Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okada et al. (USPGPub 2016/0368013).
Regarding claim 22, Okada teaches that it is known to provide a device comprising a source of ingredients (the source of L, Fig. 3) wherein it is reasonably implied that the container which can be even the pipe (30) shown is necessarily pressurized, especially given that the fluid is flowing back upwards in (33), wherein a nozzle in configured to receive ingredients and a valve is present between the source of the ingredients and the nozzle (51) wherein the valve is operated by a controller to control the flow of ingredients out of the nozzle [0079] wherein a predetermined pattern is determined by the shape of the nozzle provided. Further it is noted that the cup of the current claim is not part of the invention as claimed and the use of the device to decorate a cup is a recitation of intended use wherein the Court has long held that “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada et al. (USPGPub 2016/0368013).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Okada teaches that it is known to provide a device comprising a source of ingredients (the source of L, Fig. 3) wherein it is reasonably implied that the container which can be even the pipe (30) shown is necessarily pressurized, especially given that the fluid is flowing back upwards in (33), wherein a nozzle in configured to receive ingredients and a valve is present between the source of the ingredients and the nozzle (51) wherein the valve is operated by a controller to control the flow of ingredients out of the nozzle [0079] wherein a predetermined pattern is determined by the shape of the nozzle provided. Further it is noted that the cup of the current claim is not part of the invention as claimed and the use of the device to decorate a cup is a recitation of intended use wherein the Court has long held that “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Okada fails to teach wherein the device comprises motors or pumps as claimed. However, Okada shows a rotary drive actuator and rotary drive unit (Fig. 2) for rotating the nozzle relative to the cup. It is not stated that this device is necessarily a “motor” but the rotary drive unit appears to be what would be considered to be a motor. Further the examiner is taking Official Notice to inform the applicant that motors are known means employed for the rotation of parts in machinery in general wherein they are used in robotics, heavy machinery, home appliances and a host of other devices for the stated purposes. Therefore, in an instance wherein the rotary drive unit of Okada is not presumed or implied to be a motor, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a motor to rotate the nozzle of Okada as is known in the prior art as a simple substitution of one known rotation means for another wherein the substitution would have been predictable based upon the knowledge of those in the field in general. Further as relates to a “pump” in Okada, Okada does not explicitly state that the ingredients he employs are moved through the lines with a pump or that the air that forces them out of the nozzle is provided by a pump. However, the examiner is taking Official Notice to inform the applicant that pumps are a well-known means of moving fluids including air through supply lines for nozzles but are also used in a variety of fields for the same purpose. Pumps are used to move fluids in drink dispensers, hydraulics, municipal water supply and etc. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a pump to move the ingredient containing fluids of Okada through his nozzle as is known in the prior art as a simple substitution of one known fluid moving means within supply lines for another wherein the substitution would have been predictable based upon the knowledge of those in the field in general. Further the supply controls and rotary drive portions and movement portions of Okada are controlled using the same air supply. While it is not stated that the controller necessarily controls all operations of the apparatus of Okada, the examiner is taking Official Notice to inform the applicant that the combining of control of individual subsystems within a machine so that they are all controlled by some means that may be referred to as a single controller is well known in a variety of fields. This is done in the manufacture of automobiles, vapor deposition and nuclear monitoring processes wherein one controller or processing station may control many facets of the overall operation of what may be a complicate machine or process. Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Okada so as to be controlled by a single control unit as an application of a known systems combining technique applied to a known control system ready for improvement wherein the results of the combination would have been predictable based upon the general knowledge of those in the art relating to the combining of control systems into singular control systems.
Regarding claim 2, the moving unit of Okada (70) would read upon an actuator capable of performing the operations claimed.
Regarding claim 3, the components of Okada as cited above are air driven (50), thereby reading on the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 5, the nozzle of Okada is reasonably elongate and straight but is not shown as having a “slanted” end. However, the Court has long held that changes in shape of a prior art apparatus in the absence of a new and unexpected results arising from a newly provided shape are not capable of overcoming a prima facie case of obviousness based upon the prior art previously provided shape. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 6, Okada teaches a nozzle with an opening in the end with other nozzles being provided “anywhere” [0076]. Given that the nozzle of Okada is an elongate tube, reasonably the primary implication of a nozzle exit being anywhere else would be on the side of the nozzle or tube provided which would thereby read on the current claims.
Regarding claim 8, the nozzle of Okada is reasonably elongate and straight but is not shown as having an ellipsoid shape. However, the Court has long held that changes in shape of a prior art apparatus in the absence of a new and unexpected results arising from a newly provided shape are not capable of overcoming a prima facie case of obviousness based upon the prior art previously provided shape. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 9, the axis of rotation of the nozzle of Okada is about the longitudinal axis of the nozzle.
Regarding claim 11, the teachings of Okada area shown above. Okada further teaches that the spray gun may be “moved in the horizontal direction” [0108] but Okada does not explicitly state that this movement is automated or using actuators as claimed. However, Okada otherwise moves his spray gun largely with actuators. As such, Okada teaches both a means to move the spray gun and a desire to do so. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include horizontal actuators for the movement of the spray nozzle of Okada in the invention of Okada as an application of a known movement technique to the known device of Okada ready for improvement wherein the modification of the device of Okada as described would have yielded predictable results based upon the already provided ability to move the spray gun of Okada in other directions using similar mechanisms.
Regarding claim 13, Okada teaches that it is known to provide a device comprising a source of ingredients (the source of L, Fig. 3) wherein it is reasonably implied that the container which can be even the pipe (30) shown is necessarily pressurized, especially given that the fluid is flowing back upwards in (33), wherein a nozzle in configured to receive ingredients and a valve is present between the source of the ingredients and the nozzle (51) wherein the valve is operated by a controller to control the flow of ingredients out of the nozzle [0079] wherein a predetermined pattern is determined by the shape of the nozzle provided. Further it is noted that the cup of the current claim is not part of the invention as claimed and the use of the device to decorate a cup is a recitation of intended use wherein the Court has long held that “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Okada fails to teach wherein the device comprises motors or pumps as claimed. However, Okada shows a rotary drive actuator and rotary drive unit (Fig. 2) for rotating the nozzle relative to the cup. It is not stated that this device is necessarily a “motor” but the rotary drive unit appears to be what would be considered to be a motor. Further the examiner is taking Official Notice to inform the applicant that motors are known means employed for the rotation of parts in machinery in general wherein they are used in robotics, heavy machinery, home appliances and a host of other devices for the stated purposes. Therefore, in an instance wherein the rotary drive unit of Okada is not presumed or implied to be a motor, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a motor to rotate the nozzle of Okada as is known in the prior art as a simple substitution of one known rotation means for another wherein the substitution would have been predictable based upon the knowledge of those in the field in general. Further as relates to a “pump” in Okada, Okada does not explicitly state that the ingredients he employs are moved through the lines with a pump or that the air that forces them out of the nozzle is provided by a pump. However, the examiner is taking Official Notice to inform the applicant that pumps are a well-known means of moving fluids including air through supply lines for nozzles but are also used in a variety of fields for the same purpose. Pumps are used to move fluids in drink dispensers, hydraulics, municipal water supply and etc. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a pump to move the ingredient containing fluids of Okada through his nozzle as is known in the prior art as a simple substitution of one known fluid moving means within supply lines for another wherein the substitution would have been predictable based upon the knowledge of those in the field in general. Further the supply controls and rotary drive portions and movement portions of Okada are controlled using the same air supply. While it is not stated that the controller necessarily controls all operations of the apparatus of Okada, the examiner is taking Official Notice to inform the applicant that the combining of control of individual subsystems within a machine so that they are all controlled by some means that may be referred to as a single controller is well known in a variety of fields. This is done in the manufacture of automobiles, vapor deposition and nuclear monitoring processes wherein one controller or processing station may control many facets of the overall operation of what may be a complicate machine or process. Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Okada so as to be controlled by a single control unit as an application of a known systems combining technique applied to a known control system ready for improvement wherein the results of the combination would have been predictable based upon the general knowledge of those in the art relating to the combining of control systems into singular control systems.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada et al. (USPGPub 2016/0368013) as applied to claim 1-6, 8-9, 11 and 13 above and further in view of Ballu (US5323963).
Regarding claim 7, the teachings of Okada are as shown above. Okada fails to teach wherein the nozzle has a deformable end shape. However, Ballu teaches that it is known to provide deposition nozzles with deformable end sections so as to modify the “performance” of the nozzle (see Summary of Invention, first paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the nozzle of Okada with the deformable end piece of Ballu in order to modify the performance of the nozzle of Okada as guided by Ballu.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada et al. (USPGPub 2016/0368013) as applied to claim 1-6, 8-9, 11 and 13 above and further in view of Hayama et al. (USPGPub 2019/0210299).
Regarding claim 10, the teachings of Okada are as shown above. Okada fails to teach wherein the nozzle rotates about any axis other than the longitudinal axis of the spray direction of the nozzle of Okada. However, Hayama teaches that it is known to rotate spray nozzles about plural axis (see Figs. 1-2)[0008] wherein those of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that this gives more freedom to the possible direction in which the spray may be directed. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the nozzle of Okada with the ability to rotate both around its longitudinal axis and additional axis in order to allow additional freedom in the ability to direct the direction of spray in the invention of Okada as provided by Hayama.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada et al. (USPGPub 2016/0368013) as applied to claim 1-6, 8-9, 11 and 13 above and further in view of Klein II et al. (US5757498).
Regarding claim 12, the teachings of Okada are as shown above. Okada fails to teach wherein a sensor is present on the end of the nozzle that measures a distance from the end of the nozzle to the surface to the coated. However, Klein II teaches that it is known to provide optical displacement sensors on spray nozzles to allow for coating thickness measurements. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the nozzle of Okada with the optical sensor of Klein II in order to allow for the determination of coating thickness in the invention of Okada as guided by Klein II. Further, it is not shown that the sensor is necessarily placed on the distal end of the nozzle. However, it is generally directed off the distal end of the nozzle and as such would serve the same function as in the current claims. Further the sensor of Klein II would seemingly function the same no matter its placement, so long as it were maintained at a set distance from the nozzle end. Further the Courts have long held that shifting the position of parts of a prior art product that would not alter the operation of the product are unpatentable in view of the prior art provided product and its parts placement. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada et al. (USPGPub 2016/0368013) as applied to claim 1-6, 8-9, 11 and 13 above and further in view of Younos et al. (USPGPub 2016/0074901).
Regarding claim 14, the teachings of Okada are as shown above. Okada fails to teach wherein the bottle is rotated while being coated or where the nozzle placement in off-center. However, first it should be noted that the use of the nozzle off-center is a chosen method of use of the invention of Okada wherein the prior art is not required to be used in the manner claimed and wherein so long as the prior art invention is capable of being used in the manner claimed (which is the case with Okada) then the prior meets the limitations of the current claims. Further Younos teaches that it is known to rotate a bottle being coated [0054] wherein those of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that the bottle of Younos is rotated presumably 1) as an alternative to or in addition to rotating the spray nozzle which spread coating around the interior of the bottle 2) in order to spread coating around the inner circumference of the bottle in a uniform manner. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide bottle rotation means in the invention of Okada as guided by Younos in order to spread the coating of Okada evenly around the interior of the container of Okada or as a simple substitution of one known rotation of the bottle relative to the nozzle for another wherein the substitution of bottle rotation for nozzle rotation would have been predictable based upon the teachings of Younos.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-17 were objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: it is not known in the prior art to provide a cup decoration device, comprising: a nozzle coupled to receive ingredients, wherein the nozzle includes an outlet, and wherein the nozzle is configured to be positioned adjacent to or partially inside the cup, a pump coupled to drive the ingredients through the outlet of the nozzle, a motor coupled to rotate the cup relative to the nozzle and a controller operably coupled to the pump and the motor, wherein the controller is configured to operate the pump and the motor such that the nozzle dispenses the ingredients onto an inner surface of the cup via the outlet to create a layer having a predetermined pattern further comprising a housing coupled to the nozzle, a stem coupled to the housing; and a cup support coupled to the stem, the cup support comprising first and second arms positioned to circumferentially wrap around the cup, and first and second rollers coupled to the first and second arms, respectively, wherein the first and second rollers are configured to contact the cup; and a third roller positioned to contact the cup, wherein the motor is coupled to rotate the third roller to rotate the cup along the first and second rollers between the first and second arms as in claim 17 or
To provide a cup decoration device, comprising: a nozzle coupled to receive ingredients, wherein the nozzle includes an outlet, and wherein the nozzle is configured to be positioned adjacent to or partially inside the cup, a pump coupled to drive the ingredients through the outlet of the nozzle, a motor coupled to rotate the cup relative to the nozzle and a controller operably coupled to the pump and the motor, wherein the controller is configured to operate the pump and the motor such that the nozzle dispenses the ingredients onto an inner surface of the cup via the outlet to create a layer having a predetermined pattern further comprising a housing coupled to the nozzle, a stem coupled to the housing; and a cup support coupled to the stem, the cup support comprising a platform configured to support the cup and a latch coupled between the stem and the platform, wherein the motor is coupled to rotate the platform about the latch as in claim 15.
The most pertinent prior art (Okada et al. USPGPub 2016/0368013) teaches a device for coating the interior of hollow articles such as cups wherein the device comprises a spray nozzle that largely meets the limitations of the current claims. However, the device of Okada does not comprise the latch and platform tilting mechanisms or the general arm structures with rollers of the claims capable of rotating the cup as claimed.
Another prior art (Klein II et al., US5757498) teaches that it is known to use sensors in conjunction with spray nozzle to measure distances between the nozzles and spray targets but is otherwise largely unrelated to the problems solved by the current claims.
Another prior art (Ballu, US5323963) teaches that it is known to provide spray nozzles with deformable end sections for the purpose of controlling spray but is otherwise largely unrelated to the problems solved by the current application.
Another prior art (Hayama et al., USPGPub 2019/0210299) teaches that it is known to provide spray nozzles with multi-axis rotation for the purpose of providing more thorough coating angles but is otherwise largely unrelated to the problems solved by the current application.
Another prior art (Younos et al., USPGPub 2016/0074901) teaches that it is known to rotate bottles during coating of their interiors for the purpose of uniformly spreading the coating material within the bottle but is otherwise largely unrelated to the problems solved by the current application.
Conclusion
/ANDREW J BOWMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717