DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior application, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or divisional. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/19/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US20200184925) (hereinafter Huang) in view of Ha et al. (US20090002400) (hereinafter Ha).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a display device comprising:
a display [Fig. 1; display].
one or more processors; and memory storing one or more instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the display device to (0057; system with memory and processor).
obtain first brightness information of the display [Figs. 1-3, 022-035; determining brightness of display].
set one or more image quality processing parameters based on the first brightness information [0022-0035, 0050-0055; image quality parameters for image improvements].
control the display to display the second image [0052-0055; dynamic adjustment of display based on image quality parameters].
Huang discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Huang does not explicitly disclose perform image quality processing on a first image to obtain a second image based on the one or more image quality processing parameters.
Ha discloses perform image quality processing on a first image to obtain a second image based on the one or more image quality processing parameters [Figs. 1-8, 0019-0029; image quality processing to obtain new image].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Huang with the teachings of Ha as stated above. BY incorporating the teachings as such dynamic adjustment and improvements in image quality is achieved (see Ha 0007-0011).
Regarding claim 2, Huang discloses wherein the image quality processing comprises at least one of noise processing, detail enhancement processing, or contrast ratio enhancement processing [0008; enhancing image details].
Regarding claim 3, Huang discloses wherein the display device is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to: adjust a gain of a noise filter used for the noise processing based on the first brightness information; and obtain the second image by filtering the first image based on the noise filter [0022, 0030-0040, 0050; adjusting brightness parameters based on gain adjustment].
Regarding claim 4, Huang discloses wherein the noise filter comprises a low-pass filter, and wherein the display device is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to: increase the gain of the noise filter based on a brightness value indicated by the first brightness information increasing; and decrease the gain of the noise filter based on the brightness value decreasing [0040-0055; dynamic gain and brightness adjustments].
Regarding claim 5, Huang discloses wherein the display device is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to: adjust a gain of a detail enhancement filter used for the detail enhancement processing based on the first brightness information and the gain of the noise filter, and obtain the second image by filtering the first image based on the detail enhancement filter [0040-0055; dynamic gain and brightness adjustments].
Regarding claim 6, Huang discloses wherein the detail enhancement filter comprises a high-pass filter, and wherein the display device is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to: increase the gain of the detail enhancement filter based on the gain of the noise filter increasing; and decrease the gain of the detail enhancement filter based on the gain of the noise filter decreasing [0040-0055; dynamic gain and brightness adjustments].
Regarding claim 9, Huang discloses further comprising a wireless communicator configured to receive a user input for adjusting brightness of the display, wherein the display device is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to obtain the first brightness information based on the user input for adjusting the brightness of the display [0022-0035; display adjustment based on a variety of parameters].
Regarding claim 10, Huang discloses wherein the user input comprises at least one of an input for changing a screen mode of the display, an input for adjusting a backlight, or an input for adjusting screen brightness [0022-0030; adjusting backlight].
Regarding claim 11, Huang discloses an operating method of a display device, comprising: obtaining first brightness information of a display [Figs. 1-3, 022-035; determining brightness of display].
setting one or more image quality processing parameters based on the first brightness information [0022-0035, 0050-0055; image quality parameters for image improvements].
displaying the second image [0052-0055; dynamic adjustment of display based on image quality parameters].
Huang discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Huang does not explicitly disclose performing image quality processing on a first image to obtain a second image based on the one or more image quality processing parameters.
Ha discloses performing image quality processing on a first image to obtain a second image based on the one or more image quality processing parameters [Figs. 1-8, 0019-0029; image quality processing to obtain new image].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Huang with the teachings of Ha as stated above. BY incorporating the teachings as such dynamic adjustment and improvements in image quality is achieved (see Ha 0007-0011).
Regarding claim 12, Huang discloses wherein the image quality processing comprises at least one of noise processing, detail enhancement processing, or contrast ratio enhancement processing [0008; enhancing image details].
Regarding claim 13, Huang discloses wherein the setting the one or more image quality processing parameters comprises adjusting a gain of a noise filter used for the noise processing based on the first brightness information, and wherein the performing the image quality processing on the first image comprises filtering the first image based on the noise filter, to obtain the second image [0040-0055; dynamic gain and brightness adjustments].
Regarding claim 14, Huang discloses wherein the noise filter comprises a low-pass filter, and wherein the adjusting the gain of the noise filter comprises: increasing the gain of the noise filter based on a brightness value indicated by the first brightness information increasing; and decreasing the gain of the noise filter based on the brightness value decreasing [0040-0055; dynamic gain and brightness adjustments].
Regarding claim 15, Huang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having instructions recorded thereon, that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to (Fig. 4, 0057; CRM)
obtain first brightness information of the display [Figs. 1-3, 022-035; determining brightness of display].
set one or more image quality processing parameters based on the first brightness information [0022-0035, 0050-0055; image quality parameters for image improvements].
control the display to display the second image [0052-0055; dynamic adjustment of display based on image quality parameters].
Huang discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Huang does not explicitly disclose perform image quality processing on a first image to obtain a second image based on the one or more image quality processing parameters.
Ha discloses perform image quality processing on a first image to obtain a second image based on the one or more image quality processing parameters [Figs. 1-8, 0019-0029; image quality processing to obtain new image].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Huang with the teachings of Ha as stated above. BY incorporating the teachings as such dynamic adjustment and improvements in image quality is achieved (see Ha 0007-0011).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior arts of record individually nor in combination do not explicitly disclose set a contrast ratio enhancing curve used for the contrast ratio enhancement processing based on the first brightness information and obtain the second image based on applying the contrast ratio enhancing curve to the first image, when taken in the environment of the independent claims.
Conclusion
/TALHA M NAWAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483