Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1 - 10 in the reply filed on 9/30/26 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that serious burden has not been demonstrated. After further consideration of Applicant’s argument, the Examiner has rejoined claims 14 – 20.
Group II, claims 11 – 13 are withdrawn from further examination.
Claims 1-10 and 14 – 20 are examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 5, 8, 9 and 14 - 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith et al. (10347517).
Regarding claim 1, the Smith et al. reference discloses a substrate container (30; Figure 1), housing (module 502 defines a housing) and purge module (502; Fig. 19), comprising: a grommet (521); a check valve (518) at least partially received in the grommet (521); a module body (506), the module body including a cavity (inherent) configured to accommodate the grommet and the check valve (shown in Fig. 19), the module body defining one or more passages (521.7, 524) from the cavity; a filter (see annotated Figure 19); a filter retainer (520), the filter retainer and the module body being configured to contain the filter (see contained filter in annotated Fig. 19); and a diffuser retainer (522) configured to support a diffuser (526), the diffuser retainer including a diffuser inlet (534); wherein the filter retainer and the diffuser retainer are configured such that a first portion of a flow of gas through the filter enters the diffuser inlet and a second portion of the flow of gas through the filter passes through one or more apertures defined by one or both of the filter retainer and the diffuser retainer (first and second portions of gas flow through the filter retainer and diffuser retainer).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, further comprising the diffuser (526).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, wherein the diffuser (526) is entirely within a perimeter of the module body (506) in plan view. See annotated Fig. 19.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the module body (506) includes a projection extending from a surface (see annotated Fig. 19), the surface including an end of at least one of the one or more passages (521.7).
Regarding claim 5, wherein a portion of the cavity is defined by the projection, and a portion of the check valve (518) extends into said portion of the cavity. As best understood, Smith et al. defines the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 8, wherein the module body (506) includes a groove provided on an outer surface of the module body, and the purge module (502) further comprises a circular sealing member disposed in said groove. See labeled “groove” and “sealing member” in annotated Fig. 19.
Regarding claim 9, further comprising a module retainer (see labeled “module retainer” in annotated Fig. 19), the module retainer configured to engage with one or more features of a substrate container (inherent).
Regarding claim 17, wherein the purge module (502) contacts the diffuser (526) such that the diffuser is retained in an aperture provided in the housing. See annotated Fig. 19.
Regarding claim 18, wherein the purge module further includes a diffuser retainer (522) further configured to support the diffuser (526). See annotated Fig. 19
Regarding claim 19, wherein the purge module (502) further includes the diffuser (526), wherein the diffuser extends through the housing and into an internal space of the substrate container (inherent).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al.
Regarding claims 6 and 20, the Smith et al. reference discloses the invention (discussed supra) but doesn’t disclose the filter including an opening defined by an inner perimeter, the opening configured to receive a projection. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have a filter as defined above in the Smith et al. device, since applicant has not disclosed that the defined filter and projection solve any stated problem or is for any particular purpose (i.e., the critical nature of the structure is not defined in the disclosure) and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the Smith et al. filter configuration.
Claim(s) 7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. in view of Eggum et al. (11551957).
Regarding claims 7 and 10, the Smith et al. reference discloses the invention (discussed supra), including the module body (506) and the filter retainer being configured to be joined by friction fit and the filter being clamped at its perimeter as defined (see annotated Fig. 19), but doesn’t disclose the components being joined by a snap-fit. However, the Eggum et al. reference discloses another substrate container having a module body, grommet, check valve and filter (see Figure 7), which components are “snap fit” or “friction fit” together (see col. 10, lines 9 – 41). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the Smith et al. device to have “snap fit” components as, for example, taught by the Eggum et al. reference since mechanical snap fit and friction components are well known in the art and would be obvious to try without unexpected results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The Sumi et al. reference (7455180) discloses another substrate container having a module body, grommet, filter and projections (see Figures 3 – 11).
/TIMOTHY L MAUST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753