DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 13-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horie (US 2007/165063) and further in view of Zollner (US 2022/0339939).
With regard to claim 1, Horie discloses a printing apparatus (1), [Fig. 1] comprising:
a cleaning unit (5) [Para. 0078; Fig. 1] including a plurality of cleaning mechanisms (22, 24) [Figs. 2 and 13] configured to clean a printing head (4) ejecting a liquid [Para. 0081], each of the plurality of cleaning mechanisms scanning in a predetermined direction (Y-direction) while contacting the printing head [Para. 0083];
a movement mechanism (41) [Para. 085-0086; Figs. 15-16] configured to move one of the plurality of cleaning mechanisms between a first height in contact with the printing head [Fig. 27B] and a second height not in contact with the printing head [Fig. 27A, See also Fig. 2];
a driving source (not shown) [Para. 0092, 0149] of the movement mechanism; and
a coupling/releasing unit (25) [Para. 0091; Fig. 16] configured to perform coupling/releasing between the driving source and the movement mechanism, wherein
one or more cleaning mechanisms of the plurality of cleaning mechanisms are moved to the first height by the movement mechanism coupled with the driving source [Para. 0149-0153; Fig. 16] , and
after the one or more cleaning mechanisms are moved to the first height, the coupling/releasing unit releases coupling between the driving source and the movement mechanism [Para. 0153; Figs. 16B, 16C].
Horie does not disclose a movement mechanism configured to move each of the plurality of cleaning mechanisms between a first height in contact with the printing head and a second height not in contact with the printing head.
However, Zollner teaches a movement mechanism (37) configured to move each of the plurality of cleaning mechanisms between a first height in contact with the printing head and a second height not in contact with the printing head [Para. 0065-0067; Figs. 4-6; See also Fig. 8].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a movement mechanism to move each of the plurality of cleaning mechanisms between a first height in contact with the printing head and a second heigh not in contact with the printing head as taught by Zollner for the purpose of short movement times between the plurality of cleaning mechanisms.
With regard to claim 2, Hories’ modified printing apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Horie also discloses wherein the predetermined direction is a depth direction (Y direction) orthogonal to a height direction (Z direction) and a conveyance direction of a printing medium (X direction) [Para. 0081; Fig. 1, See also Fig. 32].
With regard to claim 13, Hories’ modified printing apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Zollner also discloses wherein each of the plurality of cleaning mechanisms is coupled with the same driving source (not shown) [single drive; Para. 0056].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the same driving source for each of the plurality of cleaning mechanisms as taught by Zollner for the purpose of minimizing the amount of devices in the printing apparatus and making in lighter and smaller in size.
With regard to claim 14, Hories’ modified printing apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Horie also discloses further comprising: a control unit that controls the driving source [Fig. 10].
With regard to claim 19, Horie discloses a control method of a printing apparatus (1), [Fig. 1] that includes:
a cleaning unit (5) [Para. 0078; Fig. 1] including a plurality of cleaning mechanisms (22, 24) [Figs. 2 and 13] configured to clean a printing head (4) ejecting a liquid [Para. 0081], each of the plurality of cleaning mechanisms scanning in a predetermined direction (Y-direction) while contacting the printing head [Para. 0083];
a movement mechanism (41) [Para. 085-0086; Figs. 15-16] configured to move one of the plurality of cleaning mechanisms between a first height in contact with the printing head [Fig. 27B] and a second height not in contact with the printing head [Fig. 27A, See also Fig. 2];
a driving source (not shown) [Para. 0092, 0149] of the movement mechanism; and
a coupling/releasing unit (25) [Para. 0091; Fig. 16] configured to perform coupling/releasing between the driving source and the movement mechanism, the control method comprising the steps of:
moving one or more cleaning mechanisms of the plurality of cleaning mechanisms to the first height by the movement mechanism coupled with the driving source [Para. 0149-0153; Fig. 16] , and
releasing coupling between the driving source and the movement mechanism by the coupling/releasing unit after the one or more cleaning mechanisms are moved to the first height [Para. 0153; Figs. 16B, 16C].
Horie does not disclose a movement mechanism configured to move each of the plurality of cleaning mechanisms between a first height in contact with the printing head and a second height not in contact with the printing head.
However, Zollner teaches a movement mechanism (37) configured to move each of the plurality of cleaning mechanisms between a first height in contact with the printing head and a second height not in contact with the printing head [Para. 0065-0067; Figs. 4-6; See also Fig. 8].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a movement mechanism to move each of the plurality of cleaning mechanisms between a first height in contact with the printing head and a second heigh not in contact with the printing head as taught by Zollner for the purpose of short movement times between the plurality of cleaning mechanisms.
With regard to claim 20, Horie discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program causing a computer to execute a control method of a printing apparatus [ Para. 0115-0116; Fig. 10] that includes
a cleaning unit (5) [Para. 0078; Fig. 1] including a plurality of cleaning mechanisms (22, 24) [Figs. 2 and 13] configured to clean a printing head (4) ejecting a liquid [Para. 0081], each of the plurality of cleaning mechanisms scanning in a predetermined direction (Y-direction) while contacting the printing head [Para. 0083];
a movement mechanism (41) [Para. 085-0086; Figs. 15-16] configured to move one of the plurality of cleaning mechanisms between a first height in contact with the printing head [Fig. 27B] and a second height not in contact with the printing head [Fig. 27A, See also Fig. 2];
a driving source (not shown) [Para. 0092, 0149] of the movement mechanism; and
a coupling/releasing unit (25) [Para. 0091; Fig. 16] configured to perform coupling/releasing between the driving source and the movement mechanism, the control method comprising the steps of:
moving one or more cleaning mechanisms of the plurality of cleaning mechanisms to the first height by the movement mechanism coupled with the driving source [Para. 0149-0153; Fig. 16] , and
releasing coupling between the driving source and the movement mechanism by the coupling/releasing unit after the one or more cleaning mechanisms are moved to the first height [Para. 0153; Figs. 16B, 16C].
Horie does not disclose a movement mechanism configured to move each of the plurality of cleaning mechanisms between a first height in contact with the printing head and a second height not in contact with the printing head.
However, Zollner teaches a movement mechanism (37) configured to move each of the plurality of cleaning mechanisms between a first height in contact with the printing head and a second height not in contact with the printing head [Para. 0065-0067; Figs. 4-6; See also Fig. 8].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a movement mechanism to move each of the plurality of cleaning mechanisms between a first height in contact with the printing head and a second heigh not in contact with the printing head as taught by Zollner for the purpose of short movement times between the plurality of cleaning mechanisms.
Claim(s) 3-4, 7-11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horie (US 2007/165063) in view of Zollner (US 2022/0339939) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Suzuki (US 2024/0034065).
With regard to claim 3, Hories’ modified printing apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 2, and Horie also discloses wherein the plurality of cleaning mechanisms include a second cleaning mechanism that removes the cleaning liquid (22) and a third cleaning mechanism that applies negative pressure (24).
Horie does not disclose a first cleaning mechanism that applies a cleaning liquid.
However, Suzuki teaches a plurality of cleaning mechanisms (191) include a first cleaning mechanism that applies a cleaning liquid (50) [Para. 0068; Fig. 14].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a cleaning mechanism with a first cleaning mechanism that applies a cleaning liquid as taught by Suzuki for the purpose of enhancing the cleaning effect of the recording heads for better ejection capability.
With regard to claim 4, Hories’ modified printing apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 3, and Suzuki also discloses wherein in the depth direction (Y direction), assuming that a direction from a front side toward a rear side is a first depth direction [Fig. 3], but does not disclose the second cleaning mechanism, the first cleaning mechanism, and the third cleaning mechanism are arranged in this order from an upstream side of the first depth direction.
Suzuki teaches the first cleaning mechanism, the second cleaning mechanism and the third cleaning mechanism are arranged in this order from an upstream side of the first depth direction [Fig. 14, See also Fig. 8].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the first cleaning mechanism, the first cleaning mechanism and the third cleaning mechanism to be arrange in this order for the purpose of loosening the ink and debris before cleaning the printhead with other means. In addition, it would be obvious to rearrange the second cleaning mechanism and the third cleaning mechanism, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
With regard to claim 7, Hories' modified printing apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 4, but does not disclose wherein a width of the third cleaning mechanism in the conveyance direction is shorter than a width of the first cleaning mechanism in the conveyance direction.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the width of the third cleaning mechanism in the conveyance direction to be shorter than a width of the first cleaning mechanism in the conveyance direction, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being with the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237.
With regard to claim 8, Hories modified printing apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 3, and Zollner also discloses wherein in a first position on a front side in the depth direction, the movement mechanism ascends/descends each of the plurality of cleaning mechanisms. [Fig. 3]
With regard to claim 9, Hories' modified printing apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 8, and Zollner also discloses wherein in the first position, the coupling/releasing unit releases coupling between the driving source and the movement mechanism [movement mechanism is at a standstill; Fig. 1].
With regard to claim 10, Hories' modified printing apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 9, and Horie also discloses wherein in a second position [wiper cancel position; Para. 0094] on a rear side in the depth direction, the movement mechanism ascends/descends each of the plurality of cleaning mechanisms [Para. 0094].
With regard to claim 11, Hories’ modified printing apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 10, and Horie also discloses wherein in the second position, the coupling/releasing unit releases coupling between the driving source and the movement mechanism [wiper support shaft moves down when the set pin is moved down; Para. 0093-0094].
With regard to claim 18, Hories’ modified printing apparatus discloses all the limitations of according to claim 3, and Zollner discloses wherein the number of times of scanning in the predetermined direction by the first cleaning mechanism, the second cleaning mechanism, and the third cleaning mechanism moved to the first height while being in contact with the printing head includes a plurality of number of times [moving the maintenance unit backward and forward; Fig. 4-6; See also Fig.8].
Claim(s) 5-6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horie (US 2007/165063) in view of Zollner (US 2022/0339939) in view of Suzuki (US 2024/0034065) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Viechter (DE 102019131978).
With regard to claim 5, Hories’ modified printing apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 4, but does not disclose further comprising: a cleaner that cleans the second cleaning mechanism, wherein the cleaner is provided on the front side in the depth direction.
However, Viechter teaches a cleaner (40) [brush; Para. 0046] that cleans a second cleaning mechanism (23) [wiper; Fig. 0046], wherein the cleaner is provided on the front side in a depth direction [Fig. 2].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a cleaner in the printing apparatus of Horie that cleans the second cleaning mechanism on the front side in the depth direction as taught by Viechter for the purpose of wiping away residue of the cleaning fluid from the second cleaning mechanism or wiper and .
With regard to claim 6, Hories’ modified printing apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 5, and Suzuki discloses wherein in a case where the first cleaning mechanism scans in the depth direction, the first cleaning mechanism does not pass through a position of the cleaner [modifying Suzuki with the cleaner of Viechter at the front side in the depth direction and above the second cleaning mechanism of Suzuki, therefore when the first cleaning mechanism is scanned in the depth direction [front to rear], the claim limitation is satisfied; See Fig. 14],
in a case where the second cleaning mechanism scans in the depth direction, the second cleaning mechanism passes through the position of the cleaner [modifying Suzuki with the cleaner of Viechter at the front side in the depth direction and above the second cleaning mechanism of Suzuki, second cleaning mechanism (70), therefore when the second cleaning mechanism is scanned in the depth direction, the claim limitation is satisfied; See Fig. 14], and
in a case where the third cleaning mechanism scans in the depth direction, the third cleaning mechanism does not pass through the position of the cleaner [modifying Suzuki with the cleaner of Viechter at the front side in the depth direction and above the second cleaning mechanism, therefore when the third cleaning mechanism is scanned in the depth direction, the claim limitation is satisfied; See Fig. 14].
With regard to claim 17, Hories’ modified printing apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 3 but does not disclose wherein after the second cleaning mechanism moved to the first height scans in the predetermined direction while being put in contact with the printing head, the first cleaning mechanism scans in the predetermined direction while being put in contact with the printing head.
However, Horie teaches the operation of contact cleaning [Step 2; Fig. 10]
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the first cleaning mechanism scanning in the predetermined direction while being put in contact with the printing head, after the second cleaning mechanism moved to the first height scan since there are plurality of cleaning mechanisms that can be performed in any order appropriately determined.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horie (US 2007/165063) in view of Zollner (US 2022/0339939), and in view of Suzuki (US 2024/0034065) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Nishikawa (US 2005/0007412).
With regard to claim 12, Hories modified printing apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 11 but does not disclose wherein each of the first position and the second position are outside a printing region of the printing head in the depth direction .
However, Nishikawa teaches each of a first position and a second position are outside a printing region of the printing head in the depth direction [See Figs 3A-3F].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the a first position and a second position outside a printing region of the printing head in the depth direction as taught by Nishikawa as taught by Nishikawa for the purpose of effectively cleaning the ink, dust and debris from the print head surface and preventing obstructing the print region.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horie (US 2007/165063) in view of Zollner (US 2022/0339939) and in view of Suzuki (US 2024/0034065) as applied to claim 3 above and further in view of Stӧckle (US 2022234359) .
With regard to claim 15, Hories’ modified printing apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 3 but does not disclose wherein after the first cleaning mechanism moved to the first height scans in the predetermined direction while being put in contact with the printing head, the second cleaning mechanism scans in the predetermined direction while being put in contact with the printing head.
However, Stӧckle teaches the nozzle may be sprayed with cleaning fluid (156) by spray nozzles (155) and subsequently cleaned with a wiper (151) [Fig. 1c].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the second cleaning mechanism in contact with the printing head after the first cleaning mechanism moves to the first height and scans while being in contact with the printing head as taught by Stӧckle for the purpose of removing ink and dust that remain on the nozzles.
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horie (US 2007/165063) in view of Zollner (US 2022/0339939) and in view of Suzuki (US 2024/0034065) as applied to claim 3 above and further in view of Jeon (US 2023/0211610)
With regard to claim 16, Hories’ modified printing apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 3 but does not disclose wherein after the first cleaning mechanism moved to the first height scans in the predetermined direction while being put in contact with the printing head, the third cleaning mechanism scans in the predetermined direction while being put in contact with the printing head.
However, Jeon teaches a first cleaning unit (230) to spray the cleaning liquid to the head, and a second cleaning unit (250) configured to form a suction space in combination with the head and remove impurities attached to the head by providing a reduced pressure to the suction space [Abstract].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the third cleaning mechanism in contact with the printing head after the first cleaning mechanism moves to the first height and scans while being in contact with the printing head as taught by Jeon for the purpose of removing ink and dust that remain on the nozzles.
Conclusion
/TRACEY M MCMILLION/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853