DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filled on 08/21/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1,15 are amended.
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments filed on 08/21/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,5-17, 21-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DA SILVA to (WO 2020094783 A1) in view of Kazmi to ( US 20250274217 A1)
Regarding claims 1,15 DA SILVA teaches wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a processor configured to:( FIG. 13 is a block diagram of UE 1102 and/or network node 1202, according to some embodiments. UE 1102 and/or network node 1202 may comprise: processing circuitry (PC) 1302, which may include one or more processors (P) 1355 (e.g., a general purpose)
receive channel hardening (CH) measurement configuration information and CH reporting configuration information,(page 11, page 12, lines 5-11, obtaining the CH parameter comprises determining a first CH parameter for a first frequency and/or carrier and/or band and a second CH parameter for a second frequency and/or carrier and/or band…page 26, lines 20-23, receiving from a network node (e.g., a base station) an indication that the UE is allowed to perform optimizations based on the CH parameter) wherein the CH measurement configuration information comprises one or more of a set of reference signals, a CH metric, one or more parameters associated with the CH metric, or one or more thresholds associated with the CH metric( page 11,page 12, lines 3-6, obtaining the CH parameter comprises determining a first CH parameter for a first frequency and/or carrier and/or band and a second CH parameter for a second frequency and/or carrier and/or band..)determine whether a CH condition has occurred based on one or more measurements and based on the CH measurement configuration information;( page 19, lines 5-10 , if the UE is configured to perform measurements on frequencies fl, f2, f3 and the UE detects CH in f2, …adapt a measurement procedure in accordance with the changed parameter)
send a CH report based on the CH reporting configuration information, wherein the CH report comprises an indication of whether the CH condition has occurred,( pages 23, lines 1-5, actions may be performed based on threshold values of the STD, e.g., set new measurement and reporting periodicity based on the STD value. Determining a CH parameter may be performed either at the UE or the network node) and apply a transmission or a reception format associated with CH condition(page 32, lines 10-13 , adapting transmission of synchronization and reference signals based on the obtained CH parameter comprises reducing transmission of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) and channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs) based on the UE being in a CH condition)
DA SILVA does not explicitly teach wherein the CH reporting configuration information comprises one or more of whether the CH report is to comprise the CH condition over a narrow-beam or a wide-beam
However, Kazmi teaches wherein the CH reporting configuration information comprises one or more of whether the CH report is to comprise the CH condition over a narrow-beam or a wide-beam( [0141] channel timing adjustment, [0142] latest HARQ feedback, [0143] signal-to-interference-plus noise ratio difference between layer 1 and layer 2 in units of dBm (D.sub.SINR.sub.i) [0144] an integer-valued wide beam index of the serving wide beam (B.sub.swi), [0145] an integer-valued wide beam index of the neighbor wide beam x (1 . . . j) (B.sub.nwi.sup.x), [0146] an integer-valued narrow beam index of the serving narrow beam (B.sub.sni), [0147] an integer-valued narrow beam index for the neighbor narrow beam y (1 . . . k) (B.sub.nni.sup.y) [0148] a wide beam reference signal received power of the serving wide beam in units of dBm (RSRP.sub.swi))
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of DA SILVA include wherein the CH reporting configuration information comprises one or more of whether the CH report is to comprise the CH condition over a narrow-beam or a wide-beam, as suggested by Kazmi. This modification would benefit the system to reduce transmission time.
Regarding claims 2,16 DA SILVA teaches The WTRU of claim 1, wherein the CH report is sent based on a determination that the CH condition meets a criterion associated with the CH metric, ;(abstract discloses Channel hardening (CH) may occur, e.g. due to narrow beamforming of reference signals. In embodiments, the adjustment of measurement properties is done upon the occurrence of an event related to channel hardening (such as the increase of a CH metric going above a threshold)) the one or more parameters associated with the CH metric, or the one or more thresholds associated with the CH metric;( page 19, lines 5-10 , if the UE is configured to perform measurements on frequencies fl, f2, f3 and the UE detects CH in f2).
Regarding claims 3,17 DA SILVA teaches The WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to receive a set of transmission or reception configuration information associated with the CH condition, (page 23 , lines 6-9 discloses network configuration for CH triggering and transmission format ) wherein the set of transmission or reception configuration comprises one or more of a set of data channel configurations, a set of control channel configuration, a set data channel formats, or channel state information (CSI) reporting configuration information(page 23, lines 6-16 discloses deactivating transmission of reference signal)
Regarding claims 5,21 DA SILVA teaches The WTRU of claim 1, wherein processor is configured to: measure one or more variations of channel gains using a CH metric to determine the one or more measurements, or measure coherence bandwidth or delay spread to determine the one or more measurements(page 34, lines 15-21, discloses the group consisting of a measurement period, a sample length, a length of coherent averaging, a measurement bandwidth, a set of reference signals, and a number of beams to average).
Regarding claims 6,22 DA SILVA teaches The WTRU of claim 1, wherein the reporting configuration indicates that the CH report should be sent via one or more of a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), a layer one (L1) signaling message, a radio resource control (RRC) message, a sidelink (SL) MAC-CE, a SL-L1 signaling message, or a SL-RRC message; and wherein the CH report comprises one or more of: the determined CH condition for each configured sub-band, or the determined CH condition of the measured wideband or narrow-band(page 11, page 12, lines 5-11, obtaining the CH parameter comprises determining a first CH parameter for a first frequency and/or carrier and/or band and a second CH parameter for a second frequency and/or carrier and/or band).
Regarding claims 7,23 DA SILVA teaches wherein the CH condition comprises a positive CH condition or a negative CH condition,( page 30, lines 28-30 discloses the CH parameter is a binary value that indicates either the presence or absence of a CH condition; in other embodiments, the CH parameter is an analog value that indicates a degree of a CH condition) wherein the transmission format comprises a first transmission format and a second transmission format, wherein the reception format comprises a first reception format and a second transmission format(page 23 , lines 6-9 discloses network configuration for CH triggering and transmission format ), and wherein the processor is configured to apply the first transmission or the first reception format based at least on the positive CH condition, (page 23 , lines 6-9 discloses network configuration for CH triggering and transmission format ) and wherein the processor is configured to apply the second transmission or the second reception format based at least on the negative CH condition(page 23 , lines 6-9 discloses network configuration for CH triggering and transmission format ).
Regarding claims 8,24 DA SILVA teaches The WTRU of claim 7, wherein the processor is configured to reduce a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) density, associated with time or frequency, based on a determination that the CH condition comprises the positive CH condition(page 30,lines 14-19 discloses not using demodulation reference signal (DM-RS))
Regarding claims 9, 25 DA SILVA teaches wherein the processor is configured to apply a first set of one or more search spaces based on the positive CH condition, ;( page 19, lines 5-10 , if the UE is configured to perform measurements on frequencies fl, f2, f3 and the UE detects CH in f2) and wherein the processor is configured to apply a second set of one or more search spaces based on the negative CH condition;( page 19, lines 5-10 , if the UE is configured to perform measurements on frequencies fl, f2, f3 and the UE detects CH in f2).
Regarding claims 10,26 DA SILVA teaches wherein the determination of the CH condition is based on a CH metric, ;(abstract discloses Channel hardening (CH) may occur, e.g. due to narrow beamforming of reference signals. In embodiments, the adjustment of measurement properties is done upon the occurrence of an event related to channel hardening (such as the increase of a CH metric going above a threshold)) wherein the CH metric comprises an effective delay spread or an effective channel gain, and wherein the CH condition is based on a deviation of the effective channel gain in accordance with the CH measurement configuration information, ,( pages 23, lines 1-5, actions may be performed based on threshold values of the STD, e.g., set new measurement and reporting periodicity based on the STD value. Determining a CH parameter may be performed either at the UE or the network node) or wherein the CH condition is based on a determination that the effective delay spread is less than a threshold comprised in the CH measurement configuration information(page 34, lines 15-21, discloses the group consisting of a measurement period, a sample length, a length of coherent averaging, a measurement bandwidth, a set of reference signals, and a number of beams to average).
Regarding claims 11,27 DA SILVA teaches wherein the positive CH condition comprises the effective delay spread or effective channel gain, in a time domain or a frequency domain, below the threshold comprised in the CH measurement configuration information(page 34, lines 15-21, discloses the group consisting of a measurement period, a sample length, a length of coherent averaging, a measurement bandwidth, a set of reference signals, and a number of beams to average), and wherein the negative CH condition comprises the effective delay spread or the effective channel gain, in the time domain or the frequency domain, equal to or greater than a threshold comprised in the CH measurement configuration information(page 34, lines 15-21, discloses the group consisting of a measurement period, a sample length, a length of coherent averaging, a measurement bandwidth, a set of reference signals, and a number of beams to average, abstract discloses Channel hardening (CH) may occur, e.g. due to narrow beamforming of reference signals. In embodiments, the adjustment of measurement properties is done upon the occurrence of an event related to channel hardening (such as the increase of a CH metric going above a threshold))).
Regarding claims 12,28 DA SILVA teaches The WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor being configured to send the CH report comprises the processor being configured to send an indication that the CH condition has changed(page 35, lines 1-5 discloses determining that the CH condition is not present) .
Regarding claims 13,29 DA SILVA teaches The WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to send the CH report aperiodically based on one or more of layer 2 (L2)-medium access control (MAC) control entity (CE), radio resource control (RRC), or downlink control information (DCI)( The reporting criteria are standardised and the configuration is provided by RRC signalling (UE measurements))
Regarding claims 14, 30 DA SILVA teaches The WTRU of claim 13, wherein the CH report is sent during a configured periodic or semi-persistent time window or duration(page 23, lines 17-21 discloses CH report periodically ).
Claim(s) 4 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DA SILVA to (WO 2020094783 A1) in view of Kazmi further in view of Parkvall to ( US 20170331577 A1)
Regarding claims 4,18 DA SILVA does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to: on a condition that the WTRU is configured with an autonomous mode, autonomously activate one or more reception or transmission configurations comprised, in the set of reception or transmission configuration information, for one or more subsequent receptions or transmissions; on a condition that the WTRU is not configured with the autonomous mode, send an indication of supported one or more reception or transmission configurations to a network node; and apply a network-indicated reception or transmission configuration based on an indication by the network node
However, Parkvall teaches on a condition that the WTRU is configured with an autonomous mode, autonomously activate one or more reception or transmission configurations comprised, in the set of reception or transmission configuration information, for one or more subsequent receptions or transmissions; on a condition that the WTRU is not configured with the autonomous mode, send an indication of supported one or more reception or transmission configurations to a network node;([1345] informs the UE of the selected target beam. (Alternatively, the UE may have been proactively configured to autonomously select the candidate beam with the best measurement result, and subsequently transmit the measurement report to the target beam.) The procedure includes one or more of: UE side) and apply a network-indicated reception or transmission configuration based on an indication by the network node;([1345] informs the UE of the selected target beam. (Alternatively, the UE may have been proactively configured to autonomously select the candidate beam with the best measurement result, and subsequently transmit the measurement report to the target beam.) The procedure includes one or more of: UE side)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of DA SILVA include on a condition that the WTRU is configured with an autonomous mode, autonomously activate one or more reception or transmission configurations comprised, in the set of reception or transmission configuration information, for one or more subsequent receptions or transmissions; on a condition that the WTRU is not configured with the autonomous mode, send an indication of supported one or more reception or transmission configurations to a network node; and apply a network-indicated reception or transmission configuration based on an indication by the network node, as suggested by Parkvall. This modification would benefit the system to reducing transmission time.
Regarding claim 19, DA SILVA and Kazmi and Parkvall teaches further comprising: sending an indication of supported one or more reception or transmission configurations to a network node when the WTRU is not configured with the autonomous mode( Parkvall [1345] informs the UE of the selected target beam. (Alternatively, the UE may have been proactively configured to autonomously select the candidate beam with the best measurement result, and subsequently transmit the measurement report to the target beam.) The procedure includes one or more of: UE side) .
Regrading claim 20, DA SILVA and Kazmi and Parkvall teaches further comprising applying a network-indicated reception or transmission configuration based on an indication by the network node( Parkvall [1345] informs the UE of the selected target beam. (Alternatively, the UE may have been proactively configured to autonomously select the candidate beam with the best measurement result, and subsequently transmit the measurement report to the target beam.) The procedure includes one or more of: UE side) .
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461