DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-13, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ominato et al, JP 2020170033.
Regarding claim 1, Ominato et al disclose a display device and an image forming device comprising: an apparatus body 1; and an operation panel 33 attached to a front face of the apparatus body 1, wherein the operation panel includes a light source 31A provided inside the operation panel, and a light guide 32 for causing light emitted from the light source to exit from a light exit surface 32B provided at an edge of the operation panel 33, and the apparatus body has a reflecting surface 34A that reflects the light exited from the light exit surface 32B. (See Fig. 1 and 2), wherein the apparatus body has a recessed portion that accommodates the operation panel (see Fig. 1); and further comprising a sheet discharge tray that is provided on a lower side of the front face of the apparatus body and can be drawn from the apparatus body (see Fig. 1).
Ominato et al fail to disclose the specific position of the reflecting surface, that it is formed at a lower side of the recessed portion. However, the specific position of the reflecting surface is just merely a matter of choice for meeting specific customer requirements in order to reflect the exiting light to satisfy the customer requirement. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the operation panel 33 is provided to be tiltable with respect to the apparatus body about one side of the operation panel, and the light exit surface is provided on another side opposite to the one side (“the liquid crystal panel 33 can be tilted with respect to the light source substrate 31 while suppressing the variation in brightness”).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the operation panel is tiltable in a vertical direction about the one side on an upper side (“the liquid crystal panel 33 can be tilted with respect to the light source substrate 31 while suppressing the variation in brightness”).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the light exit surface is formed across the other side of the operation panel and a side face of the operation panel (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the reflecting surface 34A is diagonally provided at a position facing the light exit surface 32B of the recessed portion (Fig. 2/3).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the operation panel is configured so that the light exited from the light exit surface is irradiated on the sheet discharge tray when the operation panel is tilted with respect to the apparatus body (“the liquid crystal panel 33 can be tilted with respect to the light source substrate 31 while suppressing the variation in brightness”).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the light guide 32 has a light receiving surface 32A that receives light emitted from the light source (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 10-11, wherein the light guide has a plurality of surfaces that totally reflect the light emitted from the light source inside the light guide (the frame 34 has a reflective member 34A that surrounds a surface orthogonal to the exit surface 32B of the light guide member 32. Specifically, the reflective member 34A is formed on the first side surface 32F of the light guide member 32, the second side surface 32G, and the third side surface 32H (see FIG. 3A) provided on the opposite side of the first incident surface 32A. It has three reflective surfaces, each facing each other. Each reflective surface is formed, for example, by being colored white).
Regarding claim 12, wherein the light source 31A is provided near a center in a width direction of the light guide 32 (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, wherein the light guide is formed of a milky white material having a high transparency (the frame 34 has a reflective member 34A that surrounds a surface orthogonal to the exit surface 32B of the light guide member 32. Specifically, the reflective member 34A is formed on the first side surface 32F of the light guide member 32, the second side surface 32G, and the third side surface 32H (see FIG. 3A) provided on the opposite side of the first incident surface 32A. It has three reflective surfaces, each facing each other. Each reflective surface is formed, for example, by being colored white).
Regarding claim 16, the image and forming device includes an image forming unit for forming image on sheets using ink wherein the sheets are discharged to the discharged tray (Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 17, with respect to the position of the maintenance cartridge relative to the operation panel, such limitation is a matter of choice for meeting specific customer requirements, failing to provide any unexpected results. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ominato in view of Tamai et al, JP 2010014907. The teachings of Ominato et al have been discussed above.
Regarding claims 14-15, Ominato et al fails to disclose, wherein the light source notifies a user of a status of the printing apparatus by changing an emission color or blinking.
Tamai et al disclose a light-emitting device comprising: an optical member that radiates toward the front side (direction parallel to the panel surface: the y direction in FIG. 3), and constitutes part of an indicator that informs the user of the operation status of the device by turning on or blinking the LED 24.
In view of the teaching of Tamai et al, it would have been obvious for an ordinary artisan to modify the teachings Ominato et al to include status indicator for alerting the user of the device status. Such modification would provide indicating means for alerting the user of the device current status. Therefore, It would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/13/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See examiner remarks.
Remarks:
In response to the applicant’s argument that the prior art (Ominato et al) fails to disclose that the reflecting surface formed on the lower side of the recessed portion to reflect light from the exit surface, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The specific position of the reflecting surface is just merely a matter of choice for meeting specific customer requirements in order to reflect the exiting light to satisfy the customer requirement. Furthermore, the position being at the lower side of the recessed portion does not provide an advantage. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art. The applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Refer to the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DANIEL ST CYR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2876
/DANIEL ST CYR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876