DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior application, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or divisional. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more tChoin six years before the actual filing date of the application.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy Chois been filed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/19/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US20210366367) (hereinafter Choi) in view of Ha et al. (US20090002400) (hereinafter Ha).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a display device comprising:
a display [Fig. 1-4, 0072; display].
one or more processors; and memory storing one or more instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the display device to (Figs. 1-4, 0028-0035; system with memory and processor).
obtain first brightness information corresponding to a current set brightness of the display [Figs. 1-11, 0028-0035, 0068-0072; brightness attributes and other display parameters].
perform image quality processing on a first image to obtain a second image based on the one or more image quality processing parameters [ABS, Figs. 1-11, 0028-0035, 0068-0072, 0110, 0131; dynamic adjustment of display parameters including brightness based on image quality parameters of a plurality of images].
control the display to display the second image while maintaining the current set brightness of the display [ABS, Figs. 1-11, 0028-0035, 0068-0072, 0110, 0131; dynamic adjustment of display parameters including brightness based on image quality parameters of a plurality of images].
Choi discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Choi does not explicitly disclose set one or more image quality processing parameters based on the first brightness information, wherein the one or more image quality processing parameters include at least a noise filter
Ha discloses set one or more image quality processing parameters based on the first brightness information, wherein the one or more image quality processing parameters include at least a noise filter [0013, 0024-0027, 0054; image signal processing including removing noise].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Ha as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such dynamic adjustment and improvements in image quality is achieved (see Ha 0007-0014).
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Choe does not explicitly disclose wherein the image quality processing comprises at least one of noise processing, detail enhancement processing, or contrast ratio enhancement processing.
Ha more explicitly discloses wherein the image quality processing comprises at least one of noise processing, detail enhancement processing, or contrast ratio enhancement processing [ABS, 0010-0013, 0023-0027, 0044-0058; image signal processing including removing noise].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Ha for the same reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses further comprising a wireless communicator configured to receive a user input for adjusting the current set brightness of the display, wherein the display device is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to obtain the first brightness information based on the user input for adjusting the current set brightness of the display [ABS, Figs. 1-11, 0028-0035, 0068-0072, 0110, 0131; dynamic adjustment of display parameters including brightness based on image quality parameters of a plurality of images].
Regarding claim 10, Choi discloses wherein the user input comprises at least one of an input for changing a screen mode of the display, an input for adjusting a backlight, or an input for adjusting the current set brightness of the display [ABS, Figs. 1-11, 0028-0035, 0068-0072, 0110, 0131; user implemented adjustment of display parameters including brightness based on image quality parameters of a plurality of images].
Regarding claim 11, Choi discloses an operating method of a display device, comprising: obtaining first brightness information corresponding to a current set brightness of a display [Figs. 1-11, 0028-0035, 0068-0072; brightness attributes and other display parameters].
performing image quality processing on a first image to obtain a second image based on the one or more image quality processing parameters [ABS, Figs. 1-11, 0028-0035, 0068-0072, 0110, 0131; dynamic adjustment of display parameters including brightness based on image quality parameters of a plurality of images].
displaying the second image while maintaining the current set brightness of the display [ABS, Figs. 1-11, 0028-0035, 0068-0072, 0110, 0131; dynamic adjustment of display parameters including brightness based on image quality parameters of a plurality of images].
Choi discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Choi does not explicitly disclose setting one or more image quality processing parameters based on the first brightness information wherein the one or more image qualit6y processing parameters include at at least a noise filter.
Ha discloses setting one or more image quality processing parameters based on the first brightness information wherein the one or more image qualit6y processing parameters include at least a noise filter [0013, 0024-0027, 0054; image signal processing including removing noise].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Ha as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such dynamic adjustment and improvements in image quality is achieved (see Ha 0007-0014).
Regarding claim 12, Choi discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Choe does not explicitly disclose wherein the image quality processing comprises at least one of noise processing, detail enhancement processing, or contrast ratio enhancement processing.
Ha more explicitly discloses wherein the image quality processing comprises at least one of noise processing, detail enhancement processing, or contrast ratio enhancement processing [ABS, 0010-0013, 0023-0027, 0044-0058; image signal processing including removing noise].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Ha for the same reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 15, Choi discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having instructions recorded thereon, that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to (Figs. 1-4, 0028-0035; system with memory and processor).
obtain first brightness information corresponding to a current set of a display [Figs. 1-11, 0028-0035, 0068-0072; brightness attributes and other display parameters].
perform image quality processing on a first image to obtain a second image based on the one or more image quality processing parameters [ABS, Figs. 1-11, 0028-0035, 0068-0072, 0110, 0131; dynamic adjustment of display parameters including brightness based on image quality parameters of a plurality of images].
control the display to display the second image while maintaining the current set brightness of the display [ABS, Figs. 1-11, 0028-0035, 0068-0072, 0110, 0131; dynamic adjustment of display parameters including brightness based on image quality parameters of a plurality of images].
Choi discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Choi does not explicitly disclose set one or more image quality processing parameters based on the first brightness information, wherein the one or more image quality processing parameters include at least a noise filter
Ha discloses set one or more image quality processing parameters based on the first brightness information, wherein the one or more image quality processing parameters include at least a noise filter [0013, 0024-0027, 0054; image signal processing including removing noise].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Ha as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such dynamic adjustment and improvements in image quality is achieved (see Ha 0007-0014).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior arts of record individually nor in combination do not explicitly disclose adjust a gain of the noise filter used for the nose processing based on the first brightness information and set a contrast ratio enhancing curve used for the contrast ratio enhancement processing based on the first brightness information and obtain the second image based on applying the contrast ratio enhancing curve to the first image, when taken in the environment of the independent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TALHA M NAWAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483