DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on April 28, 2026. Claims 2, 4, 11, 12 and 19 have been canceled, claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 10, 13 and 16-18 have been amended. Claims 1, 3, 5-10 and 13-18 are directed towards STORAGE MEDIUM, METHOD OF CONTROLLING IMAGE PROCESSING APPARATUS, AND IMAGE PROCESSING APPARATUS. Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s amendment to claims, and therefore withdraws the previous 35 USC § 112(b) and 102 rejections. However, due to the change in scope of the claims in the amendment, a new rejection under 35 USC § 103 is presented herein. The rejection is stated below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on April 28, 2026 with respect to 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejections. Applicant’s argument has been addressed in the following rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 13-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US 2020/0404122 A1 (hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Koide et al. US 2016/0307600 A1 (hereinafter “Koide”).
As per claims 1, 17 and 18, Kim teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing an application which causes a computer to execute a method of controlling an image processing apparatus (the image scanning apparatus 100 may include the image sensor 110, the memory 120, the processor 130, a communicator 140, a display 150, a manipulation inputter 160, and an engine 170. Kim, para [0056]), the method comprising:
displaying, on a display unit, a screen to designate a region where masking processing is performed using a method selected from a plurality of different methods, in which the region where the masking processing is performed in image data obtained by scanning a document by a scanner included in the image processing apparatus is designated (the expression “image forming apparatus” as used herein refers to an apparatus that prints the printing data generated at a terminal such as a computer onto a recording medium. Examples of an image forming apparatus may include a copy machine, a printer, a facsimile, or a multi-function printer (MFP) implementing functions of the above. The printer, the scanner, the fax machine, the multi-function printer (MFP), a display apparatus, or the like may represent any apparatus that can perform the image forming job. Kim, para [0016])( The processor 130 may control to display a preview image corresponding to the masked scan image. At this time, the processor 130 may generate a user interface window including a first area for displaying a preview image corresponding to the masking process, a second area for receiving an option related to the masking process, and control to display the generated user interface window. Kim, para [0047]);
performing the masking processing on the image data based on designation on the screen (The personal information included in the generated scan image is masked in operation S1120. For example, OCR may be performed on the generated scan image, and an area including personal information is set as a masking area based on the character recognition result. The masking process can be performed on the masking area. Kim, para [0128]),and
displaying, on the display unit, a preview screen in which a designated region is masked (The processor 130 may control to display a preview image corresponding to the masked scan image. At this time, the processor 130 may generate a user interface window including a first area for displaying a preview image corresponding to the masking process, a second area for receiving an option related to the masking process, and control to display the generated user interface window. An example of a user interface window will be described later with reference to FIG. 7. Kim, para [0047]),
wherein the plurality of different methods include a first method in which the region where the masking processing is performed is designated by selecting a type of a character string included in the region where the masking processing is performed (A user may select types of personal information for performing protection for personal information using the user interface window 500. In the illustrated example, only the resident registration number, the address, and the telephone number are shown as examples of personal information, but various personal information such as a name, an e-mail address, a job title, a passbook number, or the like can be used in implementation. In implementation, a masking method, a masking area (e.g., all or part of personal information) may be separately set for each type of personal information. Kim, para [0090-0091]), and a second method in which the region where which the masking processing is performed is designated by designating a position of the region where the masking processing is performed (The area to add masking 730 provides for selection of an option for adding masking processing. If the area to add making 730 is selected, the user can additionally set types of personal information or set an area for performing masking. Kim, para [0101])( The processor 130 may perform an OCR process 810 on the scan image 820 and set an area containing the personal information as a masking area. For example, the processor 130 can confirm the numeric text format of xxxxxx-xxxxxxx as personal information and set a partial area of the detected numeric text as a masking area. As an alternative, the entire area of the numeric text may be set as the masking area. Kim, para [0110]).
Kim does not explicitly teach third method in which the region where the masking processing is performed is designated by a user inputting characters of a specific character string into a designated area on a screen.
However, Koide teaches third method in which the region where the masking processing is performed is designated by a user inputting characters of a specific character string into a designated area on a screen (target manager 154 determines whether a user's instruction for designating an additional target to be masked has been input through operation input 159 (step S211). In image data, erroneous face detection, such as a face facing sideward or downward, may be performed by face detector 156. In this case, a user views a display screen of an image to be processed to recognize an additional target to be masked, and performs an operation of instructing a region to be added as a target to be masked using input device 106. When the designation of an addition target to be masked is input, target manager 154 sets coordinate data regarding a designated region as a target to be masked, and adds and registers the coordinate data to and in target management data (step S212). In addition, image processor 153 generates to-be-masked frame 123 indicating a region to be masked which is additionally designated, and displays the generated frame in an image. Image processor 153 performs a masking process on the additional region to be masked (step S213), and log generator 160 adds and registers coordinate data regarding a region, having been additionally subjected to a masking process, to and in log data as a history of the target to be masked (step S214). Koide, para [0069-0070]) (input device 106 constituted by a keyboard, a mouse, a touch panel, or the like that inputs a user's instruction operation. Koide, para [0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of Kim in view of Koide. One would be motivated to do so, to enhance the privacy of the system by adding a third way of masking areas determined by user input.
As per claim 5, Kim and Koide teach the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
in a case where the selected method to designate the region where the masking processing is performed is the first method, receiving a user input to select a type of the character string on a screen to perform designation by the first method (A user may select types of personal information for performing protection for personal information using the user interface window 500. In the illustrated example, only the resident registration number, the address, and the telephone number are shown as examples of personal information, but various personal information such as a name, an e-mail address, a job title, a passbook number, or the like can be used in implementation. In implementation, a masking method, a masking area (e.g., all or part of personal information) may be separately set for each type of personal information. Kim, para [0090-0091]); and
performing the masking processing on a character string region including a character string corresponding to the designated type of the character string (The personal information included in the generated scan image is masked in operation S1120. For example, OCR may be performed on the generated scan image, and an area including personal information is set as a masking area based on the character recognition result. The masking process can be performed on the masking area. Kim, para [0128]).
As per claim 6, Kim and Koide teach the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the type of the character string includes a company name, a name, a phone number, an address, a FAX number, an e-mail address, a uniform resource locator (URL), a credit card number, or a one dimensional or two dimensional code image (Personal information may be a resident registration number, a phone number, address, email address, job title, company name, etc. Kim, para [0031]).
As per claim 7, Kim and Koide teach the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: in a case where the selected method to designate the region where the masking processing is performed is the second method, receiving a user input to designate a position of the region to be masked on a screen to perform designation by the second method (The manipulation inputter 160 may receive an input through the control menu displayed on the display 150. The manipulation inputter 160 may be implemented as a plurality of buttons, a keyboard, a mouse, or the like, and may be implemented as a touch screen that can simultaneously perform functions of the display 150 as described above. The manipulation inputter 160 may receive a setting of an option related to personal information protection from a user or receive a setting of additional processing of a currently masked scan image. Kim, para [0068-0070])(a masking area (e.g., all or part of personal information) may be separately set for each type of personal information. Kim, para [0091])( The area to add masking 730 provides for selection of an option for adding masking processing. If the area to add making 730 is selected, the user can additionally set types of personal information or set an area for performing masking. Kim, para [0101]); and
performing the masking processing on a region in the designated position (The personal information included in the generated scan image is masked in operation S1120. For example, OCR may be performed on the generated scan image, and an area including personal information is set as a masking area based on the character recognition result. The masking process can be performed on the masking area. Kim, para [0128]),
As per claim 13, Kim and Koide teach the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the preview screen includes, a screen to select the type of the character string selected in the first method, and a screen to designate the position of the region where the masking processing is performed in the second method (The display 150 may display a user interface window for receiving settings related to privacy protection. In addition, the display 150 may display a preview image indicating a masked scan image and may display a user interface window for setting an additional processing method for the masked scan image.. Kim, para [0066]) (The option area 720 is an area for setting an additional processing option for the preview image, including an area to add masking 730, an area to remove masking 740, and an area to recover to an original image 750. Kim, para [0100]).
Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the preview screen includes a screen to input the character string designated in the third method.
However, Koide teaches wherein the preview screen includes a screen to input the character string designated in the third method (target manager 154 determines whether a user's instruction for designating an additional target to be masked has been input through operation input 159 (step S211). In image data, erroneous face detection, such as a face facing sideward or downward, may be performed by face detector 156. In this case, a user views a display screen of an image to be processed to recognize an additional target to be masked, and performs an operation of instructing a region to be added as a target to be masked using input device 106. When the designation of an addition target to be masked is input, target manager 154 sets coordinate data regarding a designated region as a target to be masked, and adds and registers the coordinate data to and in target management data (step S212). In addition, image processor 153 generates to-be-masked frame 123 indicating a region to be masked which is additionally designated, and displays the generated frame in an image. Image processor 153 performs a masking process on the additional region to be masked (step S213), and log generator 160 adds and registers coordinate data regarding a region, having been additionally subjected to a masking process, to and in log data as a history of the target to be masked (step S214). Koide, para [0069-0070]) (input device 106 constituted by a keyboard, a mouse, a touch panel, or the like that inputs a user's instruction operation. Koide, para [0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of Kim in view of Koide. One would be motivated to do so, to enhance the privacy of the system by adding a third way of masking areas determined by user input.
As per claim 14, Kim and Koide teach the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the masking processing is processing to mask a designated region in the image data with black color (The processor 130 may perform a masking process on the set masking area to generate a masked scan image 830. For example, the processor 130 may perform a black covering over the masked area. As an alternative, various image processing such as mosaic processing or replacing with a preset image may be applied as well as a simple image processing method in which the image is covered with white or covered with the background color of the scan image. Kim, para [0112]).
As per claim 15, Kim and Koide teach the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the masking processing is processing to mask a designated region in the image data with a background color of the image data (The processor 130 may perform a masking process on the set masking area to generate a masked scan image 830. For example, the processor 130 may perform a black covering over the masked area. As an alternative, various image processing such as mosaic processing or replacing with a preset image may be applied as well as a simple image processing method in which the image is covered with white or covered with the background color of the scan image. Kim, para [0112]).
Claim(s) 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US 2020/0404122 A1 (hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Koide et al. US 2016/0307600 A1 (hereinafter “Koide”) and further in view of Lim US 2017/0180605 A1 (hereinafter “Lim”).
As per claim 3, Kim and Koide teach the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1. Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises: saving information of the region designated on the screen to a memory of the image processing apparatus as a saved preset designation; and performing the masking processing on other image data obtained by scanning another document by the scanner by using the saved preset designation.
However, Lim teaches saving information of the region designated on the screen to a memory of the image processing apparatus as a saved preset designation (The apparatus may further include a storage configured to store position and size information of a transcript name area and a personal information area, wherein the at least one processor may detect a transcript area within the scanned image and detect a personal information area within the detected transcript area using position information of personal information corresponding to the determined type of transcript. Lim, para [0010])(The storage 140 may store information on a position and size of a personal information area according to a transcript name area, name of a transcript and a type of a transcript. To be specific, information on a position and size of a transcript name area and a personal information area may be included in the stored database, and information on a position and size of an area set by a user using the manipulation inputter 150. Lim, para [0066]); and
performing the masking processing on other image data obtained by scanning another document by the scanner by using the saved preset designation (an image forming apparatus may detect a personal information area within a scanned image based on prestored information. For example, the image forming apparatus may detect a transcript area 621 within a scanned image using difference of brightness and darkness, and detect a preset area disposed at a preset distance from an edge of a transcript area as a personal information area. To be specific, the image forming apparatus may detect that, from an upper edge of the transcript area, an area of a preset size positioned at a distance of 5.5 cm from an upper edge and 2.2 cm from a left edge is a fingerprint area 622. Lim, para [0088])( The processor 130 may correct a scanned image by blurring (or blurring out) the detected personal information area. At this time, blurring or blurring out can mean changing a detected personal information area to a blank image or making it a mosaic. Lim, para [0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Kim in view of Lim. One would be motivated to do so, to enhance the privacy of the system by masking personal information at predetermined locations.
As per claim 8, Kim, Koide and Lim teach the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 3. Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of the different methods further include a fourth method in which the region where the masking processing is performed is designated by using the preset designation saved in the memory, the method further comprising: in a case where the selected method to designate the region where the masking processing is performed is the fourth method, receiving preset designation selected from a plurality of types of preset designation displayed on a screen to perform designation by the fourth method; and performing the masking processing based on the selected preset designation.
However, Lim teaches wherein the plurality of the different methods further include a fourth method in which the region where the masking processing is performed is designated by using the preset designation saved in the memory(The apparatus may further include a storage configured to store position and size information of a transcript name area and a personal information area, wherein the at least one processor may detect a transcript area within the scanned image and detect a personal information area within the detected transcript area using position information of personal information corresponding to the determined type of transcript. Lim, para [0010])(The storage 140 may store information on a position and size of a personal information area according to a transcript name area, name of a transcript and a type of a transcript. To be specific, information on a position and size of a transcript name area and a personal information area may be included in the stored database, and information on a position and size of an area set by a user using the manipulation inputter 150. Lim, para [0066]), the method further comprising:
in a case where the selected method to designate the region where the masking processing is performed is the fourth method, receiving preset designation selected from a plurality of types of preset designation displayed on a screen to perform designation by the fourth method (The storage 140 may store information on a position and size of a personal information area according to a transcript name area, name of a transcript and a type of a transcript. To be specific, information on a position and size of a transcript name area and a personal information area may be included in the stored database, and information on a position and size of an area set by a user using the manipulation inputter 150. Lim, para [0066]) (an image forming apparatus may detect a personal information area within a scanned image based on prestored information. For example, the image forming apparatus may detect a transcript area 621 within a scanned image using difference of brightness and darkness, and detect a preset area disposed at a preset distance from an edge of a transcript area as a personal information area. To be specific, the image forming apparatus may detect that, from an upper edge of the transcript area, an area of a preset size positioned at a distance of 5.5 cm from an upper edge and 2.2 cm from a left edge is a fingerprint area 622. Lim, para [0088]) and
performing the masking processing based on the selected preset designation (The processor 130 may correct a scanned image by blurring (or blurring out) the detected personal information area. At this time, blurring or blurring out can mean changing a detected personal information area to a blank image or making it a mosaic. Lim, para [0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of Kim in view of Lim. One would be motivated to do so, to enhance the privacy of the system by masking personal information at predetermined locations.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US 2020/0404122 A1 (hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Koide et al. US 2016/0307600 A1 (hereinafter “Koide”) and further in view of Lim US 2017/0180605 A1 (hereinafter “Lim”) and further in view of Arya US 9,122,880 B2 (hereinafter “Arya”)
As per claim 9, Kim, Koide and Lim teach the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 8. Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises: displaying, on the display unit, the plurality of the types of the preset designation in a manner based on the number of uses of the respective types of the preset designation by a user on the screen to perform designation by the fourth method.
However, Arya teaches wherein the method further comprises: displaying, on the display unit, the plurality of the types of the preset designation in a manner based on the number of uses of the respective types of the preset designation by a user on the screen to perform designation by the fourth method (the encryption platform 110 generates mask sequence values 122 according to the random reordering of the elements of sensitive personal information 102. For example, the encryption platform 110 may determine a last used mask sequence value 122 or a next available mask sequence value 122 to use in generation of the mask sequence values 122. As some examples, the last used or next available value may be determined according to a database query for highest mask sequence values 122, a database stored procedure configured to provide a next value to use, or a maintained last-used value stored in the data store 128 or in the memory 114 of the encryption platform 110. From that starting value, the encryption platform 110 may assign each of the elements of sensitive personal information 102 the next mask sequence values 122 in sequence according to the random sorted order of the elements of sensitive personal information 102. Arya, Col. 7 lines 12-27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Kim in view of Arya. One would be motivated to do so, to prioritize the available masking methods.
As per claim 10, Kim, Koide and Lim teach the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 8, Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises: displaying, on the display unit, the plurality of the types of the preset designation in a manner based on the last use date and time of the respective types of the preset designation on the screen to perform designation by the fourth method.
However, Lim teaches wherein the method further comprising: displaying, on the display unit, the plurality of the types of the preset designation in a manner based on the last use date and time of the respective types of the preset designation on the screen to perform designation by the fourth method (the encryption platform 110 generates mask sequence values 122 according to the random reordering of the elements of sensitive personal information 102. For example, the encryption platform 110 may determine a last used mask sequence value 122 or a next available mask sequence value 122 to use in generation of the mask sequence values 122. As some examples, the last used or next available value may be determined according to a database query for highest mask sequence values 122, a database stored procedure configured to provide a next value to use, or a maintained last-used value stored in the data store 128 or in the memory 114 of the encryption platform 110. From that starting value, the encryption platform 110 may assign each of the elements of sensitive personal information 102 the next mask sequence values 122 in sequence according to the random sorted order of the elements of sensitive personal information 102. Arya, Col. 7 lines 12-27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Kim in view of Arya. One would be motivated to do so, to prioritize the available masking methods.
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US 2020/0404122 A1 (hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Koide et al. US 2016/0307600 A1 (hereinafter “Koide”) and further in view of Shimahashi et al. US 2016/0094755 A1 (hereinafter “Shimahashi”).
As per claim 16, Kim and Koide teach the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1. Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprising: in a case where it is detected that the already-obtained image data and other image data newly obtained by scanning another document by the scanner are misaligned, obliquely rotating the newly-obtained other image data such that four sides of the newly-obtained other image data erect; and correcting the obliquely rotated other image data such that an origin of the obliquely rotated other image data matches an origin of the already-obtained image data.
However, Shimahashi teaches wherein the method further comprising:
in a case where it is detected that the already-obtained image data and other image data newly obtained by scanning another document by the scanner are misaligned, obliquely rotating the newly-obtained other image data such that four sides of the newly-obtained other image data erect; and correcting the obliquely rotated other image data such that an origin of the obliquely rotated other image data matches an origin of the already-obtained image data (The CPU 410 identifies the first edge 22L by analyzing the first scanned image 20L. Any edge detection process known in the art, such as a process employing filters or a process employing a Hough transform, may be used to identify the first edge 22L. If the identified first edge 22L is sloped relative to the first direction D1, the CPU 410 executes a skew correction process to rotate the first scanned image 20L until the first edge 22L is aligned with the first direction D1. Shimahashi, para [0049]) (the CPU 410 rotates the second scanned image 20Ra 180 degrees. FIG. 10 is a schematic diagram showing the first scanned image 20La and the rotated second scanned image 20Ra. At this time, the top of the left region 10L in the first scanned image 20La matches the top of the right region 10R in the second scanned image 20Ra, as shown in FIG. 10. Note that the first scanned image 20La may include a margin area. Sometimes the left region 10L is skewed in the first scanned image 20La relative to directions D1 and D2. In such cases, the CPU 410 executes the same skew correction process described in S100 and S110 of FIG. 6. For example, the CPU 410 may execute an edge detection process known in the art to identify the left edge SL (i.e., side SL) of the left region 10L. If the identified left edge SL is sloped relative to the first direction D1, the CPU 410 rotates the first scanned image 20La so that the left edge SL is aligned in the first direction D1. Similarly, if the right region 10R in the second scanned image 20Ra is skewed, the CPU 410 rotates the second scanned image 20Ra so that the right edge RE is aligned with the first direction D1. Shimahashi, para [0067-0068])( the CPU 410 may instead set the rotated angles of the first and second scanned images after analyzing the images. For example, the CPU 410 may set overlapping regions for four rotated angles, including 0°, 90°, 180°, and 270°, and may use the rotated angle at which the overlapping region has the largest second similarity S2 among the four overlapping regions. Shimahashi, para [0142]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Kim in view of Shimahashi. One would be motivated to do so, to enhance the accuracy of the masking process by assuring that the scanned images are correctly aligned with original template image.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Respectfully Submitted
/KHALID M ALMAGHAYREH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492