 4 of the Non-Final Rejection filed 7/21/2025 should have been 7.5 feet as recited on page 6 of the Non-Final Rejection for a single player. Applicant also alleges Examiner relies on Curchod to disclose “at least three” bays. Examiner disagrees because the rejection is based on the combination of Curchod in view of Vollbrecht and has explicitly stated that Curchod discloses two bays (Non-Final 4) and points to the teachings of Vollbrecht having more than two bays (Non-Final Rejection 4-7).
Applicant argues that the references do not disclose a minimum of 8 feet. Applicant contends that the difference between 7.5 and 8 feet is significant (Remarks 11) and alleges the references fail to provide a motivation and contends one of skill in the art would determine making the bays larger would be “unnecessary wasteful and pointless” (Remarks 11). Examiner disagrees. Examiner explained that the minimum spacing is a range-effective variable of which it would be obvious to optimize (Non-Final rejection 7-8) the stated range of Curchod of between 7.5 and 11 feet. Further, aside from Applicant’s allegations, Applicant’s specification does not explain why the player spacing of 8 feet is significant. Balancing the arguments as between one of skill in the art optimizing the width of each player station or bay and the position taken by Applicant that no one would ever space players 8 feet apart because anything over 7.5 feet would be unnecessarily wasteful and pointless, Examiner deems one of skill in the art who would optimize the spacing as the more persuasive and only plausible argument.
Applicant argues that the newly added “the target screen is positioned so as to be exposed on its entire surface to direct impact by a ball struck by any player” (Remarks 13) is not disclosed by Vollbrecht. Examiner disagrees because Examiner relies on Curchod not Vollbrecht as described below in the rejection of the claims.
Applicant argues that Curchod does not disclose at least three player areas and that Vollbrecht does not disclose spacing that is substantially equal. (Remarks 14). Examiner disagrees to this mis-attribution and piecewise analysis where the rejection is based on the combination of references. As stated in the rejection below, Vollbrecht is relied upon for increasing the number of player stations of Curchod and Cuchod is relied upon to disclose the minimum width of the player area, not the other way around. Further, it has been held that one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where, as here, the rejections are based on combinations of references. (In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986)). "A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). "[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle." Id. Office personnel may also take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at __, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.".
Therefore, Examiner maintains that the recitation of player spacing is a result-eefective variable an optimized as a matter of design choice (Non-Final Rejection 10). Further, Applicant argues that “at least three” locations being “substantially equal” and “at least eight feet” are “substantial advantages to the present invention.” (Remarks 14). However, it would have been persuasive if Applicant had disclosed in the specification the reasons why these are substantial advantages. The Specification is silent as to the significance to any of these elements. Finally, Examiner deems Applicant’s argument relying on the need to accommodate both left- and right-handed players (remarks 15) lacking evidentiary support and a spurious argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 24 recites a competitive socializer element followed by the intended uses of allowing competition between separate groups of players, each group playing on a device segregated into its own separate physical theater area apart from the other groups. Yet, all that the specification discloses is a competitive socializer element 736 comprising processes, chips, or functions (Spec. [0058]) and that it allows for other functions when not playing the multi-player golf game device [0030, 0059]. See also Fig. 7A. So what is a competitive socializer element? How does it coordinate multiple groups each playing in other separate physical playing areas? At best we know it is a functionality residing on the server. Examiner deems Claim 24 to be vague. To advance prosecution, Claim 24 is construed to be functionality which enables group competitive play. The balance of the claim directed towards segregated physical areas is merely an expression of intended use. Appropriate attention is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 1-8, 10-13, and 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 5,354,063 to Curchod in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2019/0299057 to Vollbrecht.
In Reference to Claims 1 and 23
Curchod discloses a multi-player ball striking game device enabling play by multiple
players hitting balls at will, including simultaneously (Fig. 2 dual-user golf-simulator booth 50,
simultaneously Col. 4, ll. 14-15), comprising:
two adjacent single-player ball striking-off areas for holding each ball (Fig. 2 dual booth Col. 5, ll. 22-23, two tee areas 62, 64 and tees 70, 72, Col. 5, ll. 26-28 players segregated by low separator boards 74), the center of each of said striking-off areas being spaced apart substantially equally at least 7.5 feet from the others (Col. 5, ll. 22-23 “minimal width for the dual booth is 15 feet wide”) and generally in a line facing a target screen 80, the target screen 80being the same target screen for all players (as in Fig. 2) and being positioned so as to be exposed on its entire surface to direct impact by a ball struck by any player (Fig. 2 target screen depicting screen 80 directly in the line of impact of a struck golf ball by a golfer properly addressing the ball in the tee area, where the golf balls are hit at the screen Col. 2. ll. 30-33), the center of each striking-off area being disposed in a position for hitting each ball by a strike delivered by a player addressed at the ball on his or her striking-off area (Fig. 2 depicts players addressing and striking balls where “It is intended that the tee areas also include tees upon which golf ball[s] are teed” Col. 5, ll. 30-31), and positioned so that, when the ball is hit in a normal manner toward the center of the screen, it is likely to impact the screen (Fig. 2 depicting screen 80 directly in the line of impact of a struck golf ball by a golfer properly addressing the ball in the tee area, where the golf balls are hit at the screen Col. 2. ll. 30-33);
a light projector for projecting the at least one computer-generated image onto the same target screen (Fig. 2, projector 82 projects an image on screen 80 Col. 6, ll. 4-6) which image includes at least one target image having a scorable area (Fig. 2 showing target image of a green and scorable area of the fairway, green, and hole);
the target screen 80 being configured to receive light from the projector (Fig. 2 receiving light indicated by projection lines) and to display the at least said projected target image having the scorable area (Fig. 2 displaying the projected image and scorable areas); further to receive the impact of each ball driven by each strike delivered by any of the players at any of the striking-off areas (Fig. 2 players hitting balls toward screen 80 composed of at least impact-sensitive sensor switches, the operative word being impact (Col. 5, ll. 8-9), the screen is generally upright and being disposed away from the center of each of the striking-off areas (Fig. 2, see also large screen display means Col. 6, ll. 67-68);
at least one launch monitor device for determining the location [[of]] a ball hit from each of the striking-off areas has or will impact onto the screen after being hit (Fig. 2 computer system 88 includes infrared sensor means 100 to assess flight parameters of a first golf ball hit Col. 6, ll. 41-44, also Fig. 4), and which player hit which ball (Figs. 2A-B and 3A-B identifies which player for each tee shot), whether the balls hit by different players will impact the screen at the same time or different times (the system tracks balls simultaneously or concurrently Col. 5, ll. 27-28 and can assess speed, elevation angle, and side angle Col. 8, ll. 22-25, thus, the system determines impact at the same times or different times); and
a suitably programmed computer (Examiner deems “suitably” to be non-functional descriptive matter holding no patentable weight as whether the computer programming is suitable or not is not recited in the claims as resulting in any difference in the performance or the structures of the claim) for comparing the location of impact of a ball onto the screen hit by any of the players (“The linear arrays are used to gather information about the flight of a golf ball so that the computer system can calculate the flight and landing location of a ball. For explanatory purposes, the flight path 210 of a first driven golf ball 212 and the flight path 216 of a second driven ball are described. The flight paths start at the location of the ball 200 on the tee and extend toward the display screen 80 of FIG. 2 and 3” Col. 16-23) and of determining whether that location is within the scorable area of the at least one target image (determine the distance and location of the golf ball on the simulated golf hole Col. 6, ll. 55-56, see also landing location Col. 8, ll. 18-19), and of storing an achieved score for the player who hit the ball onto the scorable area (Fig. 2A showing Player A yardage to the flag).
As to spacing players 8 feet apart, those of skill in the art as demonstrated by the art of record recognize that when a property is affected by a variable the variable is result-effective (MPEP 2144.05). When a variable is result-effective, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize it i.e., to experiment to reach another workable product or process. Here, the number of bays or bay stations is claimed to be at least 8 feet apart to give each player sufficient space but also to maximize each square foot of a gaming venue, a circumstance that encourages one to find the optimal trade-off between player separation to balance individual enjoyment of the activity with the competing interest for the establishment to maximize revenue by focusing on the spacing of players to find the optimal distance. Curchod discloses as much where he expands a single 11-foot player area into a 15-foot player area for two players to “increase player throughput and efficient utilization of space while still maintaining quality of play.” (Col. 2, ll. 15-17, Fig. 1 prior art, Fig. 2 Col. 5, ll. 17-24). Thus, one of skill in the art would realize that the dual player spacing of a minimum distance of 15 feet of Curchod is the result of optimizing to reach a workable solution between 7.5 to 11 feet for a player. Here, it would be an obvious matter of design choice as between the 7.5-foot spacing of Curchod and the 8-foot spacing as claimed by Applicant because Applicant, while arguing there is a significance to 8 feet, fails to disclose in his specification that the 8 feet solves any particular problem or serves any specific purpose and the 7.5-feet separation of Curchod would work equally as well.
Curchod discloses the invention substantially as claimed to include disclosing that the second player increases player throughput and is an efficient utilization of space (Col. 2, ll. 14-17). However, Curchod does not explicitly disclose at least three adjacent players.
One of skill in the art would be aware of the teachings of Vollbrecht. Vollbrecht teaches of an immersive game play range (Titl.) wherein “Multiple types of sports could be combined into a single game (e.g., skeet shooting at golf balls hit from other bay stations). The game play environment can be configured for individual free-play, game play between multiple players in a single bay station or game play between multiple players in multiple bays (or even by bay station level, e.g., first floor vs. second floor).” ([0028], see also Fig. 3 bays 100 and additional ways to combine multiple sets of multiple bay stations Figs. 2, 3, 5, and 9). In example embodiments three adjacent bay stations are shown (Fig. 12) with targets displayed on an end-of-range screen 116 ([0034]) and multiple sets or multiple bays (Fig. 9). Vollbrecht invents this system to “provide an immersive and reactive game play range, system and process having a dynamic range surface and/or a dynamic, end-of-range display that provide for a partially simulated environment with a shared field of play for the activity that allows for an immersive but shared view of each participant and the other participants, and further expands participation by combining the advantages of simulated display with a physical field of play.” ([0009]).
The Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; and
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Here, it would require only routine skill in the art to modify the dual booth of Curchod with the three or multiple sets of multiple adjacent bay stations of Vollbrecht to achieve the predictable result of providing for an immersive but shared view of each participant and the other participants, and further expands participation by combining the advantages of simulated display with a physical field of play. The Courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results to be indicia of obviousness.
In Reference to Claim 2
Curchod discloses an arithmetic unit (Fig. 2 computer 8[8], Fig. 4 computer means 104) unit for calculating each player’s running total score (Fig. 2A Player hit 212 yards, Fig. 3A Player A has 200 yards to go).
In Reference to Claim 3
Curchod discloses projecting the score onto the screen (Fig. 2 90, 91).
In Reference to Claim 4
Curchod discloses projecting each player’s running total score onto the target screen (Fig. 2A Player hit 212 yards, Fig. 3A Player A has 200 yards to go).
In Reference to Claims 5 and 6
Vollbrecht teaches of wherein the target screen has a front and side edge connecting contiguously to a side wall portion disposed at an angle with respect to the front of the target screen (Fig. 9 generally 90 degree angle) and extending from it, the side wall portion also being configured to receive light from at least one projector to display at least one projected target image having a scorable area and to receive the impact of each ball driven by each strike delivered by the at least one of the players from any of the striking-off areas (side netting {walls} 114 and ceiling of the range ([0036]) share the same capabilities as projection on end-of-range wall where “video displays can be embedded in side walls [0036] and “embedded and/or projection-mapped images onto a large, multiuser game environment” [0011, 0028, 0034], Fig. 4 projector display 117, Fig. 12). Vollbrecht also teaches that in addition to receiving projected images a range sensor system 110 ([0033]) can include multi-sensor radars, multi-camera vision, ground impact sensors, and/or a fusion of multiple sensor systems.
In Reference to Claims 7-8, and 11-12
Curchod discloses prior art sensors in tee areas for determining parameters comprising a vector, the vector includes the parameters of at least speed and direction, and ball spin speed (Col. 1, ll. 16-18, see also speed Col. 8, ll. 23-25).
In Reference to Claims 10
Vollbrecht teaches of the range sensor system 112 including sensor multi-camera vision ([0033]) pointed at the screen to sense location of a ball at the time of impact with the screen (Fig. 2, see also tracking until ball hits the netting {location at time of impact} ([0034] and hitting targeted areas ([0041]). Multiple parameters: see rejection of Claims 7 and 8).
In Reference to Claim 13
Curchod discloses different locations of impact within the scorable area (Fig. 2A Player A location is 212 yards, Fig. 2B Player C location is 157 yards.).
In Reference to Claims 22 and 24-25
These claims are directed towards a competitive socialization element. Examiner has touched on this claim construction as part of the 112 rejection of Claim 24 (above). As to Claims 22 and 25, the element is construed as functionality residing on the server. Claim 24 is construed as functionality that enables group competitive play and the balance of the claim is directed towards segregated physical areas which are merely an expression of intended use.
As to Claims 22 and 25, Curchod discloses an arithmetic unit (Fig. 2 computer 8[8], Fig. 4 computer means 104) unit for calculating each player’s running total score (Fig. 2A Player hit 212 yards, Fig. 3A Player A has 200 yards to go). The arithmetic unit is a competitive socialization element because it involves scoring player scores.
As to Claim 24, Vollbrecht (Figs. 2, 3, 5, 9, and 12) also computes player scores and further “The game play environment can be configured for individual free-play, game play between multiple players in a single bay station or game play between multiple players in multiple bays (or even by bay station level, e.g., first floor vs. second floor).” ([0028], see also Fig. 3 bays 100 and additional ways to combine multiple sets of multiple bay stations Figs. 2, 3, 5, and 9).
13. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Curchod, Vollbrecht further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 4,160,942 to Lynch.
Curchod discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, the reference does not explicitly disclose an axis of spin.
Lynch discloses a trajectory calculator 26 (Col. 2, ll. 2-3) employing electro optical sensors 22 to determine an axis of ball spin (Figs. 1 and 2) as part of a teaching center for golfers (Col. 1, ll. 7-11) to include flight conditions of initial spin of the golf ball.
It would require only routine skill in the art to modify the litany of vector parameters of Curchod with the additional flight parameter of Lynch to achieve the predictable result of enhancing the computation of the trajectory of a golf ball.
14. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Curchod, Vollbrecht further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 4,235,438 to Hally.
Curchod discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, the reference does not explicitly disclose wherein the score is different for different speeds of impact within the scorable area.
One of skill in the art is reminded of the teachings of Hally. Hally teaches that when a ball game object impacts a target a score is proportional to the force of impact (Abstr.) One of skill in the art would recognize that because force is the result of a mass and an acceleration and given that if the mass is constant scores can vary based on their impact speed or velocity.
It would require only routine skill in the art to modify the computations and scoring of Curchod with the scoring based on the force of impact of Hally to achieve the predictable result of awarding different scores based on player performance. The Courts have held that the use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way to be indicia of obviousness.
15. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Curchod, Vollbrecht further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 2013/0345839 to Stephens.
Curchod discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, the reference does not explicitly disclose wherein the score is different for different directions of impact within the scorable area.
Stephens teaches of a smart targeting system used in training and game-play (Abstr.)
and of known systems wherein the system captures data about strikes on targets such as the force of the strike or the direction of the strike results in the display of a cumulative score (Abstr.). The scoring system wherein each target is configured to detect a valid strike based on a plurality of measurements of accuracy, impact, timing, and direction of a strike on a target (see Claim 24). Stephen invents this scoring so that “Athletes can improve their skill by receiving immediate and objective feedback of their performance” ([0003]).
It would require only routine skill in the art to modify the scoring criteria of Curchod with the scoring based on the direction of impact to achieve the predictable result of improving the determination of scores to improve the feedback provided to athletes. The Courts have held that applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results to be indicia of obviousness.
Conclusion
16. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/PAUL A D'AGOSTINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715