DETAILED ACTION
The office action is a response to an application filed on July 19, 2024, wherein claims 21-32 are pending and ready for examination.
Double Patenting
Instant Application 18778866
US 12047317 B2
21. (New) A user equipment configured to operate in a wireless communication system, the wireless communication system comprising a base station, the user equipment comprising a processor, the processor is configured to:
when a first time-frequency resource predetermined for a transmission of a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) of a data channel does not overlap with a second time-frequency resource allocated for a transmission, from the base station of the wireless communication system, other than the transmission of the DM-RS, receive the DM-RS in the first time-frequency resource,
when the first time-frequency resource overlaps with the second time-frequency resource, receive the DM-RS in an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol located immediately after the second time-frequency resource, and
receive the data channel based on the received DM-RS of the data channel, wherein the DM-RS is a reference signal specific to the user equipment, and
wherein the data channel is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
1. A user equipment configured to operate in a wireless communication system, the user equipment comprising:
a processor configured to:
when a time-frequency resource predetermined for a transmission of a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) of a data channel does not overlap with a time-frequency resource allocated for a transmission from a base station of the wireless communication system, other than the
transmission of the DM-RS, receive the DM-RS in the time-frequency resource predetermined for the transmission of the DM-RS of the data channel, when the time-frequency resource predetermined for the transmission of the DM-RS of the data channel overlaps with the time-frequency resource allocated for the transmission from the base station of the wireless communication system, other than the transmission of the DM-RS, receive the DM-RS in an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol that is located immediately after the time-frequency resource allocated for the transmission from the base station of the wireless communication system, other than the transmission of the DM-RS, and
receive the data channel based on the received DM-RS of the data channel, wherein the DM-RS is a reference signal specific to the user equipment,
wherein the DM-RS is a front loaded DM-RS of the data channel, and wherein the data channel is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
22. (New) The user equipment of claim 21, wherein when the first time-frequency resource overlaps with the second time-frequency resource, the processor is configured to
determine whether to receive the DM-RS in a resource element (RE) located after the second time-frequency resource, based on whether an additional DM-RS of the data channel is present.
2.The user equipment of claim 1,
wherein, when the time-frequency resource predetermined for the transmission of the DM-RS of the data channel overlaps with the time-frequency resource allocated for the transmission from the base station of the wireless communication system, other than the transmission of the DM-RS, the processor is configured to
determine whether to receive the DM-RS in a resource element (RE) located after the time-frequency resource allocated for the transmission from the base station of the wireless communication system, other than the transmission of the DM-RS, based on whether an additional DM-RS of the data channel is present.
23. (New) The user equipment of claim 21, wherein when the first time-frequency resource overlaps with the second time-frequency resource, the processor is configured to
determine whether to receive the DM-RS based on whether a signal quasi-co-located with a port of the DM-RS is present.
3. The user equipment of claim 1,
wherein when the time-frequency resource predetermined for the transmission of the DM-RS of the data channel overlaps with the time-frequency resource allocated for the transmission, from the base station of the wireless communication system, other than the transmission of the DM-RS, the processor is configured to
determine whether to receive the DM-RS based on whether a signal quasi-co-located with a port of the DM-RS is present.
24. (New) The user equipment of claim 23, wherein the processor is configured to determine that a signal transmitted through
the second time-frequency resource is quasi-co-located with the port of the DM-RS, and receive the data channel based on the signal.
The user equipment of claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to determine that a signal transmitted through
the time-frequency resource allocated for the transmission from the base station of the wireless communication system, other than the transmission of the DM-RS, is quasi-co-located with the port of the DM-RS, and receive the data channel based on the signal.
25. (New) The user equipment of claim 24, wherein the processor is configured to estimate a state of a channel through which the data channel is transmitted based on the signal transmitted through the second time-frequency resource and demodulate the data channel based on the state of the channel.
5. The user equipment of claim 4, wherein the processor is configured to estimate a state of a channel through which the data channel is transmitted based on the signal transmitted through the time-frequency resource allocated for the transmission from the base station of the wireless communication system, other than the transmission of the DM-RS, and demodulate the data channel based on the state of the channel.
26. (New) The user equipment of claim 25, wherein the processor is configured to estimate at least one of a delay spread, a Doppler spread, a Doppler shift, an average gain, and an average delay of a channel through which the data channel is transmitted, based on the signal transmitted through the second time-frequency resource.
6. The user equipment of claim 5, wherein the processor is configured to estimate at least one of a delay spread, a Doppler spread, a Doppler shift, an average gain, and an average delay of a channel through which the data channel is transmitted, based on the signal transmitted through the time-frequency resource allocated for the transmission, from the base station of the wireless communication system, other than the transmission of the DM-RS.
27. (New) The user equipment of claim 21,
wherein the second time-frequency resource, is a resource emptied without transmission.
7. The user equipment of claim 1, wherein the time-frequency resource allocated for the transmission from the base station of the wireless communication system, other than the transmission of the DM-RS, is a resource emptied without transmission.
28. (New) The user equipment of claim 21,
wherein the second time-frequency resource is a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block, wherein the SS/PBCH block comprises a synchronization signal and information on the wireless communication system.
8. The user equipment of claim 1, wherein the time-frequency resource allocated for the transmission, from the base station of the wireless communication system, other than the transmission of the DM-RS, is a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block, wherein the SS/PBCH block comprises a synchronization signal and information on the wireless communication system.
29. (New) A method of operating a user equipment of a wireless communication system, the wireless communication system comprising a base station, the method comprising: when a first time-frequency resource predetermined for a transmission of a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) of a data channel does not overlap with a second time-frequency resource allocated for a transmission, from a base station of the wireless communication system, other than the transmission of the DM-RS, receiving the DM-RS of the data channel in the time-frequency resource predetermined for the transmission of the DM-RS of the data channel, when the first time-frequency resource overlaps with a second time-frequency resource, receiving the DM-RS in an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol located immediately after the second time-frequency resource, and receiving the data channel based on the received DM-RS of the data channel, wherein the DM-RS is a reference signal specific to the user equipment, and wherein the data channel is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
9. A method of operating a user equipment of a wireless communication system, the method comprising: when a time-frequency resource predetermined for a transmission of a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) of a data channel does not overlap with a time-frequency resource allocated for a transmission from a base station of the wireless communication system, other than the transmission of the DM-RS, receiving the DM-RS of the data channel in the time-frequency resource predetermined for the transmission of the DM-RS of the data channel, when the time-frequency resource predetermined for the transmission of the DM-RS of the data channel overlaps with the time-frequency resource allocated for the transmission from the base station of the wireless communication system, other than the transmission of the DM-RS, receiving the DM-RS in an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol that is located immediately after the time-frequency resource allocated for the transmission from the base station of the wireless communication system, other than the transmission of the DM-RS, and receiving the data channel based on the received DM-RS of the data channel, wherein the DM-RS is a reference signal specific to the user equipment, wherein the DM-RS is a front loaded DM-RS of the data channel, and wherein the data channel is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
30. (New) The method of claim 29, wherein the receiving the DM-RS comprises determining whether to receive, based on whether an additional DM-RS of the data channel is present, the DM-RS.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the receiving the DM-RS comprises determining whether to receive the DM-RS, based on whether an additional DM-RS of the data channel is present.
31. (New) The method of claim 29, wherein the second time-frequency is a resource emptied without transmission.
11. The method of claim 9, wherein the time-frequency resource allocated for the transmission from the base station of the wireless communication system, other than the transmission of the DM-RS, is a resource emptied without transmission.
32. (New) The method of claim 29, wherein the second time-frequency resource is a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block, wherein the SS/PBCH block comprises a synchronization signal and information on the wireless communication system.
12. The method of claim 9, wherein the time-frequency resource allocated for the transmission from the base station of the wireless communication system, other than the transmission of the DM-RS, is a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block, wherein the SS/PBCH block comprises a synchronization signal and information on the wireless communication system.
Claims 21 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. US 12047317 B2. in view of Yi et al. (Yi546 hereafter) (US 20160006546 A1) and in further view of Wang et al. (Wang923 hereafter) (US 20180323923 A1) (IDS provided).
Regarding claim 21 US 12047317 B2 teaches, A user equipment configured to operate in a wireless communication system, the wireless communication system comprising a base station, the user equipment comprising a processor, the processor is configured to:
US 12047317 B2 fails to explicitly teach, when a first time-frequency resource predetermined for a transmission of a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) of a data channel does not overlap with a second time-frequency resource allocated for a transmission, from the base station of the wireless communication system, other than the transmission of the DM-RS, receive the DM-RS in the first time-frequency resource,
when the first time-frequency resource overlaps with the second time-frequency resource, receive the DM-RS in an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol located immediately after the second time-frequency resource, and
receive the data channel based on the received DM-RS of the data channel, wherein the DM-RS is a reference signal specific to the user equipment, and wherein the data channel is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
However, in the same field of endeavor Yi546 teaches, when a first time-frequency resource predetermined (REs among the predetermined REs in reference patterns) for a transmission of a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) of a data channel (eNB can check candidates for DM-RS REs) does not overlap with a second time-frequency resource allocated for a transmission (specific REs for the UE 1 distinguishing between specific REs for the UE 2 not to be overlapped), from the base station of the wireless communication system ([0096]via DCI can be used, indicates a corresponding DM-RS Pattern.), other than the transmission of the DM-RS, receive the DM-RS in the first time-frequency resource ([0098] DM-RS pattern with two small number of REs per PRB) (Yi546; [0095] different DM-RS pattern for UE1 and UE2 are shown in the FIG. 9. [0096] A higher layer signaling to reconfigure a DM-RS Pattern can be used, some RRC reconfiguration, an Indication via DCI can be used, indicates a corresponding DM-RS Pattern. [0098] DM-RS pattern with two small number of REs per PRB may be excluded due to potentially poor performance in channel estimation. A pattern can be defined as a number of randomly selected REs per usable DM-RS REs where the number of those selected REs may be variable or fixed. [0104] eNB can check candidates for DM-RS REs of UE 1 and UE 2, and allocate specific REs for the UE 1 distinguishing between specific REs for the UE 2 not to be overlapped at least 2 groups of REs among the predetermined REs in reference patterns... In FIG. 9, the DM-RS to UE2 are allocated in specific REs among the candidates except the DM-RS REs allocated to UE 1), ([0104]).
US 12047317 B2-Yi546 fails to explicitly teach, when the first time-frequency resource overlaps with the second time-frequency resource, receive the DM-RS in an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol located immediately after the second time-frequency resource, and
receive the data channel based on the received DM-RS of the data channel, wherein the DM-RS is a reference signal specific to the user equipment, and wherein the data channel is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
However, in the same field of endeavor Wang923 teaches, when the first time-frequency resource overlaps with the second time-frequency resource ([0212] time-frequency resources of the DM-RS are overlapped with those of the first type of NZP CSI-RS), receive the DM-RS in an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol located immediately after the second time-frequency resource (transmits the DM-RS in the third and fourth OFDM symbols) (Wang923; [0212] when part of time-frequency resources of the DM-RS are overlapped with those of the first type of NZP CSI-RS, [0213] As shown in FIG. 21, ...Therefore, the base station does not transmit the DM-RS in the two OFDM symbols, but transmits the DM-RS in the third and fourth OFDM symbols. The UE may assume that when the DRS is detected and part of resources of the first type of NZP CSI-RS and resources of the DM-RS are overlapped, the first type of NZP CSI-RS is received in a corresponding OFDM symbol, while the DM-RS is not received in the corresponding OFDM symbol. Instead, the DM-RS is received on other resources.), and
receive the data channel based on the received DM-RS of the data channel, wherein the DM-RS is a reference signal specific to the user equipment, (Wang 923; [0215] the base station transmits the DRS and the data in the subframe and the data in the subframe and the length of the subframe is twelve OFDM symbols. The mapping of the DM-RS is determined according to the pattern of the DwPTS and it is assumed that there is DM-RS with four ports) and wherein the data channel is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Wang 923;[0216] the base station does not schedule the PDSCH, which is transmitted based on the DM-RS.)
. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of US 12047317 B2-Yi546 to include the above recited limitations as taught by Wang923 in order to accomplish higher data rates. (Wang923; [0003]).
Regarding claim 29 US 12047317 B2 teaches, A method of operating a user equipment of a wireless communication system, the wireless communication system comprising a base station, the method comprising:
US 12047317 B2 fails to explicitly teach, when a first time-frequency resource predetermined for a transmission of a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) of a data channel does not overlap with a second time-frequency resource allocated for a transmission, from the base station of the wireless communication system, other than the transmission of the DM-RS, receive the DM-RS in the first time-frequency resource,
when the first time-frequency resource overlaps with the second time-frequency resource, receiving the DM-RS in an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol located immediately after the second time-frequency resource, and
receiving the data channel based on the received DM-RS of the data channel, wherein the DM-RS is a reference signal specific to the user equipment, and wherein the data channel is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
However, in the same field of endeavor Yi546 teaches when a first time-frequency resource predetermined (REs among the predetermined REs in reference patterns) for a transmission of a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) of a data channel (eNB can check candidates for DM-RS REs) does not overlap with a second time-frequency resource allocated for a transmission (specific REs for the UE 1 distinguishing between specific REs for the UE 2 not to be overlapped ), from a base station of the wireless communication system ([0096]via DCI can be used, indicates a corresponding DM-RS Pattern.), other than the transmission of the DM-RS, receiving the DM-RS of the data channel in the time-frequency resource predetermined for the transmission of the DM-RS of the data channel, ([0098] DM-RS pattern with two small number of REs per PRB) (Yi546; [0095] different DM-RS pattern for UE1 and UE2 are shown in the FIG. 9. [0096] A higher layer signaling to reconfigure a DM-RS Pattern can be used, some RRC reconfiguration, an Indication via DCI can be used, indicates a corresponding DM-RS Pattern. [0098] DM-RS pattern with two small number of REs per PRB may be excluded due to potentially poor performance in channel estimation. A pattern can be defined as a number of randomly selected REs per usable DM-RS REs where the number of those selected REs may be variable or fixed. [0104] eNB can check candidates for DM-RS REs of UE 1 and UE 2, and allocate specific REs for the UE 1 distinguishing between specific REs for the UE 2 not to be overlapped at least 2 groups of REs among the predetermined REs in reference patterns... In FIG. 9, the DM-RS to UE2 are allocated in specific REs among the candidates except the DM-RS REs allocated to UE 1),([0104]).
US 12047317 B2-Yi546 fails to explicitly teach, when the first time-frequency resource overlaps with the second time-frequency resource, receiving the DM-RS in an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol located immediately after the second time-frequency resource, and
receiving the data channel based on the received DM-RS of the data channel, wherein the DM-RS is a reference signal specific to the user equipment, and wherein the data channel is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)
However, in the same field of endeavor Wang923 teaches, when the first time-frequency resource overlaps with the second time-frequency resource ([0212] time-frequency resources of the DM-RS are overlapped with those of the first type of NZP CSI-RS), receive the DM-RS in an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol located immediately after the second time-frequency resource (transmits the DM-RS in the third and fourth OFDM symbols) (Wang923; [0212] when part of time-frequency resources of the DM-RS are overlapped with those of the first type of NZP CSI-RS, [0213] As shown in FIG. 21, ...Therefore, the base station does not transmit the DM-RS in the two OFDM symbols, but transmits the DM-RS in the third and fourth OFDM symbols. The UE may assume that when the DRS is detected and part of resources of the first type of NZP CSI-RS and resources of the DM-RS are overlapped, the first type of NZP CSI-RS is received in a corresponding OFDM symbol, while the DM-RS is not received in the corresponding OFDM symbol. Instead, the DM-RS is received on other resources.), and
receiving the data channel based on the received DM-RS of the data channel, wherein the DM-RS is a reference signal specific to the user equipment, (Wang 923; [0215] the base station transmits the DRS and the data in the subframe and the data in the subframe and the length of the subframe is twelve OFDM symbols. The mapping of the DM-RS is determined according to the pattern of the DwPTS and it is assumed that there is DM-RS with four ports) and wherein the data channel is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Wang 923;[0216] the base station does not schedule the PDSCH, which is transmitted based on the DM-RS.)
. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of US 12047317 B2-Yi546 to include the above recited limitations as taught by Wang923 in order to accomplish higher data rates. (Wang923; [0003]).
Claims 22 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 12047317 B2-Yi546-Wang923 as applied to claim 21 and 29 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (Kim203 hereafter) (US 20180302203 A1) (IDS provided).
Regarding claims 22 and 30 US 12047317 B2-Yi546-Wang923 teaches, the claims 21 and 29,
US 12047317 B2-Yi546-Wang923 fails to explicitly teach, wherein when the first time-frequency resource overlaps with the second time-frequency resource, the processor is configured to determine whether to receive the DM-RS in a resource element (RE) located after the second time-frequency resource, based on whether an additional DM-RS of the data channel is present
However, in the same field of endeavor Kim203 teaches, wherein when the first time-frequency resource overlaps with the second time-frequency resource, the processor is configured to determine whether to receive the DM-RS in a resource element (RE) located after the second time-frequency resource, based on whether an additional DM-RS of the data channel is present (Kim203; [0422] in Option 2, may not expect to receive the CSI-RS (or CSI-IM) in spite of the presence of a CSI-RS (or CSI-IM) overlapped with all or a part of REs in which the DM-RS is configured in OS #12/#13 of the SF).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of US 12047317 B2-Yi546-Wang923 to include the above recited limitations as taught by Kim203 in order to support unlicensed band (Kim203; [0395]).
Claims 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 12047317 B2-Yi546-Wang923 as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Park et al. (Park997 hereafter) (US 20150304997 A1) .
Regarding claim 23 US 12047317 B2-Yi546-Wang923 teaches, the claim 21,
US 12047317 B2-Yi546-Wang923 fails to explicitly teach, wherein when the first time-frequency resource overlaps with the second time-frequency resource, the processor is configured to determine whether to receive the DM-RS based on whether a signal quasi-co-located with a port of the DM-RS is present
However, in the same field of endeavor Park997 teaches, wherein when the first time-frequency resource overlaps with the second time-frequency resource, the processor is configured to determine whether to receive the DM-RS based on whether a signal quasi-co-located with a port of the DM-RS is present (Park997; [0109], [0170] FIG. 10, each of DM-RS antenna ports #7 and #8 occupies two REs in one PRB pair and DM-RS antenna ports #7 and #8 are transmitted by overlapping with each other by CDM on the same two REs. Similarly, each of DM-RS antenna ports #9 and #10 occupies two REs in one PRB pair and DM-RS antenna ports #9 and #10 are transmitted overlapping with each other by CDM on the same two REs. In this case, the two REs are located at positions having indexes increased by one subcarrier from transmission positions of DM-RS antenna ports #7 and #8 on the frequency domain. Accordingly, DM-RS antenna ports #7 and #8 maintain orthogonality with DM-RS antenna ports #9 and #10 as an FDM relationship. [0173] even though a separate QCL assumption for each DLG is applied... [0174] Then, a DM-RS is received by applying the same QCL assumption in each DLG).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of US 12047317 B2-Yi546-Wang923 to include the above recited limitations as taught by Park997 in order to receive a DM-RS based PDSCH by applying a QCL assumption
(Park997; [0109]).
Regarding claim 24 US 12047317 B2-Yi546-Wang923-Park997 teaches, the claim 23,
Park997 further teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine that a signal transmitted through the second time-frequency resource is quasi-co-located with the port of the DM-RS, and receive the data channel based on the signal (Park997; [0158] the UE detects a DM-RS based PDSCH from a layer corresponding to DLG1 by applying a QCL assumption between a DM-RS antenna port and CSI-RS #1 and between the DM-RS antenna port and CRS #1 and detects a DM-RS based PDSCH from a layer corresponding to DLG2 by applying a QCL assumption between a DM-RS antenna port and CSI-RS #2 and between the DM-RS antenna port and CRS #2).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Park997 is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 23
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 12047317 B2-Yi546-Wang923-Park997 as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Hessler et al. (Hessler hereafter) (US 20190036662 A1).
Regarding claim 25 US 12047317 B2-Yi546-Wang923-Park997 teaches, the claim 24
US 12047317 B2-Yi546-Wang923-Park997 fails to explicitly teach, wherein the processor is configured to estimate a state of a channel through which the data channel is transmitted based on the signal transmitted through the second time-frequency resource and demodulate the data channel based on the state of the channel.
However, in the same field of endeavor Hessler teaches, wherein the processor is configured to estimate a state of a channel through which the data channel is transmitted based on the signal transmitted through the second time-frequency resource and demodulate the data channel based on the state of the channel (Hessler; [0092] The processing circuit 52 may be further configured, in these embodiments, to perform channel estimation using the DMRS symbols and to demodulate data symbols within the group of time-frequency resources, based on the channel estimation, as well as to estimate or update an estimate of a frequency error for the user-specific transmission, using the SS symbols).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of US 12047317 B2-Yi546-Wang923-Park997 to include the above recited limitations as taught by Hessler in order to estimate or update an estimate of a frequency error for the user-specific transmission (Hessler; [0092]).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 12047317 B2-Yi546-Wang923-Park997-Hessler as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Park et al. (Park625 hereafter) (US 20150180625 A1) (IDS provided).
Regarding claim 26 US 12047317 B2-Yi546-Wang923-Park997-Hessler teaches, the claim 25,
US 12047317 B2-Yi546-Wang923-Park997-Hessler fails to explicitly teach, wherein the processor is configured to estimate at least one of a delay spread, a Doppler spread, a Doppler shift, an average gain, and an average delay of a channel through which the data channel is transmitted, based on the signal transmitted through the second time-frequency resource.
However, in the same field of endeavor Park625 teaches, wherein the processor is configured to estimate at least one of a delay spread, a Doppler spread, a Doppler shift, an average gain, and an average delay of a channel through which the data channel is transmitted, based on the signal transmitted through the second time-frequency resource (Park625; [0148] For channel estimation between RS ports, the LTE(-A) system introduces the concept of "quasi co-located (QCL)". For example, in the case of two antenna ports, when the large-scale property of a radio channel for transmitting one symbol through one antenna port can be inferred from a radio channel for transmitting one symbol through the other antenna, it can be said that the two antenna ports are quasi co-located. Here, the large-scale property includes one or more of delay spread, Doppler spread, Doppler shift, average gain, and average delay).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of US 12047317 B2-Yi546-Wang923-Park997-Hessler to include the above recited limitations as taught by Park625 in order to perform Channel estimation (Park625; [0155]).
Claims 27 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 12047317 B2-Yi546-Wang923 as applied to claim 21 and 29 above, and further in view of Fröberg et al. (Fröberg hereafter) (US 20170272222 A1).
Regarding claims 27 and 31 US 12047317 B2-Yi546-Wang923 teaches, the claim 21 and 29,
US 12047317 B2-Yi546-Wang923 fails to explicitly teach, wherein the second time-frequency resource, is a resource emptied without transmission.
However, in the same field of endeavor Fröberg teaches, wherein the second time-frequency resource, is a resource emptied without transmission (Fröberg; [0034]if a part of the time frequency space defined by one of the first resource elements overlaps a part of the time frequency space defined by one of the second resource elements, and this first resource element and this second resource element are assigned to different utilizations. For example, the first resource element could be assigned to transmission of data while the second resource element is assigned to transmission of a reference signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of US 12047317 B2-Yi546-Wang923 to include the above recited limitations as taught by Fröberg in order to assign its REs to a certain utilization (Fröberg; [0073]).
Claims 28 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 12047317 B2-Yi546-Wang923 as applied to claim 21 and 29 above, and further in view of Xing et al. (Xing hereafter) (US 20150289216 A1).
Regarding claims 28 and 32 US 12047317 B2-Yi546-Wang923 teaches, the claims 21 and 29,
US 12047317 B2-Yi546-Wang923 fails to explicitly teach, wherein the second time-frequency resource is a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block, wherein the SS/PBCH block comprises a synchronization signal and information on the wireless communication system
However, in the same field of endeavor Xing teaches, wherein the second time-frequency resource is a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block, wherein the SS/PBCH block comprises a synchronization signal and information on the wireless communication system (Xing; [0035] the processor is configured to receive a supplementary synchronization signal carried over the predetermined second time-frequency resource; and to achieve downlink synchronization with an eNB, and to determine a physical layer cell ID, using the supplementary synchronization
signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of US 12047317 B2-Yi546-Wang923 to include the above recited limitations as taught by Xing in order to achieve downlink synchronization (Xing; [0035]).
Conclusion
/W. T/ Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416