Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-13, 15-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Adams et al. (10,147,624; hereinafter Adams).
As to claim 1, Adams discloses a substrate container (30, 52) comprising an aperture (200, 216, 219; Figs. 9B, 10C) formed in the substrate container, the aperture configured to receive a module (230; Figs. 9D, 10C), one or more tabs (202, 204; Figs. 8, 10A, 10C) with each tab extending inwards (Fig. 10C) into the aperture over a portion of a perimeter of the aperture, the one or more tabs defining one or more gaps (212, 214; Fig. 8), a module (230), and a module retainer (58) including one or more of engagement features (188; 190) and the one or more engagement features are configured to be inserted through a corresponding one or more gaps when in a first position (Fig. 10A) and to engage with the one or more tabs when in a second position (Figs. 10B-10C). The module retainer configured to be rotatable between the first position and the second position when the module retainer is inserted into the aperture. Adams further discloses the module attached to a fastening member (213, 216; column 11, lines 1-13) and the module retainer (58) attached to the fastening member (Fig. 10C) which is considered equivalent to a module retainer attached to the module as claimed.
As to claim 2, Adams further discloses the module retainer comprises a detent (192) configured to contact one of the one or more gaps (column 11, lines 19-26).
As to claim 3, Adams discloses the module is selected from the group consisting of a purge module, a vent purge module, a getter module, and a sensor module (230).
As to claims 5-7, see Fig. 10C.
As to claim 8, Adams discloses the one or more tabs are provided on the bottom plate (Fig. 10C).
As to claims 9 and 10, Adams discloses the module retainer includes one or more tooling interfaces (188; 190) on an outward facing surface of the module retainer and the tooling interfaces are distributed around a central opening formed in the outward facing surface of the module retainer (Figs. 7A & 7B).
As to claim 11, Adams discloses a method of installing the module into the substrate container as above comprising the step of inserting the module including the module container into the aperture formed in the substrate container, and the step of rotating the module retainer into the second position as claimed.
As to claims 12-13, 15-16 and 19-20 are anticipated by the disclosure of Adams as above.
As to claim 17, Adams further discloses the step of rotating the module retainer includes inserting a pin/tool (column 12, lines 6-12) into one or more tooling interfaces (170, 176) provided in the module retainer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (6,732,877; hereinafter Wu) in view of Adams et al. (10,147,624; hereinafter Adams).
As to claim 1, Wu discloses an assembly comprising a substrate container (8), the substrate container including an aperture (80) disposed on a bottom plate (1, 81; Wu discloses a mounting ring (1) can be formed integral with the bottom plate (81) of the substrate container around the aperture (column 3, lines 13-15)) of the substrate container and the aperture configured to receive a module, one or more tabs (121) with each of the one or more tabs extending outwards away from the aperture, the one or more tabs defining one or more gaps (each gap disposed between two tabs), a module (2, 3, 5; Fig. 2) and a module retainer (4) attached to the module. The module retainer including one or more of engagement features (411-413) which are configured to be inserted through a corresponding one or more gaps when in a first position and to engage with the one or more tabs when in a second position (Figs. 3-4). The module retainer configured to be rotatable between the first position and the second position when the module retainer is inserted into the aperture. Wu also discloses the other claimed limitations except for each of the one or more tabs extending inwards into the aperture over a portion of a perimeter of the aperture in lieu of the one or more tabs extending outwards away from the aperture. Adams discloses a substrate container (30, 52) comprising an aperture (200, 216, 219; Figs. 9B, 10C) formed in the substrate container, the aperture configured to receive a module (230; Figs. 9D, 10C), one or more tabs (202, 204; Figs. 8, 10A, 10C) with each tab extending inwards (Fig. 10C) into the aperture over a portion of a perimeter of the aperture, the one or more tabs defining one or more gaps (212, 214; Fig. 8), a module (230), and a module retainer (58) including one or more of engagement features (188; 190) and the one or more engagement features are configured to be inserted through a corresponding one or more gaps when in a first position (Fig. 10A) and to engage with the one or more tabs when in a second position (Figs. 10B-10C). The module retainer configured to be rotatable between the first position and the second position when the module retainer is inserted into the aperture. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of Adams to modify the assembly of Wu so the assembly is constructed with each of the one or more tabs extending inwards into the aperture over a portion of a perimeter of the aperture instead of the one or more tabs extending outwards away from the aperture and the engagement features are constructed to engage with the one or more tabs as modified because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
As to claim 2, Wu further discloses the module retainer includes a detent (413) configured to contact one of the one or more gaps so as to resist rotation of the module retainer from the second position to the first position (Fig. 3).
As to claim 3, Wu discloses the module (2, 3, 5) is selected from the group consisting of a purge module, a vent purge module, a getter module, and a sensor module.
As to claim 4, Wu discloses the one or more tabs include at least three tabs (121) and the one or more engagement features includes at least three engagement features (411).
As to claims 5-7, see Fig. 1 of Wu.
As to claim 8, Wu discloses the one or more tabs (121) are provided on the bottom plate (Fig. 2).
As to claims 9 and 10, Adams discloses the module retainer includes one or more tooling interfaces (188; 190) on an outward facing surface of the module retainer and the tooling interfaces are distributed around a central opening formed in the outward facing surface of the module retainer (Figs. 7A & 7B).
As to claim 11, a method of installing the module into the substrate container is drawn to the obvious method of using the assembly of Wu as modified above.
As to claim 12, Wu discloses the module (2, 3, 5) is selected from the group consisting of a purge module, a vent purge module, a getter module, and a sensor module.
As to claim 13, see Figs. 3-4 of Wu.
As to claim 14, it appears that Wu discloses attaching the module retainer to the module (422, 224) includes forming a snap-fit as claimed. To the extent that Wu fails to provide attaching the module retainer to the module includes forming a snap-fit between at least one first snap-fit feature provided on the module retainer and at least one second snap-fit feature provided on a body of the module, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate container of Wu so the substrate container is constructed by attaching the module retainer to the module includes forming a snap-fit between at least one first snap-fit feature provided on the module retainer and at least one second snap-fit feature provided on a body of the module to facilitate attaching between the module and the module retainer because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
As to claims 15-16, see Figs. 1-2 of Wu.
As to claims 17-19, the substrate container of Wu as modified further fails to provide a step of rotating the module retainer includes inserting a tool into one or more tooling interfaces provided in the module retainer and the tool is manipulated by automation. Adams further discloses the step of rotating the module retainer includes inserting a pin/tool (column 12, lines 6-12) into one or more tooling interfaces (170, 176) provided in the module retainer by manually instead of automation as claimed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of Adams to modify the substrate container of Wu as modified so the substrate container is constructed to include a step of rotating the module retainer includes inserting a tool into one or more tooling interfaces provided in the module retainer to provide more convenience for a user to remove the module retainer from the substrate container and it also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate container of Wu as modified so the substrate container is constructed with the tool is manipulated by automation instead of by manually to facilitate removing the module retainer and/or to prevent error by a user.
As to claim 20, see Fig. 1 of Wu or Fig. 10C of Adams.
Claim(s) 4, 14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams.
As to claim 4, Adams discloses the assembly as above and further discloses the one or more tabs comprises two tabs instead of three tabs as claimed and the one or more engagement features comprises two engagement features instead of three engagement features as claimed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Adams so the assembly is constructed with the one or more tabs comprises three tabs instead of two tabs and the one or more engagement features comprises three engagement features instead of two engagement features the selection of the specific numbers of tabs and engagement features such as the numbers as claimed or as disclosed by Adams would have been an obvious matter of design choice inasmuch as the resultant structures will work equally well.
As to claim 14, to the extent that Adams fails to provide attaching the module retainer to the module includes forming a snap-fit between at least one first snap-fit feature provided on the module retainer and at least one second snap-fit feature provided on a body of the module, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate container of Adams so the substrate container is constructed by attaching the module retainer to the module includes forming a snap-fit between at least one first snap-fit feature provided on the module retainer and at least one second snap-fit feature provided on a body of the module to facilitate attaching between the module and the module retainer because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
As to claim 18, Adams further discloses the step of rotating the module retainer includes inserting a pin/tool (column 12, lines 6-12) into one or more tooling interfaces (170, 176) provided in the module retainer by manually instead of automation as claimed, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate container of Adams so the substrate container is constructed with the tool is manipulated by automation instead of by manually to facilitate removing the module retainer and/or to prevent error by a user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not deemed to be persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Adams in the remarks such as “Adams does not disclose a module retainer assembled into the aperture of the substrate container …” are noted. They are not persuasive because Adams discloses the substrate container (30, 52; see above), the aperture formed in the substrate container (see Fig. 10 below) with each of the one or more tabs extending inwards into the aperture over a portion of the perimeter of the aperture, the module retainer (58) attached to the module (230), and the engagement features of the module retainer are configured to be inserted through the corresponding one or more of gaps when in the first position and to engage with the one or more tabs when in the second position as claimed. Adams also discloses the module retainer assembled into the aperture of the substrate container as argued by the Applicant (Fig. 10C). However, there is no such language “a module retainer assembled into the aperture of the substrate container” in the claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Wu in the remarks such as “Wu, similar to Adams, does not disclose a module retainer which assembled into the aperture in the substrate container such that the structural features defining the aperture surround the retainer module” are noted. They are noted and persuasive. However, such structural limitations as argued by the Applicant are taught by Adams (see above). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of Adams to modify the assembly of Wu so the assembly is constructed with each of the one or more tabs extending inwards into the aperture over a portion of a perimeter of the aperture instead of the one or more tabs extending outwards away from the aperture and the engagement features are constructed to engage with the one or more tabs as modified because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/LUAN K BUI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736