DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Species A (figure 1A), including claims 1-3 and 6, in the reply filed on 05/27/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Office has not sufficiently established that examination of the generic claim scope would impose a serious search or examination burden, or that the identified species require restriction of claims that are generic to the disclosed solid crystal based SLM architecture. This is not found persuasive because claims 4-5 and 7-20 and figures 1A-5 are directed to multiple species (such as the different arrangements of the elements in the solid crystal based spatial light modulators). Therefore, search and examination of both species could not be carried out by the PTO without posing an undue burden on the Examiner. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rao et al. (US 2023/0194912).
Regarding claim 1, Rao et al (figure 10) discloses a device, comprising:
an organic solid crystal (1010; see at least paragraphs 0031-0032);
a pixel electrode layer and a common electrode layer coupled with the organic solid crystal, the pixel electrode layer including an array of pixel electrodes (upper and lower electrodes 1080; see at least paragraph 0078); and
a controller configured to individually configure voltages applied to the pixel electrodes to individually configure local refractive indices of the organic solid crystal (Disclosed are organic solid crystals having an actively tunable refractive index and birefringence; see at least paragraph 0057).
Regarding claim 2, Jacobs (figure 4d) discloses an array of pixels configured to provide spatially varying modulations of one or more degree of freedom of an input light beam, wherein a pixel in the array of the pixels includes a corresponding portion of the organic solid crystal, a corresponding portion of the pixel electrode layer, and a corresponding portion of the common electrode layer (under an applied electric field (E), a pattern may be induced in the electrically conductive liquid layer 1070, which may create a reciprocal pattern in the organic crystal material layer 1010. In turn, crystallization of the organic crystal material layer 1010 may be carried out by thermally-induced nucleation and growth, for example, optionally in conjunction with a seed crystal (not shown) to form an organic solid crystal thin film having periodic surface features or structures, such as an array of raised elements).
Regarding claim 6, Jacobs (figure 4d) discloses wherein the organic solid crystal is a contiguous organic solid crystal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Rao et al. (US 2023/0194912) in view of Jacobs (US 2009/0168136).
Regarding claim 3, Rao et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Rao et al. is silent regarding wherein the common electrode layer and the pixel electrode layer are in direct contact with the organic solid crystal. Jacobs (figure 4d-5b) teaches wherein the common electrode layer and the pixel electrode layer are in direct contact with the organic solid crystal ( (118 and 120; see at least paragraphs 0055-0056). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrodes as taught by Jacobs in order to achieve spatial light modulators that are preferably robust, reliable, fast, high resolution, and lower power-consumption.
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Jacobs (US 2009/0168136) in view of Malhortra (CN 114002762).
Regarding claim 1, Jacobs (figure 4d-5b) discloses a device, comprising:
an organic solid crystal (see at least claim 17);
a pixel electrode layer and a common electrode layer coupled with the organic solid crystal, the pixel electrode layer including an array of pixel electrodes (118 and 120; see at least paragraphs 0055-0056).
Jacobs discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Jacobs is silent regarding a controller configured to individually configure voltages applied to the pixel electrodes to individually configure local refractive indices of the organic solid crystal. Malhortra (figure 1A-1B) teaches a controller configured to individually configure voltages applied to the pixel electrodes to individually configure local refractive indices of the organic solid crystal (see at least abstract and page 37, the last two paragraphs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrodes as taught by Malhortra in order to improve performance of the optical element.
Regarding claim 2, Jacobs (figure 4d) discloses an array of pixels configured to provide spatially varying modulations of one or more degree of freedom of an input light beam, wherein a pixel in the array of the pixels includes a corresponding portion of the organic solid crystal, a corresponding portion of the pixel electrode layer, and a corresponding portion of the common electrode layer (Each SSEO modulator is an individually addressable pixel of the spatial light modulator. Operational states of the pixels (SSEO modulators) are controlled by the individual electrical fields applied to the solid-state chiral materials. In order to individually control the SSEO modulators, each SSEO modulator can have a separate transmissive electrode (i.e. electrode 102 in FIG. 1); and the reflective electrodes (i.e. electrode 106 in FIG. 1) of the SSEO modulators may or may not be connected together; see at least pages 0047-0052).
Regarding claim 3, Jacobs (figure 4d) discloses wherein the common electrode layer and the pixel electrode layer are in direct contact with the organic solid crystal (118 and 120; see at least paragraphs 0055-0056).
Regarding claim 6, Jacobs (figure 4d) discloses wherein the organic solid crystal is a contiguous organic solid crystal.
Conclusion
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871