DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is hereby made of receipt and entry of the communication filed on Sep. 27, 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and currently examined.
Claim Objection
Claims 2, 6, 8, 15, 17 and 19-20 is objected because these claims should recite “and” not ‘or” at the end of the claims. For example, claim 20 recites a phrase “ …wherein the maintenance cycle is selected from a 7-day cycle, a 14-day cycle, a 21-day cycle, a 28-day cycle, a 35-day cycle, or a 42-day cycle…”, where the “or” should be “and”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the patient is PD-1/PD-L1 inhibitor intolerant” that render the claim indefinite. It is unclear if the patient is PD-1 inhibitor intolerant or PD-L1 inhibitor intolerant or both PD-1 inhibitor and PD-L1 inhibitor intolerant. The instant specification only recites the PD-1/ PD-L1 inhibitor intolerant once in claim 3 (See page 33, claim 3) and does not provide definition for that.
For purposes of compact prosecution and applying prior art, claim 3 was interpreted herein as patients are either PD-1 or PD-L1 inhibitor intolerant.
It is noted any interpretation of the claims set forth above does not relieve Applicant of the responsibility of responding to this rejection. If the actual interpretation of the claims is different than that posited by the Examiner, additional rejections and art may be readily applied in a subsequent final Office action.
Claims 16 and 17 are indefinite because each claim depends from itself.
For purposes of compact prosecution and applying prior art, claim 16 was interpreted herein to be dependent on claim 15, and claim 17 was interpreted herein to be dependent on claim 16.
It is noted any interpretation of the claims set forth above does not relieve Applicant of the responsibility of responding to this rejection. If the actual interpretation of the claims is different than that posited by the Examiner, additional rejections and art may be readily applied in a subsequent final Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-7 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nichols et al. (https://cdn.clinicaltrials.gov/large-docs/07/NCT04577807/Prot_000.pdf,
CLINICAL STUDY PROTOCOL, LUMINOS-102 (PVSRIPO ICI M201), Jan. 14, 2022, hereinafter, “Nichols”).
The base claim 1 is directed to a method of treating a human patient having a solid tumor, wherein the treatment comprises an induction phase and a maintenance phase, where lerapolturev is administered in the induction and maintenance phase.
Nichols teaches a protocol/method using Lerapolturev (formerly known as PVSRIPO) to treat Melanoma (See title). Also, Nichols teaches that Lerapolturev is a recombinant rhinovirus/polio virus chimera that can treat primary brain tumor (See page 31, paragraph 3), here both Melanoma and brain tumors are solid tumors.
Nichols teaches an “induction/maintenance” dose schedule, with more frequent (e.g., weekly) injections for 1 to 2 months, followed by less frequent (e.g., Q3 or 4 week) maintenance thereafter to induce an upfront anti-tumor immune reaction that can be maintained across time (See page 8). For example, participants receiving treatment using the Q3/4W schedule will have the option to receive the “induction” series of weekly x 7 injections (i.e., QW schedule) (See page 52, paragraph 3.1.2), which teaches the claim 1-i). Nichols also teaches the safety and efficacy of lerapolturev given weekly for 7 weeks followed by administration every 3 or 4-weeks (maintenance) at a dose of up to 1.6 x 10^9 TCID50, as monotherapy and in combination with anti-PD-1 therapy will be tested (See page 34, paragraph 2). Here Nichols teaches the claim 1-ii) and the required “dose of between about 2.67 x 10^8 TCID and about 1.0 x 100^10 TCID50 at each administration” in claim 1. Also, Nichols teaches that the total lerapolturev dose to be administered will be a maximum of 1.6 x 10^9 TCID50/visit, with up to 6 lesions injected/visit (See page 10, Study Design).
Regarding claim 2, Nichols teaches using an “induction/maintenance” dose schedule, with more frequent (e.g., weekly) injections for 1 to 2 months, followed by less frequent (e.g., Q3 or 4 week) maintenance thereafter to induce an upfront anti-tumor immune reaction that can be maintained across time. Therefore, LUMINOS-102 will test the safety and efficacy of weekly x7 lerapolturev followed by Q3 to 4-week administration at a dose of up to 1.6 x 10^9 TCID50 (See page 8). Here it teaches the maintenance cycle is selected from a 7-day cycle.
Regarding claim 3, Nichols discloses that one of the study entry of the exclusion criteria is “Known hypersensitivity to pembrolizumab (PD-1 inhibitor), nivolumab (PD-1 inhibitor), or any of the respective excipients” such as administration of anti-PD-1 drug can be associated with rash, and pruritis (See page 16 and 44), and further discloses that it is possible that concurrent use of lerapolturev with anti-PD-1 therapy could increase the frequency or severity of cutaneous irAEs like rash or pruritic (See page 44). Here these disclosures imply the patient can be PD-1 inhibitor intolerant.
Regarding claims 4-6, Nichols teaches that this multi-center, open-label, randomized, Phase 2 study will investigate the efficacy and safety of lerapolturev alone (Arm 1) or in combination with an anti-PD-1 inhibitor (Arm 2) (See page 10, Study design), and the concomitant treatment is Pembrolizumab or nivolumab (See page 17).
Regarding claim 7, Nichols teaches a combination with an anti-PD-L1 therapy (See page 64, paragraph 5.4), where the anti-PD-L1 is a PD-L1 inhibitor.
Regarding claim 9, Nicholes teaches that the total lerapolturev dose to be administered will be a maximum of 1.6 x 10^9 TCID50/visit (See page 10, study design).
Regarding 10, Nicholes teaches that Lerapolturev was subjected to extensive dose-range finding, toxicology, biodistribution, shedding and neutralizing antibody tests with intrathalamic inoculation of up to 5 x 10^9 TCID50 of lerapolturev in M. Fascicularis (See page 36), which is higher than 1.6 x 10^9 TCID50.
Regarding claims 11-13, Nichols teaches that “induction/maintenance” dose schedule, with more frequent (e.g., weekly) injections for 1 to 2 months, followed by less frequent (e.g., Q3 or 4 week) maintenance thereafter to induce an upfront anti-tumor immune reaction that can be maintained across time (See page 8), which teaches the induction cycle can be up to 2 months that means 8 weeks. Because one cycle is weekly, it means that the induction cycle can be 8 times that teachers the claims 11 and 12. For the maintenance stage, Nichols teaches that it can be a 4 week per cycle or every 3-week maintenance (See page 8 and table 5 and below) and the study duration can be 24 months (See page 18). Thus, the maintenance cycle can be repeated between 2-10 times as claimed.
Regarding claim 14, Nichols teaches that the total lerapolturev dose to be administered will be a maximum of 1.6 x 10^9 TCID50/visit, with up to 6 lesions injected/visit (See page 10, Study design).
Regarding claim 15-17, Nichols teaches that the solid tumor is melanoma that may be a BRAF mutant melanoma (See page 14).
Regarding claim 18, Nichols teaches that the safety and efficacy of lerapolturev monotherapy and lerapolturev in combination with pembrolizumab in patients with recurrent glioblastoma multiforme (rGBM) is also under investigation.
Regarding claims 19-20, Nichols teaches a protocol/method using Lerapolturev (formerly known as PVSRIPO) to treat Melanoma (See title). Nichols teaches that Lerapolturev (formerly known as PVSRIPO) is a recombinant rhinovirus/polio virus chimera that can treat primary brain tumor (See page 31, paragraph 3). Here the recombinant rhinovirus/polio virus chimera teaches the chimeric poliovirus in claims 19-20.
Based on the description above, Nichols teaches the induction phase is performed a series of weekly x 7 injections (See e.g., page 52, paragraph 3.1.2) that teaches claims 19-i)-(a) and claim 20-i)-(a). Nichols also teaches that lerapolturev given every (Q) 3 to 4 weeks, alone or in combination with anti-PD-1 (See page 8, Rationale and background), which teaches claims 19-i)-(b) and claim 20-i)-(b) at an immune checkpoint inhibitor is administered once every three cycles or once every four cycles.
Nichols discloses the total lerapolturev dose to be administered will be a maximum of 1.6 x 10^9 TCID50/visit, with up to 6 lesions injected/visit (See page 10, Study design), which teaches claims 19-ii)-(a) and claim 20-ii)-(a) and the claimed 2.67 x 10^8 TCID50 and about 1.0 x 10^10 TCID50 as claimed. Nichols also teaches the lerapolturev was given weekly for 7 weeks followed by administration every 3 or 4-weeks (maintenance) at a dose of up to 1.6 x 10^9 TCID50, as monotherapy and in combination with anti-PD-1 therapy (See page 34, paragraph 2), which teaches claims 19-ii)-(b) and claim 20-ii)-(b). Nichols also teaches that the preliminary data from an ongoing Phase 2 study investigating intratumoral injection of BO-112 (a non-coding double-stranded RNA formulated with the cationic carrier polyethylenimine and administered weekly x 7 followed by every 3-week maintenance) in combination with pembrolizumab has shown activity in anti-PD-1 refractory melanoma (See page 32, paragraph 3) that teaches the maintenance cycle is selected a 21-day cycle as claimed in claims 19 and 20.
Accordingly, Nichols teaches each claim 1-7 and 9-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicoles as applied to claims 1-7 and 9-20 above and further in view of Kong et al. (Mol Med Rep. 2021 May;23(5):362).
Claim 8 requires the PD-L1 inhibitor is selected from atezolizumab, durvalumab, avelumab, envafolimab, BMS-936559, lodapolimab, cosibelimab, sugemalimab, adebrelimab, CBT-502, or BGB-A333.
The relevance teaching of Nichols is set forth above. It teaches the PD-L1 inhibitor but does not explicitly disclose what the PD-L1 inhibitor is.
Kong teaches combination of vaccinia virus with PD‑L1 inhibitor enhances the infiltration of effector CD4+ and CD8+T cells and increases granzyme B, ICOS, perforin and IFN‑γ, thus improving the survival rate (See page 2, right column, paragraph 1), where the common PD‑1/PD‑L1 inhibitors in clinical used include Nivolumab, Pembrolizumab, Atezolizumab, Durvalumab and Avelumab and they are approved by US FDA, and different inhibitors have been approved to treat various tumors (See page 1, right column).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce different PD-L1 inhibitors of Kong into Nichols’s study to arrive at an invention as claimed. One of skill in the art would be motivated to do so to use these FDA-approved PD-L1 inhibitors to treat different tumors. There would be a reasonable expectation of success to develop such a method including the claimed PD-L1 inhibitors.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/RUIXUE WANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 1672
/NICOLE KINSEY WHITE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1672